DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, and 4 of copending Application No. 18/274114 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is taught by copending claims 1, 2, and 4.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/274128 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is taught by copending claims 1, 7, and 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TAURINO et al. (WO 2019/234245).
Taurino teaches an aerosol generating device comprising a heating chamber (see figure 6) for receiving an aerosol generating substrate, the heating chamber comprising a chamber wall (2) that defines an interior volume of the heating chamber; and a susceptor structure (20, 20a, 20b, 20c) comprising a plurality of inductively heatable susceptors (20, 20a, 20b, 20c) spaced around the chamber wall (2) and exposed to the interior volume of the heating chamber; wherein the susceptor structure further comprises mounting portions embedded in the chamber wall (page 6 line 18).
Regarding claim 2, figures 4a-4e show plurality of inductively heatable susceptors structure further comprises respective inwardly extending portions that extend from the chamber wall into the interior volume.
Regarding claim 4, figure 4c shows the susceptor structure further comprises connecting portions that connect two or more of the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors.
Regarding claim 5, figure 4c shows the connecting portions of the susceptor structure connect all of the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors.
Regarding claim 6, figure 4c shows the connecting portions of the susceptor structure connect the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors in a continuous circuit around the heating chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Taurino teaches each of the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors comprises one of the mounting portions embedded in the chamber wall (page 7 lines 15-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIRONOV et al. (WO 2017/029268) in view of TAURINO et al. (WO 2019/234245).
Mironov teaches a method of making an aerosol generating device comprising forming a susceptor structure comprising a plurality of inductively heatable susceptors (page 2 lines 8-14); and moulding a chamber wall around the susceptor structure (page 20 lines 13-17). Mironov teaches that the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors may comprise various different shapes and arrangements (page 3 lines 24-30). Mironov teaches an aerosol generating device comprising a heating chamber (63) for receiving an aerosol generating substrate, the heating chamber comprising a chamber wall (61) that defines an interior volume of the heating chamber
Taurino teaches an aerosol generating device comprising a heating chamber (see figure 6) for receiving an aerosol generating substrate, the heating chamber comprising a chamber wall (2) that defines an interior volume of the heating chamber; and a susceptor structure (20, 20a, 20b, 20c) comprising a plurality of inductively heatable susceptors (20, 20a, 20b, 20c) spaced around the chamber wall (2) and exposed to the interior volume of the heating chamber; wherein the susceptor structure further comprises mounting portions embedded in the chamber wall (page 6 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the susceptor arrangement of Taurino for the susceptors of Mironov because Mironov teaches that the susceptors can be modified to have a variety of shapes and arrangements (pages 3-5)
Regarding claim 10, figures 4a-4e of Taurino show plurality of inductively heatable susceptors structure further comprises respective inwardly extending portions that extend from the chamber wall into the interior volume.
Regarding claim 12, Mironov teaches the step of moulding the chamber wall comprises injection moulding (page 20 lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 13, Mironov teaches the chamber wall comprises a material that is substantially not electrically conductive or magnetically permeable (page 18 lines 20-22).
Regarding claim 14, Mironov teaches the chamber wall comprises a heat-resistant plastics material (page 18 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 17, Mironov teaches the susceptor structure comprises a material that is electrically conductive and magnetically permeable (page 5 lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 18, Mironov teaches the heat-resistant plastics material is polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (page 18 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 19, Mironov teaches the material is a metallic material (page 5 lines 5-12).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIRONOV et al. (WO 2017/029268) in view of TAURINO et al. (WO 2019/234245) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of BLELOCH et al. (US 2015/0320116).
Mironov as modified by Taurino teaches a method of making an aerosol generating device. Mironov teaches that the chamber wall may be a thermally insulating material (page 17 lines 27-28).
Bleloch teaches an aerosol generating device. Bleloch teaches that the device may be made of thermally insulating material such as ceramic (para. 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a ceramic material for the chamber walls of Mironov because Mironov teaches that the chamber wall may be a thermally insulating material (page 17 lines 27-28) and Bleloch teaches that ceramic is a thermally insulating material used in aerosol generating devices (para. 0050).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the prior art does not teach or suggest inwardly extending portions of the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors stand clear of the chamber wall, thereby leaving a radial gap between each of the plurality of inductively heatable susceptors and the chamber wall.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest that the connecting portions provide the mounting portions of the susceptor structure embedded in the chamber wall.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or suggest the step of forming the susceptor structure comprises stamping a precursor structure, then folding the precursor structure to form the susceptor structure.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741