DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment dated 03/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9, 13-22 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The earliest possible effective filing date for the instant claims is January, 28, 2021 based on the filing date of the Chinese application CN202110117653.8.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7, 15, 20 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-6, 9, 13-14, 16-19 and 21 are under examination.
2. The traversal filed by the Applicant is on the grounds that the amended claim 1 recite a special technical feature not taught or suggested by the prior art for at least the following reasons:
- (a) Claim 1 has been amended as follows: "A self-assembled nanoparticle, comprising a first polypeptide and a second polypeptide, wherein the first polypeptide comprises a gHgL protein and a first vector subunit, and the second polypeptide comprises a second vector subunit; the first vector subunit is I53-50A1, and the second vector subunit is I53-50B.4PT1; and the gHgL protein is linked to the first vector subunit through a linker; wherein the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector; the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA."
The distinguishing technical features between the present application and King are as follows: a gHgL protein is used in the present application, and the linker that links the gHgL protein to I53-50A1 comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector, wherein the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA.
(b) The linker in the present application was obtained through creative endeavor involving computational design leading to the selection of the linker consisting of a flexible sequence and a rigid connector, wherein the amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is shown in SEQ ID NO: 31 (Example 1 of the present application). This involved a significant amount of creative effort, and based on this, the immunogenicity of the gHgL protein was greatly enhanced leading to unexpected technical effects.
Kanekiyo (WO 2015/054639 A1) teaches vaccines comprising nanoparticles that display envelope proteins from EBV on their surface and these nanoparticles comprise fusion proteins comprising a monomeric subunit of a self-assembly protein (abstract) including a first fusion protein that is joined to at least one immunogenic portion from a EBV envelope protein that is selected from the group consisting of gp350, gH, gL, gp42, gB and BMRF2 (page 1 lines 18-21). Then nanoparticles can further include a second fusion protein that includes at least one immunogenic portion from a second EBV envelope protein that is selected from gp350, gH, gL, gp42, gB and BMRF2 (page 2, lines 4-6).
Therefore, it is obvious that neither King nor Kanekiyo teach the technical solution of improving the immunogenicity or the binding affinity of the gHgL protein. In view of King and Kanekiyo, those skilled in the art would not come up with the concept of designing a linker for gHgL, so as to improve the immunogenicity of the gHgL protein and to improve the binding affinity of the gHgL protein for the AMMO1 antibody, let alone a specific amino acid sequence of the rigid connector (EKAAKAEEAA, SEQ ID NO: 31). The amino acid (aa) sequence of the chimeric protein is as shown in any one of SEQ ID Nos. 26-33.
3. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In view of the 35 USC 103 rejection provided below, the claimed inventions lack unity since at least the elected invention lacks inventive step.
- Regarding item (a). Please read 103 rejection (below), where claims are rejected over King (US 2020/0397886 A1, publication date Dec. 24.2020, IDS US application citation 1) and Kanekiyo, (WO 2015/054639 A1, publication date April 16, 20215) in view of Butterfield (US 2021/0380641 A1 PCT filing date Nov. 9, 2018).
In addition, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant has not sufficiently described why there is no prima facie case for obviousness.
- Regarding item (b). Applicant’s arguments that technical solution of improving the immunogenicity or the binding affinity of the gHgL protein by the addition of a linker and the rigid connector (EKAAKAEEAA) lead to unexpected technical results.
A showing of unexpected results must be based on evidence, not argument or speculation. In re Mayne, 104 F.3d 1339, 1343-44, 41 USPQ2d 1451, 1455-56 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (conclusory statements that claimed compound possesses unusually low immune response or unexpected biological activity that is unsupported by comparative data held insufficient to overcome prima facie case of obviousness). MPEP § 2145. A greater than expected result is an evidentiary factor pertinent to the legal conclusion of obviousness ... of the claims at issue.” In re Corkill, 711 F.2d 1496, 226 USPQ 1005 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 716.02 (a). The evidence relied * > upon < should establish “that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.” Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). MPEP 716.02 (b). Applicant must further show that the results were greater than those which would have been expected from the prior art to an unobvious extent, and that the results are of a significant, practical advantage. Ex parte The NutraSweet Co., 19 USPQ2d 1586 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1991). MPEP 716.02 (b). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c).
Applicant has failed to provide evidence of unexpected results as the data in Fig. 8B does not show statistically significant differences between monomeric gHgL and gHgL-I53-50NP based on the very broad standard deviation bar for gHgL-I53-50NP and mean values being very close to each other (see below). A p value was not provided either. Evidence of any type of “results” is not evidence of “unexpected results” (greater than expected results), and Applicant has failed to provide evidence of such breakthrough.
