DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed on 08/31/2026. Claims 36-70 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 36-39, 41-42, 47-48, 59, 64, 67-68 have been amended; claims 1-35 cancelled.
With respect to Specification Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Specification filed on 08/31/2026 have overcome the Specification Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/02/2026.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 08/31/2026 have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/02/2026. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 08/31/2026 have created another Claim Objections, see details in the Claim Objections section below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 08/31/2026 have not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/02/2026. See details in the Claim Interpretation section below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 08/31/2026 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/02/2026. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 08/31/2026 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed on 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, the newly cited prior art Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited) has been added to this office action to teach the newly added limitation “adapted intensity profile for the laser beam with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges” as recited in independent claim 36. See detail rejection of independent claim 36 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Objections
Claims 36-70 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 36 recites “its center” and “its outer rim and/or its edges” in lines 8-9. It is understood that it refers to the “adapted intensity profile” recited previously in line 7 of claim 36. Therefore, the limitation “a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges” recited in claim 36 (lines 8-9) should be changed to “a lower intensity at a center of the adapted intensity profile and a higher intensity towards an outer rim and/or edges of the adapted intensity profile”.
Claim 36 recites the limitation “the intensity profile” in line 10. This should be changed to “the adapted intensity profile” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 36 (line 7).
Claims 37-70 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 36.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “the intensity” in line 4. This should be changed to “an intensity” because there is no “intensity of the laser beam” recited previously. It is noted that claim 36 recites intensity profile of the laser beam, not the intensity of the laser beam.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “the temperature” in line 6 in “the temperature at a center of the surface of the target”. This should be changed to “a temperature” because there is no “temperature at a center of the surface of the target” recited previously.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “the temperature” in line 8 in “the temperature at an outer rim of the surface of the target”. This should be changed to “a temperature” because there is no “temperature at an outer rim of the surface of the target” recited previously.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “the temperature at the center, at the outer rim, and at least at one additional position of the surface of the target” in lines 10-12. This should be changed to “the temperature at the center, the temperature at the outer rim, and at least a temperature at one additional position of the surface of the target”.
Claims 38-39 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 37.
Claim 56 recites “can be” in line 3. This should be changed to is/are.
Claim 59 recites the limitation “the deflection element is arranged along the path of the laser beam somewhere after the optical assembly” in lines 3-4. This should be changed to “the deflection element is arranged along the path of the laser beam downstream of the optical assembly”.
Claims 60-64 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 59.
Claim 67 recites the limitation “its shielding aperture opening” in lines 3-4. This should be changed to “the shielding aperture opening” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 67 (lines 2-3).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“beam shaping system” in claim 41 (line 6), claim 46 (line 2), claim 68 (line 11). This limitation uses generic placeholder “system” (Prong A); the term “system” is modified by functional language “beam shaping” (Prong B); and the term “system” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “beam shaping system” will be interpreted as comprising “optical and/or shaping elements like lenses, mirrors or the like” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 6 lines 1-3: “Said shaping can be for instance carried out by a suitable beam shaping system comprising corresponding optical and/or shaping elements like lenses, mirrors or the like.”.
“focusing element for focusing the laser beam towards the surface of the target” in claim 42 (line 12), “focusing element” in claim 48 (line 2), claim 51 (line 2), claim 65 (line 2), claim 66 (line 2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “for focusing the laser beam towards the surface of the target” / “focusing” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “focusing element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “focusing element” will be interpreted as “lens” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 32 line 6: “a focusing lens 36”.
“deflection element for changing the general propagation direction of the laser beam” in claim 59 (lines 2-3), “deflection element” in claim 59 (line 3), claim 60 (line 2), claim 62 (lines 3, 4), claim 63 (lines 3, 4, 5). This limitation uses generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “for changing the general propagation direction of the laser beam” / “deflection” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “deflection element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “deflection element” will be interpreted as “reflector” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 23 lines 22-23: “Preferably, the laser system according to the present invention comprises that the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector.”.
“control system adapted to apply the method according to claim 36, for running the at least one laser system” in claim 68 (lines 4-5). This limitation uses generic placeholder “system” (Prong A); the term “system” is modified by functional language “adapted to apply the method according to claim 36, for running the at least one laser system” / “control” (Prong B); and the term “system” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “control system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). It is noted that the Specification and the Drawings of the Instant Application do not provide specific structure for the “control system”. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the control system as controller or equivalent. For examination purposes, the limitation “control system” will be interpreted as controller or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41 recites the limitation “the chamber window” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “chamber window” recited previously.
Claim 41 recites the limitation “the beam shaping system” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “beam shaping system” recited previously.
Claims 42-67 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 41.
Claim 68 recites the limitation “the control system” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “control system” recited previously.
Claim 68 recites the limitation “the chamber window” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “chamber window” recited previously in claim 36 or claim 68 since claim 68 depends on claim 36.
Claim 68 recites the limitation “the beam shaping system” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “beam shaping system” recited previously in claim 36 or claim 68 since claim 68 depends on claim 36.
