DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an agitation device” (claim 13, line 3) as disclosed on page 7, line 1 of the specification.
“a control device” (claim 14, line 2) as disclosed on page 7, lines 4-5 of the specification.
“a device for controlling the flow rate” (claim 18, line 2) as disclosed on page 7, lines 15-16 of the specification.
“means for transporting” (claim 20, line 3) as disclosed on page 7, lines 21-25 of the specification.
“a device for preheating and/or evaporating” (claim 22, line 2) as disclosed on page 7, lines 23-25 of the specification.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a suspension medium” (line 14) renders the claim indefinite as the claim previously set forth “a suspension medium” (line 9). It is unclear if the “a suspension medium” (line 14) refers to the “a suspension medium” (line 9) or some other suspension medium. For examination purposes it is assumed that for storage of energy there is a first suspension medium and for release of energy there is a second suspension medium.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the suspension medium” (line 15) renders the claim indefinite as the claim previously set forth “a suspension medium” (line 9) and “a suspension medium” (line 9). It is unclear if the “a suspension medium” (line 15) refers to the “a suspension medium” (line 9), the “suspension medium” (line 14) or some other suspension medium. For examination purposes it is assumed that for storage of energy there is a first suspension medium and for release of energy there is a second suspension medium.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203), metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) or boric oxide (B203), and metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) by loss of water” (emphasis added) (lines 3-5) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the recitation requires or does not require that orthoboric acid is converted to metaboric acid and/or boric oxide. For examination purposes it is assumed that “orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407)”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBOz2, H2B407) or boric oxide (B203) and metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) are converted into orthoboric acid (H3BQs) by reaction with water” (emphasis added) (lines 6-9, see also lines 13-18) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the recitation requires or does not require that metaboric acid and/or boric oxide is converted to orthoboric acid. For examination purposes it is assumed that “boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBOz2, H2B407) are converted into orthoboric acid (H3BQs) by reaction with water”.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203), metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) or boric oxide (B203), and metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) by loss of water” (emphasis added) (lines 3-5) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the recitation requires or does not require that orthoboric acid is converted to metaboric acid and/or boric oxide. For examination purposes it is assumed that “orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407)”.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBOz2, H2B407) or boric oxide (B203) and metaboric acid (HBO2, H2B407) are converted into orthoboric acid (H3BQs) by reaction with water” (emphasis added) (lines 3-5, see also lines 6-10) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the recitation requires or does not require that metaboric acid and/or boric oxide is converted to orthoboric acid. For examination purposes it is assumed that “boric oxide (B203) or metaboric acid (HBOz2, H2B407) are converted into orthoboric acid (H3BQs) by reaction with water”.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the metaboric acid” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite. Due to the above identified issues in claim 1, is it unclear if the claimed invention is being positively limited to metaboric acid.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “the water formed is removed by pumping and/or gassing, in particular with nitrogen” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “the water formed is removed by pumping and/or gassing”, and the claim also recites “in particular with nitrogen” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation “the temperature during storage of energy is set to 110 to 200 °C, preferably between 135 - 165 °C” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “the temperature during storage of energy is set to 110 to 200 °C”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 135 - 165 °C” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation “the pressure during storage of energy is set to below 200 mbar, preferably below 100 mbar” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “the pressure is set to at least 5 bar”, and the claim also recites “preferably at least 8 bar” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation “the pressure is set to at least 5 bar, preferably at least 8 bar” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “the pressure is set to at least 5 bar”, and the claim also recites “preferably at least 8 bar” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 13, each incidence of the recitation “the suspension reactor” (e.g. line 3) renders the claim indefinite as the claims previously set forth “at least one suspension reactor (line 2).
Regarding claim 15, the recitation “the suspension reactor” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite as the claims previously set forth “at least one suspension reactor (claim 13, line 2).
Regarding claim 16, the recitation “a heat exchanger” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite as the claims previously set forth “a heat exchanger (claim 13, lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 17, the recitation “a heat exchanger” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite as the claims previously set forth “a heat exchanger (claim 13, lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 20, the recitations “two suspension reactors” (line 2), “one suspension reactor” (lines 3-4), and “the other suspension reactor” (line 4) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the previously set forth “at least one suspension reactor (claim 13, line 2) is one of the two suspension reactors or a separate and distinct suspension reactor. For examination purposes the “at least one suspension reactor” comprises the “two suspension reactors”.
Claims 5-8, 14, 18, 19, 21, and 22 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deutsch et al. (WO-2017156564-A2).
