DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen teaches a method of charging a secondary battery, the secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode in which a lithium ion is stored during discharging and the lithium ion is released during charging, a negative electrode in which a lithium metal deposits during charging and the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, and a non-aqueous electrolyte having a lithium ion conductivity (paragraph [0003] – [0004] teaches charges a secondary battery, such as a lithium cell, which includes a negative and positive electrode wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, and during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte),
the method including a step of charging the secondary battery according to a first charging profile, and in the first charging profile (Figures 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D and paragraph [0070] discloses a plurality of charging profiles. Paragraphs [0009] and [0059] discloses a plurality of charging profiles, interpreted as first and second charging modes),
charging starts from a first charging step in which charging is performed at a constant current with a first electric current density Ii (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein a first charging mode may be two steps such as a constant current and constant voltage), and
following the first charging step, a second charging step is performed in which charging is performed at a constant current with a second electric current density 12 that is larger than the first electric current density Ii (Paragraph [0058] teaches wherein the battery management system switches between two or more charging modes, thus the second charging profile may include more charging steps than the first charging profile. Figure 4 and [0066] discloses wherein a second charging mode may include a plurality of charging steps, including more than a first charging mode disclosed [0059]. The second charging mode steps include constant voltage, CV1, CV2, CV3, CV4, CV5. Figures 3A and 4 show a variety of current densities applied to the battery)
wherein the first electric current density Ii is 3.0 mA/cm2 or less (figure 3A shows wherein the stepwise charging includes current density values of 3.0 mA/cm2 or less);
wherein the second electric current density 12 is 4.0 mA/cm2 or more ( Figure 4 shows current density values of 4.0 mA/cm2 or more).
Christensen does not explicitly teach wherein in the secondary battery, a surface of the negative electrode is covered with a protection layer.
Tanaka teaches wherein in the secondary battery, a surface of the negative electrode is covered with a protection layer (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein a resin layer or film is on the surface of the negative electrode to provide protection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen reference with the charging system of the Tanaka reference so that, the battery cycle characteristics are improved without lowering volumetric energy density of the secondary battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tanaka reference in paragraph [0014] wherein improving the cycle characteristics is taught.
Regarding claim 5, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1 wherein an amount of charged electricity in the first charging step is 5% or more and 15% or less of a total amount of charged electricity charged in the step of charging the secondary battery (figure 3C shows wherein an amount of charge electricity is between 5% and 15% of the total amount of charged electricity).
Regarding claim 6, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the protection layer includes at least one lithium salt (paragraph [0027] discloses wherein the electrolyte includes a salt such as a lithium salt. Paragraph [0026] discloses wherein a nickel is used as the transition metal).
Regarding claim 13, Christensen teaches a charging system of a secondary battery, the system comprising a secondary battery and a control unit that controls charging of the secondary battery, the secondary battery including: a positive electrode in which a lithium ion is stored during discharging and the lithium ion is released during charging, a negative electrode in which a lithium metal deposits during charging and the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, a non-aqueous electrolyte having a lithium ion conductivity (paragraph [0003] – [0004] teaches charges a secondary battery, such as a lithium cell, which includes a negative and positive electrode wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, and during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte), and
wherein the charging control unit controls charging of the secondary battery by selecting one from one or more charging profiles including at least a first charging profile (Figures 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D and paragraph [0070] discloses a plurality of charging profiles. Paragraphs [0009] and [0059] discloses a plurality of charging profiles, interpreted as first and second charging modes), and
in the first charging profile, charging starts from a first charging step in which charging is performed at a constant current with a first electric current density Ii (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein a first charging mode may be two steps such as a constant current and constant voltage), and
following the first charging step, a second charging step is performed in which charging is performed at a constant current with a second electric current density 12 that is larger than the first electric current density Ii (Paragraph [0058] teaches wherein the battery management system switches between two or more charging modes, thus the second charging profile may include more charging steps than the first charging profile. Figure 4 and [0066] discloses wherein a second charging mode may include a plurality of charging steps, including more than a first charging mode disclosed [0059]. The second charging mode steps include constant voltage, CV1, CV2, CV3, CV4, CV5. Figures 3A and 4 show a variety of current densities applied to the battery);
wherein the first electric current density Ii is 3.0 mA/cm2 or less (figure 3A shows wherein the stepwise charging includes current density values of 3.0 mA/cm2 or less);
wherein the second electric current density 12 is 4.0 mA/cm2 or more ( Figure 4 shows current density values of 4.0 mA/cm2 or more).
