DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, 6, 9, 11-14, 17, 19-21, 23, 31-32, 36-37, 39 and 68 in the reply filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Gelebart et al. teach a liquid crystal infused porous surface (Abstract, a sponge like coating that is able to release and absorb a liquid upon exposure to light has been developed. The morphology of the porous coating is controlled by the smectic liquid crystal properties of the monomer mixture prior to its polymerization, and homeotropic order is found to give the largest contraction. The fast release of the liquid can be induced by a macroscopic contraction of the coating caused by a trans to cis conversion of a copolymerized azobenzene moiety) comprising a porous polymer layer having a surface, wherein the porous polymer layer comprises a continuous phase permeated by a plurality of pores (Figure 2b and 2c wherein the cross section and top view of the pores and continuity are shown), and wherein the continuous phase comprises a liquid crystal polymer (Figure 2a wherein the liquid crystal network is used as the mixture to make the polymer); and an anisotropic lubricant infused within and over the porous polymer layer, such that the anisotropic lubricant at least partially fills the plurality of pores (page 4, left column, paragraph 1…At smaller distances p, the amount of liquid released at the sides of the higher parts becomes relatively more dominant. Consequently, the channels between the elevated corrugations fill themselves with liquid and, driven by surface tension, form a meniscus against the standing walls as schematically shown in Figure 4c. When the distance between two motifs is of the order of 15 m the side release is predominant, and driven by capillary forces the lower areas are filled with liquid 8CB) and forms a film on the surface of the porous polymer layer (page 3, right column, paragraph 1… For the sample containing 70% of 8CB, the droplets grow until they suddenly coalesce and form a continuous liquid film at the surface of the sponge), wherein the anisotropic lubricant comprises thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen (page 3, right column, paragraph 1 … For the sample containing 70% of 8CB, the droplets grow until they suddenly coalesce and form a continuous liquid film at the surface of the sponge…, see instant specification page 12, lines 30-33… The thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen can comprise any suitable thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen. For example, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen comprise…(8CB)…).
Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the porous polymer layer without the anisotropic lubricant has a first total interfacial energy when wetted with water; wherein: when an aqueous droplet is disposed on the film of the anisotropic lubricant, the liquid crystal infused porous surface has a second total interfacial energy, and in the absence of the aqueous droplet, then the liquid crystal infused porous surface has a third total interfacial energy; wherein the first total interfacial energy is greater than the second total interfacial energy and wherein the first total interfacial energy is greater than the third total interfacial energy. However, Wong et al. teach a porous polymer layer without anisotropic lubricant has a first total interfacial energy when wetted with water (page 443, right column, paragraph 4…We compare the total interfacial energies of textured solids that are completely wetted by either an arbitrary immiscible liquid (EA), or a lubricating fluid with (E1) or without (E2) a fully wetted immiscible test liquid floating on top of it); wherein when an aqueous droplet is disposed on the film of the anisotropic lubricant (page 443, left column, paragraph 2…The cutting edge in development of the synthetic liquid repellent surfaces is currently inspired by the lotus effect: water droplets are supported by surface textures on a composite solid air interface that enables them to roll off easily), then the liquid crystal infused porous surface has a second total interfacial energy (page 443, right column, paragraph 4…We compare the total interfacial energies of textured solids that are completely wetted by either an arbitrary immiscible liquid (EA), or a lubricating fluid with (E1) or without (E2) a fully wetted immiscible test liquid floating on top of it) and in the absence of the aqueous droplet, then the liquid crystal infused porous surface has a third total interfacial energy (page 443, right column, paragraph 4… We compare the total interfacial energies of textured solids that are completely wetted by either an arbitrary immiscible liquid (EA), or a lubricating fluid with (E1) or without (E2) a fully wetted immiscible test liquid floating on top of it), wherein the first total interfacial energy is greater than the second total interfacial energy; and wherein the first total interfacial energy is greater than the third total interfacial energy (page 443, right column, paragraph 4…To ensure the solid is wetted preferentially by the lubricating fluid one should have delta E1-EA-E1 > 0 and delta E2= EA-E2 >0…for delta E1 and delta E2 to be greater than 0 EA has to be greater than E1 and E2 wherein EA is the first total interfacial energy and E1 is the second total interfacial energy and E2 is the third total interfacial energy).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the interfacial energy of Wong et al. in Gelebart in order to provide exceptional liquid repellency (Wong et al., Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Gelebart et al. teach wherein the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen comprises 8CB (page 2, left column, paragraph 1, page 3, right column, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, Gelebart et al. teach wherein the liquid crystal infused porous surface is disposed on a substrate (page 4, left column, paragraph 1, Fig. 3).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023), in further view of Ansell et al. (“Threading the Spindle: A Geometric Study of Chiral Liquid Crystal Polymer Microparticles”, Physical Review Letters, 123, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 4 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023).