Claims 69-70 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 68.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36, 41, 68-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 36, Yamamoto discloses a method of running a laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) for providing a laser beam (IR light 112, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0048 discloses the infrared guiding heater is laser source for providing laser light) capable of heating a surface of a target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “the surface of the target is heated by an infrared guiding heater 110”) located in a reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) of an evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”), the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising a laser light source (infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) for providing an at least essentially parallel laser beam (as shown in Yamamoto Fig.7 & Yamamoto Par.0057 also discloses: “Using a collimator formed from a bundle of quartz tubes or a bundle of optical fibers, as discussed above, may also shape the intensity profile of the incident spot, if light overlaps from the respective tubes/fibers at incident surface.”) with an at least essentially centrally peaked intensity profile (see the “top-hat” profile with essentially centrally peaked intensity profile in Yamamoto Figs.6-7), comprising the steps of:
determining a temperature information of the surface of the target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “A third type of radiometry feedback uses radiation detector 140 to determine the temperature at the localized portion and to detect decomposed material at the surface of the target.”; it is noted that the localized portion is at the surface of the target 120, see the localized portion 122 in Yamamoto Fig.1. Therefore, Yamamoto discloses determining a temperature information of the surface of the target 120),
determining an adapted intensity profile for the laser beam (IR light 112, Yamamoto Fig.1) based on the temperature information determined in step a) (Yamamoto Par.0059 discloses: “A signal processor/controller 900 receives process parameter input 902 as specified by a user via a terminal. Material parameters such as sublimation temperature information, absorption spectra, and absorption rates may be stored in the system in material parameter storage 904. The signal processor/controller 900 executes instructions which control output responses to input data and controls targeting of the IR energy 112. The signal processor 900 receives input data from a bulk temperature sensor 910, the radiation detector 140, the photodetector 152, and the crystal monitor 132.”, and Yamamoto Par.0060 discloses: “In response to the input data, the signal processor/controller 900 may adjust one or more of the electromechanical actuator 567 selecting the location of the localized portion 122 on the surface of the target 120; a focus adjustment 912 controlling the size of the incident spot 612 and the size of the localized portion 122; the temperature produced by the bulk heater 126; an intensity control 914 of the IR source 315; a pulse rate control 916 of either the IR source 315 or a shutter”, and as shown in Yamamoto Fig.9, where the intensity profile for the laser beam is adjusted based on the determined temperature information. Furthermore, Yamamoto Figs.6-7 shows the intensity profile of the infrared spot 612 on the surface of the target 120 is adjusted/shaped to produce intensity profile for the laser beam. Therefore, Yamamoto discloses determining an adapted intensity profile for the laser beam based on the temperature information determined in step a)),
shaping the intensity profile of the laser beam (IR light 112, Yamamoto Fig.1) based on the determination carried out in step b) (as explained previously in step b) above, and Yamamoto Figs.6-7 show the intensity profile of the infrared spot 612 on the surface of the target 120 is shaped), and
providing the laser beam (IR light 112, Yamamoto Fig.1) with the adapted intensity profile shaped in step c) for heating the surface of the target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) located in the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) of the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”) (Yamamoto Figs.6-7 show the intensity profile of the infrared spot 612 on the surface of the target 120 is shaped, and Yamamoto Fig.1 & Pars.0047, 0056-0057 disclose providing the laser beam with the adapted intensity profile shaped for heating the surface of the target 120 located in the chamber 100 of the evaporation system).
Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose:
the adapted intensity profile for the laser beam with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges
Kim teaches a method of running a laser system for providing a laser beam capable of heating a surface of a target located in a reaction chamber (Kim Abstract & Figs.4-8B):
determining an adapted intensity profile for the laser beam with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges (Kim Par.0086 teaches: “The temperature detector 83 measures a distribution of temperature of the substrate in real time. The controller 84 controls the beam shaper 82 in such a manner that the beam shaper 82 processes the laser beam into one beam selected from between the first beam B1 and the second beam B2 according to the distribution of temperature of the substrate, which is measured by the temperature detector 83.”, and Kim Par.0096 & Figs.6, 8B teach the beam shaper 82 produces the edge enhanced beam B2 with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges) based on the temperature information determined (Kim Par.0086 teaches: “The temperature detector 83 measures a distribution of temperature of the substrate in real time. The controller 84 controls the beam shaper 82 in such a manner that the beam shaper 82 processes the laser beam into one beam selected from between the first beam B1 and the second beam B2 according to the distribution of temperature of the substrate, which is measured by the temperature detector 83.”, Kim Par.0096 & Figs.6, 8B teach the beam shaper 82 produces the edge enhanced beam B2 with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges, and Kim Claim 19 teaches: “measuring a distribution of temperature of the substrate during the time when the substrate is being processed with the processing liquid, wherein the shaping of the energy distribution is performed according to the measured distribution of the temperature of the substrate.”; therefore, Kim teaches determining adapted intensity profile for the laser beam with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges based on the temperature information determined)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto, by adding the teaching of the adapted intensity profile for the laser beam with a lower intensity at its center and a higher intensity towards its outer rim and/or its edges, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for relatively cooler peripheral/outer edge portions of the irradiated target region while limiting excessive heating of its central portion, thereby achieving uniform energy distribution and uniform heating for the target. The modification would facilitate sublimation across the intended irradiation region without raising its central portion to temperatures that promote thermal decomposition, thereby reducing decomposition derived contamination in the deposited organic layer.
Regarding claim 41, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the method set forth in claim 36, Yamamoto discloses the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0048 discloses the infrared guiding heater is laser source) according to claim 36 for heating the surface of the target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “the surface of the target is heated by an infrared guiding heater 110”) located in the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) of the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”), the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising the chamber window (windows 102, Yamamoto Fig.1), and the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising the laser light source (infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) for providing the at least essentially parallel laser beam (as shown in Yamamoto Fig.7 & Yamamoto Par.0057 also discloses: “Using a collimator formed from a bundle of quartz tubes or a bundle of optical fibers, as discussed above, may also shape the intensity profile of the incident spot, if light overlaps from the respective tubes/fibers at incident surface.”) with the at least essentially centrally peaked intensity profile (see the “top-hat” profile with essentially centrally peaked intensity profile in Yamamoto Figs.6-7),
wherein the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprises the beam shaping system (diffractive optical element 775, Yamamoto Fig.7) configured to carry out at least step c) of the method according to claim 36 (Yamamoto Figs.6-7 & Par.0057 disclose the intensity profile of the infrared spot 612 on the surface of the target 120 is shaped, and as explained in details in the rejection of claim 36 above).
Regarding claim 68, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the method set forth in claim 36, Yamamoto discloses the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”), the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising the target (target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) located in the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) and at least one laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0048 discloses the infrared guiding heater is laser source) for heating the surface of the target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “the surface of the target is heated by an infrared guiding heater 110”),
wherein the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”) comprises the control system (processor/controller 900, Yamamoto Fig.9) adapted to apply the method according to claim 36 (as shown in Yamamoto Fig.9 & explained in Yamamoto Pars.0059-0060), for running the at least one laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) and/or the at least one laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) is constructed for heating the surface of the target located (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “the surface of the target is heated by an infrared guiding heater 110”) in the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) of the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”), the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising the chamber window (windows 102, Yamamoto Fig.1), and the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprising the laser light source (infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) for providing the at least essentially parallel laser beam (as shown in Yamamoto Fig.7 & Yamamoto Par.0057 also discloses: “Using a collimator formed from a bundle of quartz tubes or a bundle of optical fibers, as discussed above, may also shape the intensity profile of the incident spot, if light overlaps from the respective tubes/fibers at incident surface.”) with the at least essentially centrally peaked intensity profile (see the “top-hat” profile with essentially centrally peaked intensity profile in Yamamoto Figs.6-7),
wherein the laser system (laser system includes the infrared guiding heater 110, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprises the beam shaping system (diffractive optical element 775, Yamamoto Fig.7) configured to carry out at least step c) of the method according to claim 36 (Yamamoto Figs.6-7 & Par.0057 disclose the intensity profile of the infrared spot 612 on the surface of the target 120 is shaped, and as explained in details in the rejection of claim 36 above).
