DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed July 26, 2023 & April 28, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. JP 2017103141A.
With respect to claim 1, TAKAHASHI teaches a negative electrode for use in a lithium-ion secondary battery (lithium ion secondary battery; BACKGROUND-ART, paragraph 3), the negative electrode ([Negative electrode] section), comprising: a negative electrode current collector (current collector; ([Negative electrode] section, paragraph 1) ; and a negative electrode active material layer ([Negative electrode active material] section) formed on the negative electrode current collector (negative electrode 22 has a negative electrode active material layer 221 on the surface of the negative electrode current collector 220; [Negative electrode] section, paragraph 1), wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes, as a negative electrode active material, an Si-based negative electrode active material including Si as a component and capable of reversibly absorbing and releasing lithium ions (negative electrode active material containing at least one element of Si;[Negative electrode active material] section, paragraph 1), and the negative electrode further comprises a high-molecular-weight organic compound for improving durability of the lithium-ion secondary battery, the high-molecular-weight organic compound having a weight-average molecular weight of 1000 or higher (Maleic acid resin; [Conductive material, binder, composite material, negative electrode current collector] section, paragraph 2). With respect to a weight-average molecular weight of 1000 or higher, it would have been reasonable to expect as “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, Maleic acid resin has a weight-average molecular weight of 1000 or higher. See MPEP 2112.01.
With respect to claim 5, a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising the negative electrode (lithium ion secondary battery; BACKGROUND-ART, paragraph 3).
Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. JP 2017103141A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI et al. JP 2017103141A.
TAKAHASHI teaches a negative electrode for use in a lithium-ion secondary battery (lithium ion secondary battery; BACKGROUND-ART, paragraph 3), the negative electrode ([Negative electrode] section), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claim 2, TAKAHASHI teaches the high-molecular-weight organic compound having a polar functional group, the polar functional group is at least one polar functional group selected from the group consisting of an amino group, a sulfonate group, a carboxyl group, a phosphate group, a polyalkylene ether group, an amide group, a hydroxyl group, an epoxy group, and an alkoxysilyl group (Maleic acid resin; [Conductive material, binder, composite material, negative electrode current collector] section, paragraph 2; Examiner note: Maleic acid resin has a carboxyl group; see instant specification at paragraph [0027]).
TAKAHASHI does not teach or suggest: a concentration of the polar functional group is 0.1 mmol/g or higher (claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a concentration of polar functional group is 0.1 mmol/g or higher in the high-molecular-weight organic compound of TAKAHASHI, in order to increase ion conductivity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BYUN et al. WO 2013151197A1.
With respect to claim 1, BYUN teaches a negative electrode for use in a lithium-ion secondary battery (lithium ion secondary battery; Example 1), the negative electrode (Example 1), comprising: a negative electrode current collector (anode forming slurry is coated on an aluminum current collector; Example 1) ; and a negative electrode active material layer (anode forming slurry is coated on an aluminum current collector; Example 1) formed on the negative electrode current collector (anode forming slurry is coated on an aluminum current collector; Example 1), wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes, as a negative electrode active material, an Si-based negative electrode active material including Si as a component and capable of reversibly absorbing and releasing lithium ions (silicon nitride was used as the active material of the negative electrode; Example 1), and the negative electrode further comprises a high-molecular-weight organic compound for improving durability of the lithium-ion secondary battery, the high-molecular-weight organic compound having a weight-average molecular weight of 1000 or higher (Nafion-based polymers having sulfonic acid groups; MODE-FOR-INVENTION section, paragraph 34; Examiners note: Nafion has a molecular weight of 100,000; See product standards).
With respect to claim 4, the high-molecular-weight organic compound includes a copolymer compound of a polymerizable unsaturated monomer (Sulfonic acid groups, carboxylic acid groups, phosphoric acid groups, phosphonic acid groups, and the like in polyolefins; MODE-FOR-INVENTION section, paragraph 34).
With respect to claim 5, a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising the negative electrode (lithium ion secondary battery; Example 1).
Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by BYUN et al. JP 2017103141A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. WO 2013151197A1.
BYUN teaches a negative electrode for use in a lithium-ion secondary battery (lithium ion secondary battery; Example 1), the negative electrode (Example 1), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect to claim 3, BYUN teaches the high-molecular-weight organic compound having an ionic functional group, the ionic functional group is at least one selected from the group consisting of an amino group, a sulfonate group, a carboxyl group, a phosphate group, and an amide group
BYUN does not teach or suggest: a concentration of the ionic functional group is 0.1 mmol/g or higher (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a concentration of the ionic functional group is 0.1 mmol/g or higher in the high-molecular-weight organic compound of BYUN, in order to increase ion conductivity.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723