Gelebart et al. and Wong et al. are relied upon as relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 2, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the liquid crystal polymer is derived from 1,4-Bis-[4-(3-acryloyloxypropyloxy)benzoyloxy]-2-methylbenzene (RM257), 4-(6-acryloxy-hex-1-yl-oxy)phenyl 4-(hexyloxy)benzoate, 4-methoxybenzoic acid 4-(6-acryloxyloxyhexyloxy)phenyl ester 4’’-acryloyloxybutyl 2,5-di(4’-butyloxybenzoyloxy)benzoate, or combinations thereof. However, Ansell et al. teach a liquid crystal polymer derived from 1,4-Bis-[4-(3-acryloyloxypropyloxy)benzoyloxy]-2-methylbenzene (RM257) (page 2, left column, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid crystal polymer of Ansell et al. in the surface of Gelebart et al. in order to provide orientation along the direct field of nonreactive monomers (Ansell et al., page 2, left column, paragraph 3).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023), in further view of East (US Patent No. 4,954,288).
Gelebart et al. and Wong et al. are relied upon as relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 11, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen has: a crystal mesophase when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature that is less than a first transition temperature, wherein when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen has long range orientational order and three dimensional positional order; a smectic mesophase when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature greater than the first transition temperature and less than a second transition temperature, wherein the second transition temperature is greater than the first transition temperature, and wherein the smectic mesophase has long range orientational order and at least unidirectional positional order; a nematic mesophase when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature greater than the second transition temperature and less than a third transition temperature, wherein the third transition temperature is greater than the second transition temperature, and wherein the nematic mesophase has long range orientational order and no positional order; and an isotropic mesophase when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature above a second transition temperature, and wherein the isotropic mesophase has no orientational order and no positional order. However, East teaches a thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer (col. 2, lines 55-60) having a crystal mesophase, a smectic mesophase, a nematic mesophase and an isotropic mesophase (col. 3, lines 10-15).
East does not disclose wherein the crystal mesophase is when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature that is less than a first transition temperature, wherein when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen has long range orientational order and three dimensional positional order; the smectic mesophase is when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature greater than the first transition temperature and less than a second transition temperature, wherein the second transition temperature is greater than the first transition temperature, and wherein the smectic mesophase has long range orientational order and at least unidirectional positional order; the nematic mesophase is when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature greater than the second transition temperature and less than a third transition temperature, wherein the third transition temperature is greater than the second transition temperature, and wherein the nematic mesophase has long range orientational order and no positional order; and the isotropic mesophase is when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is at a temperature above a second transition temperature, and wherein the isotropic mesophase has no orientational order and no positional order. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in temperature and orientation involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the temperature and orientation of the mesophases of East in order to have excellent stability under high temperature (East, col. 4, lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mesophases of East in the mesogen of Gelebart et al. in order to have excellent stability under high temperature (East, col. 4, lines 50-55).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) and of East (US Patent No. 4,954,288), in further view of Lynn et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0022371).