Regarding claim 69, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 68, Yamamoto also discloses
wherein the target (target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprises material to be evaporated and/or sublimated during operation of the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”) (It is noted that the limitation “evaporated and/or sublimated” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Yamamoto discloses the target 120 comprises material to be sublimated during operation of the evaporation system because Yamamoto Abstract discloses: “A localized area of the target is sublimated by the infrared guiding heater while regulating the temperature of the bulk.”, Yamamoto Par.0031 discloses: “An infrared guiding heater 110, irradiates 112 a localized portion 122 of the surface of the target 120 with infrared energy 112, sublimating the localized portion 122. The sublimated organic material is transported to the substrate 130 by thermal motion, where it condenses to form a layer.”, and see the localized portion 122 of the target 120 in Yamamoto Fig.1).
Regarding claim 70, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 68, Yamamoto also discloses
wherein the target (target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) comprises material to be coated during operation of the evaporation system (the entire system shown in Yamamoto Fig.1 is evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0020 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates a vacuum thermal evaporation (VTE) system”) (Yamamoto discloses the target 120 comprises material to be coated during operation of the evaporation system because Yamamoto Par.0031 discloses: “a deposition chamber 100 containing the solid organic target material 120 and a substrate 130. A bulk heater 126 applies heat to the target 120, held in a crucible 124. An infrared guiding heater 110, irradiates 112 a localized portion 122 of the surface of the target 120 with infrared energy 112, sublimating the localized portion 122. The sublimated organic material is transported to the substrate 130 by thermal motion, where it condenses to form a layer.”, and Yamamoto Claim 1 discloses: “depositing the sublimated organic material over the substrate to form a layer comprising the solid organic material”).
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited) and further in view of Narayanan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0015560 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 37, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the method set forth in claim 36, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the determination of the temperature information in step a) includes at least one of the following:
estimating the temperature information based on the intensity of the laser beam provided by the laser light source,
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the center of the surface of the target,
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the outer rim of the surface of the target, and/or
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the center, at the outer rim, and at least at one additional position of the surface of the target.
Narayanan teaches a method of running a laser system (Narayanan Fig.2 & Pars.0031, 0034):
wherein the determination of the temperature information in step a) includes at least one of the following (It is noted that the limitation “at least one of the following” requires only one of the following. In this case, Narayanan teaches estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the outer rim of the surface of the target, as explained below):
estimating the temperature information based on the intensity of the laser beam provided by the laser light source,
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the center of the surface of the target,
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the outer rim of the surface of the target (workpiece W, Narayanan Fig.2) (Narayanan Par.0047 teaches: “the temperature can be detected by temperature sensor 108 at one or more of a point in location 208, a point in location 212, a point in location 210, a point in location 214, a point along travel point 204, a point along weld 202, a point along reference numeral 206, a point below a surface weld 202 is created, an underside of workpiece W, an edge of workpiece W, among others.”; therefore, Narayanan teaches estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the outer rim of the surface of the target), and/or
estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the center, at the outer rim, and at least at one additional position of the surface of the target.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, by adding the teaching of estimating the temperature information based on measuring the temperature at the outer rim of the surface of the target, as taught by Narayanan, in order to improve thermal uniformity and sublimation-rate consistency, reduce localized overheating and decomposition at the edge regions, and improve deposition uniformity.
Regarding claim 38, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Narayanan teaches the method set forth in claim 37, Yamamoto does not explicit disclose:
wherein the respective temperature of the surface of the target is measured with respect to the laser beam at a far side of the target opposite to the surface of the target heated by the laser beam.
Narayanan teaches (Narayanan Fig.2):
wherein the respective temperature of the surface of the target (workpiece W, Narayanan Fig.2) is measured with respect to the laser beam (Narayanan Pars.0031 & 0034 teaches the energy source is laser, thus, it provides laser beam) at a far side of the target (underside of the workpiece W, Narayanan Fig.2 & Par.0047) opposite to the surface of the target (top side of the workpiece W, Narayanan Fig.2) heated by the laser beam (Narayanan Pars.0031 & 0034 teaches the energy source is laser, thus, it provides laser beam) (Narayanan Par.0047 teaches: “the temperature can be detected by temperature sensor 108 at one or more of a point in location 208, a point in location 212, a point in location 210, a point in location 214, a point along travel point 204, a point along weld 202, a point along reference numeral 206, a point below a surface weld 202 is created, an underside of workpiece W, an edge of workpiece W, among others.”; therefore, Narayanan teaches the respective temperature of the surface of the target is measured with respect to the provided laser beam at the far side of the target opposite to the surface of the target heated by the laser beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Narayanan, by adding the teachings of the respective temperature of the surface of the target is measured with respect to the laser beam at the far side of the target opposite to the surface of the target heated by the laser beam, as taught by Narayanan, in order to improve accuracy and stability of the thermal monitoring while avoiding interference from the incident laser beam at the irradiated surface. Thus, improve regulation of bulk target temperature and reduce risk of localized overheating and decomposition.
Regarding claim 39, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Narayanan teaches the method set forth in claim 37, Yamamoto also discloses
wherein the respective temperature of the surface of the target (surface of target 120, Yamamoto Fig.1) is measured on-axis with the laser beam (IR light 112, Yamamoto Fig.1) (Yamamoto Par.0047 discloses: “A third type of radiometry feedback uses radiation detector 140 to determine the temperature at the localized portion and to detect decomposed material at the surface of the target.”; it is noted that the localized portion is at the surface of the target 120 on-axis with the provided laser beam, see the localized portion 122 in Yamamoto Fig.1. Therefore, Yamamoto discloses the respective temperature of the surface of the target 120 is measured on-axis with the provided laser beam).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Mikliaev et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0003456 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 40, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the method set forth in claim 36, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the newly shaped intensity profile is rotationally symmetric.