In addition, the arguments focus on a specific linker that comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector (SEQ ID NO: 31). However, only the rigid connector and not the flexible sequence is defined by the claims. Therefore, the “unexpected results” are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Therefore, the amended claim 1 makes no contribution over the prior art as the technical feature is taught by the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the claims (claim 1) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831. Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear in the claims (MPEP 2412.04).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement claims in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute claims in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the claims, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted claims, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended claims without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 2-5, 13, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “The self-assembled nanoparticle according to claim 1, wherein, an amino acid sequence of the I53-50A1 is shown in SEQ ID NO: 26; an amino acid sequence of the I53-50B.4PT1 is shown in SEQ ID NO: 27.” It is unclear from the wording if SEQ ID NOs: 26 and 27 are fragments of the longer vectors of I53-50A1 and I53-50B.4PT1, or if SEQ ID NOs: 26 and 27 are representative of the entire length of the vectors I53-50A1 and I53-50B.4PT1. If the entirety of I53-50A1 is represented by SEQ ID NO: 26 and the entire vector of I53-50B.4PT1 is represented by SEQ ID NO: 27, then it is suggested that this limitation be incorporated into claim 1, as claim 2 does not further limit claim 1, as it has been interpreted that these sequences are inherent aspects of I53-50A1 and I53-50B.4PT1. Claims 3-5, 13 and 16-17 are also rejected since they depend from claim 2, but do not remedy the deficiencies of claim 2.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " The self-assembled nanoparticle according to claim 6, wherein the gHgL protein further comprises a linking sequence”. Claim 14 depends on claim 6, which recites the limitation " The self-assembled nanoparticle according to claim 1, wherein the gHgL protein comprises a gH protein and a gL protein”. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, which recites the limitation “‘….and the gHgL protein is linked to the first vector subunit through a linker; wherein the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector; the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA. It is unclear if claim 14 refers to the same linking sequence as claim 1 or a different one.
Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 14 recites: “ The self-assembled nanoparticle according to claim 6, wherein the gHgL protein further comprises a linking sequence”. Claim 14 depends on claim 6, which recites the limitation " The self-assembled nanoparticle according to claim 1, wherein the gHgL protein comprises a gH protein and a gL protein”. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, which recites the limitation “‘….and the gHgL protein is linked to the first vector subunit through a linker; wherein the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector; the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA. If claim 14’s linking sequence is the same as the linking sequence of claim 1, it does not further limit claim 1 as the linking sequence is already recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a self-assembled nanoparticle composition capable of raising antibodies does not reasonably provide enablement for this composition to either prevent a EBV infection or treat diseases caused by EBV infection. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these broad claims.
Nature of the invention/Breadth of the claims. Claims 19 and 21 are drawn to a nanoparticle for prevention of a EBV infection (claim 19) or for treatment of diseases caused by EBV infection.
State of the prior art/Predictability of the art. Applicant should note that the examiner is interpreting the term “preventing” as completely negating or precluding infection of the virus, as the term is generally known by one of ordinary skill in the art. At the outset, prevention of an infection is not possible, since it is understood to mean prevention of a single virion from infecting a single cell. An infection may be inhibited, but not entirely prevented. In fact, the mechanism by which the invention operates depends on an infection occurring post-immunization. The examiner is interpreting “treat” and “treatment,” to “refer to both therapeutic treatment and prophylactic or preventative measures, wherein the object is to prevent or slow down (lessen) an undesired physiological change or disorder.