Regarding claim 1, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy,
Where, for the storage of energy, orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203) by loss of water (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 8-12 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 1 in which H3BO3 is separated to form B203 and water),
Where, for the release of energy, boric oxide (B203) is converted into orthoboric acid (H3BQ3) by reaction with water (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 5 in which B203 is combined with water to form H3BO3), characterized in that the reactions take place in a suspension medium (Page 5, lines 25-35 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactors 1 and 5),
Where for the reversible storage of energy, orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is present suspended in the suspension medium (Figure 1: Page 5, lines 25-35 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactor 1), and where the suspension medium containing orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is brought to a temperature at which water loss occurs via an energy source (Figure 1: See heat sources 3 and 11),
Where for the reversible thermochemical release of energy boric oxide (B2O3) is present suspended in a suspension medium (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactor 5), where water is added to the suspension medium containing boric oxide (B2O3) so that the reaction proceeds to orthoboric acid (H3BO3) (Figure 1), where the heat generated in this process is dissipated to a heat consumer (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 13-20 of the attached translation: District heat via 8a for example).
Regarding claim 2, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising:
A reaction system (Figure 1) in which orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is converted into boric oxide (B203) by loss of water (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 8-12 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 1 in which H3BO3 is separated to form B203 and water), characterized in that the orthoboric acid (H3BO3) is present suspended in a suspension medium (Figure 1: Page 5, lines 25-35 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactor 1), where the suspension medium containing [the] orthoboric acid (H3BOs3) is brought to a temperature at which water loss occurs via an energy source (Figure 1: See heat sources 3 and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising:
A reaction system (Figure 1) in which boric oxide (B203) is converted into orthoboric acid (H3BO3) by reaction with water (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 5 in which B203 is combined with water to form H3BO3),
Characterized in that [the] boric oxide (B203) is present suspended in a suspension medium (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactor 5), where water is added to the suspension medium (Figure 1), where water is added to the suspension medium containing the boric oxide (B203) so that the reaction to orthoboric acid (H3BO3) proceeds (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where materials of the reaction system are present as a powder (Page 4, lines 1-8 of the attached translation: In the form of particles) which is suspended in the suspension medium (Page 5, lines 25-35 and Page 6, lines 1-7 of the attached translation: Defined by the contents of fluidized bed reactors 1 and 5), and where materials of the reaction system include metaboric acid (Page 1, line 9 to Page 2, line27 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 7, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where the suspension medium is stirred during the reaction (Page 4, lines 12-39 of the attached translation: Via mixing).
Regarding claim 8, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where during thermochemical storage of energy (Figure 1), the water formed is removed from the suspension during the course of the reaction (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 8-12 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 1 in which H3BO3 is separated to form B203 and water).
Regarding claim 9, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where the water formed is removed by pumping and/or gassing (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 8-12 of the attached translation: See fluidized bed reactor 1 in which H3BO3 is separated to form B203 and water, where water is removed by gassing -i.e. vaporization of the water-).
Regarding claim 10, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where the temperature during storage of energy is set to 110 to 200 °C, preferably between 135 - 165 °C. (Page 2, lines 20-27 of the attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deutsch et al. (WO-2017156564-A2), and further in view of Hara et al. (US 2013/0075052).
Regarding claim 5, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above. However, Deutsch et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose emulsifiers and/or foam inhibitors are additionally added to the suspension medium.
Hara et al. teaches a reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising at least: a heat storage material (Paragraph 123) suspended in a suspension medium (Paragraph 123), where additives, emulsifiers and/or foam inhibitors are additionally added to the suspension medium (Paragraph 128: One or more additives are combined with the heat storage material and the suspension medium). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the suspension medium as disclosed by Deutsch et al. to include one or more an antifoaming agent as taught by Hara et al. to improve thermochemical storage efficiency and heat transfer efficiency by inhibiting the formation heat insulating structures (i.e. as defined by foam).
Regarding claim 6, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above. However, Deutsch et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose the suspension medium as comprising oil.
Hara et al. teaches a reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising at least: a heat storage material (Paragraph 123) suspended in a suspension medium (Paragraph 123), where the suspension medium comprises oil (Paragraph 172: A substance within which the heat storage material is immersed within comprises water, alcohols, oils, or combinations thereof). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the suspension medium as disclosed by Deutsch et al. to include oil as taught by Hara et al. to improve heat transfer efficiency by utilizing a heat transfer medium or a mixture of heat transfer mediums with high heat capacity.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deutsch et al. (WO-2017156564-A2), and further in view of Hanzawa et al. (US 2016/0177161).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Deutsch et al. discloses a process for the reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above. While Deutsch et al. discloses various temperatures in which the temperature during storage of energy is set (Page 2, lines 20-27 of the attached translation), and while Deutsch et al. discloses dehydration of heat storage material with application of heat (Figure 1 and Page 2, lines 2-4 of the attached translation: See reactor 1) and hydration with release of heat (Figure 1 and Page 2, lines 5-6 of the attached translation: See reactor 5), Deutsch et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose pressure ranges in which the thermochemical is stored and released.