Mikliaev teaches method of running a laser system for providing a laser beam capable of heating a surface of a target (Mikliaev Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein the newly shaped intensity profile is rotationally symmetric (Mikliaev Par.0007 teaches: “a laser beam can be readily and effectively transformed into laser beam with an M-profile or with a rotationally symmetrical top-hat profile.”, Mikliaev Par.0030 teaches: “The intensity distribution 8 shows of a typical M-distribution with a local minimum 9 in the center and with two further outwardly adjoining local maxima 10.”, and see Mikliaev Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, by adding the teaching of the newly shaped intensity profile is rotationally symmetric, as taught by Mikliaev, in order to distribute the enhanced peripheral irradiation uniformly around a circular target region and promote uniform thermal processing while maintaining lower central intensity.
Claims 42, 44-45, 52, 59, 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 42, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 41, Yamamoto also discloses wherein the beam shaping system (beam shaping system comprising the focusing lens 355, Yamamoto Fig.3) comprises, along a path of the laser beam (path of the IR light as shown in Yamamoto Fig.3) at least the following shaping elements:
a beam telescope (“optic elements”, Yamamoto Par.0052) for adjusting a diameter of the laser beam (IR light, Yamamoto Fig.3) (Yamamoto Par.0052 discloses: “Additional optic elements may be included to adjust the focus so that the diameter of the infrared light incident on the target can be adjusted to control a cross-sectional area of the energy at the surface of the target.”);
a focusing element (focusing lens 355, Yamamoto Fig.3) for focusing the laser beam (IR light, Yamamoto Fig.3) towards the surface of the target (surface of the target 120, Yamamoto Fig.3).
Yamamoto in view of Kim does not explicitly teach:
a generalized first axicon for transforming the parallel laser beam into a diverging laser beam with an at least partly ring-shaped intensity profile;
an optical assembly comprising as shaping elements a clipping aperture with a clipping aperture opening for clipping outer parts of the ring-shaped intensity profile of the laser beam and a generalized second axicon for compensating a divergence of the laser beam and transforming the divergent laser beam into a parallel laser beam;
Ichie teaches a laser system (Ichie Fig.11):
a generalized first axicon (axicon 7a, Ichie Fig.11) for transforming the parallel laser beam (laser beam 2, Ichie Fig.11) into a diverging laser beam with an at least partly ring-shaped intensity profile (Ichie Col.5 lines 37-42 teaches: “the laser beam incident as a beam of parallel rays into the optical converting unit is refracted at an equal angle relative to the optical axis by one axicon prism to form a conical wavefront and thereafter becomes a divergent bundle of rays having an annular cross-sectional intensity perpendicular to the optical axis.”; thus, the axicon 7a for transforming the parallel laser beam into a diverging laser beam with an at least partly ring-shaped intensity profile because rays are refracted symmetrically about the optical axis, leaving the center substantially radiation-free, thereby producing at least partly ring-shaped intensity profile);
an optical assembly (optical assembly includes the aperture stop 35 and the axicon 7b, Ichie Fig.11) comprising as shaping elements a clipping aperture (aperture stop 35, Ichie Fig.11) with a clipping aperture opening (Ichie Col.17 lines 18-19 teaches: “The aperture stop 35 is an aperture having a circular opening”) for clipping outer parts of the ring-shaped intensity profile of the laser beam (Ichie Col.17 lines 18-21 teaches: “The aperture stop 35 is an aperture having a circular opening, which limits the outer diameter of ray bundle of the laser beam 2 incident as the cylindrical ray bundle 8 thereinto from the imaging lens 13.”, since the laser beam exiting the axicon 7b still remains the ring-shaped intensity profile, therefore, the aperture stop 35 is an aperture having the circular opening clips outer parts of the ring-shaped intensity profile of the laser beam as shown in Ichie Fig.11) and a generalized second axicon (axicon 7b, Ichie Fig.11) for compensating a divergence of the laser beam (laser beam 2, Ichie Fig.11) and transforming the divergent laser beam into a parallel laser beam (Ichie Col.5 lines 37-46 teaches: “the laser beam incident as a beam of parallel rays into the optical converting unit is refracted at an equal angle relative to the optical axis by one axicon prism to form a conical wavefront and thereafter becomes a divergent bundle of rays having an annular cross-sectional intensity perpendicular to the optical axis. A laser beam emergent from this axicon prism is refracted at an equal angle relative to the optical axis by the other axicon prism to become a cylindrical bundle of rays as parallel beams with the traveling direction being parallel to the optical axis”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, by adding the teachings of a generalized first axicon for transforming the parallel laser beam into a diverging laser beam with an at least partly ring-shaped intensity profile; an optical assembly comprising as shaping elements a clipping aperture with a clipping aperture opening for clipping outer parts of the ring-shaped intensity profile of the laser beam and a generalized second axicon for compensating the divergence of the laser beam and transforming the divergent laser beam into a parallel laser beam, as taught by Ichie, in order to generate the laser beam having increased focal depth, improved resolution and improved energy utilization efficiency, as recognized by Ichie [Ichie Col.20 lines 7-11].
Regarding claim 44, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, and also teaches:
wherein within the optical assembly (optical assembly includes the aperture stop 35 and the axicon 7b, Ichie Fig.11; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 42 above) the second axicon (axicon 7b, Ichie Fig.11) is arranged upstream of the clipping aperture (aperture stop 35, Ichie Fig.11) along the path of the laser beam (path of laser beam 2, Ichie Fig.11).
Regarding claim 45, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, and also teaches:
wherein at least two consecutively arranged shaping elements (axicon 7a and axicon 7b, Ichie Fig.11; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 42 above) of the beam shaping system (the beam shaping system includes the beam telescope, the first axicon, the second axicon, the clipping aperture with the clipping aperture opening, and the focusing element; as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 42 above) are integrated into a combined shaping element (axicon pair 6, Ichie Fig.11).
Regarding claim 52, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, and Yamamoto also discloses:
wherein the beam telescope (“optic elements”, Yamamoto Par.0052) comprises optical elements (“optic elements”, Yamamoto Par.0052) for a continuous adjustment of the diameter of the laser beam (IR light, Yamamoto Fig.3) (Yamamoto Par.0052 discloses: “Additional optic elements may be included to adjust the focus so that the diameter of the infrared light incident on the target can be adjusted to control a cross-sectional area of the energy at the surface of the target.”, and Yamamoto Par.0060 further discloses: “a focus adjustment 912 controlling the size of the incident spot 612 and the size of the localized portion 122”; since the focus adjustment is actively controlled to vary the incident spot size, thus, the optic elements for continuous adjustment of the diameter of the laser beam).
