DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 11,992,056).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Park discloses an apparatus for generating an aerosol (figure 8, reference numeral 100) having an induction coil (column 11, lines 35-40, figure 8, reference numeral 130) that surrounds a heating portion that generates heat when the coil generates an alternating magnetic field (column 8, lines 63-67, column 9, lines 1-6), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a susceptor. The susceptor directly contacts a temperature sensor (figure 8, reference numeral 140) by extending through an ejector located below the coil (column 11, lines 41-46, figure 8, reference numeral 120). Only a portion of the susceptor is surrounded by the coil (figure 1). The portion of the susceptor that is surrounded by the coil is considered to be first part, and the portion of the susceptor that is not surrounded by the coil is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second part. The susceptor is made from a ferromagnetic alloy (column 6, lines 31-38), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of the parts comprising the same susceptor material.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Park discloses that the device comprises an accommodating space which accommodates a cigarette (column 6, lines 39-45, figure 3, reference numeral 121). The portion of the accommodating space surrounded by the coil is considered to be a heating chamber.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses that the susceptor extends longitudinally along the axis of the accommodating space, and that the tip of the susceptor extends beyond the coil (figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses that the accommodating space has a closed end and an open end, and that the second end of the susceptor is closer to the open end than the first end of the susceptor (figure 3).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Park discloses that the susceptor is in contact with the temperature sensor through a hole in a base wall of the accommodation space (column 11, lines 35-40, figure 8, reference numeral 140), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a cut out portion that corresponds to a location of the second part of the susceptor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 10-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 11,992,056) in view of Batista (US 2022/0295894 hereafter referred to as Batista ‘894).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Park does not explicitly disclose a plurality of spaced apart susceptors.
Batista ‘894 teaches an aerosol generating device having a susceptor arrangement with at least two elongate susceptors arranged in an elongate cavity (abstract). Batista additionally teaches that this format improves heating efficiency [0003].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the central susceptor of Park and to instead provide multiple elongate susceptors on the side of the accommodating space of Park. One would have been motivated to do so since Batista ‘894 teaches that providing elongate susceptors on the sides of a cavity improves heating efficiency in an aerosol generating device.
Regarding claim 7, Batista ‘894 teaches that the susceptors are mounted on a plurality of suspension springs ([0111], figure 5B, reference numeral 46), which are considered to meet the claim limitation of susceptor mounts.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, Park discloses that the accommodating space forms a tubular chamber (figure 4), and Batista ‘894 teaches that the susceptors are arranged around the side of a tubular housing ([0007], figure 2).
Regarding claims 11-12 and 17, Park discloses that the accommodating space is defined by an ejector (column 6, lines 46-54, figure 3, reference numeral 120) made from PEEK (column 7, lines 47-53).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 11,992,056) in view of Batista (US 2022/0295894, hereafter referred to as Batista ‘894) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Batista (US 12,439,969, hereafter referred to as Batista ‘969).
Regarding claim 8, modified Park teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Park additionally discloses that the coil is located outside of the accommodating space (figure 3). Modified Park does not explicitly teach a coil support groove.
Batista ‘969 teaches an inductive heating element (abstract) having an inductive heating arrangement that is held in an inductive heating arrangement housing that secures the relative arrangement of the components (column 13, lines 60-67).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coil of modified Park with the housing of Batista ‘969. One would have been motivated to do so since Batista ‘969 teaches a housing that secures the relative arrangement of the components.
Regarding claim 9, Batista ‘969 teaches that the housing is in the form of a groove (column 23, lines 16-21, figure 5, reference numeral 154).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 11,992,056) in view of Bajpai (US 11,000,067).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Park does not explicitly disclose the temperature sensor being a thermocouple.
Bajpai teaches a system comprising a portable electronic vaporizing device (abstract) that has a thermocouple that measures temperature by being placed in contact with a component to sense the temperature of that component (column 27, lines 1-32).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thermocouple of Bajpai as the temperature sensor of Park. One would have been motivated to do so since Bajpai teaches a temperature sensor that is suitable for measuring temperature in an electronic vaporizing device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 11,992,056) in view of Batista (US 2022/0295894, hereafter referred to as Batista ‘894) and Batista (US 12,439,969, hereafter referred to as Batista ‘969) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Sayed (US 12,520,875).
Regarding claim 15, modified Park teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Park does not explicitly teach the coil being helical.
Sayed teaches an aerosol provision device (abstract) having a helical inductive heating coil that surrounds a heating zone (column 12, lines 20-26).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the coil of modified Park be helical. One would have been motivated to do so since Sayed teaches that a helical coil is a suitable shape for an inductive coil for an aerosol provision device.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755