DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: S100 and S200 are mentioned in the specification, but not shown in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: d(θ) is not clearly discussed in the specification in order to understand the scope of the claims in which the phrase is cited.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1 line 5, the phrase “obtains returned light signal” is a grammatical error.
Regarding claim 1 line 6, the phrase “reflected by detected object” is a grammatical error.
Regarding claim 1 lines 6-7, the phrase “light signal into electrical signal” is a grammatical error.
Regarding claim 5 line 5, the phrase “one of the conversion relationship” is a grammatical error.
Regarding claim 8 lines 5-6, the phrase “light by arranged according to” is a grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the final target distance" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "and so on" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "and so on"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "φx" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "d" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "θ" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "φx" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "d" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "θ" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "β" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the distance fluctuation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the preset value" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, many of the limitations of the claim from which is incorporated are copied, such as “a light emitting module” and “a light receiving module”, creating uncertainty as to the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nielsen (US 2017/0067989).
In re. claim 1, Nielsen teaches a detection method for acquiring distance information is performed by a distance detection system including a light emitting module (904) (used to transmit frequencies) (para [0018]), a processing module (901) and a light receiving module (905) (para [0117]); the detection method including: the light emitting module emits light signals with different emitted frequencies (F0, F1, F2) (para [0018]); the light receiving module obtains returned light signal which is the emitted light reflected by detected object in the field of view (para [0004]), and converts the returned light signal into electrical signal (receives electromagnetic signal) (para [0043]); and the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to the electrical signal converted from the returned light signal acquired by the receiving module (based on phase difference) (para [0013]), wherein the processing module includes at least two sets of conversion relationships for calculating the distance information from the electrical signal (phase difference of each signal) (para [0013]), the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to one of the conversion relationships (frequency set having the best quality measure is selected) (para [0105]).
In re. claim 2, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting module emits at least two groups of emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies (F0, F1, F2) (para [0018]), and the frequencies of at least one group of the emitted light are related to the distance accuracy of the detection system (frequency set having the best quality measure is selected) (para [0105]).
In re. claim 3, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 2, wherein the emitted light further includes a second emitted light (102) with a frequency lower than the frequency of the emitted light (101) (fig. 1a) determined by the distance accuracy (when frequency (101) is the best quality measure selected) (para [0105]).
In re. claim 4, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 3, wherein the processing module outputs the final target distance information according to the returned light signal of the second emitted light (as step (502)) and the returned light signal of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy (at step (503)).
In re. claim 5, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 3, wherein the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object based on the electrical signal corresponding to the returned light of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy and/or the corresponding second emitted light, according to one of the conversion relationship (based on phase difference) (para [0013]).
In re. claim 6, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 5, wherein the distance information acquired according to one of the conversion relationships, based on the electrical signal converted by the returned light corresponding to the emitted light is fluctuated, when the fluctuation of the distance information exceeds a preset value, the processing module outputs the distance information converted by the electrical signal according to another conversion relationship of the at least two sets of conversion relationships (phase difference of best quality measure) (para [0013] and [0105]).
In re. claim 7, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 3, wherein the emitted light further includes at least one set of emitted lights with a frequency less than the emitted frequency of the second emitted light (frequencies of subsequent sets a ratio of the first frequency) (third example frequency being the greatest) (para [0104]).
In re. claim 8, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 7, wherein the emitted light further includes multiple groups of emitted lights (f0, f1, f2) with a frequency lower than the emitted frequency of the second emitted light (f3) (para [0104]), and the multiple groups of emitted lights with the frequency lower than the emitted frequency of the second emitted light achieve the frequency of the second emitted light by arranged according to at least one of the following rules: arithmetic progression (ratio progression, e.g. f2 = f0+(11/10)*f1) (para [0104]).
In re. claim 14, Nielsen teaches a detection system for acquiring distance information with the detection method of claim 1, wherein the detection system includes: a light emitting module, for emitting emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies; a light receiving module, for obtaining returned light signal which is the emitted light reflected by detected object in the field of view, and converts the returned light signal into electrical signal; and a processing module, for acquiring the distance information of the detected object according to the electrical signal converted from the returned light signal acquired by the receiving module, wherein the processing module includes at least two sets of conversion relationships for calculating the distance information from the electrical signal, the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to one of the conversion relationships (as recited in claim 1).
In re. claim 15, Nielsen teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 14, wherein the light emitting module emits at least two groups of emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies, and the frequencies of at least one group of the emitted light are related to the distance accuracy of the detection system (as stated in claim 2 above).
In re. claim 16, Nielsen teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 15, wherein the emitted light further includes a second emitted light with a frequency lower than the frequency of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy (as stated in claim 3 above).
In re. claim 17, Nielsen teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 16, wherein the processing module outputs the final target distance information according to the returned light signal of the second emitted light and the returned light signal of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy (as stated in claim 4 above).
In re. claim 18, Nielsen teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 16, wherein the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object based on the electrical signal corresponding to the returned light of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy and/or the second emitted light, according to one of the conversion relationship (as stated in claim 5 above).
In re. claim 19, Nielsen teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 18, wherein the distance information acquired according to one of the conversion relationships, based on the electrical signal converted by the returned light corresponding to the emitted light is fluctuated, when the fluctuation of the distance information exceeds a preset value, the processing module outputs the distance information converted by the electrical signal according to another conversion relationship of the at least two sets of conversion relationships (as stated in claim 6 above).