Regarding claim 59, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the beam shaping system comprises a deflection element for changing ageneral propagation direction of the laser beam, wherein the deflection element is arranged along the path of the laser beam somewhere after the optical assembly.
Ichie teaches (Ichie Fig.11):
wherein the beam shaping system (the beam shaping system includes the beam telescope, the first axicon, the second axicon, the clipping aperture with the clipping aperture opening, and the focusing element; as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 42 above) comprises a deflection element (deflector 12, Ichie Fig.11) (Ichie Col.10 38-41 teaches: “The X-Y scanner 12 is for example a galvanometer scanner, a resonant scanner, a piezo oscillation scanner, a rotary polygon scanner, an ultrasonic vibrator deflector (Acousto-Optic Deflector), etc.”) for changing a general propagation direction of the laser beam (laser beam 2, Ichie Fig.11) (as shown in Ichie Fig.11), wherein the deflection element (deflector 12, Ichie Fig.11) is arranged along the path of the laser beam (path of the laser beam 2, Ichie Fig.11) somewhere after the optical assembly (optical assembly includes the axicon 7b, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 42 above) (Ichie Fig.11 shows the deflector 12 is arranged along the path of the laser beam somewhere after the axicon 7b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the beam shaping system comprises a deflection element for changing the general propagation direction of the laser beam, wherein the deflection element is arranged along the path of the laser beam somewhere after the optical assembly, as taught by Ichie, in order to selectively steer and scan the laser beam across multiple locations of the target, thereby enabling programmable area scanning, raster scanning, and improved processing flexibility.
Regarding claim 66, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, Yamamoto also discloses
the focusing element (focusing lens 355, Yamamoto Fig.3) focuses the laser beam (IR light, Yamamoto Fig.3) on a point-like focal volume (see the point-like focal volume at the localized portion 122, Yamamoto Fig.3) located within the reaction chamber (chamber 100, Yamamoto Fig.1) between the chamber window (window 102, Yamamoto Fig.1) and the target (target 120, Yamamoto Figs.1, 3) (since the point-like focal volume is located at the localized portion 122, which is located at the top surface of the target 120, therefore, the focusing lens 355 focuses the laser beam on a point-like focal volume located within the chamber 100 between the chamber window 102 and the target 120).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Yuan et al. (NPL, “Achromatic design for the generation of optical vortices based on radial spiral phase plates”, Published in 2008, previously cited).
Regarding claim 43, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, but does not teach:
wherein within the optical assembly the clipping aperture is arranged upstream of the second axicon along the path of the laser beam.
Yuan teaches a laser system (Yuan Fig.5):
wherein within the optical assembly (optical assembly includes the aperture “Aperture” and the second axicon “AX2”, Yuan Fig.5) the clipping aperture (“Aperture”, Yuan Fig.5) is arranged upstream of the second axicon (second axicon “AX2”, Yuan Fig.5) along the path of the laser beam (path of the laser beam that is emitted from the “Laser”, Yuan Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of within the optical assembly the clipping aperture is arranged upstream of the second axicon along the path of the laser beam, as taught by Yuan, in order to condition and spatially filter the incident laser beam prior to annular beam formation, thereby improving annular beam symmetry, reducing unwanted diffraction and aberrated peripheral rays, improving downstream laser beam quality and focal characteristics.
Claims 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Pieger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0269500 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 46, Yamamoto in view of Kim teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 41, but does not explicit teach:
wherein at least some parts of the beam shaping system are arranged outside of the chamber window of the reaction chamber.
Pieger teaches a laser system (Pieger Fig.1b):
wherein at least some parts of the beam shaping system (first axicon 23a, second axicon 23b, and focusing lens 7, Pieger Fig.1b) are arranged outside of the chamber window (window 13, Pieger Fig.1b) of the reaction chamber (process chamber 11, Pieger Fig.1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, by adding the teachings of at least some parts of the beam shaping system are arranged outside of the chamber window of the reaction chamber, as taught by Pieger, in order to protect sensitive optical components from vapor deposition, contamination, debris, and thermal loading within the chamber; thereby reducing contamination and thermal degradation of the beam-shaping optics and facilitating easier alignment and maintenance.
Regarding claim 47, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Pieger teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 46, and also teaches:
wherein said parts comprise at least some or all of the following components: a beam telescope, a first axicon, an optical assembly, a clipping aperture, and a second axicon (It is noted that the limitation “some or all” is in alternative form; therefore, only one was given patentable weight during examination. In this case, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Pieger teaches first axicon 23a and second axicon 23b, see Pieger Fig.1b, and as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 46 above).
Regarding claim 48, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Pieger teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 47, and also teaches:
wherein a focusing element (focusing lens 7, Pieger Fig.1b) is arranged outside of the chamber window (window 13, Pieger Fig.1b) of the reaction chamber (process chamber 11, Pieger Fig.1b) (Yamamoto in view of Pieger the focusing lens 7 is arranged outside of the window 13 of the process chamber 11, see Pieger Fig.1b, and as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 46 above).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Pieger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0269500 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Smartsev et al. (NPL, “Axiparabola: a long-focal-depth, high-resolution mirror for broadband high-intensity lasers”, Published in 2019, previously cited).
Regarding claim 49, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Pieger teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 48, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second axicon and the focusing element are integrated into a freeform lens or a freeform mirror.
Smartsev teaches:
wherein the second axicon and the focusing element are integrated into a freeform lens or a freeform mirror (Smartsev teaches: “an axilens, which has negligible dependence on wavelength and high damage threshold as compared to refractive or diffractive alternatives. This reflective element essentially combines the long focal depth of an axicon and the high-energy concentration of a parabolic mirror; therefore, in analogy to an “axilens,” we will further refer to it as an “axiparabola.”” on page 1 – from the last 3 lines on the left column to lines 1-3 on the right column. It is known that parabolic mirror is focusing element. Therefore, Smartsev teaches the axicon and the focusing element are integrated into a freeform mirror).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Pieger, by adding the teachings of the second axicon and the focusing element are integrated into a freeform mirror, as taught by Smartsev, in order to reduce optical complexity, reduce alignment sensitivity, decrease system size, and provide an extended focal region with improved beam control.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Pieger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0269500 A1, previously cited), Smartsev et al. (NPL, “Axiparabola: a long-focal-depth, high-resolution mirror for broadband high-intensity lasers”, Published in 2019, previously cited), and further in view of Headley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,229,178 B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 50, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Pieger and Smartsev teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 49, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the freeform mirror is an adaptive mirror with an actively adjustable focal length.
