DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication mailed on 9/25/2025 and applicant has submitted an amendment, filed on 12/22/2025.
Claims 9-13 are pending, with claims 9, 11-13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 9-13 filed on 9/25/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhu fails to anticipate limitation of amended independent claims claim 9, recited “a receiver that receives one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell” and independent claims 11-13 are each similarly amended as amended independent claim 9 (see remarks pages 6-7).
Examiner very kindly directs the applicant to ¶ [0153], “…the network transmits to the UE a TCI state indicating one or more QCL source RSs. The QCL source RS could be transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell/TRP, e.g., the first set of SSBs, or transmitted from/associated with/configured for one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s), e.g., the fourth set of SSBs…”, ¶ [0216], [0217], “…index values for the serving cell/TRP and N_nsc≥1 non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs. For example, the first entry in the list could correspond to the serving cell/TRP, the second entry in the list could correspond to a first non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP, the third entry in the list could correspond to a second non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP and so on…, … All the local RS resource indices (such as the local SSB resource indices) from both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs are coded/indexed in a consecutive manner, resulting in a set of global RS resource indices (or a set of global SSB resource indices) for both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs…” and ¶ [0223], “…UE receiving from the network the set of RS (such as SSB) (re-)indexing configurations/rules and the MAC CE activation command/bitmap is presented…”. Therefore, Zhu disclosed “a receiver that receives one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell”
The examiner has updated the rejection to further clarify and see addition from below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20220046458 (hereinafter referred to as Zhu).
Consider claim 9, Zhu teaches a terminal (see at least ¶ [0056], “…UE 116…”) comprising:
a receiver that receives one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell see at least ¶ [0012], “…The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive first information for a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from a serving cell PCI and receive second information for source or measurement reference signals (RSs) for the PCI…” and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (see at least ¶ [0135], “…the first set of SSBs or/and the second set of SSBs from the serving cell/TRP, or/and the third set of SSBs or/and the fourth set of SSBs or/and the fifth set of SSBs from one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs in the inter-cell system …” and see at least ¶ [0152], “…the UE receives, from the network, the QCL relationship rule via higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling…” and see at least ¶ [0153], “…the network transmits to the UE a TCI state indicating one or more QCL source RSs. The QCL source RS could be transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell/TRP, e.g., the first set of SSBs, or transmitted from/associated with/configured for one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s), e.g., the fourth set of SSBs…” and further see at least ¶ [0216], [0217], “…index values for the serving cell/TRP and N_nsc≥1 non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs. For example, the first entry in the list could correspond to the serving cell/TRP, the second entry in the list could correspond to a first non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP, the third entry in the list could correspond to a second non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP and so on…, … All the local RS resource indices (such as the local SSB resource indices) from both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs are coded/indexed in a consecutive manner, resulting in a set of global RS resource indices (or a set of global SSB resource indices) for both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs…” and see at least ¶ [0223], “…UE receiving from the network the set of RS (such as SSB) (re-)indexing configurations/rules and the MAC CE activation command/bitmap is presented…”. Therefore, Zhu disclosed “related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (S SB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI)”); and
a processor that controls CSI reporting based on the one CSI resource configuration (see at least ¶ [0012], “…The UE includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine, based on one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, the first information, and the second information, a reception spatial domain filter for reception of at least one of downlink (DL) RSs and channels from the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0126], “…certain RX parameters used by the UE to receive one or more downlink RSs transmitted from TRP-1 can be used for receiving one or more downlink RSs/channels transmitted from TRP-2. For instance, assume that one or more SSBs from the serving cell TRP-1 are configured as the QCL-TypeC source RSs for one or more downlink RSs/channels transmitted from the non-serving (or neighboring) cell TRP-2 (broadcasting a different PCI from that of TRP-1)…”).
