DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to amendment for Application 18/274446 filed on 3/8/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-6 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. The specification still objected to because the abstract is not concise statement. Also, why was the abstract’s amendments done in a way similar to the amendments done to claims? Applicant may just delete or re-write the abstract.
4. Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 3/8/2026 regarding claim rejection under 35 USC § 102 with respect to Claims 1, 5 and 6 were considered and found unpersuasive because Choi still teaches the limitations. However, the new amendment required new art making the arguments with respect to the new amendment moot in view of new ground of rejection. The new art was used to teach in then claims 2-4. See the updated rejection.
5. Double Patenting rejection is being held in abeyance as requested.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims use the term “such that” which may render the limitations that follow to be intended use. Applicant may amend “such that” with “wherein” clause to positively recite the limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification/Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract refer to purported merits and figures. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Examiner is not sure if the citation list in ¶0003-¶0004 is incorporated by reference or not. Also, the applications are not provided along the filed application. The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to a foreign application or patent is improper unless the incorporate. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1 recites “communication unit” that invokes 112 (f) because the limitation uses a generic placeholder “unit” followed by function language “configured to” where the placeholder “unit” is not modified by sufficient structure.
Claim 5 includes similar limitation, thus the same rationale applies.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/274404 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claims 1 or 5-6 disclose every element of the copending application claims 1 and 13-14. Also, the current claims anticipate every element of the copending claims 1 and 13-14 (anticipation type rejection because the current claims 1 and 5-6 are narrower in scope than the copending claims 1 and 13-14).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of copending Application No. 18274398 (hereinafter ‘398) in view of Amacker et al. (hereinafter Amacker) US 2022/0279052 A1.
Current application’s claims 1 and 5-6 teach most of copending application ‘398 claims 1 and 4-5.
Current application’s claims 1 and 5-6 do not expressly teach “and an instruction process for instructing, in a case where at least one connection included in the established connections has been broken, the at least one communication apparatus involved in the at least one broken connection to reestablish the at least one broken connection” of copending application ‘398 claims 1 and 4-5.
Amacker is analogous art because Amacker’s teachings are directed to resource-sharing mesh-networked mobile nodes (e.g., on-body computing devices). The mobile nodes are connected to each other through a mesh network and are capable for sharing computational resources to execute tasks originating from within the mesh network (¶0004). Amacker also teaches “and an instruction process for instructing, in a case where at least one connection included in the established connections has been broken, the at least one communication apparatus involved in the at least one broken connection to reestablish the at least one broken connection” (¶0054, ¶0097 & ¶0100; the connections are periodically monitored. If a node detects a change in mesh network conditions, the mobile nodes 110 re-investigate the mesh network to rebuild the mesh network. In some embodiments, the mobile nodes determine if one or more mesh network properties have degraded below a threshold. For example, nodes may determine whether a signal strength between two nodes in the mesh network (e.g., a follower node to commanding node connection, or a follower node to follower node connection) falls below a threshold amount… if a follower node 520 fails to receive a set number of beaconing messages, the follower node may determine that the follower node has lost connection to the commanding node, and the follower node may attempt to re-establish a connection to the mesh network by attempting to connect to another node the follower node is within range of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Amacker into the system of copending application ‘398 in order to create a mesh network where the system automatically and periodically identify a hierarchy of signal strength with current nodes to re-establish the group of nodes if any one node failed. Id. Utilizing such teachings enable the system to maintain the mesh network with the nodes as configured. Id.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi US 2018/0206094 A1 in view of Itaya EP 3310122 B1.