As taught by Cui (Cui X and Snapper CM (2021) Epstein Barr Virus: Development of Vaccines and Immune Cell Therapy for EBV-Associated Diseases. Front. Immunol. 12:734471), EBV infects more than 95% of the human population. In addition, EBV has been shown to play a critical role in the pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis. An EBV prophylactic vaccine that induces neutralizing antibodies holds great promise for prevention of EBV associated diseases (page 1) such as Burkitt’s Lymphoma, Hodgkin lymphoma, Post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder, Nasopharyngeal cancer and Gastric cancer. Early efforts in EBV vaccine development were focused on gp350 (Table 1). EBV gp350 is the most abundant EBV envelope protein, and about half of the EBV neutralizing activity in EBV seropositive human sera is against gp350. The addition of EBV envelope proteins gH/gL, gB and gp350 has the potential to increase the efficacy of a therapeutic EBV vaccine (page 1). EBV prophylactic vaccine aiming at prevention of primary EBV infection has been in development for more than 30 years, and clinical trials of therapeutic EBV vaccines targeting EBV associated cancers have been conducted for more than 10 years. Though neither an EBV prophylactic vaccine nor a therapeutic EBV vaccine has been licensed, promising progresses have been made (page 2). Soldan (Targeting Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) for treatment of multiple sclerosis Multiple Sclerosis and Related Disorders 109 (2026) 107066) describes the current EBV mRNA vaccine trials for MS. These trials include Moderna’s Horizon Trial (Phase 2), which focuses on testing mRNA vaccines (mRNA-1195) for safety, reduced EBV reactivation, and decreased disease activity in recently diagnosed adults (18-55) with MS and Modex/Merck’s trial (MDX2201, Phase 1) which is focused on safety and immune responses in young adults. The specific antigens encoded by mRNA-1195 have not been disclosed, but include five EBV envelope glycoproteins (gB, gH, gL, gp42, and gp350) as well as mRNAs for latent antigens, while MDX2201 includes mRNAs to gH, gL, gp42, and gp350 (page 8).
In summary, promising advances have been made for EBV vaccines including those vaccines which use EBV envelope protein but substantially more research is needed to reach the market. The presence of neutralizing antibodies is one of the key markers to consider to evaluate the potential of a vaccine in the early stages of development.
Working examples. The disclosure does not include any working examples of the nanoparticles preventing an infection caused by EBV. Applicants did not test for neutralizing antibodies against EBV, which is key to demonstrate initial therapeutic activity or prevention of any vaccine as discussed above. In addition, Example 5 used an MF59 adjuvant, which is not claimed by claims 1 or 19. The disclosure does not include any working examples of the nanoparticles treating an infection caused by EBV. Based on the current state of the art, diseases caused by EBV include many type of cancers, MS and others but it is unclear if the nanoparticle of claim 1 is capable of treating these EBV-associate diseases.
Guidance in the specification. The specification provides guidance toward how to generate a nanoparticle containing the gHgL proteins. Example 2 describes the construction and protein expression of a recombinant vector with the gH and gL genes inserted into the vector. Example 3 shows the structural and chemical properties of the nanoparticles. Examples 4 and 5 show the antigenicity and the immunogenicity in animals of the nanoparticles. Mice were immunized and total antibody titers were detected by indirect Elisa. These antibodies were not further characterized.
Amount of experimentation necessary. In view of the breadth of the claims (a drug (nanoparticle) for preventing EB virus infection or for treating any disease caused by EBV infection), the nature of the invention, the state of the art (the need for a vaccine to generate neutralizing antibodies), the limited guidance and working examples in the specification, and the low level of predictability (no evidence of preventing infection), it would require undue experimentation for one skilled in the art to use the claimed methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
6. Claims 1-6, 9, 13-14, 16-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King (US 2020/0397886 A1, publication date Dec. 24.2020) and Kanekiyo, (WO 2015/054639 A1, publication date April 16, 20215) in view of Butterfield (US 2021/0380641 A1 PCT filing date Nov. 9, 2018).
