Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/014550 (01/31/2022)
PCT/US2022/014550 has PRO 63/144,386 (02/01/2021).
Status
Rejections not reiterated in this office action are withdrawn.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Amended claim 1 is to “[a] method for preventing … a fatty liver disease … comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of … DA”. This preventing language does not require any diagnosis of any such disease in the subject, only the possibility of developing disease which under the broadest reasonable interpretation would be any subject capable of disease. Thus, the claims are interpreted as simply requiring the recited step of “administering to a subject in need” of the composition of the claim.
Similarly, claims 5-9, 13, 17-27 are interpreted as only requiring administering the composition to a subject in need.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US20190374489).
Lee teaches a method of administering denatonium salts to an adult (claim 14: “comprising administering a bitter agent selected from the group consisting of denatonium salts including benzoate (DB), chloride (DC), acetate (DA), citrate (DCl), saccharide (DS), tartarate (DT), maleate (DM)”; claims 15-19). Lee teaches the administration is for treating obesity, diabetes and cholesterol in a subject in need thereof (claims 1, 8, 14). As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention, the claims require recited step of “administering” to a subject in need, which as the instant specification explains that obesity causes NAFLD and therefore an obese subject meets the instant claim definition of prevention in a subject in need thereof. Lee also teaches the same dosage amounts (claims 11-13, 17-19) and administration schedule ([0155]). Thus, the prior art anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20190374489) in view of Brunner et al. (Current Obesity Reports (2019) 8:220–228).
Lee anticipates claims 1, 5-9, 13, 17-27 as detailed in the 35 USC 102 rejection above and also renders the claims obvious alone and in view of Brunner.
Regarding claim 2 specifying the subject is an adult and the method is for the treatment of NASH, Lee teaches treating obesity but does not specifically teach treating NASH. Regarding claims 3-4 specifying dosage, Lee teaches the dosage range (claims 11-13, [0012]).
Brunner teaches weight loss treats NAFLD and NASH (Abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the combined teaching of Lee and Brunner would have considered utilizing the anti-obesity treatment to affect treating NASH as it was known to be a means of treating NASH as taught by Brunner. The level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, claim 2 is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10835505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of administering denatonium salts to an adult (claim 14: “comprising administering a bitter agent selected from the group consisting of denatonium salts including benzoate (DB), chloride (DC), acetate (DA), citrate (DCl), saccharide (DS), tartarate (DT), maleate (DM)”; claims 15-19). As detailed in the claim interpretation and prior art rejections the instant claims are anticipated and rendered obvious.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12201593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of administering denatonium salts to an adult human (claims 6-12). As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12268660. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of administering denatonium salts to an adult (claims 1-9). As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12427125. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of administering denatonium salts to an adult (claims 1-9). As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31-44 of copending Application No. 17845399 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a method of administering denatonium salts. As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-30 of copending Application No. 17702452 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a method of administering denatonium salts. As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 13, 17-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14, 19-20 of copending Application No. 18557182 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a method of administering denatonium salts. As detailed in the claim interpretation regarding prevention the instant claims are anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626