DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Hansen is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Hansen is reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved (i.e. discomfort and irritation caused by a pressure from the edges of a material against the skin. Hansen specifically discusses this with respect to guarding against chaffing. Therefore, Hansen is reasonably pertinent to preventing skin irritation and discomfort related to pressure against the skin.
Applicant additionally argues that strip 60 of Hansen does not extend outwardly from an edge of any flexible sheet as required by claim 1. However, as can be seen, for example, in Fig. 4 of Hansen the strip 60 is positioned and secured over edge 31 of the band 10 and therefore as broadly as claimed extends outwardly from edge 31 as it is placed over edge 31.
Applicant additionally argues that it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gildersleeve to include the edge guard of Hansen to protect against chaffing and wear and tear of an edge of the device as taught by Hansen since the wear and tear is not caused by the device itself. However, this is not found to be persuasive as the fact that Hansen teaches that wear and tear is not with respect to the device itself does not negate the combination as it is a further reason in addition to the protection against chaffing that an edge guard may be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-15, 20, 23 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,352,550 B1 to Gildersleeve et al. (Gildersleeve) in view of US 5,329,638 to Hansen et al. (Hansen) and US 2013/0116760 A1 to Carson et al. (Carson).
Regarding claim 1, Gildersleeve teaches a medical pad (10) for exchanging thermal energy with a patient, the medical pad comprising a flexible upper sheet (30) having an edge (36) and a skin-contacting side (Fig. 2) and a flexible base member (32) interconnected to the flexible upper sheet to define a fluid containing layer (Fig. 2) between the flexible base member and the flexible upper sheet (Fig. 2). However, Gildersleeve is silent with respect to an edge guard situated along the edge of the flexible upper sheet, wherein the edge guard extends outwardly from the edge of the flexible upper sheet, and an adhesive surface disposed on the skin-contacting side of the flexible upper sheet and the edge guard, wherein the adhesive is adapted for releasable adhesive contact with skin of the patient. Hansen teaches a medical pad (10) including a guard strip (60) stitched via stitching to the inner and outer layers (12,13) to guard against chaffing and wear and tear of a rough edge (23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the edge guard of Hansen to protect against chaffing and wear and tear of an edge of the device as taught by Hansen (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 4). Carson teaches an analogous medical pad (title) to that of Gildersleeve including an adhesive surface disposed on a skin-contacting side ([0067] which states in part “Alternatively, a thermally conductive layer may be comprised of a hydrogel material having sufficient adhesive properties so as to integrally provide the adhesive surface.”) where the adhesive surface extends across the entirety of the skin-contact side of the medical pad ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the hydrogel of Carson so as to allow for sufficient adhesive properties as taught by Carson ([0067]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 1 as well as Hansen teaching wherein the edge guard is configured to conform to a contour of the skin of the patient (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 9), so as to provide a direct path for the edge guard to conduct the thermal energy (inherent in the combination).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 1 as well as Hansen teaching wherein the edge guard is situated along the edge, wherein the edge substantially surrounds a perimeter of a flexible upper sheet, and the edge guard substantially surrounds the perimeter of the flexible upper sheet (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the edge guard of Hansen to protect against chaffing and wear and tear of an edge of the device as taught by Hansen (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 4).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 1 as well as Carson teaching the adhesive comprises a conformable, thermally conductive layer of a hydrogel material ([0067] which states in part “Alternatively, a thermally conductive layer may be comprised of a hydrogel material having sufficient adhesive properties so as to integrally provide the adhesive surface.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the hydrogel of Carson so as to allow for sufficient adhesive properties as taught by Carson ([0067]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 1 as well as wherein the flexible base member includes a plurality of dimples (38) defining a plurality of tortuous fluid flow paths (Col. 8, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 9, as well as wherein the dimples may be of any desired shape, including, if preferred, of shape and orientation appropriate to impart desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium or fluid within the pad in order to regulate heat transfer on a localized basis (Col. 8, line 67- Col. 9, line 14), but not specifically wherein the plurality of dimples are of a predetermined configuration comprising one or more of a truncated cone configuration, a cylindrical configuration, and an elongated truncated pyramid configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the dimples to be of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 1 as well as Gildersleeve teaching wherein the plurality of dimples are arranged on an upper surface of the flexible base member (Fig. 2), a lower smooth surface of the flexible upper sheet is supported at a plurality of points of contact with the dimples (Fig. 2) where the shape and orientation of the dimples imparts the desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium (Col. 9, lines 1-4). However, Gildersleeve does not teach a predetermined staggered pattern in at least two transverse directions. It is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve with the claimed arrangement of dimples, since it have been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. This is especially true given the teaching of Gildersleeve that the shape and orientation of the dimples imparts the desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium (Col. 9, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 11 as well as Gildersleeve teaching where the shape and orientation of the dimples is appropriate to impart desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium or fluid within the pad in order to regulate heat transfer on a localized basis (Col. 8, line 67- Col. 9, line 14), but not specifically wherein the predetermined staggered pattern comprises offset rows and columns. