Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on July 25, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negi et al. (US Pub 2001/0025072) in view of Seno et al. (US Pub 2019/0322817).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6, Negi discloses a purging agent comprising porous particles ([0019], [0032], Example 1) comprising an (A) ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer (EVOH) and (B) an alkali metal (claims 1 and 5). The alkali metal is present in an amount within the presently claimed range (claim 5). Negi does not disclose (1) the median pore diameter of the porous particles being between 0.01-3 microns or (2) the average particle diameter being between 2.5-8 mm.
With respect to (1), Negi discloses that the EVOH composition is foamed ([0019], [0032]) and uses a method which appears to be substantially similar as the disclosed method. That is, both methods use the same composition and extrudes the composition using twin-screw extruder heated at approximately the same temperature, i.e., 180ᵒC (Example 1 of Negi) vs. 190ᵒC (Example 1 of present disclosure). Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that the resulting particles would exhibit the same porosity properties as claimed in claims 1 and 2. See MPEP 2112. Alternatively, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have discovered workable ranges for the porosity properties set forth in both claim 1 and claim 2 through routine experimentation.
With respect to (2), Negi is silent as the porous particle diameter. Seno discloses that it conventional in the art to prepare EVOH particles having a diameter of 1 to 10 mm [0132] and specifically discloses a particle diameter of 3.8 mm in Example 1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the porous EVOH particles of Negi having a conventional diameter within the presently claimed range, motivated by the desire to obtain particles that can be easily handled, as taught by Seno.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Negi discloses that the purging agent can contain water in an amount of 0.1 -20 wt% [0016].
Regarding claim 5, Negi discloses that the ethylene content in the EVOH copolymer is 15-70 mol% [0028].
Regarding claim 7, Negi discloses that the purging agent can further comprise (C) a polyolefin resin in an amount that overlaps with the presently claimed range [0029].
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781