DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2023 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1 – 2 and 4 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (US 2019/0255637) in view of JP H0537422. Regarding claim 1, Yamasaki discloses an electrical discharge machine that performs electrical discharge machining on a workpiece in a liquid stored in a work-pan (“ electric discharge machine is configured to perform electric discharge machining on a workpiece in a working fluid stored in a work-pan ” [Abstract]) , the electrical discharge machine comprising: a pump configured to supply the liquid (Fig. 2, “pump P3”; “w orking fluid stored in the clear fluid tank 54 is pumped up by a pump P3 and supplied to the work-pan 42 through a second supply pipe 66 ” [0028]) ; an inlet pipe (Fig. 2, “supply pipe 66”) configured to introduce the liquid supplied by the pump into the work-pan (described above) ; and a through hole configured to penetrate a pipe wall of the inlet pipe (see annotated Fig. 2 , below , showing location of through hole, where inlet pipe 66 branches to pipe 72) , wherein the inlet pipe includes a pipe portion, and the through hole is provided in the pipe portion (see annotated Fig. 2) . Yamasaki does not expressly disclose wherein the inlet pipe includes a pipe portion that is higher than a maximum height of a water level allowed in the work-pan , and a through hole is provided in the pipe portion . JP H0537422 is directed to a “ Machining Fluid Discharge Device Of Electric Discharge Machine ” [Title]. JP H0537422 discloses wherein a pipe includes a pipe portion that is higher than a maximum height of a water level allowed in the work-pan , and a through hole is provided in the pipe portion ( Figs. 1 and 2, pipe 19; “ tank 19 having a height higher than the liquid surface of the working fluid of the reservoir tank 4 and the like is added to the working fluid supply tank 1 ” [Abstract]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the inlet pipe includes a pipe portion that is higher than a maximum height of a water level allowed in the work-pan , and a through hole is provided in the pipe portion . JP H0537422 describes that this configuration eliminates backflow, ultimately resulting in a machining fluid that can be discharged stably [Abstract]. Regarding claim 2, Yamasaki / JP H0537422 do not expressly disclose wherein the pipe portion is higher than an upper end of the work-pan. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pipe portion is higher than an upper end of the work-pan. JP H0537422 describes that when the pipe portion is higher than the liquid surface of the working fluid, backflow is reduced. Given that the liquid level can be at the same level as an upper end of a work-pan (that is, when the work-pan is filled completely), and given JP H0537422’s disclosure that preventing backflow is advantageous, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to position the pipe portion at a location that is higher than an upper end of the work-pan . This way, if the work-pan is completely filled, backflow can still be prevented. Fig. 2 of Yamasaki, annotated Regarding claim 4 , Yamasaki / JP H0537422 do not expressly disclose wherein a cross-sectional area of the through hole is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a flow path of the pipe portion. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the through hole is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a flow path of the pipe portion , because this would have been obvious to try. That is, there are three possible options for the relative cross-sectional area s of the through hole and the flow path of the pipe portion , namely: the c ross-sectional area of the through hole is (1) smaller than, (2) larger than, or (3) equal to the cross-sectional area of a flow path of the pipe portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select any of these options, with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding claim 5 , Yamasak i discloses an outlet fluid storage tank configured to store the liquid flowing out from the through hole (Fig. 2, outlet fluid storage tank / “waste fluid tank 50” [0024]; Fig. 2 shows wherein liquid flows out from the through hole , then passes through pipe 72, into work-pan 42, and then is stored in waste fluid tank 50). Regarding claim 6 , Yamasaki discloses an outlet pipe (Fig. 2, pipe 72) connected to the inlet pipe (Fig. 2, supply pipe 66) and configured to guide the liquid flowing out from the through hole to the outlet fluid storage tank ( Fig. 2 shows wherein liquid flows out from the through hole, then passes through pipe 72, into work-pan 4 2, and then is stored in waste fluid tank 50) . Regarding claim 7 , Yamasaki / JP H0537422 do not expressly disclose wherein a cross - sectional area of a flow path of the outlet pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a flow path of the inlet pipe. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a cross - sectional area of a flow path of the outlet pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a flow path of the inlet pipe , because this would have been obvious to try. That is, there are three possible options for the relative cross-sectional area s of the flow path of the outlet pipe and the flow path of the inlet pipe , namely: the c ross-sectional area of the flow path of the outlet pipe (1) smaller than, (2) larger than, or (3) equal to the cross-sectional area of the flow path of the inlet pipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select any of these options, with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding claim 8 , Yamasaki discloses a storage tank configured to store the liquid to be supplied by the pump (Fig. 2, storage tank / “clear fluid tank 54”) ; and a coupling pipe (Fig. 2, “convey pipe 58” [0024]) configured to couple the outlet fluid storage tank and the storage tank (Fig. 2; [0024], [0025]) . Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (US 2019/0255637) in view of JP H0537422, further in view of Kadokura (US 2017/0182574). Regarding claim 3, Yamasaki / JP H0537422 does not expressly disclose wherein the through hole is provided on a gravity direction side of the inlet pipe relative to a virtual center line passing through a cross-sectional center of the inlet pipe. Kadokura is directed to a wire electrode storage device for wire electrical discharge machine [Title]. Kadokura discloses wherein a through hole is provided on a gravity direction side of a pipe relative to a virtual center line passing through a cross-sectional center of the pipe (see annotated Fig. 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the through hole is provided on a gravity direction side of the inlet pipe relative to a virtual center line passing through a cross-sectional center of the inlet pipe . This is a known, alternative configuration of the location of the through hole, applied to a known apparatus, to achieve predictable results. Fig. 1 of Kadokura Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ELIZABETH KERR whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3073 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M - F, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Steven Crabb can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5095 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761