Claims 1-3, 9-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hariyama et al. (US 2018/0224548), hereinafter Hariyama.
In re. claim 1, Hariyama teaches a detection method for acquiring distance information is performed by a distance detection system including a light emitting module (101, 103) (para [0038]), a processing module (114) and a light receiving module (112, 113) (para [0038]); the detection method including: the light emitting module emits light signals with different emitted frequencies (of lasers (101, 103)) (para [0039]); the light receiving module obtains returned light signal which is the emitted light reflected by detected object in the field of view (para [0038]), and converts the returned light signal into electrical signal (for processing by PC (114)) (para [0047]); and the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to the electrical signal converted from the returned light signal acquired by the receiving module (para [0047]), wherein the processing module includes at least two sets of conversion relationships for calculating the distance information from the electrical signal (phase shift for respective signals) (fig. 6), the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to one of the conversion relationships (distance equation includes phase shift) (para [0035]).
In re. claim 2, Hariyama teaches the light emitting module emits at least two groups of emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies (para [0039]), and the frequencies of at least one group of the emitted light are related to the distance accuracy of the detection system (for suppressing the nonlinear influence) (para [0070]).
Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting module emits at least two groups of emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies (F0, F1, F2) (para [0018]), and the frequencies of at least one group of the emitted light are related to the distance accuracy of the detection system (frequency set having the best quality measure is selected) (para [0105]).
In re. claim 3, Nielsen teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 2, wherein the emitted light further includes a second emitted light (103) with a frequency lower (para [0108]) than the frequency of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy (when the high frequency beat signal is used to suppress influence) (para [0105]).
In re. claim 9, Hariyama teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to anyone of claim 1, wherein the at least two sets of conversion relationships are functional relationships with phase offset relationships (phase offset by half cycle) (para [0044]).
In re. claim 10, Hariyama teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 9, wherein the phase offset relationship is expressed as:f2(φx)=f1(φx)+d(0) (when d(0) represents a half cycle).
In re. claim 11, Hariyama teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 10, wherein the phase offset relationship is expressed as:f2 ( =f1((φx +β) +d (0) (when d(0) represents a half cycle and f1 (φx +β) is equal to the frequency of f2 in figure 6).
In re. claim 12, Hariyama teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 10, wherein the processing module converts the electrical signal converted by the returned light to obtain delay phase information (return signal of phase shifted signals (101, 103)) (fig. 6), and when the distance fluctuation obtained by the delay phase according to one of the functional relationship is greater than the preset value (when error occurs) (para [0064]), the processing module outputs the corrected phase delay signal converted from the electrical signal according to another functional relationship of the at least two sets of conversion relationships, and then uses the corrected phase delay signal to acquire the calculated precision-related distance result (equation (8) is used) (para [0064]).
In re. claim 13, Hariyama teaches the detection method for acquiring distance information according to claim 3, wherein the processing module converts the electrical signal converted from the returned light of the precision-related emitted light and the second emitted light to obtain the delay phase information (return signal of phase shifted signals (101, 103)) (fig. 6), and judges the distance fluctuation, which the distance acquired form the returned light of the two different frequencies of emitted light according to one of the conversion relationship, when the distance fluctuation is greater than the preset value (when error occurs) (para [0064]), the processing module outputs the corrected phase delay of the electrical signal converted from the electrical signal according to another functional relationship of the at least two sets of conversion relationships, and then use the corrected phase delay signal to acquire the calculated precision-related distance result (equation (8) is used) (para [0064]).
In re. claim 14, Hariyama teaches a detection system for acquiring distance information with the detection method of claim 1, wherein the detection system includes: a light emitting module, for emitting emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies; a light receiving module, for obtaining returned light signal which is the emitted light reflected by detected object in the field of view, and converts the returned light signal into electrical signal; and a processing module, for acquiring the distance information of the detected object according to the electrical signal converted from the returned light signal acquired by the receiving module, wherein the processing module includes at least two sets of conversion relationships for calculating the distance information from the electrical signal, the processing module acquires the distance information of the detected object according to one of the conversion relationships (as recited in claim 1).
In re. claim 15, Hariyama teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 14, wherein the light emitting module emits at least two groups of emitted light signals with different emitted frequencies, and the frequencies of at least one group of the emitted light are related to the distance accuracy of the detection system (as stated in claim 2 above).
In re. claim 16, Hariyama teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 15, wherein the emitted light further includes a second emitted light with a frequency lower than the frequency of the emitted light determined by the distance accuracy (as stated in claim 3 above).
In re. claim 20, Hariyama teaches the detection system for acquiring distance information according to claim 16, wherein the processing module converts the electrical signal converted from the precision-related emitted light and the returned light of the second emitted light to obtain the delay phase information, and judges the distance fluctuation, which the distance acquired form the returned light of the two different frequencies of emitted light according to one of the conversion relationship, when the distance fluctuation is greater than the preset value, the processing module outputs the corrected phase delay of the electrical signal converted from the electrical signal according to another functional relationship of the at least two sets of conversion relationships, and then use the corrected phase delay signal to acquire the calculated precision-related distance result (as stated in claim 13 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647