King teaches nanostructure-based vaccines (instant claim 9, 16-18), capable of eliciting immune responses to antigens, such as antigenic proteins of various infectious agents, including bacteria, viruses, and parasites (Abstract; [0003]), comprising a plurality of antigens such as EBV gp350 [0013] (EBV gp350 together with gH, and gL are envelope glycoproteins crucial for the EBV entry). The nanostructure comprises a first plurality of antigens; each of the first plurality of the antigens has a proximal end and a distal end; and the proximal ends of the antigens are each attached to a member of the first plurality of polypeptides [0008] and a second plurality of peptides, wherein the second plurality of peptides is attached to the first plurality of peptides [0012]. Said nanostructures may comprise a linker (instant claims 1 and 14) between the antigen and the nanostructure subunit, wherein said nanostructure subunit may be I53-50A (trimeric) (SEQ OD NO: 29) and/or I53-50B.4PT1 (SEQ ID NO: 34), (also known as I53-50B.v4, "v4" or "4PT1" designates the fourth iteration of the engineered pentamer) (pentameric) ([0026] [0040’0041] [0111-01122]), (instant claim 4). Said linker may be between 5 to 20 amino acids in length ( Page 23, section 4, [0106]; instant claim 1). The nanostructure may self-assemble ([0036-0037]), wherein the first polypeptide comprises a viral protein, such as EBV gp350, either self-assembles due to the polypeptide or the viral antigen itself (instant claim 1). As certain viral antigens are known to inherently form multimers, wherein a trimeric or pentameric antigen is displayed upon a core designed to have a matching symmetrical axis which accommodates the alignment and native symmetry of the multimeric antigen [0038], (instant claim 4). Said nanostructures can display about 20 copies of a trimeric antigen and about 12 copies of a pentameric antigen [0040-0041]; instant claims 5). The linker may also include additional trimerization domains, such as the foldon domain of T4 fibritin that assist in stabilizing the trimeric form of the viral protein ([0105]; instant claims 3, 13). Said nanostructures may be within pharmaceutical compositions, such as vaccines, which also comprise further excipients or adjuvants ([0017][0031][0129-0130]; instant claims 9,16-18). Regarding instant claim 19, the preamble recites: “A drug for preventing EB virus infection, comprising the self- assembled nanoparticle…”. Claim 21’s preamble recites: “A drug for treating diseases caused by EB virus infection, comprising the self-assembled nanoparticle…” Both claims recite the intended use of said drug and thus were not viewed to be further limiting and were not read into the claim construction. Regarding claim 2, King teaches SEQ ID NO: 29 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 26, except for the last 4 amino acids added to the C-terminal to the instant SEQ ID NO: 26, and the instant SEQ ID NO: 27 is also taught by King’s SEQ ID NO: 34 being 100% identical except for the last 4 amino acids added to the C-terminal to the instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (see alignments below). It should be noted that the addition of these 4 amino acids is a minor change very unlikely to change the function of these sequences since both SEQ ID NO: 26 and 29 are able to form trimers and both SEQ ID NO: 27 and 34 are able to form pentamers. The additional amino acids may be present due to the source of the polypeptide or a simple optimization process.
King does not teach using the gH, and gL glycoproteins or that the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector being EKAAKAEEAA.
Kanekiyo teaches vaccines comprising nanoparticles that display envelope proteins from EBV on their surface and these nanoparticles comprise fusion proteins comprising a monomeric subunit of a self- assembly protein (envelope protein-displaying nanoparticles) (abstract) including a first fusion protein that is joined to at least one immunogenic portion from a EBV envelope protein that is selected from the group consisting of gp350, gH, gL, gp42, gB and BMRF2 (page 1 lines 18-21). The nanoparticle can further include a second fusion protein that includes at least one immunogenic portion from a second EBV envelope protein that is selected from gp350, gH, gL, gp42, gB and BMRF2 (page 3, lines 4-6). The fusion proteins can be used to vaccinate an individual against infection by different types of Epstein-Barr viruses (page 3, line 10-32)
Kanekiyo does not teach that the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector being EKAAKAEEAA.
Butterfield teaches self-assembling protein structures and components thereof (title) (instant claim 1). The disclosure provides isolated polynucleotides with an amino acid sequence including a targeting domain, and optionally an amino acid linker [0008] (instant claims 1 and 14). In another embodiment, the polypeptides may further comprise a stabilization domain [0008] (instant claim 3). These nanostructures comprise: (a) a plurality of first assemblies, each first assembly comprising a plurality of identical first polypeptides [0010]; and (b) a plurality of second assemblies, each second assembly comprising a plurality of identical second polypeptides [0011]. Butterfield also discloses several amino acid sequences with the I53- 50 component (some being the A component (trimers), some being the B component (pentamers), different versions), two of which (SEQ ID NO: 9 and 10 include linkers which comprise the EKAAKAEEAA sequence ([0097] see images below). The underline sequence is part of the linker and the rest of the sequence is SEQ ID NO: 1 which is the I53- 50A trimer sequence as shown below. Therefore, Butterfield teaches the instant claim 1 limitation “ wherein the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector; the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA.”
Regarding claim 2, Butterfield teaches SEQ ID NO: 523 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 26 except for the last 4 amino acids added to the C-terminal to the instant SEQ ID NO: 26, and the instant SEQ ID NO: 27 is taught by Butterfield’s SEQ ID NO: 521 being 100% identical except for the last 4 amino acids added to the C-terminal to the instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (see alignments below). It should be noted that the addition of these 4 amino acids is a minor change very unlikely to change the function of these sequences since both SEQ ID NO: 26 and 523 are able to form trimers and both SEQ ID NO: 27 and 521 are able to form pentamers. In addition, Butterfield claim 58 is drawn to a nanostructure, comprising: (I) ….(b) a plurality of second assemblies, each second assembly comprising a plurality of identical second polypeptides, wherein the second polypeptides (ii) comprise an amino acid sequence that is at least 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 91 %, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99% identical over the length of the amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ IDS NOS: 2, and 519-522….or (ii) are at least 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 91 %, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, or 99% identical over the length of the amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ IDS NO: 1 and 523-526;….
