DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on September 17, 2025. Claims 1-2, and 5-10 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasse et al. (US 20190049671 A1, herein “Hasse”).
Regarding claim 1, Haase discloses an optical connector comprising:
a body comprising a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface (see annotated Fig. 1C), the body defining a plurality of passages (Y-groove 4110 in Fig. 4) spaced apart from each other and extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface (Fig. 1A and 1B show the details from the view of a single fiber optical ferrule and an array of single fiber optical ferrule is the connector shown in Fig. 1C), the passages (space 103) configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding optical fiber (116) of an optical cable (106); and
a plurality of microlenses (fibers of the Haase invention are single mode fibers and multi-mode fibers having diameters in the micrometers, thus, the “lens 102b” is considered microlenses) spaced apart from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (See Fig. 1C, the microlenses on the second lateral surface), wherein the microlenses are aligned to the passages in a one-to-one correspondence (see Figs. 1A and 1B), such that light is transmitted between the microlenses and the corresponding optical fibers (Figs. 1A – 1C). The examiner notes, the features specific to the passage is disclosed in the single fiber passage, but the features are also in the embodiment supporting plurality of fibers (Para [0033]);
wherein the body further defines a plurality of openings (opening 205) inclined (see annotated Fig. 2A below) to the plurality of passages and disposed between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, and wherein the openings are aligned and communicating;
wherein the body further comprises a first major surface extending between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface; and a second major surface opposite to the first major surface and extending between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, wherein each passage is disposed between the first major surface and the second major surface, and wherein the openings extend from the first major surface to the passages, are configured such that when each of the passages at least partially receive an optical fiber, an end of the corresponding optical fiber is exposed through the opening (Para [0049]).
Claim 2. The body further comprises a plurality of protrusions (“waveguide stop” 104), each protrusion being disposed in a corresponding passage from the plurality of passages and configured to engage with an end of the corresponding optical fiber.
Claim 8. Haase discloses an optical connector comprising:
a body comprising a first major surface (top surface), a second major surface (bottom surface) opposite to the first major surface, and opposing first and second lateral surfaces extending between the first and second major surfaces (see annotated Fig. 1C), the body defining a plurality of passages (space 103) spaced apart from each other and disposed between the first and second major surfaces, the passages extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface (Fig. 1A and 1B show the details from the view of a single fiber optical ferrule and an array of single fiber optical ferrule is the connector shown in Fig. 1C) and configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding optical fibers (116) of an optical cable (106); and
a plurality of microlenses (fibers of the Haase invention are single mode fibers and multi-mode fibers having diameters in the micrometers, thus, the “lens 102b” is considered microlenses) spaced part from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (See Fig. 1C, the microlenses on the second lateral surface), wherein the microlenses are aligned to the passages in a one-to-one correspondence, such that light is transmitted between the microlenses and the corresponding optical fibers (Figs. 1A – 1C);
wherein the body further defines a plurality of openings (opening 205) inclined (see annotated Fig. 2A above) to the plurality of passages (Y-grooves 4110) and disposed between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface, and wherein the openings are aligned and communicating; and
wherein the openings extend from the first major surface to the passages, are configured such that when each of the passages at least partially receive an optical fiber, an end of the corresponding optical fiber is exposed through the opening (see annotated Figs. 1C, 4 and 5 above).
Claim 9. Each passage is at least partly defined by a bottom surface extending from the first lateral surface, a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, and a pair of opposing side surfaces extending between the bottom surface and the top surface, and wherein the corresponding optical fiber is at least partly received on the bottom surface. Haase discloses these passages as grooves in the V-shape or U-shape (Para [0032]).
Claim 10. The body further comprises a plurality of protrusions (waveguide stop 104), each protrusion being disposed in a corresponding passage from the plurality of passages and configured to engage with an end of the corresponding optical fiber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haase in view of Watanabe et al. (US 11,125,950 B2, herein “Watanabe”).
Haase discloses the invention of claim 5 and further disclose a plurality, but does not disclose a plurality of inclined surfaces corresponding to the plurality of passages, the inclined surfaces being disposed at ends of the corresponding passages and between the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface.
