Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 5, lines 6 – 9, “one or more first housing protrusion parts” should be pluralized appropriately to allow for one part or more than one parts, e.g., --one or more first housing protrusion part or parts-- or --one or more first housing protrusion part(s)--; on page 5, line 9, “protrusion parts” should read --first housing protrusion part or parts-- or --first housing protrusion part(s)--; on page 5, line 10 and line 19, “protrudes” should read --protrude--; on page 5, lines 15 – 18, “one or more second housing protrusion parts” should be pluralized appropriately to allow for one part or more than one parts, e.g., --one or more second housing protrusion part or parts-- or --one or more second housing protrusion part(s)--; on page 7, line 24, “on or below” presumably should read --on or above--; on page 12, line 16, “second lower plate” should read --first lower plate--; on page 17, lines 15 – 16, “to be adjacent to both sides facing each other at the bottom part 210a of the housing 200, respectively” is unclear but presumably should read “to be adjacent to both sides 210b at the bottom part 210a of the housing 200”; on page 18, line 5, “similarly on the opposite side” should read --similarly to the opposite side--; on page 19, line 20, “through between” should read --between--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 10, 12, 13, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 9, 10, 12, and 13 use the plural “parts” to refer to positively recited elements of which there may be “one or more”, i.e., one or more first housing protrusion parts (claims 9 and 10), one or more second housing protrusion parts (claims 12 and 13), one or more first heat sink protrusion parts (claim 10), and one or more second heat sink protrusion parts (claim 13); the term “parts” should reflect the possibility of one part e.g., --part or parts-- or --part(s)--. The final limitation of claim 14 reads “the second refrigerant flow path formed” but should read -- the second refrigerant flow path--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 12 positively recite one or more housing protrusion parts. They further specify that a refrigerant injection port is connected to one of the housing protrusion parts and a refrigerant discharge port is connected to the other of the housing protrusion parts. In the case that only one housing protrusion part is present, it is unclear what “other” housing protrusion part the refrigerant discharge port would be connected to. For the purposes of prosecution, the examiner will interpret claims 9 and 12 to allow both the refrigerant injection and discharge ports to connect to a single housing protrusion part when only one is present. Claims 10 and 13 are rendered indefinite by virtue of their dependency on claims 9 and 12, respectively.
Claims 12 and 13 positively recite one or more second housing protrusion parts and claim 13 further recites one or more second heat sink protrusion parts. Claims 9 and 10 positively recite one or more first housing protrusion parts and claim 10 further recites one or more first heat sink protrusion parts. However, claims 12 and 13 do not depend on claims 9 or 10, instead claim 13 depends on claim 12 which depends on claim 1. Since claim 1 does not recite a first housing protrusion part or first heat sink protrusion part, it is unclear what the housing protrusion parts and heat sink protrusion parts recited in claims 12 and 13 are second to. For the purposes of prosecution, in claims 12 and 13 the examiner interprets the term “second” when included in “second housing protrusion parts” or “second heat sink protrusion parts” to be purely cosmetic and to not a require first housing protrusion parts or first heat sink protrusion parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (CN 110718723 A), hereinafter “Jin”, in view of Chung et al. (US 2020006823 A1), hereinafter “Chung”, and Tanjou et al. (US 20030215702 A1), hereinafter “Tanjou”, wherein an English language machine translation of Jin is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a battery (corresponding to the claimed battery cell stack) (Jin, [0003]) which can be seen to include a plurality of battery units (corresponding to the plurality of battery cells) (Jin, Fig. 2-3) sitting on top of a heat exchanger having an upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) (Jin, Fig. 2-3);
the heat exchanger further includes a lower end plate (Jin, [0030]) where a plurality of flow paths are formed (where the two halves of the lower end plate having the depicted flow paths correspond to the claimed first and second heat sinks and will be referred to as “cooling portions” hereinafter) (Jin, [0033], Fig. 2, 5, and depicted in the examiner annotated figure below) and are depicted located under the upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) with each flow path (corresponding to the claimed first and second refrigerant flow paths) shown located between their respective lower end plate half and the upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) and wherein both flow paths are separated from each other as claimed (Jin, Fig. 2).
Jin does not teach a complete battery module with a housing for the battery cell stack or the claimed alignment of battery cells wherein each of the plurality of battery cells include electrode leads protruding in mutually opposite directions.
However, Chung teaches a battery module (corresponding to the claimed battery module) including a case (corresponding to the claimed housing) configured to protect the battery cells (Chung, [0029]). Tanjou teaches a secondary cell module in which the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal (corresponding to the claimed electrode leads) are placed so that they extend in the direction opposite to each other (corresponding to the claimed electrode leads protruding in mutually opposite directions) from the outer wrapper of the envelope in order to form a combination cell by efficiently connecting many secondary cells in series with each other (Tanjou, [0021]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the case of Chung to the battery and heat exchanger of Jin and to substitute the battery terminal alignment of Tanjou for the battery terminal alignment of Jin, thereby providing a sturdy battery module as taught by Chung (Chung, [0029]) with a more efficiently connected stack of battery cells as taught by Tanjou ([Tanjou, [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, the battery module suggested by Jin modified by Chung and Tanjou would include the heat exchanger oriented such that each cooling portion (corresponding to the claimed first and second heat sinks) was located along a direction parallel to the direction in which the leads protrude as depicted in the examiner annotated figure below.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, the cooling portions (corresponding to the claimed first heat sink) (as depicted in the examiner annotated figure below) can be seen as portions of Jin’s lower end plate (corresponding to the claimed first and second lower plates) (Jin, Fig. 2, depicted in the examiner annotated figure below), which is joined to the upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) with flow paths (corresponding to the claimed first and second recessed parts) formed by embossing (corresponding to the claimed first and second recessed parts being recessed in a lower direction from the first and second lower plates, respectively) (Jin, [0037]).
