DETAILED ACTION
This rejection is in response to application filed 07/26/2023.
Requirement for Restriction/Election filed 07/17/2025 has been withdrawn and all claims filed 07/26/2023 have been examined because this restriction does not apply to Applicant’s U.S. National Stage entry under 35 U.S.C. 371.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/US2021/054653 filed 10/13/2021, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:…, the delivery unit containing at least one restricted product, the delivery unit including a restriction mechanism and a delivery communication module, the restriction mechanism configured to prevent access to at least one restricted product, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether at least one restricted product is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of at least one restricted product. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites: …at least one pre-registered user characteristic, wherein the external server sends a delivery command, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether at least one pre-registered user characteristic and a delivery command in claim 1 is the same or different from the subsequent recitation in claim 13 of at least one pre-registered user characteristic and a delivery command. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites: capturing a front of an identification using the user device; capturing a back of an identification using the user device; sending the front of an identification and the back of an identification … calculating, by the external server, a verified identity of the user based on at least one of the front of an identification, the back of an identification, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether an identification is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of an identification. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 18 recites: wherein the delivery unit contains at least one restricted product, wherein the delivery unit includes a restriction mechanism, wherein the restriction mechanism is configured to prevent access to at least one restricted product until a delivery command is received; …receiving, at the user device, a selection of at least one restricted product, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether at least one restricted product is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of at least one restricted product. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in:
Claim 1 recites:
the selected product;
Claim 2 recites:
the restricted products;
Claim 11 recites:
the at least one selected products;
Claim 15 recites:
the biometric information;
Claim 18 recites:
the at least one selected product;
Claims 1 and 18 recite:
the user’s identity.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. See MPEP § 2106. In the instant case, claims 1-13 are directed to a system, claims 14-17 are directed to a method, claims 18-20 are directed method which falls within one of the four statutory categories of invention(process/apparatus). Accordingly, the claims will be further analyzed under revised step 2:
Under step 2A (prong 1) of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it must be considered whether the claims recite a judicial exception if so, then determine in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. One of the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas is defined as certain methods of organizing human activity that includes fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Regarding representative independent claim 1, recites the abstract idea of:
receive information from a user;
…prevent access to at least one restricted product until a delivery command is received;
...to determine an inventory of the delivery unit and communicates the inventory
… receives a user input …of at least one selected product from the inventory, wherein …communicates the at least one selected product and a user identifier
…calculates a location determination of whether …is within a predefined geographic range of the delivery unit,
wherein …calculates a verification determination of the user's identity based on the user identifier and at least one pre-registered user characteristic,
wherein … calculates an eligibility determination of whether the user is eligible to purchase the selected product based on at least one characteristic of the at least one selected product and the user identifier,
wherein …calculates a payment determination of whether the user has a sufficient amount of funds to pay for the at least one selected product,
wherein… sends the delivery command to… based on the location determination, the verification determination, the eligibility determination, and the payment determination, and wherein, after receiving the delivery command, …provides access to the at least one selected product.
The above-recited limitations amounts to certain methods of organizing human activity associated with sales activities and commercial interaction such as providing a selected restricted product based on checking inventory, receiving product selection, determining location, verifying user’s identity, determining user’s eligibility to purchase the product, determining whether the user has enough funds to purchase the product, and sending a command to deliver the product. Such concepts have been considered ineligible certain methods of organizing human activity by the Courts. See MPEP § 2106.