Hanzawa et al. teaches a reversible thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising at least: a thermochemical reactor (R11, R12, R13) including a heat storage material (M1, M2, M3) configured to undergo a reversible chemical reaction with water (Paragraph 42), where heat storage material is dehydrated with application of heat (Paragraph 42), where heat storage material is hydrated with release of heat (Paragraph 42), and where Hanzawa et al. acknowledges that pressure of a heat storage material is related to a transformation temperature of the heat storage material (Paragraph 66). Therefore, the pressure of a heat storage material during storage (or release) of thermal energy is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that increasing pressure results in a corresponding increase in the transformation temperature of the heat storage material and vice versa (Paragraph 66 and 78). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that a pressure falls within a range, were disclosed in the prior art by Hanzawa et al., it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure a pressure during storage (or release) of thermal energy as disclosed by Deutsch et al. within the claimed range(s) in view of the teachings of Hanzawa et al. to improve thermochemical storage safety and reliability by operating at pressures that correspond to required operating temperatures such that heat storage capabilities are stable (Paragraphs 66 and 78 of Hanzawa et al.) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deutsch et al. (WO-2017156564-A2), and further in view of Machida et al. (US 2018/0112931).
Regarding claim 13, Deutsch et al. (Figure 2) discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising:
At least one suspension reactor (20), where an energy source (20a) is associated with the suspension reactor (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation),
Where an outlet for water vapor from the suspension reactor (Figure 2: See line 21) and a water reservoir (23) connected to the outlet is present (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation),
Where a feed line is (24) provided into the suspension reactor which is connected to the water reservoir (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation), where a heat exchanger (23a) is provided at the suspension reactor (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation), where the heat exchanger is connectable to a consumer (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation).
However, Deutsch et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose an agitation device is provided in the suspension reactor.
Machida et al. teaches a system of storing and releasing thermal energy, comprising at least: a suspension reactor (30), a thermal energy storage material (20), and agitation device (12) provided in the suspension reactor. As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the suspension reactor as disclosed by Deutsch et al. with an agitation device as taught by Machida et al. to improve thermochemical heat transfer efficiency by minimizing temperature stratification within a suspension reactor (e.g. uniform temperature distribution).
Regarding claim 14, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where a control device (26) is provided which is designed in such a way that the amount of energy delivered to the heat exchanger at the suspension reactor can be controlled (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 15, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where a gas supply line (25) is provided for the suspension reactor (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation: Line 25 is configured to deliver water vapor)
Regarding claim 16, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where a heat exchanger (20a) is associated with the gas supply line (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where a heat exchanger is assigned to the outlet (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where the feed line has a device (26) for controlling the flow rate (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation: The control device is a 2-way or a 3-way valve that is inherently capable of controlling flow rate).
Regarding claim 19, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where the control device is designed in such a way that the amount of energy delivered to the heat exchanger at the suspension reactor can be controlled via the device for controlling the flow rate (Figure 2 and Page 6, lines 40 to Page 7, line 16 of the attached translation: The control device is a 2-way or a 3-way valve that is inherently capable of controlling flow rate).
Claim 13 is alternatively rejected and Claims 20, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deutsch et al. (WO-2017156564-A2), and further in view of Machida et al. (US 2018/0112931).
Regarding claim 13, Deutsch et al. (Figure 1) discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy, comprising:
At least one suspension reactor (1), where an energy source (3, 11) is associated with the suspension reactor (Figure 1: See heat sources 3 and 11),
Where an outlet for water vapor from the suspension reactor (Figure 2: See line 4a) and a water reservoir (13) connected to the outlet is present (Figure 1),
Where a feed line is (2) provided into the suspension reactor which is connected to the water reservoir (Figure 1), where a heat exchanger (11) is provided at the suspension reactor (Figure 1), where the heat exchanger is connectable (i.e. thermally) to a consumer (Figure 1 and Page 6, lines 13-20 of the attached translation: District heat via 8a for example).
However, Deutsch et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose an agitation device is provided in the suspension reactor.
Machida et al. teaches a system of storing and releasing thermal energy, comprising at least: a suspension reactor (30), a thermal energy storage material (20), and agitation device (12) provided in the suspension reactor. As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the suspension reactor as disclosed by Deutsch et al. with an agitation device as taught by Machida et al. to improve thermochemical heat transfer efficiency by minimizing temperature stratification within a suspension reactor (e.g. uniform temperature distribution).
Regarding claim 20, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where two suspension reactors (1 and 5) are provided which are connected via at least one bypass line (4b), where means for transporting the contents of one suspension reactor into the other suspension reactor (i.e. the bypass defined means for transporting the contents of one suspension reactor into the other suspension reactor) are provided (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where an energy source (3, 11) and a consumer (8a) are provided (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Deutsch et al. discloses a system for the thermochemical storage of energy and release of energy as discussed above, where a device for preheating and/or evaporating the water (8) is provided in the supply line (i.e. 2 and 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2019038292 A1 discloses a thermal energy storage system.
US 4,004,573 discloses a thermal energy storage system.
US 2014/0014299 discloses a thermal energy storage system.
/JASON N THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763