DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20050260491 A1) in view of Kosugi (US 2009/0239133).
With respect to claim 1, Cho teaches an energy storage device comprising:
an electrode assembly (12) formed by winding a plurality of plates (para. [0042]); and
a case (13) (Figure 1) configured to house the electrode assembly (12),
wherein the electrode assembly (12) includes:
a body (12) including a flat portion and a pair of curved portions sandwiching
the flat portion (as illustrated below in Figure 2A). Cho teaches wherein negative electrode (12b) and positive electrode (12a) plate edges are at both end faces of the body (12) in a winding-axis direction (as illustrated below); however Cho fails to teach a plurality of tabs, each tab formed by stacking a plurality of pieces of plates with the same polarity out of the plurality of plates, the plurality of tabs protruding as a pair from each of both end faces of the body in a winding-axis direction, and
at least one tab of the plurality of tabs includes:
a bent portion continuous with the curved portion; and
a pair of extended portions extended from the bent portion and continuous
with the flat portion.
Kosugi teaches an energy storage device (Figure 1 above) comprising:
an electrode assembly (14) formed by winding a plurality of plates (as illustrated in Figure 3) (para. [0029]-[0030]); and
a case (Figure 1, 10) configured to house the electrode assembly (14) (as illustrated),
wherein the electrode assembly (14) includes:
a body including a flat portion and a pair of curved portions sandwiching the flat portion (as illustrated in Figure 1 below); and
a plurality of tabs (16 & 18), each tab formed by stacking a plurality of pieces of
plates (para. [0029]-[0030]) with the same polarity out of the plurality of plates, (as illustrated in Figure 1 above), and
at least one tab (16/18) of the plurality of tabs (16/18) includes:
a bent portion continuous with the curved portion; and
a pair of extended portions extended from the bent portion and continuous
with the flat portion (as illustrated in Figure 1 above) in order to provide positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs that are formed of the electrode plates themselves, so that there are no junctions as conventional ones between independent tabs and electrode plates, so that if a large current flows, overheating/burning does not occur (para. [0057]). Cho does illustrate a junction between an independent tab (Figure 1, 15) and the electrode plates (12a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a plurality of tabs, each tab formed by stacking a plurality of pieces of plates with the same polarity out of the plurality of plates, the plurality of tabs protruding as a pair from each of both end faces of the body in a winding-axis direction, and at least one tab of the plurality of tabs includes:
a bent portion continuous with the curved portion; and
a pair of extended portions extended from the bent portion and continuous
with the flat portion in the electrode body of Cho, as taught by Kosugi, in order to provide positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs that are formed of the electrode plates themselves, so that there are no junctions as conventional ones between independent tabs and electrode plates, so that if a large current flows, overheating/burning does not occur. Modifying Cho in view of Kosugi would provide that the plurality of tabs would protrude as a pair from each of both end faces of the body in Cho in a winding-axis direction.
With respect to claim 2, Kosugi further teaches a plurality of current collectors, each current collector joined to one of the plurality of tabs, wherein at least one of the pair of extended portions is joined to the current collector (as illustrated in Figure 1 above).
With respect to claim 3, Kosugi further teaches wherein the pair of extended portions is joined to the current collector (as illustrated in Figure 1 above), and Cho teaches a plurality of pieces of the plate forming the extended portions are bundled together (as illustrated in Figure 2A above).
With respect to claim 5, Kosugi teaches wherein a positive electrode tab (16) and a negative electrode tab (18) are provided as the pair of tabs (as illustrated in Figure 1 above); modifying Cho in view of Kosugi would provide that the plurality of tabs would be present on each of both end faces of the body (as illustrated in Figures 2A & 3).
With respect to claim 6, Cho in view of Kosugi teaches wherein, of the both end faces of the body (12) (Figure 2A) (as illustrated above), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab (as modified in view of Kosugi) provided on one end face and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab provided on another end face are arranged in an inverted manner (as illustrated in Figure 2A – which is similar to instant figures 2-3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20050260491 A1) in view of Kosugi (US 2009/0239133), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of WO 2016080177 A1 (to Hitoshi et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 4, Cho as modified discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein in a state before the joining to the current collector, both ends of each of the plurality of pieces forming the pair of extended portions of the tab are arranged gradually more forward when moving from one piece at an innermost periphery toward an outer periphery. Hitoshi teaches an electrode assembly (Figure 3) comprising electrode tabs (42e) protruding therefrom, and wherein ends of each of the plurality of pieces forming the tabs (42e) are arranged gradually more forward when moving from one piece at an innermost periphery toward an outer periphery in order to allow for improved electrolyte penetration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have ends of each of the plurality of pieces forming the tabs arranged gradually more forward when moving from one piece at an innermost periphery toward an outer periphery, as taught by Hitoshi, in order to allow for improved electrolyte penetration.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 2/7/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725