The Step 2A (prong 2) of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See MPEP § 2106.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
A delivery system for restricted products, comprising: a user device, the user device including an input device and a user communication module, the input device configured to…; a delivery unit, the delivery unit containing at least one restricted product, the delivery unit including a restriction mechanism and a delivery communication module, the restriction mechanism configured to…; and an external server, the external server including a server communication module, the external server being communicatively coupled to the user device and the delivery unit, wherein the external server communicates with the delivery unit; … to the user device, wherein the user device ... via the input device;… the user device…; …to the external server, wherein the external server…; … the user device …;… the external server …; …the external server…;.. the external server…;… the external server… the delivery unit;… the delivery unit… (Claim 1);
the delivery unit is a vending machine (Claim 3);
the user device and the external server are integrated into one component (Claim 4);
wherein the user device… to the external server, wherein the delivery unit communicates … to the external server, and wherein the external server ... (Claim 7 );
…the external server …on a communication network, wherein the user device and the delivery unit are both communicating on the communication network (Claim 8);
… to the external server, wherein the external server …(Claim 9);
…to the external server, wherein the external server… (Claim 10);
the delivery unit … (Claim 11);
… the external server … the external server sends …to the delivery unit …(Claim 13);
A method of registering for a delivery system for restricted products, the method comprising: accessing a phone application from a user device; … using the user device; … using the user device; …from the user device to an external server; …using the user device;… from the user device to the external server; … using the user device; …, by the user device, … to the external server; …, by the external server, …; and storing, by the external server, the verified identity of the user (Claim 14);
…the external server … (Claim 16);
… from the external server to the user device…; and displaying the error message in the phone application using the user device (Claim 17);
A method of purchasing a restricted product from a delivery system for restricted products, the method comprising:…, at an external server, … from a delivery unit, wherein the delivery unit contains at least one restricted product, wherein the delivery unit includes a restriction mechanism, wherein the restriction mechanism is configured to…, at a user device, …from the external server; displaying, at the user device, the inventory from the external server; …, at the user device, …; …, from the user device, …to the external server; …., by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …to the delivery unit …, by the delivery unit,…(Claim 18);
… the external server…(Claim 19);
…, by the delivery unit,…(Claim 20).
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Independent claims and dependent claims also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, independent claims and dependent claims are directed to the abstract idea itself and do not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. See MPEP § 2106.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
A delivery system for restricted products, comprising: a user device, the user device including an input device and a user communication module, the input device configured to…; a delivery unit, the delivery unit containing at least one restricted product, the delivery unit including a restriction mechanism and a delivery communication module, the restriction mechanism configured to…; and an external server, the external server including a server communication module, the external server being communicatively coupled to the user device and the delivery unit, wherein the external server communicates with the delivery unit; … to the user device, wherein the user device ... via the input device;… the user device…; …to the external server, wherein the external server…; … the user device …;… the external server …; …the external server…;.. the external server…;… the external server… the delivery unit;… the delivery unit… (Claim 1);
the delivery unit is a vending machine (Claim 3);
the user device and the external server are integrated into one component (Claim 4);
wherein the user device… to the external server, wherein the delivery unit communicates … to the external server, and wherein the external server ... (Claim 7 );
…the external server …on a communication network, wherein the user device and the delivery unit are both communicating on the communication network (Claim 8);
… to the external server, wherein the external server …(Claim 9);
…to the external server, wherein the external server… (Claim 10);
the delivery unit … (Claim 11);
… the external server … the external server sends …to the delivery unit …(Claim 13);
A method of registering for a delivery system for restricted products, the method comprising: accessing a phone application from a user device; … using the user device; … using the user device; …from the user device to an external server; …using the user device;… from the user device to the external server; … using the user device; …, by the user device, … to the external server; …, by the external server, …; and storing, by the external server, the verified identity of the user (Claim 14);
…the external server … (Claim 16);
… from the external server to the user device…; and displaying the error message in the phone application using the user device (Claim 17);
A method of purchasing a restricted product from a delivery system for restricted products, the method comprising:…, at an external server, … from a delivery unit, wherein the delivery unit contains at least one restricted product, wherein the delivery unit includes a restriction mechanism, wherein the restriction mechanism is configured to…, at a user device, …from the external server; displaying, at the user device, the inventory from the external server; …, at the user device, …; …, from the user device, …to the external server; …., by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …; …, by the external server, …to the delivery unit …, by the delivery unit,…(Claim 18);
… the external server…(Claim 19);
…, by the delivery unit,…(Claim 20).
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the independent claims and dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because the recitations above do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. In addition, they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morales (US Pub. No. 20180121912 A1, hereinafter “Morales”).
