Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Patent Application Publication No. WO2019/188599 to Sarwar et al. (using U.S. Patent No. 11,719,714 as an English equivalence) in view of Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP2012037236A to Kojima
Sarwar et al. teaches an automatic analyzer that includes a probe 16 for aspirating samples from sample containers 10 into reaction containers and teaches a pressure sensor 26 that monitors for normal or abnormal pressure in the probe. (column 7, lines 8-15)
Sarwar et al. teaches different sized sample container that, as shown in Fig. 10, closely resemble applicant’s sample containers shown in Fig. 3. As shown, the sample containers have different heights and shapes.
Sarwar et al. does not teach a sample container type discrimination section obtaining information on the sample containers and discriminating the type of the sample containers.
Kojima teaches a dispensing apparatus for dispensing samples in containers that have different heights and shapes as shown in Fig. 13.
Kojima teaches an information reading device 11c that reads sample information and the type of the sample container 11 a that stores the sample from the information storage medium, and outputs them to the control unit 31. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide Sarwar et al. with a sample container type discrimination section based on identifying containers having different heights and shapes as taught by Kojima when transferring samples from the sample containers to the reaction containers.
It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to monitor for abnormal readings from the pressure sensor, by comparing such abnormal readings to predetermined criteria in a memory of the analyzer.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites a sample liquid amount calculation section calculating liquid amounts of the samples stored in the sample containers, the memory section memories plural determination criteria data for use in determination by the sample liquid amount calculation section, for each type of the sample containers, and the abnormality determination section determines, based on determination results of the sample liquid amount calculation section, whether or not an abnormality takes place in dispensing the samples.
Sarwar et al teaches the present invention relates to an automatic analyzer that includes a dispensing mechanism performing the suction of a solution such as a reagent or a specimen in a predetermined amount and delivering the solution to a reaction container. (column 1, lines 5-8)
It would have been obvious to modify Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima to use the predetermined sample amounts to determine by a sample liquid amount calculation section, for each type of the sample containers, and an abnormality determination section to determine, based on determination results of the sample liquid amount calculation section, whether or not an abnormality takes place in dispensing the samples.
Therefore, Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 3 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 4 depends.
Claim 4 recites the sample container type discrimination section performs discrimination of the type of the sample containers, based on information of the sample containers which is inputted from a user interface.
Sarwar et al. teaches that types of analysis executed on each sample are input to the controller. (column 6, Lines 21-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima to provide for user selection of a sample that the analysis system could select from the sample container identification for purposes of being able to prioritize analysis of a sample.
Therefore, Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 4 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites that the sample container type discrimination section discriminates whether the sample containers are sample containers for minute amount or other than those.
Both Sarwar et al. and Kojima teach larger and smaller sample containers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima with a sample container type discrimination section to determine containers having different heights are used to transfers samples to the reaction containers as note above would provide for determining different sized containers.
Therefore, Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 6 obvious.
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0223012 to Hibe et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites a sample container bottom contact presence/absence discrimination section discriminating whether or not a tip end of the sample dispensing nozzle contacts bottoms of the sample containers, the memory section memories plural determination criteria data for use in determination by the sample container bottom contact presence/absence discrimination section, for each type of the sample containers, and the abnormality determination section determines, based on discrimination results of the sample container bottom contact presence/absence discrimination section, whether or not an abnormality take places in dispensing the samples.
Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima does not teach a sample container bottom contact presence/absence discrimination section discriminating whether or not a tip end of the sample dispensing nozzle contacts bottoms of the sample containers.
Hibe et al. teaches that it is known that when an aspirating probe contacts the bottom of a container the negative pressure in the probe increases. [0013]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the pressure sensor in Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima to monitor for pressure changes associated with the probe contacting the bottom of the sample containers as taught by Hibe et al. to determine when and if the probe contacts the bottoms of the sample containers.
Therefore, Sarwar et al, in view of Hibe et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
3. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0011887 to Spong et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 5 recites that the sample container type discrimination section performs discrimination of the type of the sample containers, based on photographed image information of the sample containers to be determined.
Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima teaches discrimination of the type of the sample containers, but not based on photographed image information of the sample containers to be determined.
Spong et al. teaches providing identify data on sample containers and using a camera to capture an image of the identification data. [0004], [0006]
It would have been obvious to modify Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima to include sample identification information on the sample containers that is captured by a camera (i.e., a “photographed” image) as taught by Spong et al. for purposes of identify samples in the sample containers.
Therefore, Sarwar et al, in view of Spong et al. render claim 5 obvious.
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima.
As noted above, Sarwar et al. teaches an automatic analyzer that includes a probe 16 for aspirating samples from sample containers 10 into reaction containers and teaches a pressure sensor 26 that monitors for normal or abnormal pressure in the probe. (column 7, lines 8-15)
Sarwar et al. teaches different sized sample container that, as shown in Fig. 10, closely resemble applicant’s sample containers shown in Fig. 3. As shown, the sample containers have different heights and shapes.
Sarwar et al. does not teach a sample container type discrimination section obtaining information on the sample containers and discriminating the type of the sample containers.
Kojima teaches a dispensing apparatus for dispensing samples in containers that have different heights and shapes as shown in Fig. 13.
Kojima teaches an information reading device 11c that reads sample information and the type of the sample container 11 a that stores the sample from the information storage medium, and outputs them to the control unit 31. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide Sarwar et al. with a sample container type discrimination section based on identifying containers having different heights and shapes as taught by Kojima when transferring samples from the sample containers to the reaction containers.
It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to monitor for abnormal readings from the pressure sensor, by comparing such abnormal readings to predetermined criteria in a memory of the analyzer.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders all the limitations of claim 7 obvious.
Therefore, Sarwar et al. in view of Kojima renders claim 7 obvious.
Conclusion
/M.S.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798