DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Per the Applicant’s response to the Election of Species requirement dated 07/17/2026, Applicant has elected the compound TAH pertaining to claims 7 and 8 and use of Compound 101 pertaining to claims 11, 13, and 14. As such, art reading on the aforementioned claims will require use of TAH or Compound 101, respectively.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Inventive Group I in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-25, 28-35, and 36-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventive group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (WO 2016/187225 A1) in view of Miller et al. (WO 2019/195055)
Regarding claims 1 and 4: Ma et al. teaches an implantable device comprising biocompatible materials including hydrogel capsules comprising mammalian cells which is used to treat a disease in a subject by administering a therapeutically effective amount of a disclosed substance to treat said disease. Said device also has characteristics which inhibit a fibrotic response. (54) Specifically, Ma teaches that the implantable capsule is able to release anti-inflammatory drugs in a controlled release polymer that lasts at least 90 days. (Pg 10, ln 4-14) Additionally, Ma specifies that glucocorticoids are suitable for use in the invention (Pg 28, ln 23-27) and that the device is able to inhibit pericapsular fibrotic overgrowth, reading on feature 1 of claim 1 and thus reading on claim 4 as well. (Pg 8, ln 18-25) Lastly, Ma teaches use of a barrier layer surrounding the cell capsule. (Pg 8, ln 18-29) Ma fails to teach use of a-galactosidase protein.
Miller et al. teaches particles comprising a first and second compartment housing a cell capable of expressing a therapeutic agent for the treatment of a disease. (57) Specifically, Miller teaches use of alpha galactosidase in an embodiment of the invention. (Pg 79, ln 20-25) It is known in the art that a-galactosidase is used to break down complex sugars, aiding in digestion and reducing bloating. As such, one skilled in the art would be motivated to include a-galactosidase in the composition taught by Ma et al. for use in the treatment of gastrointestinal diseases.
Regarding claim 3: Ma teaches extended release of the device for up to 90 days. (Pg 10, ln 4-14)
Regarding claim 9: Ma teaches that the invention may comprise a two layer capsule with the cells at the core of said capsule and that the capsule may have an outer barrier layer. (Pg 8, ln 18-29) Ma further teaches that the outer barrier layer is to be acellular. (Pg 88, Claims 18 and 23) Additionally, Ma details the formation of the layers to the device as pumping three distinct streams of hydrogel forming material which form triple layer capsules, and the third stream specifically is a hydrogel forming material pumped into the outermost tube (the barrier layer). (Pg 91-92) Importantly, Ma details that hydrogel forming polymers may be used for the covalent attachment of anti-inflammatory agents when making the device. (Pg 26-28, Section D) and defines “hydrogel” as a polymer that forms a gel which is non-toxic to living cells. (Pg 15, ln 19-24) As such, Ma teaches that the barrier compartment comprises a hydrogel-forming polymer.
Regarding claims 11 and 13: Ma teaches use of an afibrotic compound, but fails to teach use of a compound matching Compound 101 of the claimed invention. Miller et al. teaches use of Compound 101 as an embodiment of Formula (I-a), which has been created to provide the particle with an afibrotic property and a desired mechanical strength as shown below (image taken from Claim 32 on page 155):
One skilled in the art would be motivated to incorporate Compound 101 as taught by Miller into the implantable slow-release device taught by Ma as Miller teaches Compound 101 has afibrotic properties and a desired mechanical strength.
Regarding claim 14: As Applicant has elected Compound 101 as the species of claim 11, claim 14 also requires use of Compound 101 as claim 14 depends from claim 11. As such, claim 14 is satisfied by use of Compound 101 as taught by Miller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine use of Compound 101 and incorporation of a-galactosidase to the implantable hydrogel composition taught by Ma to create a slow-release cell-containing device comprising Compound 101 and a-galactosidase. One would have had motivation and a reasonable expectation of success at doing so based on the teachings of Miller as a-galactosidase is known in the art to be useful in breaking down complex sugars and Compound 101 is stated by Miller to have afibrotic properties and has a desired mechanical strength.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (WO 2016/187225 A1) in view of Miller et al. (WO 2019/195055) and Liu et a. (US 9504353 B2)
The teachings of Ma and Miller are discussed above. Both Ma and Miller fail to teach use of triamcinolone hexacetonide.
Regarding claims 7 and 8: Ma fails to teach use of triamcinolone hexacetonide (hereafter “TAH”) in the disclosed invention. Liu et al. teaches biodegradable microspheres that allow for the sustained release of a drug after implantation. (57) Specifically, Liu teaches that TAH is a useful steroidal anti-inflammatory agent that can be incorporated into the claimed invention. (Col 7-8, ln 54-7)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ma and Miller to create an implantable hydrogel device comprising TAH. One skilled in the art would be motivated and have a reasonable expectation of success at doing so based on the teachings of Liu, who state TAH is a useful steroidal anti-inflammatory agent to include in the composition.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HANNA M THUESON whose telephone number is (571) 272-3680. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Tracy Vivlemore, can be reached on (571) 272-2914. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HANNA MARIE THUESON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638