DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Benefit of an Earlier Filing
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Foreign Application No. (GB) 210374.3 filed on 1st February, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/24/2024, 07/25/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 2, Claim(s) 23-24, 27, and 29, drawn to a system arranged to image at least one passive object within a surrounding structure having a plurality of surfaces with an array of ultrasonic transmitters in the reply filed on 9/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification (more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102“(a)(1)” or “(a)(2)” or both as being anticipated by Cheatham (US 2015/0331102 A1).
Referring to Claim(s) 1-22, (Canceled).
Referring to Claim 23, Cheatham teaches a system (positioning system 110) arranged to image at least one passive object within a surrounding structure having a plurality of surfaces, the system comprising:
an array of ultrasonic transmitters (first plurality of transducers 112) arranged to transmit ([0085]: “the positioning system 110 may include an array of transducers [...] configured to transmit and/or receive ultrasound”) an ultrasonic signal (ultrasound 120) into the surrounding structure ([0083]-[0084]: “The ultrasound 120 may be transmitted directly or indirectly toward persons 151, 152, and 153 in a group 150 within a bounded region 100 which is bounded by a floor 141, a left wall 142, a back wall 143, a right wall 144, a ceiling 145 and a front wall (not shown), see fig. 1 and 2); and
an array of ultrasonic receivers (second plurality of transducers 113) arranged to receive reflections from the passive object ([0085]; [0094]);
wherein the system is arranged to steer the ultrasonic signal ([0084]: The positioning system 110 may transmit the ultrasound 120 as directional ultrasonic pulses”) using stored data relating to a position of at least one of said surfaces ([0050]: “the direction of a reflected beam (and hence directional characteristics of its delivered positional information) can be determined by knowledge of the orientation of the reflecting surface”, wherein the orientation of the reflecting surface is data “relating to” its position, e.g. a wall surface has a different orientation than a ceiling surface; [0084] and fig. 1 and 2: “The positioning system 110 may transmit the ultrasound 120 as directional ultrasonic pulses [...] The ultrasound 120 may be transmitted directly toward the persons 151, 152, and 153. The ultrasound 120 may be transmitted indirectly toward the persons 151, 152, and 153”; [0098] and fig. 4; wherein, it is implicit that information, i.e. stored data, about the position of a wall is necessary for emitting a directional pulse towards said wall) such that the ultrasonic signal includes at least one reflection off a surrounding structure surface ([0087] and fig. 2A: “ultrasound 225 is transmitted toward a surface bounding the region 200”).
Referring to Claim 24, Cheatham teaches the system of claim 23, having a single array comprising separate transmitters and receivers therein ([0085]: “the positioning system includes a first plurality of transducers 112 (or a single transducer) for transmitting ultrasound and a second plurality of transducers 113 (or a single transducer) for receiving ultrasound”; [0114]: “[…] include one or more ultrasonic transmitters and/or ultrasonic receivers and the transmitters and receivers may be physically joined (as illustrated in FIG. 7C) or they may be separated and even possible positioned in disparate locations within the region”).
Referring to Claim(s) 25-26, (Canceled).
Referring to Claim 28, teaches (Canceled).
Referring to Claim 30, teaches (Canceled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashev (US 2017/0300124 A1).
Referring to Claim 27, Cheatham teaches The system of claim 23, but doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the receiver array comprises Micro-Electro-Mechanical System microphones.
Tashev teaches the receiver array comprises Micro-Electro-Mechanical System microphones ([0024]: “the transmitter may be a piezoelectric transducer placed at the center of an 8-element array of receivers such as microelectromechanical systems (“MEMS”) microphones”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system disclosed in Cheatham with receiver array taught in Tashev with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have easily measured the directional response or beam patterns of the microphones and simplifying calibration by essentially isolating angular distance attenuation.
Referring to Claim 29, Cheatham teaches the system of claim 23, wherein the transmitter array has a spacing between the transmitters equivalent to a half-wavelength of a sound wave in the ultrasonic frequency range ([0111]-[0113]; Fig. 7A-7C: “spacing between the arcs representing the ultrasound 720 and 740 is representative of the wavelength and/or frequency of the ultrasound”); however, Cheatham doesn’t explicitly each the receiver array is a microphone array having a peak response in the audible frequency range
Tashev each the receiver array is a microphone array having a peak response in the audible frequency range ([0004]: “The UGR system may transmit an ultrasonic chirp and collect samples at sample intervals via a microphone array”; [0025]-[0026]: “In some embodiments, the UGR system may employ an ultrasonic signal that has the following characteristics: (a) its auto-correlation has one sharp peak for easier detection of echoes using the cross-correlation method”; [0033]: “The UGR system extracts the depth d* by finding the peaks in the cross-correlation”; [0048]: “wherein the microphone collects samples from ultrasonic chirps; thereby, showing the array is responsive to ultrasonic frequencies”);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system disclosed in Cheatham with transmitter array taught in Tashev with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have enabled simultaneous detection of user voice (audible) and gestures (ultrasonic); thereby, improving audible and ultrasonic detection reliability,
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/AMIE M NDURE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/DANIEL L MURPHY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645