DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Izumi et al. (US20060263619).
As to claim 1, Izumi et al. discloses a curable composition comprising a resin component (paragraph 0013) and a thermal initiator (paragraph 0016). As to wherein the thermal initiator has a 10-hour half-life temperature of 600C or more, and the curable composition has exhibiting a Shore A hardness of 70 or more when maintained at 500C for 50 minutes or less, since Izumi et al. discloses same materials (paragraph 0021, 0031) desired by the applicant it is inherent that wherein the thermal initiator has a 10-hour half-life temperature of 600C or more, and the curable composition has exhibiting a Shore A hardness of 70 or more when maintained at 500C for 50 minutes or less. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. ”A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658(Fed. Cir. 1990)
As to claim 2, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the resin component comprises a polymer component containing a unit derived from a compound having a curable functional group (paragraph 0019).
As to claim 3, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the curable functional group comprises has one or more functional groups selected from the group consisting of an alkenyl group, an alkynyl group, a (meth)acrylate group, a carboxyl group, an amide group, an amino group, an epoxy group, an isocyanate group, a cyano group, an acid anhydride group, a mercapto group, a silanol group, an alkoxysilane group, a hydroxyl group and an oxazoline group (paragraph 0021).
As to claim 4, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the polymer component comprises an acrylic polymer component, and the acrylic polymer component comprises a (meth)acrylate-derived unit containing an alkyl group and a (meth)acrylate-derived unit containing a hydroxyl group (paragraph 0021).
As to claim 5, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the acrylic polymer component desired by the applicant (paragraph 0021,0027) therefore, it is inherent that the acrylic polymer component has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) in a range of 30,000 to 200,000 g/mol and a polydispersity index (PDI) in a range of 1 to 4. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.”A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658(Fed. Cir. 1990)
As to claim 6, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the resin component comprises a monomer component containing a compound having a curable functional group, wherein the monomer component comprises an acrylic monomer component, and the acrylic monomer component comprises a (meth)acrylate containing an alkyl group and a (meth)acrylate containing a hydroxyl group (paragraph 0021).
As to claim 7, Izumi et al. discloses wherein the resin component has a glass transition temperature (Tg) in a range of -50°C to 0C (paragraph 0027).
As to claim 8, Izumi et al. discloses, further comprising a filler component (paragraph 0029) and since Izumi et al. discloses the same materials desired by the applicant it is inherent that forming the curable composition is configured to form a cured product having a thermal conductivity of 2 W/mK or more. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. ”A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658(Fed. Cir. 1990)
As to claim 9, Izumi et al. discloses comprising wherein the filler component is present in a range of 60 wt% to 98 wt% relative to the a total weight of the curable composition (paragraph 0014,0037).
As to claim 10, Izumi et al. discloses, further comprising a photoinitiator (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 11, Izumi et al. discloses, wherein the a weight ratio (IH/Iu) of the thermal initiator (IH)to the photoinitiator (Iu) is in a range of 0.01 to 5 (paragraph 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi et al. in view of Ishizaki et al. (JP2011052161A).
Izumi et al. discloses the curable composition described above. Izumi et al. fail to disclose wherein the photoinitiator comprises a radical initiator and a cationic initiator and wherein the a weight ratio (IR/IP) of the radical initiator (IR)to the cationic initiator (IP) is in a range of 0.01 to 2.
Ishizaki et al. teaches wherein the photoinitiator comprises a radical initiator and a cationic initiator and wherein the a weight ratio (IR/IP) of the radical initiator (IR)to the cationic initiator (IP) is in a range of 0.01 to 2 for the purpose of providing resistance to humid heat that can be improved and enhanced (paragraph 0016,0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Izumi et al. with wherein the photoinitiator that comprises a radical initiator and a cationic initiator and wherein the a weight ratio (IR/IP) of the radical initiator (IR)to the cationic initiator (IP) is in a range of 0.01 to 2 for the purpose of providing resistance to humid heat that can be improved and enhanced (paragraph 0016,0008).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724