Regarding claims 1 and 18
Morales discloses a delivery system for restricted products, comprising:
a user device, the user device including an input device and a user communication module, the input device configured to receive information from a user; a delivery unit, the delivery unit containing at least one restricted product, the delivery unit including a restriction mechanism and a delivery communication module, the restriction mechanism configured to prevent access to at least one restricted product until a delivery command is received; and an external server, the external server including a server communication module, the external server being communicatively coupled to the user device and the delivery unit (Morales, [0081] VM=Vending Machine; [0055] Mobile device=SCP; [0109]: VM dispenses law-restricted products; FIG. 0, [0147]: system including buyer using device selects and clicks VM and product to purchase and sends payment to seller device and buyer device in communication with VM to send purchase request for product; Fig. 1, [0148]: device retrieves from cloud; [0152]: VM only dispenses law-restricted product upon buyer verification and entering the correct Pin; [0108]: device display screen to receive selections; [0011]: server),
wherein the external server communicates with the delivery unit to determine an inventory of the delivery unit and communicates the inventory to the user device, wherein the user device receives a user input via the input device of at least one selected product from the inventory, wherein the user device communicates the at least one selected product and a user identifier to the external server, wherein the external server calculates a location determination of whether the user device is within a predefined geographic range of the delivery unit (Morales, [0107]: cloud keeps real-time VM inventory based on subtracting how many products buyer purchased and device retrieves the inventory amount from cloud; [0108]: send product availability to buyer device display screen and buyer selects to purchase from VM located nearest to buyer device GPS location retrieved from cloud; [0147]: A buyer using Google Maps App running inside a device searches for vending machines nearby, selects the desired one and clicks on it, to find its location; [0109]: buyer device provide user identification to purchase product from VM; [0149]: retrieve inventory from the cloud of that VM; [0081] VM=Vending Machine; [0055] Mobile device=SCP;[0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: server),
wherein the external server calculates a verification determination of the user's identity based on the user identifier and at least one pre-registered user characteristic, wherein the external server calculates an eligibility determination of whether the user is eligible to purchase the selected product based on at least one characteristic of the at least one selected product and the user identifier (Morales, [0109]: buyer device must validate their face with information (e.g. driver license picture and pin) stored on cloud before buyer device can instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; [0124] FIG. 4 A diagram to affirm a picture with the buyer's driver license; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data such as PIN; [0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0011]: server),
wherein the external server calculates a payment determination of whether the user has a sufficient amount of funds to pay for the at least one selected product (Morales, FIG. 9, [0157]: determine from cloud whether buyer has minimum balance to purchase produces from VM; [0020] cloud folder contains Buyer's Balance; [0148]: to purchase a product, buyer device reads all the balances stored in cloud. If there is enough balance, in more than one account the buyer device asks the buyer to select the account, then extracts the price amount from that balance and generates a transaction record),
wherein the external server sends the delivery command to the delivery unit based on the location determination, the verification determination, the eligibility determination, and the payment determination, and wherein, after receiving the delivery command, the delivery unit provides access to the at least one selected product (Morales, [0129] FIG. 9 The buyer's App flow diagram performs payment determination by checking buyer’s balance and location determination by checking buyer’s GPS location against VM location prior to purchasing product; [0130] FIG. 10 The buyer's App flow diagram, continued to check buyer’s age and picture compared and if approved deliver product to buyer; [0109]: verification of user identity and cloud to instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; FIG. 9, [0157]: determine from cloud whether buyer has minimum balance to purchase produces from VM; [0020] cloud folder contains Buyer's Balance; [0148]: check balance from buyer’s account; [0174]: App running on device generates the command when the buyers push a button to instruct the VM to deliver the purchased goods one by one or transfer the total amount paid allowing the buyer to take the goods one by one); [0011]: application sends requests to the server to instruct VM to vend the product).
Regarding claim 18
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected under similar grounds as claim 1. Additionally, Claim 18 recites: displaying, at the user device, the inventory from the external server (Morales, [0037]; [0011]; [0107]; [0108]).
Regarding claim 2
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the restricted products include at least one of a restricted good and a restricted service (Morales, [0109]: VM dispenses law-restricted products; [0108]: product and/or service).
Regarding claim 3
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the delivery unit is a vending machine (Morales, [0081] VM=Vending Machine; [0109]: VM dispenses product).
Regarding claim 5
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the user identifier includes a biometric information (Morales, [0109]: a facial picture for validation).