Consider claim 11, Zhu teaches a radio communication method for a terminal (see at least ¶ [0056], “…UE 116…”), comprising:
receiving one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration including related to one parameter configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (see at least ¶ [0012], “…The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive first information for a physical cell identifier (PCI) different from a serving cell PCI and receive second information for source or measurement reference signals (RSs) for the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0112], “…the UE can apply the same spatial domain receive filter used for receiving SSB #M−2 to receive the downlink transmissions from TRP-2. If, however, TRP-2 is not associated with a valid serving cell ID and/or it broadcasts a different PCI from that of the serving cell/TRP…”); and
controlling CSI reporting based on the one CSI resource configuration (see at least ¶ [0012], “…The UE includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine, based on one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, the first information, and the second information, a reception spatial domain filter for reception of at least one of downlink (DL) RSs and channels from the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0126], “…certain RX parameters used by the UE to receive one or more downlink RSs transmitted from TRP-1 can be used for receiving one or more downlink RSs/channels transmitted from TRP-2. For instance, assume that one or more SSBs from the serving cell TRP-1 are configured as the QCL-TypeC source RSs for one or more downlink RSs/channels transmitted from the non-serving (or neighboring) cell TRP-2 (broadcasting a different PCI from that of TRP-1)…”).
Consider claim 12, Zhu teaches a base station (see at least ¶ [0056], “…gNB 102 provides wireless broadband access to the network 130 for a first plurality of UEs within a coverage area 120 of the gNB 102…”) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non- serving cell (see at least ¶ [0013], “…a base station (BS) is provided. The BS includes a transceiver configured to transmit first information for a PCI different from a serving cell PCI and transmit second information for source or measurement RSs for the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0085], “…gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS). A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide CSI to a gNB. For channel measurement, non-zero power CSI-RS (NZP CSI-RS) resources are used…” and further see at least ¶ [0135], “…the first set of SSBs or/and the second set of SSBs from the serving cell/TRP, or/and the third set of SSBs or/and the fourth set of SSBs or/and the fifth set of SSBs from one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs in the inter-cell system …” and see at least ¶ [0152], “…the UE receives, from the network, the QCL relationship rule via higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling…” and see at least ¶ [0153], “…the network transmits to the UE a TCI state indicating one or more QCL source RSs. The QCL source RS could be transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell/TRP, e.g., the first set of SSBs, or transmitted from/associated with/configured for one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s), e.g., the fourth set of SSBs…” and further see at least ¶ [0216], [0217], “…index values for the serving cell/TRP and N_nsc≥1 non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs. For example, the first entry in the list could correspond to the serving cell/TRP, the second entry in the list could correspond to a first non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP, the third entry in the list could correspond to a second non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP and so on…, … All the local RS resource indices (such as the local SSB resource indices) from both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs are coded/indexed in a consecutive manner, resulting in a set of global RS resource indices (or a set of global SSB resource indices) for both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs…” and see at least ¶ [0223], “…UE receiving from the network the set of RS (such as SSB) (re-)indexing configurations/rules and the MAC CE activation command/bitmap is presented…”. Therefore, Zhu disclosed “related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (S SB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI)”); and
a processor that controls reception of CSI reporting based on the one CSI resource configuration (see at least ¶ [0013], “…The processor configured to generate one or more TCI states indicating resources of the source RSs for the PCI, generate one or more CSI resource settings or one or more CSI-RS resource sets configuring resources of the measurement RSs for the PCI, and generate one or more CSI reporting settings configuring a beam report for the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0118], “…the SSBs transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell or the serving cell TRP (e.g., the first set of SSBs) could be configured as QCL-TypeA or/and QCL-TypeB or/and QCL-TypeC or/and QCL-TypeD source RSs for the CSI-RSs such as TRSs transmitted from/associated with/configured for a non-serving (or neighboring) cell or a non-serving (or neighboring) cell TRP broadcasting a different PCI from that of the serving cell/TRP…”).