Watanabe teaches an inclined surface (41) at the interface between the lens array plate (14) and the optical fiber passage (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize the inclined surface of Watanabe can be etched, cleaved, and/or polished to a predetermined angle for each optical fiber passages to prevent backreflection of light coupled in reverse from the microlens 44. The motivation is to provide an efficient signal coupling at the interface by reducing insertion loss (forward coupling) and/or backreflection which can degrade the optical signal.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haase in view of Haase et al. (US 2018/0284356 A1, herein pg-pub ‘356).
Haase discloses an optical interconnect assembly comprising:
a first optical cable (waveguide 116) comprises a plurality of first optical fibers (106, Fig. 1C or 206 in Fig. 2A);
an optical connector (ferrule 200) attached to the first optical cable, the optical connector comprising:
a body comprising a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface (see annotated Fig. 1C), the body further defining a plurality of passages spaced apart from each other and extending at least partly along a length of the body from the first lateral surface ((Fig. 1A and 1B show the details from the view of a single fiber optical ferrule and an array of single fiber optical ferrule is the connector shown in Fig. 1C), the passages (space 103) configured to at least partly receive therein corresponding first optical fibers (116) of the first optical cable (106); and
a plurality of microlenses (fibers of the Haase invention are single mode fibers and multi-mode fibers having diameters in the micrometers, thus, the “lens 102b” is considered microlenses) spaced apart from each other and disposed on the second lateral surface (See Fig. 1C, the microlenses on the second lateral surface), wherein the microlenses are aligned to the passages in a one-to-one correspondence (see Figs. 1A and 1B) and are configured to receive light exiting from the corresponding first optical fibers (Figs. 1A – 1C).
However, Haase does not disclose a carrier ferrule defining a slot that is configured to at least partially receive the body of the optical connector therein, such that the plurality of microlenses are exposed through the slot;
an optical ferrule detachably connected to the carrier ferrule and optically coupled to the plurality of microlenses of the optical connector; and
a second optical cable comprising a plurality of second optical fibers attached and optically coupled to the optical ferrule.
Pg-pub ‘356 discloses an optical interconnect assembly comprising:
a carrier ferrule (subassemblies 502) defining a slot (within inner housing 519) that is configured to at least partially receive the body of the optical connector therein, such that the plurality of microlenses are exposed through the slot (see Fig. 6B wherein the microlenses are exposed on the outside of the inner housing 619);
an optical ferule (571 or 671) detachably connected to the carrier ferrule (502) and optically coupled to the plurality of microlenses of the optical connector (light coupling unit 571); and
a second optical cable comprising a plurality of second optical fibers attached and optically coupled to the optical ferrule (see Fig. 27 showing the coupling of two opposing cables via optical ferrule (2771, 2772).
Furthermore, the examiner considers the assembly of 2701 and 2702 forms a unitary component comprising the optical connector and the carrier ferrule.
an optical ferrule (cable retainer 821) detachably connected to the carrier ferrule and optically coupled to the plurality of microlenses of the optical connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize the inventions of Haase in view of Pg-pub ‘356 are combinable and modifiable since both inventions are assigned to the same group of inventors from the same company. One would be motivated to provide a carrier ferrule having an optical ferrule detachably connected to the carrier ferrule as shown in Pg-pub’356 is to provide hermaphroditic sub-assembly that houses multiple optical cable which easily aligned and coupled to one another regardless of orientation (e.g., hermaphroditic connection). Such carrier would allow a communication system to scale up to higher density of connectors with installation ease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended independent claims 1 and 8. However, prior art to Haase (US 2019/0049671 A1) continues to anticipate the claimed invention, as amended. The rejection is clarified above with annotated figures.
Applicant further argues Haase (US 2018/0284356 A1) do not teach the invention of claim 6 because “[h]ousing 519 is a housing which contains ferrules, not a ferrule itself. The slot in the housing does not allow the plurality of microlenses in the ferrule to be exposed through the slot. There is no direct ferrule-to-ferrule connection, through a slot in a ferrule.”
Figure 5 shows the details of the carrier ferrule. Fig. 6A-6B teaches the coupling of two ferrules in the retainer attachment area 603 in the passageway 661, and at least when the light coupling unit 671 is in the mated position (Para [0081]). Therefore, the examiner considers applicant’s argument not persuasive and the same ground of rejection for claims 6 and 7 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874