Regarding claim 9 and 12, as interpreted based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Jin further depicts two parts of the upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom of the housing) extending out from under the battery (corresponding to claim 9’s one or more first housing protrusion parts and claim 12’s one or more second housing protrusion parts) such that they protrude from a portion of the bottom part of the housing (depicted in the examiner annotated figure below);
an inflow pipe (corresponding to the claimed refrigerant injection ports) connected to one of the parts extending from under the battery (corresponding to the claimed refrigerant injection port connected to one of the first or second housing protrusion parts) and an outflow pipe (corresponding to the claimed refrigerant discharge ports) connected to the other part extending from under the battery (corresponding to the claimed refrigerant discharge port connected to one of the first or second housing protrusion parts) (depicted in the examiner annotated figure below).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, as interpreted based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Jin further depicts both ends of the heat exchanger, including a portion of the first cooling portions as depicted in the examiner annotated figure below, extending out from under the battery (corresponding to the claimed one or more first and second heat sink protrusion parts) such that it protrudes from a first side of the first cooling portion (corresponding to the claimed first and second heat sink) toward the extending portion of Jin’s upper connecting plate (corresponding to the claimed first and second housing protrusion parts).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, Chung, and Tanjou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mack et al. (US Patent No. 10,199,631), hereinafter “Mack”, and Asai et al. (US 2011206948 A1), hereinafter “Asai”.
Regarding claim 3, Jin modified by Chung and Tanjou suggests the battery module according to claim 1.
Modified Jin does not suggest a first and second thermal conductive resin layer located between a lower surface of the battery cell stack and the bottom part of the housing.
However, Mack teaches a first and second thermal transfer layer (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive layers) made of thermally conductive materials, which may be positioned between the bottoms of the battery cell stacks and an interior surface of the battery module housing (corresponding to the claimed positioning of the thermal conductive resin layers between a lower surface of the battery cell stack and the bottom part of the housing) (Mack, col. 7 P. 4 – col. 8 P. 1) such that they facilitate a transfer of thermal energy from the bottoms of the cells to thermal management features of the battery module such as a heat sink (Mack, col. 8 P. 1). Asai teaches battery cells thermally connected to a cooling plate through an electrically insulating layer (corresponding to the claimed thermal conductive resin layer) made of an electrically insulating and thermally conducting material such as silicon resin (resin composition of the thermal conductive resin layers ) in order to efficiently transfer heat between the battery cells and the cooling plate while preventing the battery cells from electrically connecting to the cooling plate resulting in a short circuit (Asai, [0066]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the first and second thermal transfer layers of Mack over the first and second cooling portions of Jin’s heat exchanger and to substitute the silicon resin material of Asai for Mack’s thermally conductive material, providing a first and second thermal transfer layer capable of transferring heat from the bottom of the battery cells to the cooling portions as taught by Mack (Mack, col. 8 P. 1) while electrically insulating the battery cells from the cooling portions as taught by Asai (Asai, [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, the thermal transfer layers (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive resin layer) in the battery module suggested by Jin modified by Chung, Tanjou, Mack, and Asai are oriented over Jin’s heat exchangers as discussed above, placing them separate from each other along a direction parallel to a direction in which the electrode leads protrude as depicted in the examiner annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 5, in the battery module suggested by Jin modified by Chung, Tanjou, Mack, and Asai, the first and second cooling portions (corresponding to the claimed first and second heat sinks) are located beneath (corresponding to their claimed location at a portion corresponding to the first and second thermal conductive resin layers) the first and second thermal layers (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive resin layers) and where being below the first and second thermal layers positions them in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the bottom part of Jin’s upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) as depicted in the examiner annotated figure below.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, Chung, and Tanjou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jansen et al. (US 2019280265 A1), hereinafter “Jansen”.
Regarding claim 7, Jin modified by Chung and Tanjou suggests the battery module according to claim 1.
Modified Jin does not suggest a thermal conductive resin layer located between a lower surface of the battery cell stack and the bottom part of the housing.
