DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 9 under the Remarks “Fig. 7C and 7D of Mercanzini are not representative of the assembled probe, but rather partial and exploded views showing internal components”. Applicant then argues on page 10 under the Remarks, “In Mercanzini the complete, assembled probe is shown in Figures 7A and 7b…As clearly depicted in these figures, the Mercanzini probe 200 is cylindrical over its entire length”. Applicant concludes on page 11 under the Remarks “Thus, Applicant submits that Mercanzini fails to disclose or suggest ‘at least one connecting part of non-cylindrical shape configured to connect the distal part and the proximal part,’ as recited in the claims”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is arguing a claim scope different than what is actually claimed. The claims make no mention of the shape the entire probe or probe encapsulation. The claims also do not preclude these parts form being encapsulate din a final constructed form. The claims only recite “parts”, namely “at least one distal part”, “ at least one proximal part” and “at least one connecting part”. The components of Fig. 7C are indeed “parts”, namely parts of a probe and the configuration of Fig. 7C contains a proximal part, distal part and non-cylindrical part connecting them, as set forth in the non-final rejection. Applicant would need to amend the claims to bring the scope of the claims into alignment with the scope argued. The rejection is maintained. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC rejections stem from this same argument. The rejections are therefore maintained for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim16-18, 20, 22-24, 32, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mercanzini et al. (2014/0303703).
Regarding Claims 16, 18, 24, 32, 34 and 36, Mercanzini discloses at least one distal part (205) of cylindrical shape (Fig. 7C-7D) comprising at least one intracerebral contact (204, 207) intended to be implanted in the brain of a patient; at least one proximal part (206, Fig. 7C-D) of cylindrical shape comprising at least one connector contact (211) intended to be connected to at least one device; at least one connecting part of non-cylindrical shape (flat intermediate part between 205 and 206) configured to connect the distal and proximal parts; wherein one or more of the at least one distal part, proximal part and connecting part comprises a multi-layer film ("microelectrode film") comprising a substrate (claim 29: "first insulative layer"; fig. 29B-I) and at least one conductive layer ("conductive traces", "plurality of microelectrode elements") ; and wherein the substrate comprises at least one polymer material (polymer layer 654), the at least one conductive layer comprises at least one transmission track ("conductive traces"), at least one intracerebral contact in the distal part, at least one connector contact in the proximal part, wherein each of the at least one transmission track is connected to the at least one intracerebral contact in the distal part and the at least one connector contact in the proximal part (par. [0113]; Fig. 7C-D).
In regard to Claim 17, Mercanzini discloses a polymer player 672 that overlays or encapsulates conductive portions 690 (par. [0195-0196]; Fig. 29H-F).
Regarding Claims 20 and 22, Mercanzini discloses inserting an end cap 209 (that can be a polymer) in the cavity of the distal cylindrical part (par. [0156]; Fig. 7D, E). This end cap can be considered the claimed “distal stud”.
With regard to Claim 23, Mercanzini discloses a cylindrical member 213 that fits within the proximal part (7D) and effectively closes off the proximal end when finally assembled as shown in Fig. 7B (there are no open portions visible).
In regard to Claims 33 and 35, Mercanzini discloses the connector is of a flat shape which matches an external shape of the probe in some embodiments, see flat shape at distal tip of probe in Fig. 22A-C. Note Applicant does not claim that the connector is an external surface of the probe and only that the shape is an external shape of the probe, meaning it is of the same shape as the external shape of the probe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercanzini et al. (2014/0303703) in view of Shah et al. (2018/0169406). Mercanzini discloses a microelectrode array having a proximal cylindrical end, a distal cylindrical end, a non-cylindrical connector part, all having a polymer substrate (see rejection of Claim 16) but ails to disclose the polymer as specifically being a liquid crystal polymer. However, Shah, in the same field of endeavor of microelectrode arrays, shows that liquid crystal polymer is an equivalent polymer structure for a substrate known in the art. Therefore, because the polymers of Mercanzini and Shah were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the liquid crystal polymer for the polymer of Mercanzini.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use liquid crystal polymer as the substarte, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercanzini et al. (2014/0303703) in view of Mehregany et al. (2011/0264178). Mercanzini discloses all of the claimed invention except for the inclusion of a temperature sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor of neural stimulators, Mehregany discloses including a temperature sensor at the distal part for the purpose of monitoring the temperature at the implantation site to avoid inadvertent tissue heating cause by situation current (par. [0056]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Mercanzini reference to include a distal temperature sensor, as taught and suggested by Mehregany, for the purpose of monitoring the temperature at the implantation site to avoid inadvertent tissue heating cause by situation current.
Claims 33 and 35 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercanzini et al. (2014/0303703). If Applicant is intending to recite that the entire external shape of the probe is non-cylindrical (which is not currently claimed), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the probe of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796