Gelebart et al. and Wong et al. are relied upon as relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 12, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein an aqueous droplet having a volume placed on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is: pinned when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase or the smectic mesophase; and mobile when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase or the isotropic mesophase; such that: when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase or the smectic mesophase, then liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in a stick-slip mode; and when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase or the isotropic mesophase, the liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in a slippery mode. However, Lynn et al. teach liquid crystal infused porous surface (page 4, paragraph [0027]) comprising an aqueous droplet having a volume placed on a film of lubricant (page 4, paragraphs [0030], [0041], page 5, paragraphs [0042], [0043]).
Lynn et al. do not disclose wherein the aqueous droplet is placed on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is: pinned when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase or the smectic mesophase; and mobile when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase or the isotropic mesophase; such that: when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the crystal mesophase or the smectic mesophase, then liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in a stick-slip mode; and when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase or the isotropic mesophase, the liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in a slippery mode. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in orientation involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the orientation of the aqueous droplet of Lynn et al. in order to generate sliding angles and velocities (Lynn et al., page 4, paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aqueous droplet of Lynn et al. on the anisotropic liquid of Gelebart et al. in order to generate sliding angles and velocities (Lynn et al., page 4, paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the mobility of the aqueous droplet on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is temperature sensitive, as: when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is increased from a temperature below the second transition temperature to a temperature above the second transition temperature, then the liquid crystal-infused porous surface transitions from the stick-slip mode to the slippery mode, such that the aqueous droplet becomes mobile; and when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is decreased from a temperature above the second transition temperature to a temperature below the second transition temperature, then the liquid crystal-infused porous surface transitions from the slippery mode to the stick-slip mode, such that the aqueous droplet becomes pinned. However, Lynn et al. teach liquid crystal infused porous surface (page 4, paragraph [0027]) comprising an aqueous droplet having a volume placed on a film of lubricant (page 4, paragraphs [0030], [0041], page 5, paragraphs [0042], [0043]).
Lynn et al. do not disclose wherein the mobility of the aqueous droplet on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is temperature sensitive, as: when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is increased from a temperature below the second transition temperature to a temperature above the second transition temperature, then the liquid crystal-infused porous surface transitions from the stick-slip mode to the slippery mode, such that the aqueous droplet becomes mobile; and when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is decreased from a temperature above the second transition temperature to a temperature below the second transition temperature, then the liquid crystal-infused porous surface transitions from the slippery mode to the stick-slip mode, such that the aqueous droplet becomes pinned. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in mobility involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the mobility of the aqueous droplet of Lynn et al. in order to generate sliding angles and velocities (Lynn et al., page 4, paragraph [0030]).
Claims 14, 17, 19, 20 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023), in further view of Kamada et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0092784).
Gelebart et al. and Wong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 14, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a compound that can undergo photoisomerization. However, Kamada et al. teach a liquid crystal surface (page 1, paragraph [0011]) comprising a compound that can undergo photoisomerization (page 14, paragraphs [0137], [0138]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Kamada et al. in the surface of Gelebart et al. in order to generate anisotropy on a surface (Kamada et al., page 14, paragraph [0137]).
Regarding claim 17, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein when the photoisomerization compound is a first photoisomer, the second transition temperature has a first value; when the photoisomerization compound is a second photoisomer, the second transition temperature has a second value; the first value is greater than the second value; in the absence of a certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer; and when the anisotropic lubricant is at a temperature above the first value and below the second value, then the mobility of the aqueous droplet on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is light sensitive as: in the absence of the certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer such that the second transition temperature has the first value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the smectic mesophase, the liquid-crystal infused porous surface is in the stick-slip mode, and the aqueous droplet is pinned; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer such that the second transition temperature has the second value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, the liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in the slippery mode, and the aqueous droplet is mobile. However, Kamada et al. teach a liquid crystal surface (page 1, paragraph [0011]) comprising a compound that can undergo photoisomerization (page 14, paragraphs [0137], [0138]).
