DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finke (US 2012/0259279).
Regarding claim 1, Finke teaches a syringe comprising a cylindrical body (30) having a smooth inner surface; an outer surface comprising an engagement feature (the curves shown in figure 2 close to reference numeral 34); a top end sealed with a first pierceable cover (118); a bottom end sealed with a second pierceable cover (38), wherein the first pierceable cover (118) comprises a thickness at least twice the thickness of the second pierceable cover (38) (refer to Figure 1); a compressible stopper (42) in a sealing configuration with the inner surface of the cylindrical body (30) disposed below and adjacent the first pierceable cover (118), wherein the compressible stopper (42) is configured to slide along the inner surface upon application of pressure on the stopper; and a buffer (refer to paragraph [0008]) disposed between the second pierceable cover and the stopper, wherein the engagement feature comprises symmetrically placed indents, a flange, or two or more protrusions positioned at approximately diametrically opposite sides of the cylindrical body (30). (Refer to Figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, the buffer comprises a lysis buffer or an elution buffer. (Refer to paragraph [0008])
Regarding claim 9, the buffer occupies 20% to 35% of the internal volume of the cylindrical body (30). (Refer to Figures 1 and 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke in view of Bearinger (US 2017/0176302).
Refer above for the teachings of Finke.
Finke fails to teach the engagement feature is placed at approximately at a mid-point between the top and bottom ends. Finke fails to explicitly teaches the pierceable covers are aluminum.
Bearinger teaches a dispenser (730) having engagement features shown as protrusions in Figures 7A placed at approximately at a mid-point between the top and bottom ends in order to ensure the dispenser is placed securely. Bearinger also teaches seals made of aluminum. (Refer to paragraph [0014])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide engagement features as shown in Bearinger in order to ensure the cartridge is placed securely.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the pierceable covers of Finke to be aluminum as disclosed in Bearinger in order to ensure the seal is pierced easily.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15, 17-21, 23-24, 26, 28-31 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art fails to teach a sealing plate comprising a disk-shape having an upper surface opposite a lower surface, a first through-hole extending between the surfaces, the first through-hole comprising at least two diametrically opposite retaining features that extend from the lower surface and attach to the engagement feature of the buffer pack wherein the retaining features immobilize the buffer pack in absence of downward pressure on the first pierceable cover and detach from the engagement feature upon application of downward pressure on the first pierceable cover.
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798