Christensen does not explicitly teach wherein a protection layer covering a surface of the negative electrode.
Tanaka teaches wherein in the secondary battery, a surface of the negative electrode is covered with a protection layer (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein a resin layer or film is on the surface of the negative electrode to provide protection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen reference with the charging system of the Tanaka reference so that, the battery cycle characteristics are improved without lowering volumetric energy density of the secondary battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tanaka reference in paragraph [0014] wherein improving the cycle characteristics is taught.
Regarding claim 14, Christensen and Tanaka teach the charging system of a secondary battery of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach further including a DOD detection unit that detects a depth of discharge of the secondary battery, wherein in the first charging profile, the first charging step is performed until the depth of discharge is less than a predetermined threshold value.
Rea teaches including a DOD detection unit that detects a depth of discharge of the secondary battery, wherein in the first charging profile, the first charging step is performed until the depth of discharge is less than a predetermined threshold value (paragraphs [0021] and [0033] discloses wherein parameters such as a battery depth of discharge is used to select profiles, interpreted as determine a desired range of operating parameters or conditions. These conditions determine a predetermined threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka references with the charging system of the Rea reference so that overcharging of the battery is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Rea reference in paragraph [0003] wherein overcharging of the battery is prevented.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Rea (US 20210175729).
Regarding claim 2, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first charging step is performed until a depth of discharge is less than a predetermined threshold value.
Rea teaches the first charging step is performed until a depth of discharge is less than a predetermined threshold value (paragraphs [0021] and [0033] discloses wherein parameters such as a battery depth of discharge is used to select profiles, interpreted as determine a desired range of operating parameters or conditions. These conditions determine a predetermined threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka references with the charging system of the Rea reference so that overcharging of the battery is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Rea reference in paragraph [0003] wherein overcharging of the battery is prevented.
Claims 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Kako (US 20120288751).
Regarding claim 7, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the protection layer includes resin, and the resin has a molecular weight of 10000 or more and 2000000 or less.
Kako teaches wherein the protection layer includes resin, and the resin has a molecular weight of 10000 or more and 2000000 or less ([0095] teaches wherein the resin has a molecular weight of 300,000).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka reference with the charging system of the Kako reference so that battery swelling due to gas generation after an initial charge and discharge is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kako reference in paragraph [0014] wherein prevention of battery swelling is taught.
Regarding claim 8, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the resin includes fluorine resin.
Kako teaches wherein the resin includes fluorine resin (paragraph [0046] teaches wherein a resin include fluorine is used within the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka reference with the charging system of the Kako reference so that battery swelling due to gas generation after an initial charge and discharge is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kako reference in paragraph [0014] wherein prevention of battery swelling is taught.
Regarding claim 9, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the protection layer has a thickness of 0.1 pm or more and 5 pm or less.
Kako teaches wherein the protection layer has a thickness of 0.1 µm or more and 5 µm or less (defined in paragraphs [0044] wherein the protection layer has a thickness of 0.1 µm to 3 µm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka reference with the charging system of the Kako reference so that battery swelling due to gas generation after an initial charge and discharge is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kako reference in paragraph [0014] wherein prevention of battery swelling is taught.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Zhang (US 20160240896).
Regarding claim 10, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex.
Zhang teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex (paragraph [0063] discloses wherein an non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex including a lithium difluorooxalateborate (LiDFOB) anion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that battery life extended and safety hazards are prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0005] wherein battery life is extended and safety hazards are prevented.
Regarding claim 11, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the anion of the oxalate complex includes difluorooxalateborate anion.
Zhang teaches wherein the anion of the oxalate complex includes difluorooxalateborate anion (paragraph [0063] discloses wherein an non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex including a lithium difluorooxalateborate (LiDFOB) anion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Rea reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that battery life extended and safety hazards are prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0005] wherein battery life is extended and safety hazards are prevented.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Lee (US 20220216523)
Regarding claim 12, Christensen and Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein a space for the lithium metal to deposit is provided between the negative electrode and the positive electrode.