Headley teaches:
wherein the freeform mirror (Headley teaches the off-axis deformable/parabolic mirror geometry, Headley Abstract & Col.2 lines 46-63) is an adaptive mirror (Headley teaches the deformable mirror is actively reshaped because Headley Claim 1 teaches “means for pushing on the inner circular ring in an axially opposed direction relative to the outer circular ring, while maintaining the planarity and parallelism of the rings, to provide a variable clamping force to the mirror plate and thereby deforming the mirror plate to provide an on-axis parabolic mirror shape”) with an actively adjustable focal length (Headley Abstract teaches: “The focal length of the deformable mirror can be varied by changing the variable clamping force.”, and Headley Claim 1 teaches: “means for pushing on the inner circular ring in an axially opposed direction relative to the outer circular ring, while maintaining the planarity and parallelism of the rings, to provide a variable clamping force to the mirror plate and thereby deforming the mirror plate to provide an on-axis parabolic mirror shape”, Headley Claim 7 teaches: “wherein the pushing means comprises an axial linear actuator.”, Headley Claim 8 teaches: “wherein the actuator comprises a manual or electronic adjustable screw, electromagnetic rod, fluid or gas-driven rod, or piezo crystal.”, thus, the deformation is actively controlled via actuators and variable clamping force, thereby actively adjusting focal length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Pieger and Smartsev, by adding the teachings of the freeform mirror is an adaptive mirror with an actively adjustable focal length, as taught by Headley, in order to dynamically control the focal position and energy distribution of the laser beam during operation, thereby improving process stability, compensating for target-position variations, and enabling optimized heating conditions.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Ding et al. (CN 103196774 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 51, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the focusing element is arranged within the reaction chamber after the chamber window.
Ding teaches a laser system (Ding Fig.1):
wherein the focusing element (focusing lens 10, Ding Fig.1) is arranged within the reaction chamber (chamber 1, Ding Fig.1) after the chamber window (window 12, Ding Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the focusing element is arranged within the reaction chamber after the chamber window, as taught by Ding, in order to reduce beam divergence and optical distortion between the focusing element and the target surface, thereby improving focusing precision and laser energy delivered to the target.
Claims 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Johnstone et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0055078 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 52, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the beam telescope comprises optical elements for a continuous adjustment of the diameter of the laser beam.
Johnstone teaches a laser system (Johnstone Par.0025-0026):
wherein the beam telescope comprises optical elements (negative lens and positive lens because Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”) for a continuous adjustment of the diameter of the laser beam (Johnstone Par.0026 teaches: “the electrically tunable lenses have a tuning range of approximately from 45 mm to 120 mm, resulting in a continuous expander power range of approximately from 0.38 to 2.67.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Yamamoto beam telescope (see Yamamoto Par.0052) with the Johnstone beam telescope (see the Johnstone beam telescope includes a positive lens and a negative lens, Johnstone Par.0025), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of adjusting diameter of the laser beam. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 53, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 52, and also teaches:
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope (negative lens and positive lens because Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 52 above) comprise along the path of the laser beam (as shown in Johnstone Fig.2 for illustration purposes, it is noted that Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”) a matched pair of a focusing optical element (“positive (convex) lenses”, Johnstone Par.0025) and a defocusing optical element (“negative (concave) lens”, Johnstone Par.0025).
Regarding claim 54, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 52, and also teaches:
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope (negative lens and positive lens because Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 52 above) comprise along the path of the laser beam (as shown in Johnstone Fig.2 for illustration purposes, it is noted that Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”) a matched pair of a defocusing optical element (“negative (concave) lens”, Johnstone Par.0025) and a focusing optical element (“positive (convex) lenses”, Johnstone Par.0025).
Claims 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), Johnstone et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0055078 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Palmer (U.S. Patent No. 4,834,472 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 55, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 53, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the pair of optical elements are matched such that the pair of optical elements comprise respective positions along the path of the laser beam and respective focal lengths for providing at least essentially identical respective focal point positions of the pair of optical elements.
Palmer teaches a laser system (Palmer Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein the pair of optical elements (lens 1 and lens 2, Palmer Fig.1) are matched such that the pair of optical elements (lens 1 and lens 2, Palmer Fig.1) comprise respective positions along the path of the laser beam (path of laser beam as shown in Palmer Fig.1) and respective focal lengths for providing at least essentially identical respective focal point positions of the pair of optical elements (Palmer Col.3 lines 11-16 teaches: “The negative rear lens element 1 causes divergence of an incident parallel sided beam and the positive front lens element 2 returns the beam to parallel sided form but at an increased diameter relative to the incident beam. In other words the lens elements 1 and 2 have a common focal point”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone, by adding the teachings of the pair of optical elements are matched such that the pair of optical elements comprise respective positions along the path of the laser beam and respective focal lengths for providing at least essentially identical respective focal point positions of the pair of optical elements, as taught by Palmer, in order to allow continuous beam-diameter adjustment while maintaining collimation and minimizing optical aberrations, thereby improving beam-shaping accuracy and optical stability in laser processing system.
Regarding claim 56, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie, Johnstone and Palmer teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 55, Johnstone also teaches:
wherein the respective focal lengths of the optical elements (negative lens and positive lens because Johnstone Par.0025 teaches: “Note that although FIG. 2 only illustrates the case where both lenses 210 and 220 are positive (convex) lenses, the underlying principle also applies to the case where one of the lenses is a negative (concave) lens.”, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 52 above) along the path of the laser beam can be continuously adjusted (Johnstone Par.0024 teaches: “the control circuit 230 changes the focal length” and “the focal lengths are adjusted electrically”, Johnstone Par.0026 further teaches: “the electrically tunable lenses have a tuning range of approximately from 45 mm to 120 mm, resulting in a continuous expander power range of approximately from 0.38 to 2.67”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie, Johnstone and Palmer, by adding the teachings of the respective focal lengths of the optical elements along the path of the laser beam can be continuously adjusted, as taught by Johnstone, in order to continuously vary the beam diameter and beam expansion ratio while maintaining desired beam propagation characteristics, thereby improving flexibility and control of the laser processing system.