SEQUENCE ALIGMENTS:
Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 v. King SEQ ID NO: 29 and Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 v. Butterfield SEQ ID NO: 29
Title: US-18-274-425-26
Perfect score: 1066
Sequence: 1 MKMEELFKKHKIVAVLRANS..........REKAKKFVEKIRGCTEGSLE 209
Sequence 29, US/16971278
Publication No. US20200397886A1
APPLICANT: University of Washington
APPLICANT: King, Neil
APPLICANT: Baker, David
APPLICANT: Stewart, Lance
TITLE OF INVENTION: SELF-ASSSEMBLING NANOSTRUCTURE VACCINES
FILE REFERENCE: ICVX-001/02WO 333041-2012
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/971,278
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2020-08-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/724,721
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-08-30
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/636,757
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-02-28
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 113
SEQ ID NO 29
LENGTH: 205
Sequence 523, US/16762565
Publication No. US20210380641A1
APPLICANT: UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON
APPLICANT: LAJOIE, Marc J
APPLICANT: BUTTERFIELD, Gabriel
APPLICANT: KING, Neil P
APPLICANT: BAKER, David
TITLE OF INVENTION: SELF-ASSEMBLING PROTEIN STRUCTURES AND COMPONENTS THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: 18-1161-PCT
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/762,565
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2020-05-08
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/583,937
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-11-09
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/686,576
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-06-18
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 595
SEQ ID NO 523
LENGTH: 205
Query Match 98.2%; Score 1047; Length 205;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 205; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MKMEELFKKHKIVAVLRANSVEEAIEKAVAVFAGGVHLIEITFTVPDADTVIKALSVLKE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MKMEELFKKHKIVAVLRANSVEEAIEKAVAVFAGGVHLIEITFTVPDADTVIKALSVLKE 60
Qy 61 KGAIIGAGTVTSVEQCRKAVESGAEFIVSPHLDEEISQFCKEKGVFYMPGVMTPTELVKA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 KGAIIGAGTVTSVEQCRKAVESGAEFIVSPHLDEEISQFCKEKGVFYMPGVMTPTELVKA 120
Qy 121 MKLGHDILKLFPGEVVGPQFVKAMKGPFPNVKFVPTGGVNLDNVCEWFKAGVLAVGVGDA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 MKLGHDILKLFPGEVVGPQFVKAMKGPFPNVKFVPTGGVNLDNVCEWFKAGVLAVGVGDA 180
Qy 181 LVKGDPDEVREKAKKFVEKIRGCTE 205
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LVKGDPDEVREKAKKFVEKIRGCTE 205
Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 v. King SEQ ID NO: 34 and Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 v. Butterfield SEQ ID: 521
Title: US-18-274-425-27
Perfect score: 820
Sequence: 1 MNQHSHKDHETVRIAVVRAR..........ARACVEILAAREKIAAGSLE 161
Sequence 34, US/16971278
Publication No. US20200397886A1
APPLICANT: University of Washington
APPLICANT: King, Neil
APPLICANT: Baker, David
APPLICANT: Stewart, Lance
TITLE OF INVENTION: SELF-ASSSEMBLING NANOSTRUCTURE VACCINES
FILE REFERENCE: ICVX-001/02WO 333041-2012
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/971,278
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2020-08-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/724,721
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-08-30
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/636,757
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-02-28
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 113
SEQ ID NO 34
LENGTH: 157
Sequence 521, US/16762565
Publication No. US20210380641A1
APPLICANT: UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON
APPLICANT: LAJOIE, Marc J
APPLICANT: BUTTERFIELD, Gabriel
APPLICANT: KING, Neil P
APPLICANT: BAKER, David
TITLE OF INVENTION: SELF-ASSEMBLING PROTEIN STRUCTURES AND COMPONENTS THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: 18-1161-PCT
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/762,565
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2020-05-08
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/583,937
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-11-09
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/686,576
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-06-18
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 595
SEQ ID NO 521
LENGTH: 157
Query Match 97.7%; Score 801; Length 157;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 157; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MNQHSHKDHETVRIAVVRARWHAEIVDACVSAFEAAMRDIGGDRFAVDVFDVPGAYEIPL 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MNQHSHKDHETVRIAVVRARWHAEIVDACVSAFEAAMRDIGGDRFAVDVFDVPGAYEIPL 60
Qy 61 HARTLAETGRYGAVLGTAFVVNGGIYRHEFVASAVINGMMNVQLNTGVPVLSAVLTPHNY 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 HARTLAETGRYGAVLGTAFVVNGGIYRHEFVASAVINGMMNVQLNTGVPVLSAVLTPHNY 120