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pattern of the dimples to be of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. This is especially true given the teaching of Gildersleeve that the shape and orientation of the dimples imparts the desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium (Col. 9, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, the combination taches the medical pad of claim 12 as well as Gildersleeve teaching where the shape and orientation of the dimples is appropriate to impart desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium or fluid within the pad in order to regulate heat transfer on a localized basis (Col. 8, line 67- Col. 9, line 14), but not specifically wherein the plurality of dimples are offset from one another by sixty degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have offset the dimples from one another by sixty degrees, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. This is especially true given the teaching of Gildersleeve that the shape and orientation of the dimples imparts the desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium (Col. 9, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 9 as well as Gildersleeve teaching where the shape and orientation of the dimples is appropriate to impart desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium or fluid within the pad in order to regulate heat transfer on a localized basis (Col. 8, line 67- Col. 9, line 14), but not specifically wherein the plurality of dimples are arranged in a herringbone pattern. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to arrange the dimples in a herringbone pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. This is especially true given the teaching of Gildersleeve that the shape and orientation of the dimples imparts the desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium (Col. 9, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 9 as well as Gildersleeve teaching wherein the base member is formed to integrally define the plurality of dimples (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Gildersleeve teaches a medical pad (10) for exchanging thermal energy with a patient, the medical pad comprising a flexible upper sheet of foam (30, 33) having an edge (36) and a skin-contacting side (Fig. 2) and a flexible base member (32) interconnected to the flexible upper sheet to define a fluid containing layer (Fig. 2) between the flexible base member and the flexible upper sheet (Fig. 2). However, Gildersleeve is silent with respect to an edge guard situated along the edge of the flexible upper sheet, wherein the edge guard extends outwardly from the edge of the flexible upper sheet, and a thermally conductive layer laminated to one side of the flexible film that comprises a conformable hydrogel material. Hansen teaches a medical pad (10) including a guard strip (60) stitched via stitching to the inner and outer layers (12,13) to guard against chaffing and wear and tear of a rough edge (23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the edge guard of Hansen to protect against chaffing and wear and tear of an edge of the device as taught by Hansen (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 4). Carson teaches an analogous medical pad (title) to that of Gildersleeve including a thermally conductive hydrogel material surface disposed on a skin-contacting side ([0067] which states in part “Alternatively, a thermally conductive layer may be comprised of a hydrogel material having sufficient adhesive properties so as to integrally provide the adhesive surface.”) where the adhesive surface extends across the entirety of the skin-contact side of the medical pad ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the hydrogel of Carson so as to allow for sufficient adhesive properties as taught by Carson ([0067]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 20 as well as Hansen teaching wherein the edge guard is configured to conform to a contour of the skin of the patient (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 9), so as to provide a direct path for the edge guard to conduct the thermal energy (inherent in the combination).
Regarding claim 26, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 20 as well as Hansen teaching wherein the edge guard substantially surrounds a perimeter of a the thermally conductive layer (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the edge guard of Hansen to protect against chaffing and wear and tear of an edge of the device as taught by Hansen (Col. 3, line 67-Col. 4, line 4).
Regarding claim 28, the combination teaches the medical pad of claim 20, as well as wherein the dimples may be of any desired shape, including, if preferred, of shape and orientation appropriate to impart desired laminar/turbulent characteristics, flow direction and flow velocity to the thermal medium or fluid within the pad in order to regulate heat transfer on a localized basis (Col. 8, line 67- Col. 9, line 14), but not specifically wherein the plurality of dimples are of a predetermined configuration comprising one or more of a truncated cone configuration, a cylindrical configuration, and an elongated truncated pyramid configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the dimples to be of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 16-19 and 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gildersleeve, Hansen and Carson as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of US 11,285,039 to Steele et al. (Steele).
Regarding claims 16 and 29, Gildersleeve in view of Hansen and Carson teaches the medical pad of claims 1 and 20, but not a filter disposed in line with a fluid flow path providing a fluid to the medical pad. Steele teaches a thermal management system (Fig. 1) comprising a filter (30) disposed in line with a fluid flow path providing a fluid to the medical pad (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the filter of Steele to allow for the removal of organic compounds from the water that are capable of forming an adherent layer as taught by Steele (abstract).
Regarding claims 17 and 30, the combination teaches the medical pad of claims 16 and 29 as well as Steele teaching wherein the filter comprises a porous wall disposed parallel to a flow direction of the fluid along the fluid flow path (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the filter of Steele to allow for the removal of organic compounds from the water that are capable of forming an adherent layer as taught by Steele (abstract).
Regarding claims 18 and 31, the combination teaches the medical pads of claims 16 and 29 as well as Steele teaching wherein the filter is attached to the medical pad (Figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gildersleeve to include the filter of Steele to allow for the removal of organic compounds from the water that are capable of forming an adherent layer as taught by Steele (abstract).
Regarding claims 19 and 32, the combination teaches the medical pad of claims 16 and 29, but not wherein the filter is disposed within the fluid containing layer of the medical pad. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have located the filter as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794