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), Johnstone et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0055078 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Li et al. (CN 102436152 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 57, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 52, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope are a matched pair of at least essentially spherical lenses.
Li teaches a laser system (Li Fig.3A):
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope (lenses 300b & 300d, Li Fig.3A) are a matched pair of at least essentially spherical lenses (Li Translated Par.0044 teaches: “spherical beam expanding mirror system comprises a first flat-convex spherical lens 300b and second plano-convex spherical lens 300d … the first plano-convex spherical lens 300b the back focal plane and second plano-convex spherical lens 300d front focal plane are overlapped”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Yamamoto beam telescope (see Yamamoto Par.0052) with the Li beam telescope (see the Li beam telescope includes matched pair of at least essentially spherical lenses, Li Translated Par.0044), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of adjusting diameter of the laser beam. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), Johnstone et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0055078 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Shafer (U.S. Patent No. 4,205,902 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 58, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Johnstone teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 52, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope are a matched pair of mirrors.
Shafer teaches a laser system (Shafer Fig.1):
wherein the optical elements of the beam telescope (telescope includes the first spherical mirror 15 and the second spherical mirror 17, Shafer Fig.1) are a matched pair of mirrors (the first spherical mirror 15 and the second spherical mirror 17, Shafer Fig.1) (Shafer Col.2 lines 40-50 teaches: “the telescope system first developed by Schwarzschild, 80 or so years ago, will be explained with reference to FIG. 1. As illustrated, parallel rays 11 of incident light enter through an aperture 13 in a first spherical mirror 15 and strike the convex surface of a second spherical mirror 17. Light from the second spherical mirror 17 is reflected to the first spherical mirror 15 from which it is again reflected to form an image at point 19. The nature of the system is that the two mirrors 15 and 17 have a common center of curvature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Yamamoto beam telescope (see Yamamoto Par.0052) with the Shafer beam telescope (see the Shafer telescope includes the first spherical mirror 15 and the second spherical mirror 17 in Shafer Fig.1), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of adjusting diameter of the laser beam. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Kojima et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,622,567 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 60, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 59, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the deflection element is the last element of the beam shaping system arranged along the path of the laser beam before the chamber window.
Kojima teaches a laser system (Kojima Fig.28):
wherein the deflection element (polygon mirror 8, Kojima Fig.28) is the last element of the beam shaping system arranged along the path of the laser beam before the chamber window (chamber window, Kojima annotated Fig.28 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the deflection element is the last element of the beam shaping system arranged along the path of the laser beam before the chamber window, as taught by Kojima, in order to redirect the laser beam into the reaction chamber while improving system compactness, protecting upstream optical components, and enabling more flexible optical alignment.
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Andrews (U.S. Patent No. 6,278,109 B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 61, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 59, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector.
Andrews teaches a laser system (Andrews Fig.2):
wherein the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector (Andrews Col.5 lines 24-27 teaches: “The raster output scanner includes an electronically adjustable, variable wavelength semiconductor diode 102, which in the raster output scanner 100 is a distributed Bragg reflector laser”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector, as taught by Andrews, in order to provide highly efficient and low-distortion reflection/beam steering in compact optical systems, thereby improving the laser beam quality preservation and optical efficiency in laser processing system.
Claim 62 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Allenberg-Rabe et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270161 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 62, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 59, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the laser system comprises sensor elements for measuring an amount of energy deposited into the deflection element and/or an amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection of the laser beam.
Allenberg-Rabe teaches a laser system (machining device 1, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2):
wherein the laser system (machining device 1, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) comprises sensor elements (detectors 22 and 22a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) for measuring an amount of energy deposited into the deflection element and/or an amount of light transmitted through the deflection element (deflection mirrors 9 and 9a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) during deflection of the laser beam (laser beams 6 and 6a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “an amount of energy deposited into the deflection element and/or an amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection of the laser beam” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Allenberg-Rabe teaches measuring amount of light transmitted through the mirror during deflection of the laser beam because Allenberg-Rabe Par.0042 teaches: “At the deflection mirror 9, a small proportion of the reflected laser radiation 20 is transmitted and is imaged or focused on a detector 22 in the form of a photodiode by an imaging device 21”, same for detector 22a, see Allenberg-Rabe Par.0053 & Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the laser system comprises sensor elements for measuring amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection of the laser beam, as taught by Allenberg-Rabe, in order to monitor and control beam-transmission efficiency; thereby improving calibration, beam-position accuracy, energy consistency and control of the laser beam during operation.
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), Allenberg-Rabe et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270161 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0103408 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 63, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Allenberg-Rabe teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 62, and also teaches:
wherein the sensor elements (detectors 22 and 22a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 62 above) for measuring the amount of energy deposited into the deflection element and/or the amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection (deflection mirrors 9 and 9a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) of the laser beam at two or more positions of the deflection element (deflection mirrors 9 and 9a, Allenberg-Rabe Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “measuring the amount of energy deposited into the deflection element and/or the amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection of the laser beam at two or more positions of the deflection element” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Allenberg-Rabe teaches the amount of light transmitted through the deflection element during deflection of the laser beam at two or more positions of the deflection element because Allenberg-Rabe Par.0042 teaches: “At the deflection mirror 9, a small proportion of the reflected laser radiation 20 is transmitted and is imaged or focused on a detector 22 in the form of a photodiode by an imaging device 21”, same for detector 22a, see Allenberg-Rabe Par.0053 & Fig.2).
Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Allenberg-Rabe does not teach:
the sensor elements are position sensitive sensor elements
Cho teaches a laser system (Cho Abstract):
the sensor elements are position sensitive sensor elements (Cho Par.0031 teaches: “The position sensitive sensors can detect the position of the laser spot on the detector area. The partitioning of the area allows comparison of the photo current distributed over the partitioned area, thereby determining the relative position of the spot.”, and Cho Par.0034 teaches: “FIG. 5 shows a device measuring reflected (217) and transmitted (216) light out of a prism (213) where the internal reflection angle is set around the critical angle. The measured light by PD1 (214) and PD2 (215) can be processed independently.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Allenberg-Rabe, by making sensor elements to be position sensitive sensor elements, as taught by Cho, in order to improve scanner calibration accuracy, beam alignment monitoring, and control of laser beam deflection over multiple scan positions.