Kamada et al. do not disclose when the photoisomerization compound is a first photoisomer, the second transition temperature has a first value; when the photoisomerization compound is a second photoisomer, the second transition temperature has a second value; the first value is greater than the second value; in the absence of a certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer; and when the anisotropic lubricant is at a temperature above the first value and below the second value, then the mobility of the aqueous droplet on the film of the anisotropic lubricant is light sensitive as: in the absence of the certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer such that the second transition temperature has the first value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the smectic mesophase, the liquid-crystal infused porous surface is in the stick-slip mode, and the aqueous droplet is pinned; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer such that the second transition temperature has the second value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, the liquid crystal-infused porous surface is in the slippery mode, and the aqueous droplet is mobile. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in temperature involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the temperature of Kamada et al. in order to generate anisotropy on a surface (Kamada et al., page 14, paragraph [0137]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Kamada et al. in the surface of Gelebart et al. in order to generate anisotropy on a surface (Kamada et al., page 14, paragraph [0137]).
Regarding claim 19, Gelebart et al. teach wherein the liquid crystal-infused porous surface has a first portion and a second portion (Fig. 3), wherein the first portion is selectively exposed to a certain wavelength of light and the second portion is not exposed to the certain wavelength of light, such that, when present, an aqueous droplet disposed on the first portion is mobile while an aqueous droplet disposed on the second portion is pinned (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Gelebart et al. teach wherein the first portion abuts the second portion along a border, and the border defines a path for motion of an aqueous droplet, when present (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 37, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a photoisomerization compound; and when the photoisomerization compound is a first photoisomer, the third transition temperature has a first value; when the photoisomerization compound is a second photoisomer, the third transition temperature has a second value; the first value is greater than the second value; in the absence of a certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer; and when the anisotropic lubricant is at a temperature above the first value and below the second value, then release of at least a portion of the plurality droplets comprising the cargo is light sensitive as: in the absence of the certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer such that the third transition temperature has the first value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, and substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer such that the third transition temperature has the second value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the isotropic mesophase, and at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant. However, Kamada et al. teach a liquid crystal surface (page 1, paragraph [0011]) comprising a compound that can undergo photoisomerization (page 14, paragraphs [0137], [0138]).
Kamada et al. do not disclose wherein when the photoisomerization compound is a first photoisomer, the third transition temperature has a first value; when the photoisomerization compound is a second photoisomer, the third transition temperature has a second value; the first value is greater than the second value; in the absence of a certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer; and when the anisotropic lubricant is at a temperature above the first value and below the second value, then release of at least a portion of the plurality droplets comprising the cargo is light sensitive as: in the absence of the certain wavelength of light, the photoisomerization compound is the first photoisomer such that the third transition temperature has the first value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, and substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant; and when the photoisomerization compound is exposed to the certain wavelength of light, then the photoisomerization compound isomerizes to the second photoisomer such that the third transition temperature has the second value, the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the isotropic mesophase, and at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in temperature involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the temperature of Kamada et al. in order to generate anisotropy on a surface (Kamada et al., page 14, paragraph [0137]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Kamada et al. in the surface of Gelebart et al. in order to generate anisotropy on a surface (Kamada et al., page 14, paragraph [0137]).
Claims 21, 23, 31, 32, 36, 39 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelebart et al. (“Photoresponsive Sponge-Like Coating for On-Demand Liquid Release”, Advanced Functional Materials, 2018, 28, Non-Patent Literature Cite No. 2 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023) in view of Wong et al. (“Bioinspired self-repairing slippery surfaces with pressure-stable omniphobicity”, Nature, 2011, 477, Non-Patent Literature Cite. No. 3 on IDS submitted 7/26/2023), in further view of Aizenberg et al. (US Patent Application No. 2015/0152270).