Consider claim 13, Zhu teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station (see at least ¶ [0056], “…gNB 102 provides wireless broadband access to the network 130 for a first plurality of UEs within a coverage area 120 of the gNB 102…”), wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver that receives one channel state information (CSI) resource configuration including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell and an SSB associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (see at least ¶ [0013], “…a base station (BS) is provided. The BS includes a transceiver configured to transmit first information for a PCI different from a serving cell PCI and transmit second information for source or measurement RSs for the PCI…” and see at least ¶ [0056], “…The gNB 102 provides wireless broadband access to the network 130 for a first plurality of UEs within a coverage area 120 of the gNB 102. The first plurality of UEs includes a UE 111…” and see at least ¶ [0085], “…gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS). A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide CSI to a gNB. For channel measurement, non-zero power CSI-RS (NZP CSI-RS) resources are used…” and further see at least ¶ [0135], “…the first set of SSBs or/and the second set of SSBs from the serving cell/TRP, or/and the third set of SSBs or/and the fourth set of SSBs or/and the fifth set of SSBs from one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs in the inter-cell system …” and see at least ¶ [0152], “…the UE receives, from the network, the QCL relationship rule via higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling…” and see at least ¶ [0153], “…the network transmits to the UE a TCI state indicating one or more QCL source RSs. The QCL source RS could be transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell/TRP, e.g., the first set of SSBs, or transmitted from/associated with/configured for one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s), e.g., the fourth set of SSBs…” and further see at least ¶ [0216], [0217], “…index values for the serving cell/TRP and N_nsc≥1 non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs. For example, the first entry in the list could correspond to the serving cell/TRP, the second entry in the list could correspond to a first non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP, the third entry in the list could correspond to a second non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP and so on…, … All the local RS resource indices (such as the local SSB resource indices) from both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs are coded/indexed in a consecutive manner, resulting in a set of global RS resource indices (or a set of global SSB resource indices) for both the serving cell/TRP and the N_nsc non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs…” and see at least ¶ [0223], “…UE receiving from the network the set of RS (such as SSB) (re-)indexing configurations/rules and the MAC CE activation command/bitmap is presented…”. Therefore, Zhu disclosed “related to one parameter including configurations of both a synchronization signal block (S SB) associated with a physical cell ID (PCI)”); and
a processor that controls CSI reporting based on the one CSI resource configuration (see at least ¶ [0116], “…The first set of SSBs or the second set of SSBs could include all SSBs transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell or the serving cell TRP. The third set of SSBs or the fourth set of SSBs or the fifth set of SSBs could include all SSBs transmitted from/associated with/configured for the non-serving (or neighboring) cell(s)/TRP(s) in the inter-cell system broadcasting different PCI(s) from that of the serving cell…”), and
the base station comprises: a processor that controls reception of the CSI reporting (see at least ¶ [0118], “…the SSBs transmitted from/associated with/configured for the serving cell or the serving cell TRP (e.g., the first set of SSBs) could be configured as QCL-TypeA or/and QCL-TypeB or/and QCL-TypeC or/and QCL-TypeD source RSs for the CSI-RSs such as TRSs transmitted from/associated with/configured for a non-serving (or neighboring) cell or a non-serving (or neighboring) cell TRP broadcasting a different PCI from that of the serving cell/TRP…”).
Consider claim 10 (depends on at least claim 9), Zhu discloses the limitations of claim 9 as applied to claim rejection 9 above and further discloses:
Zhu teaches a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of a configuration of the SSB of the non-serving cell corresponding to the CSI reporting (see at least ¶ [0167], “…the field PCI/TRP ID in QCL-Info is not configured but the field ServCellIndex is configured and set to a valid value, the RS Index in the higher layer parameter QCL-Info indicates the RS resource index (SSB or CSI-RS resource index) associated with the indicated ServCellIndex value, and therefore, the corresponding serving/non-serving (or neighboring) cell/TRP associated with the indicated ServCellIndex value…” and see at least ¶ [0257], “…The triggering condition(s) could be based on UE's capability or/and preference reporting/signaling. An algorithm flowchart illustrating how the network would determine between the explicit non-serving (or neighboring) cell RS indication in TCI state/QCL information and implicit non-serving (or neighboring) cell RS (re-)indexing in TCI state/QCL information…” and see at least ¶ [0260], “…The condition(s) could include but is not limited to: PCI/TRP ID collision is observed between the serving cell/TRP and one or more non-serving (or neighboring) cells/TRPs, the signaling overhead of the explicit non-serving (or neighboring) cell RS indication in TCI state/QCL information is larger than a threshold and etc. The condition(s) could be based on UE's capability and/or preference signaling as well …”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645