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), Allenberg-Rabe et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0270161 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Heinrici et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0210099 A1, previously cited) and Andrews (U.S. Patent No. 6,278,109 B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 64, Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Allenberg-Rabe teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 62, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector and wherein the sensor elements are arranged on-axis with respect to an optical axis of the laser beam pointing to the target on a far side of the distributed Bragg reflector with respect to the impinging laser beam for measuring heat radiation emitted by the surface of the target.
Heinrici teaches a laser system (Heinrici Figs.1-2):
wherein the sensor elements (sensor of a pyrometer 32, Heinrici Fig.2 & Par.0040) are arranged on-axis with respect to an optical axis of the laser beam pointing to the target (target includes 10 and 12, Heinrici Figs.1-2) (Heinrici Par.0037 teaches: “pyrometer beam path and laser beam path are aligned coaxially relative to each other”) on a far side (top side, Heinrici Fig.2; it is noted that this is far side compared to the bottom side where the target is located, Heinrici Fig.2) of the reflector (beam splitter 20, Heinrici Figs.1-2) with respect to the impinging laser beam for measuring heat radiation emitted by the surface of the target (target includes 10 and 12, Heinrici Figs.1-2) (Heinrici Par.0001 teaches: “temperature measured through heat radiation emitted by the first material in the direction of the laser radiation … a sensor that, via the first optics, registers the heat radiation emitted by the first material as measuring radiation”, and Heinrici Par.0040 teaches: “To determine the temperature, the heat radiation is projected onto the sensor of a pyrometer 32 via the focusing optics 22 and the beam splitter 20 and a collimator optics 30.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie and Allenberg-Rabe, by adding the teachings of the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector and wherein the sensor elements are arranged on-axis with respect to the optical axis of the laser beam pointing to the target on the far side of the distributed Bragg reflector with respect to the impinging laser beam for measuring heat radiation emitted by the surface of the target, as taught by Heinrici, in order to provide more accurate and reliable temperature monitoring of the heating target and closed-loop control of the laser heating process; thereby preventing overheating and producing more reproducible processing results.
Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie, Allenberg-Rabe and Heinrici does not teach:
wherein the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector.
Andrews teaches a laser system (Andrews Fig.2):
wherein the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector (Andrews Col.5 lines 24-27 teaches: “The raster output scanner includes an electronically adjustable, variable wavelength semiconductor diode 102, which in the raster output scanner 100 is a distributed Bragg reflector laser”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim, Ichie, Allenberg-Rabe and Heinrici, by adding the teachings of the deflection element is a distributed Bragg reflector, as taught by Andrews, in order to provide highly efficient and low-distortion reflection/beam steering in compact optical systems, thereby improving the laser beam quality preservation and optical efficiency in laser processing system.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Ohtomo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,638,220 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 65, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 42, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the focusing element comprises a focal length such that the clipping aperture opening is projected onto an outer rim and/or onto edges and/or onto corners of the surface of the target.
Ohtomo teaches a laser system (Ohtomo Fig.1)
wherein the focusing element (collimator lens 200, Ohtomo Fig.1) comprises a focal length (Ohtomo Claim 1 teaches: “a diaphragm member formed between said light transmitting means and said target for forming a ring-shaped second projected image as a diffraction fringe on said target, wherein said device satisfies one of the following conditions: D<(f/r)×λ or (r/λ)<(f/D)= Fno, where D is the aperture of said collimator lens, f is the focal length of said collimator lens, r is the size of said laser light source, λ is the wavelength of said laser light source and Fno stands for F-number.”) such that the clipping aperture opening (opening of diaphragm 300, Ohtomo Fig.1) is projected onto an outer rim and/or onto edges and/or onto corners of the surface of the target (Ohtomo Col.4 lines 46-51 teaches: “The diaphragm 300 is inserted between the collimator lens 200 and the target 2000, and serves to generate a diffraction fringe in a projected image 3000 formed on the target 2000 and form a ring-shaped projected portion 3200 in the projected image 3000.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the focusing element comprises a focal length such that the clipping aperture opening is projected onto an outer rim and/or onto edges and/or onto corners of the surface of the target, as taught by Ohtomo, in order to spatially tailor the laser energy distribution and reduce excessive center-region heating, thereby improving heating uniformity and process stability.
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0153986 A1, previously cited) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0202280 A1, newly cited), Ichie (U.S. Patent No. 5,796,112 A, previously cited), and further in view of Miller et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,642,439 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 67, Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 66, but does not explicitly teach
wherein the laser system comprises a shielding aperture with a shielding aperture opening, and wherein the shielding aperture is arranged with its shielding aperture opening at the point-like focal volume.
Miller teaches a laser system (Miller Fig.7):
wherein the laser system (as shown in Miller Fig.7) comprises a shielding aperture (holder 630, Miller Fig.7) with a shielding aperture opening (opening, Miller annotated Fig.7 below), and wherein the shielding aperture (holder 630, Miller Fig.7) is arranged with its shielding aperture opening (opening, Miller annotated Fig.7 below) at the point-like focal volume (focal volume, Miller annotated Fig.7 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto in view of Kim and Ichie, by adding the teachings of the laser system comprises a shielding aperture with a shielding aperture opening, and wherein the shielding aperture is arranged with its shielding aperture opening at the focal volume, as taught by Miller, in order to spatially confine the focused laser beam, suppress stray radiation and peripheral low-intensity beam portions, and improve localization of laser energy delivery to the target surface.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Urano et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,804,110 B2) discloses an irradiating unit comprising an illumination light adjusting unit which adjusts light emitted from a light source into illumination light having predetermined irradiation conditions; and an illumination intensity distribution control unit which controls an illumination intensity.
Lambert (U.S. Patent No. 9,575,324 B2) discloses a beam guiding apparatus includes a vacuum chamber that includes a target region arranged to receive a target material for generating EUV radiation. The vacuum chamber further includes a first opening for receiving into the vacuum chamber a first laser beam and a second opening for receiving into the vacuum chamber a second laser beam. The vacuum chamber also includes a beam shaping apparatus in the beam path of the second laser beam, wherein the beam shaping apparatus is configured to set a ring-shaped beam profile of the second laser beam, The first and second laser beam have different wavelengths.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 11/03/2026