However, Jansen teaches an epoxy layer (corresponding to the claimed thermal conductive resin layer) disposed between the bottom surface of the battery cell assembly and the lower housing (corresponding to the claimed thermal conductive resin layer’s location between a lower surface of the battery cell stack and the bottom part of the housing) (Jansen, [0048] – [0049], Fig. 6) in order to secure the cell assembly within the housing and to facilitate heat transfer (Jansen, [0049]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the epoxy layer of Jansen to the battery module suggested by modified Jin between Jin’s battery and heat exchanger, in order to secure the battery and facilitate heat transfer to the heat exchanger as taught by Jansen (Jansen, [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, the battery module suggested by Jin modified by Chung, Tanjou, and Jansen places Jansen’s epoxy layer (corresponding to the claimed thermal conductive resin layer) below Jin’s battery which is located above the two cooling portions (corresponding to the claimed heat sinks) of the heat exchanger. Thus, the epoxy layer according to the battery module suggested by modified Jin covers the regions over both of the cooling portions (corresponding to the claimed first and second regions where the first and second heat sinks are located, respectively) from on top of Jin’s upper end plate (corresponding to the claimed bottom of the housing) and thereby in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the upper end plate.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, Chung, and Tanjou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keon et al. (KR 20110130313 A), hereinafter “Keon”, wherein an English machine translation of Keon is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 14, Jin modified by Chung and Tanjou suggest the battery module of claim 1 where the battery module corresponds to the claimed battery pack and Jin further teaches a cooled fluid (corresponding to the claimed refrigerant) (Jin, [0030]).
Modified Jin does not suggest first pack refrigerant supply or discharge tubes or second pack refrigerant supply or discharge tubes.
However, Keon teaches a coolant inlet tube (corresponding to the claimed first and second pack refrigerant supply tubes) for introducing coolant into the battery unit and a coolant outlet tube (corresponding to the claimed first and second pack refrigerant discharge tubes) through which coolant flows from the battery unit where the coolant inlet tube and the coolant outlet tube are connected to the battery cooling tube (corresponding to the claimed heat sinks) (Keon, [0019]) which cools the battery (Keon, [0021]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add a coolant inlet tube and a coolant outlet tube taught by Keon to each of the cooling portions of the heat exchanger suggested by modified Jin, such that each of the heat exchanger’s inflow pipes was connected to a coolant inlet tube to introduce coolant into the battery cooling unit (Keon, [0019]) and each of the heat exchanger’s outlet pipes was connected to a coolant outlet tube which coolant from the battery cooling unit can flow from (Keon, [0019]) thereby providing a cycle for circulating the coolant (Keon, [0019]).
Double Patenting
Claims 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,525,664 in view of Yoon (US 2011262794 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 7 of the 664 patent recites a battery module comprising a cell stack including a plurality of battery cells and a module frame (corresponding to the claimed housing) accommodating the cell stack (see claim 1 of the 664 patent);
a bottom part of the module frame (corresponding to the claimed bottom part of the housing) comprising a first area (corresponding to the claimed first thermal conductive resin layer), a second area (corresponding to the claimed second thermal conductive resin layer), and a third area in which thermally conductive resin layers are formed (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive resin layers being between a lower surface of the battery cell stack and the bottom part of the housing) (see claim 1 of the 664 patent);
electrode leads of the plurality of battery cells (corresponding to the claimed electrode leads) protrude toward the front surface and rear surface (corresponding to the claimed electrode leads protruding in mutually opposite directions).
The 664 patent does not claim the cooling structure of the instant claim 1 including a first and second heat sink.
However, Yoon teaches a pack cooling system including two refrigerant circulation pipes (whose lower portions corresponds to the claimed first and second heat sinks) which supply refrigerant from opposite sides of the battery pack (corresponding to the claimed first and second flow paths) so that the battery cells may be effectively cooled in a balanced state (Yoon, [0096]). The upper portions of the two pipes (corresponding to the claimed bottom of part of the housing) are shown to be flat surfaces extending the full width of the battery cells (corresponding to the claimed first and second refrigerant flow paths being located between the first heat sink and the bottom part of the housing) (Yoon, [0095], Fig. 5) and the lower portions of the refrigerant circulation pipes are located below the upper portion of the refrigerant circulation pipes (corresponding to the claimed first and second heat sinks being located under a bottom part of the housing). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the refrigerant circulation pipes of Yoon for the bottom part of the module frame claimed by the 664 patent in order provide a cooling system which could cool the battery cells effectively in a balanced state as taught by Yoon (Yoon, [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, claim 7 of the 664 patent further claims the first area (corresponding to the claimed first thermal conductive resin layer) and the second area (corresponding to the claimed second thermal conductive resin layer) are located at opposite ends spaced apart from each other (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive resin layers being located separately) and the first area, the third area, and the second area are arranged sequentially along a direction parallel to a direction in which the electrode leads protrude (corresponding to the claimed first and second thermal conductive resin layers’ arrangement along a direction parallel to a direction in which the electrode leads protrude) (see claim 1 of the 664 patent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Katayama et al. (US 2012121962 A1) teaches multiple cooling channels under opposite sides of a battery pack. Obasih et al. (US 20130273829 A1) teaches multiple cooling portions under a single battery array Berels et al. (US Patent No. 10,611,234) teaches multiple cooling channels. Pyzza et al. (US 20140377592 A1) teaches one or more thermal plates. Jiang (WO 2020177609 A1) teaches multiple thermally conductive gaskets and multiple liquid cooling components.
/SIMRAN S. SAUND/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734