DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-14 in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the peak at 4.05 to 6.10 ppm is B" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as "a peak at 4.05 to 6.10 ppm wherein an area of the peak at 4.05 6.10 is B".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009191235 to Hiroyuki et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Hiroyuki teaches a chloroprene-based polymer [abstract] with a H-NMR signal at 3.80-6.50 ppm (corresponding to instant peak B of claim 2) and a H-NMR signal at 4.13 – 4.30 ppm (corresponding to C of claim 2) [0007] wherein this ratio is between 0.01/100 and 0.65/100 [0031] thereby reading on the C/B ratio is 0.10/100 or less of claim 2.
Hiroyuki is silent regarding an amount of alkali metal cation per unit mass in the chloroprene-based polymer latex is 0.05 to 0.25 mmol/g or that the chloroprene-based polymer latex is freeze-dried to obtain a solid content containing the chloroprene-based polymer, and an ethanol-toluene azeotropic mixture soluble content specified in JIS K 6229 is extracted by refluxing from the solid content to obtain an extract, and the obtained extract is acid treated with hydrochloric acid, an amount of rosin acid of in the solid content measured by gas chromatography is 1.4 to 4.2% by mass. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Hiroyuki, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process e.g., obtaining a chloroprene-based polymer by heat-treating a polymer obtained by polymerizing 100 parts by mass of a chloroprene monomer in the presence of 0.5-7 parts metal salt of rosin acid [0007] (as compared to 1.2 to 3.0 parts rosin acid salt of instant application [0021]) and 0.5 parts potassium hydroxide [Example 1] (as compared to 0.1-1.1 parts potassium hydroxide of instant application [0022]) until the polymerization rate reaches 55% or more [Hiroyuki, 0007] while using a potassium persulfate catalyst at 40°C [Hiroyuki, Example 1]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. 0.05-0.25 mmol/g of alkali metal cation and amount of rosin acid of 1.4 to 4.2% - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 6, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 1, wherein the latex is heated to perform a drying process [0032] thereby reading on obtained by drying the latex of claim 4 and a compound composition of claim 6.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 1, wherein the chloroprene polymer composition can be dissolved in organic solvent to form an adhesive composition [0033].
Regarding Claim(s) 9, and 13, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 2, wherein the latex is heated to perform a drying process [0032] thereby reading on obtained by drying the latex of claim 9 and a compound composition of claim 13.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 2, wherein the chloroprene polymer latex is heated to perform a drying process [0032] and the chloroprene-based polymer can be dissolved in organic solvent to form an adhesive composition [0033].
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 4, wherein the chloroprene polymer latex is heated to perform a drying process [0032] and the chloroprene-based polymer can be dissolved in organic solvent to form an adhesive composition [0033].
Regarding Claim(s) 12 and 13, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 9, wherein the chloroprene polymer latex is heated to perform a drying process [0032] and the chloroprene-based polymer composition can be dissolved in organic solvent to form an adhesive composition [0033].
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009191235 to Hiroyuki in view of WO20200044899 to Yuhei et al. For the purposes of examination, citations for Yuhei are taken from the European equivalent of the document EP3783040.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 6, as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Hiroyuki does not particularly teach a vulcanized molded body comprising the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 6.
However, Yuhei discloses chloroprene-based polymers [abstract] that is vulcanized to make a vulcanized molded body [Yuhei, 0075]. Yuhei and Hiroyuki are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely chloroprene-based polymers.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make a vulcanized molded body as taught by Yuhei, using Yuhei’s chloroprene-based polymer.
The motivation would have been that vulcanized molded bodies are suitably used for a variety of products such as a transmission belt, a conveyor belt, a hose, a wiper, an immersion product, a seal, packing, an adhesive, a boot, and other items [Yuhei, 0081]
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Hiroyuki teaches the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 13, as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Hiroyuki does not particularly teach a vulcanized molded body comprising the chloroprene-based polymer of claim 13.
However, Yuhei discloses chloroprene-based polymers [abstract] that is vulcanized to make a vulcanized molded body [Yuhei, 0075]. Yuhei and Hiroyuki are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely chloroprene-based polymers.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make a vulcanized molded body as taught by Yuhei, using Yuhei’s chloroprene-based polymer.
The motivation would have been that vulcanized molded bodies are suitably used for a variety of products such as a transmission belt, a conveyor belt, a hose, a wiper, an immersion product, a seal, packing, an adhesive, a boot, and other items [Yuhei, 0081].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7 of copending Application No. 18274281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of application No. 18274281 require a ratio of the area of beaks A/B and D/B.
However, application 18274281 teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. a ratio of the area of beaks A/B and D/B - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764