DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Status of Claims
The amendment, filed on 12 May 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11, and 16-17 have been amended.
Claim 15 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are pending and under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the previously elected species of the compound comprising the quaternary ammonium structure monomer 2.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to Title
Applicant’s amendment to the title, submitted on 12 May 2026 has overcome the objection to the Specification set forth in the Office action mailed on 20 February 2026. Accordingly, the relevant objection is withdrawn.
Objections to Claims
Applicant’s amendment to claims 7, 9, 11, and 16 have overcome the objections to the claims set forth in the Office action mailed on 20 February 2026. Accordingly, the relevant objections are withdrawn.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 103
The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been rendered moot in view of Applicant’s cancellation of the claim.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyobo Co Ltd. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP 2000-45179 A, published on 15 February 2000, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 5 February 2025, references to English translation, hereafter referred to as Toyobo).
Toyobo teaches an antimicrobial fiber formed from graft polymerization of an antimicrobial vinyl monomer to a cellulosic fiber, forming a structure with “excellent…resistance to washing” (Abstract). The antimicrobial vinyl monomer is taught to have a quaternary ammonium or phosphonium group, a biguanide group, or a pyridinium group, and is often in the form of a salt (para. [0011-0012]). In the embodiment that the monomer is a quaternary ammonium salt, it has the following structure (Structure 2):
where R1 is H or C1-6; R2, R3, and R4 are C1-20 and may be the same or different; X is a halogen or a residue (interpreted as the conjugate base) of an inorganic or organic acid; B is 1,4-phenylene or -C(=O)O-; and n is integers from 0-4 (0 excluded when B forms an acrylate group) (para. [0019]). In the embodiment that R1 is H, R2 and R3 are C4, R4 is C10, n is 2, and B forms an acrylate group, the structure is the same as Monomer 2 in the instant application. Toyobo also teaches that the antimicrobial polymer can be grafted to materials with fibers other than cellulose, including rayon, wool, cotton, etc. (para. [0008-0010]). Finally, Toyobo teaches that the antimicrobial polymer may be grafted to woven, knitted, non-woven, and sewn products (para. [0029]), with examples including clothing that retains antimicrobial properties that can “withstand repeated washing (para. [0059]).
Although “picking, choosing, and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference...has no place in...a 102, anticipation rejection,” picking and choosing may be entirely proper in an obviousness rejection. In re Arkley, 455 F.2d 586, 587 (CCPA 1972). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ” (KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007)). The Court further emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” (Id. at 1742).
The only difference between Toyobo and the instant claims is that Toyobo does not teach the specific combination of components as claimed in a single embodiment (e.g., a polymer formed from Monomer 2 in one embodiment), or with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory. The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the teaching of Toyobo, but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Where, as here, the reference does not provide any explicit motivation to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found. However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP § 2141.I. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to have selected various combinations of the various disclosed ingredients from within the teachings of Toyobo, to arrive at a compound comprising Monomer 2.
Claims 1-2 recite a critical micelle concentration, claims 3-12 recite an antimicrobial strength, and claims 13-14 recite an LD50 of the polymer formed from Monomer 2. These limitations are inherent properties of the compound comprising the quaternary ammonium structure Monomer 2 and would necessarily be present in the structure rendered obvious above.
“Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01. Further, "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” Id. The limitations discussed in claims 1-14 regarding critical micelle concentration, antimicrobial strength, and LD50 above are necessarily present. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-14 and 16-18 in view of the teachings of Toyobo.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12 May 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in para. 1 of pg. 11 that the teachings of the Toyobo reference do not motivate the specific selection of 3 alkyl groups having at least 4 carbons in their taught structure. This is not found to be persuasive because Toyobo teaches that the referenced alkyl groups may have 1-20 carbon atoms. As stated in the previous Office action, maintained above, and repeated here in brief, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP § 2141.I. Selecting 4 carbon atoms when Toyobo teaches a range of 1-20 carbon atoms does not render the instant claims patentable and the selection remains obvious in view of the prior art.
In para. 2 of pg. 11, Applicant argues that the examples taught in the Toyobo reference have at least two methyl groups, rather than 3 alkyl groups having at least 4 carbons. This is not found to be persuasive because alternative embodiments still constitute prior art and the Toyobo reference “may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” See MPEP § 2123 and Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989). “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments” (bold added for emphasis). In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The mere teaching of examples with methyl groups does not obviate the teachings referenced in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 above.
In the antepenultimate para. of pg. 11, Applicant argues that the previous Office action did not provide motivation to “modify at least two methyl groups to become an alkyl group having at least 4 carbon atoms” and that the Toyobo reference did not identify “which parameters are critical”. Regarding the first quotation, this is not found to be persuasive because, as acknowledged in the previous Office action and maintained above, the Toyobo reference does not provide any explicit motivation to select the specific claimed combination of variables and therefore anticipation cannot be found. However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP § 2141.I. For these reasons, the claimed invention was not rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated; however, the claimed invention would still be obvious and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the second quotation, the criticality of parameters is interpreted as being equivalent to a “result-effective” parameter. Guidelines on showing that a given parameter is or is not recognized as being “result-effective” are provided in MPEP § 2144.05.III.C. As noted in the first line of this section, “[a]pplicants may rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on optimization of a variable disclosed in a range in the prior art by showing that the claimed variable was not recognized in the prior art to be a result-effective variable” (bold added for emphasis). E.I. Dupont de Nemours & Company v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1008, 128 USPQ2d 1193, 1202 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The rejection presented in the previous Office action and maintained above did not argue on the basis of optimization of a variable disclosed in a range; instead, the rejection argued that the Toyobo reference teaches the elected elements of 3 alkyl groups with 4 or more carbon atoms and, as stated above, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP § 2141.I. The arrangement of old elements taught by the Toyobo reference to arrive at the elected Monomer 8 is still obvious in view of the teachings of Toyobo, the rejection is maintained, and the argument is found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619