Qy 121 DKSKAHTLLFLALFAVKGMEAARACVEILAAREKIAA 157
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DKSKAHTLLFLALFAVKGMEAARACVEILAAREKIAA 157
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skills in the art to combine the teachings of King and Kanekiyo to develop a self-assembled nanoparticle, that can be used as a vaccine or drug against EBV, as described by King, whereon the gp350 is replaced by gH fused to gL as taught by Kanekiyo. It would have further been obvious to combine King, Kanekiyo and Butterfield to generate the EBV envelope proteins fused to nanostructure-forming domains as taught by King using a linking sequence, comprising a linker and an additional sequence as taught by Butterfield, to fuse the envelop proteins and/or nanostructure forming domains such as I53-50A and I53-50B.4PT1 (as taught by King and butterfield). It would further be obvious that the amino acid sequences and length in the linking sequence comprising a linker and a rigid connector, as well as the proteins the linking sequences are fused to, are clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient needed to achieve the desired results. The principle of law states from MPEP 2144.05: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." (Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382); Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 2.
One would have been motivated to combine these references, given the suggestions by King and Kanekiyo that the nanostructures could display EBV glycoproteins, gp350 or gH fused to L, which was important for membrane fusion elicited by EBV. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that gH and gL was an antigenic envelope glycoprotein of EBV, as taught Kanekiyo, and also given the knowledge that nanostructures based upon the fusion of EBV surface antigens to protein domains capable of multimeric self-assembly were known in the art, as taught by King, Kanekiyo and Butterfield.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-5, 9, 13, 16-19 and 21 of are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-15, and 17-22 of US patent No. 12,098,167 B2 over King in view of Kanekiyo, Butterfield and Zhang ((Zhang X, et. al. Theranostics. 2020 Apr 27;10(13):5704-5718). Both sets of claims are drawn to a self-assembled nanoparticle, comprising a first polypeptide and a second polypeptide, wherein the first polypeptide comprises an Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) protein and a first vector subunit, and the second polypeptide comprises a second vector subunit; the first vector subunit is I53- 50A1, and the second vector subunit is I53-50B.4PT1; and the EBV protein(s) is/are linked to the first vector subunit through a linker. Both claim the first polypeptide further comprises a stabilizing protein, both claim the first polypeptide forms a trimer and the second polypeptide forms a pentamer, both claim the same numbers of trimers and pentamers in the self-assembling nanoparticle, both claim compositions (such as vaccines or drugs) comprising said nanoparticles for preventing or treating EBV infections both claim the use of flexible linkers in said polypeptides, both claim the stabilizing protein is T4 fibritin or GCN4 peptide fragment, both claim similar copy numbers for the first and second polypeptides in the nanoparticle. The main difference between the instant claims and the 12,098,167 B2 claims is that the 12,098,167 B2 claims utilize the EBV surface antigens gB while the instant claims utilize gHgL and the linker comprises a flexible sequence and a rigid connector; the flexible sequence is a polypeptide comprising 5 to 9 amino acids, and an amino acid sequence of the rigid connector is EKAAKAEEAA. However, the glycoprotein difference would be an obvious substitution of one known element with another, or an obvious additional inclusion for the nanoparticle, given the teachings of King, Kanekiyo and Zhang), King and Kanekiyo teachings have been detailed above. Zhang teaches chimeric virus-like particles (VLPs) wherein a self-assembling peptide from hepatitis B virus core antigen is fused to EBV peptides to display known epitopes from EBV gp350 (entire document; abstract). Zhang teaches the glycoproteins involved in the fusion apparatus of EBV, such as gB, can be displayed on these nanostructures as they have been shown to have potent epitopes and are promising immunogenic targets (page 5716, second paragraph). The instant claim recitation of the linker would be an obvious additional inclusion for the nanoparticle, given the teachings of Butterfield (discussed above), Therefore, the instant claims and the 12,098,167 B2 claims are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/IMMA BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/BENJAMIN P BLUMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671