Regarding claim 7
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the user device communicates a user device location to the external server, wherein the delivery unit communicates a delivery unit location to the external server, and wherein the external server calculates the location determination based on the user device location and the delivery unit location (Morales, [0108]: determine VM located nearest to buyer device GPS location to VM location retrieved from cloud; [0147]: A buyer using Google Maps App running inside a device searches for vending machines nearby, selects the desired one and clicks on it, to find its location; [0148]: device uses its GPS location; [0081] VM=Vending Machine; [0055] Mobile device=SCP;[0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: app sends request to server).
Regarding claim 8
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the external server calculates the location determination based on a communication network, wherein the user device and the delivery unit are both communicating on the communication network (Morales, [0048]: GPS satellites provides location and time information; [0082]: GPS precise location of the VM; [0171]: Buyers using SCP 108 running that App download VM(X) folder 105 using the buyer's GPS location as index (x); [0108]: determine VM located nearest to buyer device GPS location to VM location retrieved from cloud; [0147]: A buyer using Google Maps App running inside a device searches for vending machines nearby, selects the desired one and clicks on it, to find its location; [0148]: device uses its GPS location; [0081] VM=Vending Machine; [0055] Mobile device=SCP;[0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: app sends request to server) .
Regarding claim 9
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, comprising: an identification database, the identification database communicatively coupled to the external server, wherein the external server calculates the verification determination by communicating with the identification database (Morales, [0109]: buyer device must validate their face with information (e.g. driver license picture and pin) obtained from folders stored on cloud before buyer device can instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; [0124] FIG. 4 A diagram to affirm a picture with the buyer's driver license; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data such as PIN; [0037]: cloud contains folders for buyers[0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0011]: server).
Regarding claim 10
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, comprising: a restriction database, the restriction database communicatively coupled to the external server, wherein the external server calculates the eligibility determination by communicating with the identification database (Morales, [0152]: affirm the buyer's age before allowing a VM to dispense a law-restricted product; [0086] VMs' products File could contain: [0087]: restrictions (sales restrictions by age, and/or agenda), verification procedures and type; [0167]: App should access the two folders to read and write information related to age verification; [0168]: information from folders stored on cloud used by App; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data; [0028]: buyer data includes File for Proving Age: [0081] VM=Vending Machine and hardware device; [0082] VM(X)=Vending Machine Folder; [0011]: server).
Regarding claim 11
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the delivery unit appends a label to at least one of the at least one selected products after receiving the delivery command and before providing access to the at least one selected product (Morales, [0013]: after buyer transmits message to vending machine to deliver product and prior to actually delivering the product, vending machine replies to buyer’s message with product information (e.g. temperature) and once buyer accepts the information provided by vending machine, then the product is delivered; [0148]: When the buyer locates the VM 104, the SCP 108 transmits a radio frequency message 109 asking the VM for the temperature of the product, and receives an answer back from the VM 104 through the RF signal 110. If the buyer accepts it by a click on the SCP screen, the VM 104 dispenses the product).
Regarding claim 12
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 11, wherein the label includes at least one of an access date, an access time, and an access location (Morales, [0085]: physical address of VM, last temperature reported, date of the last temperature reported; [0148]: When the buyer locates the VM 104, product temperature based on location of VM is provided).
Regarding claim 19
Morales discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the external server calculates the eligibility determination by communicating with a restriction database (Morales, [0152]: affirm the buyer's age before allowing a VM to dispense a law-restricted product; [0086] VMs' products File could contain: [0087]: restrictions (sales restrictions by age, and/or agenda), verification procedures and type; [0167]: App should access the two folders to read and write information related to age verification; [0168]: information from folders stored on cloud used by App; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data; [0028]: buyer data includes File for Proving Age: [0081] VM=Vending Machine and hardware device; [0082] VM(X)=Vending Machine Folder; [0011]: server).
