DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 2022/0098380 A1) in view of Hasebe et al. (WO 2018/017087; US 11,225,534 B2) referred to herein as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 1 & 2, Kikuchi teaches a conjugated diene polymer (A) including the following structural units: (Abstract)
Kikuchi’s (1), (2), (3) & (4) correspond to the claimed (2), (1), (4) & (3), respectively.
Kikuchi teaches the 1,2-vinyl content of the conjugated diene polymer is preferably 5-70 mol% (p. 3, [0031]). This indicates the sum of contents corresponding to the claimed C1 & C2 is 5-70 mol%. This overlaps the claimed range of 40-60 mol% and implies the sum of contents C3 & C4 will equal 30-95 mol%.
Kikuchi also discloses the hydrogenation rate of the conjugated diene is 75-95% (p. 5, [0043]). This indicates that hydrogenated units corresponding to the claimed C4 content will be present in amounts of 22.5-90.25 mol%. This overlaps the claimed range of 2-25 mol%. Non-hydrogenated units corresponding to the claimed C3 will be present in amounts of 1.5-71.25 mol%. This overlaps the claimed range of 15-60 mol%.
The conjugated diene taught by Kikuchi further comprises 3-45 mass% of an aromatic vinyl compound (p. 2, [0018]), preferably styrene (p. 2, [0017]). This corresponds to approximately 1.6-29.8 mol% of styrene based on the preferred copolymer of 1,3-butadiene and styrene. This overlaps the claimed content S of 4-18 mol%.
The weight average molecular weight of the conjugated diene polymer is preferably 1.0x105 to 2.0x106 (i.e., 100,000 – 2,000,000) (p. 5, [0045]). This overlaps the claimed range of 300,000 or more.
Kikuchi, however, does not teach the modification ratio as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Hasebe teaches modified conjugated diene-based polymers with a modification ratio of 30-80% by mass. Maintaining a modification ratio within this range leads to a good balance between low hysteresis loss and wet skid resistance while suppressing degradation in workability and preventing adhesion to metal surfaces (col. 6, lines 11-21). The modification ratio refers to a content of the polymer component having a specific functional group having affinity with a filler (col. 6, lines 22-26). Exemplary functional groups may contain nitrogen atoms (col. 6, lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kikuchi in view of Hasebe to carry out modification with a nitrogen-containing functional group at a modification ratio of 30-80% by mass to take advantage of good balance between low hysteresis loss and wet skid resistance while suppressing degradation in workability and preventing adhesion to metal surfaces. The range of 30-80% by mass overlaps the claimed range of 60% by mass or more.
All ranges indicated above overlap the claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe reads on all limitations established by claims 1 & 2.
Regarding claim 3, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Hasebe teaches the conjugated diene polymer has a Mooney viscosity in the preferable range of 20 – 60 (col. 22, lines 4-7). With the weight average molecular weight (Mw) disclosed at (p. 5, [0045]), Kikuchi effectively teaches the Mw/ML viscosity ratio is suitably 0.16 – 10.0. This range overlaps the claimed range of 0.68 – 0.85. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 4 – 6, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Hasebe teaches nitrogen present in amounts of 7 ppm or more, and preferably 10 ppm or more (col. 12, lines 63-67). The molar ratio of N/Si is preferably 0.1 or more (col. 13, lines 28-29). Using the 7 ppm & 10 ppm values for Nitrogen taught by Kikuchi, this would then establish Nitrogen & Silicon present in amounts of at least 7 ppm & at least 70 ppm, and preferably at least 10 ppm & at least 100 ppm.
These values overlap the claimed ranges of nitrogen content of 10-80 ppm, 35-80 ppm & silicon content of 50-200 ppm. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Hasebe teaches the copolymerization of the conjugated diene-based polymer and an aromatic vinyl compound (col. 10, lines 50-55). Kikuchi teaches the hydrogenation rate of the conjugated diene is 75-95% (p. 5, [0043]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 8 & 13, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Kikuchi teaches the inventive conjugated diene polymer composition further comprises a crosslinking agent, with suitable use in tires (p. 1, [0010], [2] & [3]). The crosslinking agent is preferably present in amounts of 0.01-20 parts by mass (p. 8, [0087]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Hasebe teaches a content of a silane coupling agent in the preferable range of 0.1-30 parts by mass (col. 40, lines 59-60). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Kikuchi teaches the inventive composition may further comprise a softener (p. 8, [0090]). Hasebe teaches a content of a softener in the preferable range of 10-90 parts by mass (col. 41, lines 26-27). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claims 11 & 12, maintaining the modification of Kikuchi in view of Hasebe previously detailed, Kikuchi teaches the inventive composition may comprise inorganic fillers, which are preferably silica and carbon black (p. 8, [0080]). These may be present in amounts of 40-150 parts by mass (p. 8, [0081]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAAN ROELOFSE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762