DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haase et al. (US 2018/0284356 A1, herein “pgpub 356”).
Pgpub 356 discloses an optical interconnect assembly comprising:
a first optical cable (waveguides held in retainer 130) comprises a plurality of first optical fibers (110);
an optical connector (Light Coupling Unit 120) attached to the first optical cable (130), the optical connector (120) comprising:
a body comprising a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface, the body further defining a plurality of passages (grooves 114) spaced apart from each other and extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface, the passages configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding first optical fibers of the first optical cable (see at least Fig. 1 and 2A); and
a plurality of microlenses (light redirecting member 112 can be mirror lenses, Para [0152], pgpub 356 teaches the light coupling unit supports single mode fiber {Para [0161]} and a standard single mode fiber is 8 to 10 micrometer in diameter. Thus, the mirror lenses are considered to be in the micrometer order of magnitude) spaced apart from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (see annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the microlenses (120) are aligned to the passages (114) in one-to-one correspondence and are configured to receive light exiting from the corresponding first optical fibers (each microlens of 112 corresponds to a groove 114 which corresponds to a fiber (“waveguide 110”);
a carrier ferrule (identical optical connector 120, but on the back side, see Figs. 30-39 for specific details);
A carrier ferrule (under side of optical connector 3000 as shown in Fig. 31) defining a slot (“coupling member 3014” is the slot between sidewalls 3022) that is configured to at least partially receive the body of the optical connector therein (“Coupling member 3014 is configured to receive a mating tongue 3012 of a mating light coupling unit.” Para [0131]), such that the plurality of microlenses are exposed through the slot (microlenses 3004 would be oriented upward and perpendicular to slot 3014);
an optical ferrule (optical connector 120 in Fig. 1 or 3000 in Fig. 30 is the front side opposing the slot or “carrier ferrule”; optical connector in Fig. 30 and carrier ferrule in Fig. 31, they are two sides of the same component) detachably connected to the carrier ferrule and optically coupled to the plurality of microlenses of the optical connector (light from one optical connector 120/3000 are redirected by light redirecting element 3004 to optically transmitting window 3016, Para [0132], [0134]);
and Fig. 29B schematically demonstrates a second optical cable (right side cable) comprising a plurality of second optical fibers attached and optically coupled to the optical ferrule (2972), wherein the carrier ferrule (under side of optical ferrule 2972) and the optical ferrule (2972) being optically coupled (via optically transmitting window3016) is defined to mean at least one of the plurality of first optical fibers of the first optical cable is configured to exchange one or more optical signals with at least one of the plurality of second optical fibers of the second optical cable (Para [0129]-[0130]). Therefore, since the optical connector is on one side of the Light Coupling Unit 3000 and the carrier ferrule is on the second side of the Light Coupling Unit 3000, thus “the optical connector and the carrier ferrule form a unitary component” (Light Coupling Unit 3000), as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haase et al. (US 2019/0049671 A1, herein “Haase”).
Regarding claim 1, Haase discloses an optical connector comprising:
a body comprising a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface (see annotated Fig. 1C), the body defining a plurality of passages (Y-groove 4110 in Fig. 4) spaced apart from each other and extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface (Fig. 1A and 1B show the details from the view of a single fiber optical ferrule and an array of single fiber optical ferrule is the connector shown in Fig. 1C), the passages (space 103) configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding optical fiber (116) of an optical cable (106); and
a plurality of microlenses (fibers of the Haase invention are single mode fibers and multi-mode fibers having diameters in the micrometers, thus, the “lens 102b” is considered microlenses) spaced apart from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (See Fig. 1C, the microlenses on the second lateral surface), wherein the microlenses are aligned to the passages in a one-to-one correspondence (see Figs. 1A and 1B), such that light is transmitted between the microlenses and the corresponding optical fibers (Figs. 1A – 1C). The examiner notes, the features specific to the passage is disclosed in the single fiber passage, but the features are also in the embodiment supporting plurality of fibers (Para [0033]);
wherein the body further defines a plurality of openings (opening 205) inclined (see annotated Fig. 2A below) to the plurality of passages and disposed between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, and wherein the openings are aligned and communicating;
wherein the body further comprises a first major surface extending between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface; and a second major surface opposite to the first major surface and extending between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, wherein each passage is disposed between the first major surface and the second major surface, and wherein the openings extend from the first major surface to the passages, are configured such that when each of the passages at least partially receive an optical fiber (Para [0049]).
However, the embodiment of Figs. 1A-1C and 2A do not explicitly teach an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection from the first major surface via the opening.