Regarding claim 20
Morales discloses the method of claim 18, comprising: appending, by the delivery unit, a label to the selection after receiving the delivery command but before providing access to the selection (Morales, [0013]: after buyer transmits message to vending machine to deliver product and prior to actually delivering the product, vending machine replies to buyer’s message with product information (e.g. temperature) and once buyer accepts the information provided by vending machine, then the product is delivered; [0148]: When the buyer locates the VM 104, the SCP 108 transmits a radio frequency message 109 asking the VM for the temperature of the product, and receives an answer back from the VM 104 through the RF signal 110. If the buyer accepts it by a click on the SCP screen, the VM 104 dispenses the product).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morales as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schaufele et al. (US Pub. No. 20060206724 A1, hereinafter “Schaufele”).
Regarding claim 4
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the user device and the external server (Morales, [0011]: application sends requests to server and then instructs device; [0019] App=Software Application designed to run on an SCP; [0066] SCP=Smart Cellular Phone, Tablet, or any electronic device that is able to Communicate to the Cloud);
Morales does not teach:
…are integrated into one component (emphasis added).
However, Schaufele teaches:
…are integrated into one component (emphasis added) Schaufele, [0079]: server and devices; [0081]: both an application running on a server, the data within the application and the server can be considered a module or component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the server and user device of Morales with being integrated into one component as taught by Schaufele because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Morales would continue to teach the server and user device except that now they are integrated into one component is taught according to the teachings of Schaufele in order to process and receive data. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Schaufele, [0080-0081]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 5, wherein the biometric information includes at least one of a facial scan, (Morales, [0109]: a facial picture for validation).
Morales does not teach:
a fingerprint scan, a palm scan, a retina scan, and an at least one vocal characteristic.
However, Schaufele teaches:
a fingerprint scan, a palm scan, a retina scan, and an at least one vocal characteristic. (Schaufele, [0005]: biometric identification using scanner to identify fingerprints, hands, and retinal; [0006]: voice recognition to detect voice pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the face scan of Morales with additional biometric identification (e.g. a fingerprint scan, a palm scan, a retina scan, and an at least one vocal characteristic) as taught by Schaufele because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Morales would continue to teach face scan except that now a fingerprint scan, a palm scan, a retina scan, and an at least one vocal characteristic is taught according to the teachings of Schaufele in order to perform biometric identification. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Schaufele, [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 13
Morales discloses the delivery system of claim 1, wherein the external server calculates …determination based on the user identifier and at least one pre-registered user characteristic, wherein the external server sends a delivery command to the delivery unit based on the …determination, the location determination, the verification determination, the eligibility determination, and the payment determination (Morales, [0129] FIG. 9 The buyer's App flow diagram performs payment determination by checking buyer’s balance and location determination by checking buyer’s GPS location against VM location prior to purchasing product; [0130] FIG. 10 The buyer's App flow diagram, continued to check buyer’s age and picture compared and if approved deliver product to buyer; [0109]: verification of user identity and cloud to instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; FIG. 9, [0157]: determine from cloud whether buyer has minimum balance to purchase produces from VM; [0020] cloud folder contains Buyer's Balance; [0148]: check balance from buyer’s account; [0174]: App running on device generates the command when the buyers push a button to instruct the VM to deliver the purchased goods one by one or transfer the total amount paid allowing the buyer to take the goods one by one); [0011]: application sends requests to the server to instruct VM to vend the product).
Morales does not teach:
…an overly intoxicated determination ….the overly intoxicated determination.
