DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2016/0190585 A1, hereinafter Yoon) in view of Dahn et al. (US 2016/0190585 A1, hereinafter Dahn, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Yoon teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (para. 83 & 111) comprising a positive electrode (para. 117), a negative electrode (para. 117), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (para. 111), wherein
the positive electrode has a positive electrode mixture including positive electrode active material particles (para. 55 & 56),
the positive electrode active material particles include a composite oxide (para. 42-52, lithium composite oxide) containing lithium and a transition metal, and a cover material (para. 35-41, metal phosphate) covering at least a portion of a surface of the composite oxide (para. 56),
the cover material includes a metal oxide (para. 35-41),
the surface of the composite oxide has a first region covered with the metal oxide in an island state, and a second region other than the first region (para. 56),
the first region is scattered at the surface of the composite oxide (para. 56), and
a thickness of the first region is 1 nm or more and 100 nm or less (para. 56).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Yoon fails to specifically teach that a phosphorus compound covering at least a portion of a surface of the metal oxide.
The invention of Dahn encompasses lithium ion battery. Dahn teaches that a phosphorus compound covering at least a portion of a surface of the metal oxide (para. 61-70).
In view of Dahn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Yoon to employ a phosphorus compound covering at least a portion of a surface of the metal oxide, since Dahn teaches the advantage of using it, which is to improve the cycling performance of the battery (para. 35).
Re Claims 4 and 5. The combination does not explicitly teach that an amount of phosphorus detected at the surface of the metal oxide, MO, and an amount of phosphorus detected in the second region, MS, satisfies a relation MO>MS/MO>3MS.
However, since Yoon in view of Dahn and the claimed method employ substantially similar materials and process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (an amount of phosphorus detected in the second region, MS, satisfies a relation MO>MS/MO>3MS) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Yoon in view of Dahn. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Re Claim 6. The combination teaches wherein the metal oxide includes at least one element selected from the group consisting of niobium (Yoon, para. 35-41).
Re Claim 7. The combination teaches wherein the composite oxide has a layered rock salt type structure, and includes Ni, Co, and at least one of Mn (Yoon, para. 42-52).
Re Claim 8. The combination teaches wherein at an outermost surface of the positive electrode mixture, an atomic ratio of a metal derived from the metal oxide relative to Ni derived from the composite oxide is less than 2 (Yoon, para. 35-52).
Re Claim 9. The combination teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a phosphate compound, and the phosphate compound has at least one alkenyl group in one molecule (Dahn, para. 61-70).
Re Claim 10. The combination teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte has a content of the phosphate compound of 1 mass % (Dahn, para. 39-57).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
Re Claim 11. The combination teaches wherein the alkenyl group includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a 2-propenyl group (Dahn, para. 39-57).
Re Claim 12. The combination teaches wherein the phosphate compound includes triallyl phosphate (Dahn, para. 39-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly cited reference, Yoon, addresses the new limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
9/11/2026