The embodiment of Figs. 4 and 5 show a light coupling unit (LCU) wherein the optical fiber (4109) positioned in the Y-groove (4110) and the LCU unit can be exposed as shown in Fig. 4 or optional enclosed with cover (4135, Para [0063]). The examiner further notes, terminal end (4113) and intermediate section (4108) are formed of optically transparent material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize connecter body shown in embodiment of Fig. 1C can be modified by lengthening the access port (105) such that an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection. Another modification which is shown in Fig. 4 wherein a cover would not be necessary (cover is optional, Para [0063]) such that an end of the fiber would be accessible for visual inspection. Furthermore, Fig. 5 shows a cover disposed over the Y-groove opening and the LCU are shown to have transparent material at the terminal end and the intermediate section 4108. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the cover with an optically transparent material such that it would be an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection. One would be motivated to have access to visual inspection of the optical fiber end as a quality assurance step that the fiber end has been properly cleaved, positioned, and optically coupled to the terminal end at the predetermined distance.
Claim 2. Haase discloses the body further comprises a plurality of protrusions (“waveguide stop” 104), each protrusion being disposed in a corresponding passage from the plurality of passages and configured to engage with an end of the corresponding optical fiber.
Claim 8. Haase discloses an optical connector comprising:
a body comprising a first major surface (top surface), a second major surface (bottom surface) opposite to the first major surface, and opposing first and second lateral surfaces extending between the first and second major surfaces (see annotated Fig. 1C), the body defining a plurality of passages (space 103) spaced apart from each other and disposed between the first and second major surfaces, the passages extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface (Fig. 1A and 1B show the details from the view of a single fiber optical ferrule and an array of single fiber optical ferrule is the connector shown in Fig. 1C) and configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding optical fibers (116) of an optical cable (106); and
a plurality of microlenses (fibers of the Haase invention are single mode fibers and multi-mode fibers having diameters in the micrometers, thus, the “lens 102b” is considered microlenses) spaced part from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (See Fig. 1C, the microlenses on the second lateral surface), wherein the microlenses are aligned to the passages in a one-to-one correspondence, such that light is transmitted between the microlenses and the corresponding optical fibers (Figs. 1A – 1C);
wherein the body further defines a plurality of openings (opening 205) inclined (see annotated Fig. 2A above) to the plurality of passages (Y-grooves 4110) and disposed between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, and wherein the openings are aligned and communicating; and
wherein the openings extend from the first major surface to the passages are configured such that when each of the passages at least partially receive an optical fiber (Figs. 1A-1C and 2A)
However, the embodiment of Figs. 1A-1C and 2A do not explicitly teach an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection from the first major surface via the opening.
The embodiment of Figs. 4 and 5 show a light coupling unit (LCU) wherein the optical fiber (4109) positioned in the Y-groove (4110) and the LCU unit can be exposed as shown in Fig. 4 or optional enclosed with cover (4135, Para [0063]). The examiner further notes, terminal end (4113) and intermediate section (4108) are formed of optically transparent material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize connecter body shown in embodiment of Fig. 1C can be modified by lengthening the access port (105) such that an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection. Another modification which is shown in Fig. 4 wherein a cover would not be necessary (cover is optional, Para [0063]) such that an end of the fiber would be accessible for visual inspection. Furthermore, Fig. 5 shows a cover disposed over the Y-groove opening and the LCU are shown to have transparent material at the terminal end and the intermediate section 4108. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the cover with an optically transparent material such that it would be an end of the corresponding optical fiber is accessible for visual inspection. One would be motivated to have access to visual inspection of the optical fiber end as a quality assurance step that the fiber end has been properly cleaved, positioned, and optically coupled to the terminal end at the predetermined distance.
Claim 9. Haase discloses each passage is at least partly defined by a bottom surface extending from the first lateral surface, a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, and a pair of opposing side surfaces extending between the bottom surface and the top surface, and wherein the corresponding optical fiber is at least partly received on the bottom surface. Haase discloses these passages as grooves in the V-shape or U-shape (Para [0032]).
Claim 10. Haase discloses the body further comprises a plurality of protrusions (waveguide stop 104), each protrusion being disposed in a corresponding passage from the plurality of passages and configured to engage with an end of the corresponding optical fiber.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haase in view of Watanabe et al. (US 11,125,950 B2, herein “Watanabe”).
Haase teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teach the body further comprises a plurality of inclined surfaces corresponding to the plurality of passages (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Haase does not explicitly disclose the inclined surfaces being disposed at ends of the corresponding passages and between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface.
Watanabe teaches an inclined surface (41) at the interface between the lens array plate (14) and the optical fiber passage (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to recognize the inclined surface of Watanabe can be etched, cleaved, and/or polished to a predetermined angle for each optical fiber passages to prevent backreflection of light coupled in reverse from the microlens 44. The motivation is to provide an efficient signal coupling at the interface by reducing insertion loss (forward coupling) and/or backreflection which can degrade the optical signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New grounds of rejection is presented over the two different embodiments of Haase, namely Figs. 1A-2 as the first embodiment and Fig. 4 as the second embodiment.
Applicant's arguments filed on June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) to pgpub 356 is provided above, wherein pgpub 356 teach the optical connector and the carrier ferrule are two different sides of the same component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892:A-G.
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874