Gelebart et al. and Wong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic liquid further comprises a cargo; wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo; or a combination thereof. However, Aizenberg et al. teach an article having a lubricating layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo comprising a drug (page 15, paragraph [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cargo of Aizenberg et al. with the lubricant of Gelebart et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo and wherein: the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo have an average radius, an average elastic energy, and an average a surface anchoring energy; the elastic energy is equal to the product of the average radius of the plurality of droplets and the Frank elastic constant; the average surface anchoring energy is equal to the product of the average radius of the plurality of droplets squared and the surface anchoring strength; when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the isotropic mesophase and an aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant, at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet; when an aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant and the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet when the surface anchoring energy is less than or equal to the elastic energy; and when the aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant and the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is the in the nematic mesophase, substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet when the surface anchoring energy is greater than the elastic energy. However, Aizenberg et al. teach an article having a lubricating layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo (page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Aizenberg et al. do not disclose wherein the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo have an average radius, an average elastic energy, and an average a surface anchoring energy; the elastic energy is equal to the product of the average radius of the plurality of droplets and the Frank elastic constant; the average surface anchoring energy is equal to the product of the average radius of the plurality of droplets squared and the surface anchoring strength; when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the isotropic mesophase and an aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant, at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet; when an aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant and the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase, at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet when the surface anchoring energy is less than or equal to the elastic energy; and when the aqueous droplet is placed on the film of anisotropic lubricant and the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is the in the nematic mesophase, substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet when the surface anchoring energy is greater than the elastic energy. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in radius, elastic energy and surface anchoring energy involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the radius, elastic energy and surface anchoring energy of Aizenberg et al. in order to different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cargo of Aizenberg et al. with the lubricant of Gelebart et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Regarding claim 36, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo and wherein the release of at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo is temperature sensitive as: when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is increased from a temperature below the third transition temperature to a temperature above the third transition temperature, then the thermotropic liquid crystal transitions to the isotropic mesophase, such that at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant. However, Aizenberg et al. teach an article having a lubricating layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo (page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Aizenberg et al. do not disclose wherein the release of at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo is temperature sensitive as: when the temperature of the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is increased from a temperature below the third transition temperature to a temperature above the third transition temperature, then the thermotropic liquid crystal transitions to the isotropic mesophase, such that at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are automatically released into an aqueous droplet present on the film of anisotropic lubricant. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in release involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to the release of the cargo in Aizenberg et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cargo of Aizenberg et al. with the lubricant of Gelebart et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Regarding claim 39, Gelebart et al. fail to teach wherein the anisotropic lubricant further comprises a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo and wherein: when the aqueous droplet has a first zeta potential and the cargo has a second zeta potential, the release of at least a portion of the plurality droplets comprising the cargo when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase is charge sensitive, as: when the first zeta potential and the second zeta potential have the same sign, then substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet; and when the first zeta potential and the second zeta potential have opposite signs, then at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet. However, Aizenberg et al. teach an article having a lubricating layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo (page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Aizenberg et al. do not disclose wherein when the aqueous droplet has a first zeta potential and the cargo has a second zeta potential, the release of at least a portion of the plurality droplets comprising the cargo when the thermotropic liquid crystal mesogen is in the nematic mesophase is charge sensitive, as: when the first zeta potential and the second zeta potential have the same sign, then substantially none of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet; and when the first zeta potential and the second zeta potential have opposite signs, then at least a portion of the plurality of droplets comprising the cargo are released from the anisotropic lubricant into the aqueous droplet. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in release involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to the release of the cargo in Aizenberg et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cargo of Aizenberg et al. with the lubricant of Gelebart et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Regarding claim 68, Gelebart et al. fail to teach a device, wherein the device is a drug delivery device, a microfluidic device, a smart surface reactor, or a wastewater diagnosis and treatment device. However, , Aizenberg et al. teach a drug delivery device (page 15, paragraphs [0187], [0188]) having a lubricating layer (page 1, paragraph [0008]) and a plurality of droplets comprising a cargo (page 15, paragraph [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a drug delivery device in Gelebart et al. as that of Aizenberg et al. in order to provide different properties (Aizenberg et al., page 15, paragraph [0188]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 4/3/2026