However, Schaufele teaches:
…an overly intoxicated determination ….the overly intoxicated determination (Schaufele, [0071]: determine significant changes to one’s health such as slurred speech or other symptoms of intoxication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the determination of Morales with an overly intoxicated determination as taught by Schaufele because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Morales would continue to teach the determination except that now an overly intoxicated determination is taught according to the teachings of Schaufele in order to monitor health risks. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Schaufele, [0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 14
Morales discloses a method of registering for a delivery system for restricted products, the method comprising:
accessing a phone application from a user device (Morales, [0055] Mobile device=SCP; [0019] App=Software Application designed to run on an SCP; [0033] Buyer SCP user downloads the buyer's App and opens a buyer's account in TWE, enters all data required; [0109]: law-restricted products);
capturing … an identification using the user device; capturing …an identification using the user device; sending …an identification from the user device to an external server (Morales, [0152]: By entering a picture of his/her driver license, a buyer initiates that validation process; [0109]: buyer device must validate their face with information (e.g. driver license picture and pin) stored on cloud before buyer device can instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; [0124] FIG. 4 A diagram to affirm a picture with the buyer's driver license; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data such as PIN; [0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0011]: server);
capturing at least one biometric information using the user device; sending the at least one biometric information from the user device to the external server (Morales, FIG. 10, [0130]: take buyer’s picture; [0152]: buyer’s face picture is compared to driver’s license photo and enter verification to folder in cloud; [0124] FIG. 4 A diagram to affirm a picture with the buyer's driver license; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data; [0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0027]: date includes the facial picture of buyer; [0055] Mobile device=SCP;[0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: server)
receiving a payment information from a user using the user device; sending, by the user device, the payment information to the external server (Morales, FIG. 5, [0153]: SCP 502 to retrieve the VM(X) folder on cloud to verify the information sent, and will process the payment only if everything is correct. In that event: the SCP 502 adds a record to, at least in the last, VM(X) 105 on cloud with all details of the withdrawal and payment; initializes and launches the App to complete the payment transaction; [0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: server);
calculating, by the external server, a verified identity of the user based on at least one of …an identification, …of an identification, the at least one biometric information, and the payment information (Morales, [0130] FIG. 10 The buyer's App flow diagram, continued to check buyer’s age and picture compared and if approved deliver product to buyer; [0109]: verification of user identity and cloud to instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; [0129] FIG. 9 The buyer's App flow diagram performs payment);
and storing, by the external server, the verified identity of the user (Morales, FIG, 12, [0132]: add record of verification details on buyer’s picture and driver’s license to folder on cloud; [0153]: verify the information sent, and will process the payment only if everything is correct. In that event: the SCP 502 adds a record to folder in cloud; [0037]: CS=cloud; [0011]: server; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data; [0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0027]: date includes the facial picture of buyer).
Morales does not teach:
…a front …; …a back of …; …the front of and the back of …(emphasis added);…the front of …, the back of …
However, Schaufele teaches:
…a front …; …a back of …; …the front of and the back of …(emphasis added);…the front of …, the back of …(Schaufele, [0095]: template to examine head and tail sections; [0113]: authentication of the user's documents based on inputs of images of template of user’s identity to verify identity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the identification of Morales with a front and back of the identification as taught by Schaufele because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Morales would continue to teach the identification except that now the front and back of the identification is taught according to the teachings of Schaufele in order to verify user identity. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Schaufele, [0095] and [0113]).
Regarding claim 16
The combination of Morales and Schaufele teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the external server calculates the verified identity through communication with an identification database (Morales, [0109]: buyer device must validate their face with information (e.g. driver license picture and pin) obtained from folders stored on cloud before buyer device can instruct VM to dispense law-restricted product; [0124] FIG. 4 A diagram to affirm a picture with the buyer's driver license; [0020]: cloud folder contains buyer data such as PIN; [0037]: cloud contains folders for buyers[0023]: buyer data includes driver’s license photo; [0011]: server).
Regarding claim 17
The combination of Morales and Schaufele teaches the method of claim 14, comprising: sending an error message from the external server to the user device if the verified identity could not be calculated; and displaying the error message in the phone application using the user device (Schaufele, [0097]: provide user with instructions if verification fails to repeat identity verification; [0115]: If the failure of identity verification continues in block 632 with instructions to the user regarding adjustments to help correct the errors; [0122]: display prompt instructs the user; [0079]: phone; [0081]: server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the verification of Morales with sending an error message if verified identity could not be calculated as taught by Schaufele because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Morales would continue to teach the verification of identity except that now an error message if verified identity could not be calculated is sent is taught according to the teachings of Schaufele in order to help eliminate authentication failures. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Schaufele, [0115]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited as Heath (US Pub. 20180211718 A1) related to monitoring, collection, analysis, use and tracking of personal data, biometric data, and transaction data as well as Ooyen et al. (US Pub. No. 20120004770 A1) related to a vending machine for dispensing drugs. The non-patent literature is cited as MeddyCall: A Prototype of Smart Household-Drug Vending Machines for Residential Buildings, related to drug vending machine in a residential building for serving home medicine to all residents in the building.
/LATASHA D RAMPHAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/Jeffrey A. Smith/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688