Lee teaches wherein a space for the lithium metal to deposit is provided between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (figures 1 and 2 and [0093] discloses wherein a lithium metal item 60 is deposited in a space between a negative electrode item 30 and a positive electrode 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka references with the battery system of the Lee reference so that possible short circuits may be suppressed.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in [0094] wherein possible short circuits are suppressed.
Lee Figure 1 shows a lithium metal deposited in a space between a negative electrode 30 and a positive electrode 10
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Tanaka (US 20190054837) as applied to claim 1 and 13 and in further view of Arai (US 20230076596).
Regarding claim 15, Christensen in view of Tanaka teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein in the first charging step, a base layer of the lithium metal is formed to suppress deposition of dendritic lithium metal,in the second charging step, the lithium metal is allowed to deposit on the base layer, and the protection layer presses the deposited lithium metal.
Arai teaches wherein in the first charging step, a base layer of the lithium metal is formed to suppress deposition of dendritic lithium metal (paragraph [0055] discloses suppressing the formation of dendritic lithium metal)
in the second charging step, the lithium metal is allowed to deposit on the base layer, and the protection layer presses the deposited lithium metal (paragraphs [0018] – [0019] and [0069] discloses wherein the lithium is deposited on the base layer and the protection layer presses the deposited metal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka references with the charging system of the Arai reference so that the charging cycle of the lithium metal battery is improved.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Arai reference in [0014] wherein the charging cycle is improved.
Regarding claim 16, Christensen in view of Tanaka teach the charging system of a secondary battery of claim 13, but do not explicitly teach wherein in the first charging step, a base layer of the lithium metal is formed to suppress deposition of dendritic lithium metal, in the second charging step, the lithium metal is allowed to deposit on the base layer, and the protection layer presses the deposited lithium metal.
Arai teaches wherein in the first charging step, a base layer of the lithium metal is formed to suppress deposition of dendritic lithium metal (paragraph [0055] discloses suppressing the formation of dendritic lithium metal),
in the second charging step, the lithium metal is allowed to deposit on the base layer, and the protection layer presses the deposited lithium metal (paragraphs [0018] – [0019] and [0069] discloses wherein the lithium is deposited on the base layer and the protection layer presses the deposited metal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Tanaka references with the charging system of the Arai reference so that the charging cycle of the lithium metal battery is improved.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Arai reference in [0014] wherein the charging cycle is improved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 5, 6, 13 – 16 under Christenensen and Tanaka have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, in regards to new claims 15 and 16, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Christensen, Tanaka and Arai.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Christensen and Tanaka references do not teach or suggest, “a second charging step performed in which charging is performed at a constant current with a second electric current density I2 which is larger than the first electric current density. Christensen discloses stepwise charging with a plurality of current densities. As these current densities is charging in a stepwise fashion, the I2 will be greater than I1. For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230076596 A1 Lithium Secondary Battery Arai; Juichi Et Al.
Us 20200335980 A1 Lithium Ion Devices Aronov; Daniel Et Al.
Us 20200363477 A1 Battery Life Time Biehler; Aymeric Et Al.
Us 20140062415 A1 Minimizing Battery Degradation Barsukov; Yevgen Et Al.
Us 20150015210 A1 Voltage-Enhanced Energy Storage Devices Bradwell; David J.
Us 20230378792 A1 Battery Charging Method Fukuoka; Takahiro Et Al.
Us 20090153102 A1 Method And System For Load Shifting Guatto; Dan Et Al.
Us 20190123565 A1 Battery Charging Control Hsiao W Et Al.
Us 20140058571 A1 Multi-Objective Energy Management Hooshmand; Ali Et Al.
Us 20230048711 A1 Battery Cell With Improved Safety Kim; Seung Cheol Et Al.
Us 20050214646 A1 Battery Charging Kubota, Tadahiko
Us 20150171396 A1 Separator, Battery, Battery Pack Okuno; Moriaki
Us 20150179355 A1 Stack-Type Flow Energy Storage Yeon; Sun-Hwa Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859