DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 4/2/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first region" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second region" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahn et al. (US 2019/0207246 A1, hereinafter Dahn, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Dahn teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (para. 32-34) comprising a positive electrode (para. 39-57), a negative electrode (para. 58-60), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (para. 61-70), wherein
the positive electrode has a positive electrode mixture including positive electrode active material particles, the positive electrode active material particles include a composite oxide (para. 39-57, core) containing lithium and a transition metal, and a cover material (para. 39-57, coating) covering at least a portion of a surface of the composite oxide, and the cover material includes a metal oxide (para. 39-57), and a phosphorus compound (para. 61-70) covering at least a portion of a surface of the metal oxide.
Re Claim 6. Dahn teaches wherein the metal oxide includes at least one element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, titanium, magnesium, zirconium, niobium, calcium (para. 39-57).
Re Claim 7. Dahn teaches wherein the composite oxide has a layered rock salt type structure, and includes Ni, Co, and at least one of Al (para. 39-57).
Re Claim 8. Dahn teaches wherein at an outermost surface of the positive electrode mixture, an atomic ratio of a metal derived from the metal oxide relative to Ni derived from the composite oxide is 0.34 (para. 52-55, 10 mol% Al/29 mol% Ni = 0.34).
Re Claim 9. Dahn teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a phosphate compound, and the phosphate compound has at least one alkenyl group in one molecule (para. 61-70).
Re Claim 10. Dahn teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte has a content of the phosphate compound of 1 mass % (para. 39-57).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
Re Claim 11. Dahn teaches wherein the alkenyl group includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a 2-propenyl group (para. 39-57).
Re Claim 12. Dahn teaches wherein the phosphate compound includes triallyl phosphate (para. 39-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0251724 A1, hereinafter Kim).
The teachings of Dahn have been discussed above.
Re Claim 2. Dahn fails to teach that the surface of the composite oxide has a first region covered with the metal oxide of an island state, and a second region other than the first region.
The invention of Kim encompasses positive active material. Kim teaches that the surface of the composite oxide has a first region covered with the metal oxide of an island state, and a second region other than the first region (para. 59).
In view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Dahn to have a first region of the composite oxide covered with the metal oxide of an island state, and a second region other than the first region; since Kim teaches the advantage of doing it, which is to reduce residual lithium and suppresses side reaction with the electrolyte solution (para. 59).
Re Claim 3. The combination teaches wherein the first region is scattered at the surface of the composite oxide (Kim, para. 59).
Re Claims 4 and 5. The combination does not explicitly teach that an amount of phosphorus detected at the surface of the metal oxide, MO, and an amount of phosphorus detected in the second region, MS, satisfies a relation MO>MS/MO>3MS.
However, since Dahn in view of Kim and the claimed method employ substantially similar materials and process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (an amount of phosphorus detected in the second region, MS, satisfies a relation MO>MS/MO>3MS) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Dahn in view of Kim. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
4/25/2026