DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-12 are currently pending. Claims 6-12 withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected claim. In response to the Office Action mailed 11/05/2025 Applicant amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190094593 A1 to Hasegawa et al. in view of US 20130107160 A1 to Kim et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Hasegawa discloses a polarized partition set, comprising: a first polarized partition, which includes a polarizer A1 (at least Fig. 3 polarizer 110) and a retardation layer (Fig. 3 retardation layer 140) having an in-plane retardation Re(550) of 100 nm or more (See at least Table 1), and in which an angle formed by an absorption axis direction of the polarizer A1 and a slow axis direction of the retardation layer is more than 10° and less than 80°, or more than 100° and less than 170° clockwise or counterclockwise with respect to the absorption axis direction of the polarizer A1 (as shown in Fig. 3 para 76).
Hasegawa does not specifically disclose a second polarized partition, which includes a polarizer B and is arranged at a predetermined interval from the first polarized partition and the first polarized partition and the second polarized partition are discreet partitions with a space between.
However, Kim discloses a first and a second polarized partition, which includes a polarizer B and is arranged at a predetermined interval from the first polarized partition (See at least Fig. 1 polarizing plate 120, polarizing plate 130) and the first polarized partition and the second polarized partition are discreet partitions with a space between (See at least Fig. 2 display space 102) to display an object and a virtual image through the same surface (para 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that a second polarized partition, which includes a polarizer B and is arranged at a predetermined interval from the first polarized partition and the first polarized partition and the second polarized partition are discreet partitions with a space between.
Regarding Claim 2. Hasegawa further discloses the first polarized partition further includes a polarizer A2 (Fig. 3 polarizer 182) on a side opposite to a side of the retardation layer on which the polarizer A1 is arranged (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3. Kim further discloses the first polarized partition is arranged so that the retardation layer is on a side closer to the second polarized partition with respect to the polarizer A1 (Fig. 1 polarizing plate 120 and retardation film 122).
Regarding Claim 4. Hasegawa further discloses the angle formed by the absorption axis direction of the polarizer A1 and the slow axis direction of the retardation layer in the first polarized partition is more than 10° and less than 80° clockwise or counterclockwise with respect to the absorption axis direction of the polarizer A1 (as shown in Fig. 3 para 76).
Regarding Claim 5. Hasegawa further discloses the retardation layer has a configuration obtained by combining a plurality of retardation films (See Fig. 6 retardation layers 140 through 181).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach, suggest or disclose the limitation “the first polarized partition and the second polarized partition are discreet partitions with a space between,” newly added to amended claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as stated in the rejection above, Kim discloses the newly added limitation of claim 1 and Applicant’s invention is obvious in view of the combination of Hasegawa and Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871