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches a communication system comprising a plurality of communication apparatuses configured to form a meshed network (¶0040 & Fig. 5; a node in a mesh network that supports a connection scheme), and a control apparatus that controls the plurality of communication apparatuses, the plurality of communication apparatuses each including: at least one communication unit that is configured to transmit and receive directional communication media (Fig. 2; user device 211, node A 213, B 215, C 217 and D 219);
and at least one first processor, the at least one first processor carrying out (¶0123 & Fig. 7; node 400 may be implemented with one processor):
a specification process for specifying at least one connection destination candidate by carrying out scanning with use of the at least one communication unit (Fig. 7 717 scan process. ¶0138; node A 711 is performing an advertisement process (operation 715), and the node B 713 is performing a scan process (operation 717));
and a connection establishment process for establishing connection with the at least one connection destination candidate specified by the specification process (Fig. 7 723 connection establishment. ¶0042; node which is performing a scan process transmits a Connect REQ message after receiving the advertisement message and then a connection is established),
the control apparatus including at least one second processor, the at least one second processor carrying out: a control process for controlling the plurality of communication apparatuses (Fig. 7 Node A 711. Fig. 2 a user device 211, a node A 213, B 215, C 217 and D 219. Also see ¶0123; node 400 is implemented with one processor),
in the control process, the at least one second processor carrying out a management process for managing, for each communication apparatus included in the meshed network (¶0141; node A 711 transmits to node B 713 a message that includes number of hops. Number of hops is similar to number of connections that is capable of being established. Choi also teaches Node A 811 collects information about nodes in the BLE mesh network based on Connetc_REQ message thereby a connection is established. This implies that the number of established connections is determined hence the acceptance of Connect_REQ message, see ¶0142-¶0155 & Figs. 7-8),
Choi does not expressly teach a number of connections that are permitted to be established, and a number of established connections.
Itaya teaches a number of connections that are permitted to be established (¶0075-¶0085; the control unit 140 determines whether a sum of the number N of other devices connected to the information processing apparatus 100 and the threshold M of the room for connection is equal to or smaller than the maximum connectable number of the information processing apparatus 100 (step S803),
and a number of established connections (same as above. Also see ¶0056; the room for connection to be left (threshold of room for connection) is M, and the number of devices with which the connections are newly established is L (where 1 ≤ L ≤ M). In this case, the connections with L information processing apparatuses selected in some way among existing connections need to be cut such that the room for connection is M if the L devices are newly connected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Itaya into the system of Choi to establish connections up to the upper limit before determining the information processing apparatuses to be connected according to device-to-be-connected selection algorithm, so that the connections suitable for application can be achieved (¶0058).
Regarding Claim 2, Choi teaches the communication system according to claim 1, wherein in the management process, for each communication apparatus included in the meshed network,
Choi does not expressly teach the at least one second processor updates at least one communication path included in the meshed network such that the number of established connections does not exceed a value obtained by subtracting 1 from a maximum number of connections that are permitted to be established.
Itaya teaches the at least one second processor updates at least one communication path included in the meshed network such that the number of established connections does not exceed a value obtained by subtracting 1 from a maximum number of connections that are permitted to be established (¶0072-¶0085, discloses leaving room for connection, where the room for connection, or M can be 1. Therefore, connecting max number of devices with room for connection of 1, max-1 to allow connection, after which, no devices are connected, or unusable state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include a value obtained by subtracting 1 of Itaya from the maximum number of connections in order to allow avoiding overload condition.
Regarding Claim 3, Choi teaches the communication system according to claim 2, wherein in the management process,
Choi does not expressly teach the at least one second processor gives a plurality of communication paths included in the meshed network priority with reference to information related to a communication apparatus which is involved in each of the communication paths and included in the meshed network, and
disconnects a communication path with relatively low priority from among the plurality of communication paths included in the meshed network such that the number of established connections does not exceed a value obtained by subtracting 1 from the maximum number of connections that are permitted to be established.
Itaya teaches the at least one second processor gives a plurality of communication paths included in the meshed network priority with reference to information related to a communication apparatus which is involved in each of the communication paths and included in the meshed network (¶0102; the control unit 140 can disconnect a predetermined number of devices among the devices connected to the information processing apparatus 100, in a case where the request for connection to join the network is received so that the upper limit number of devices are connected to the wireless communication unit 120. See examples of setting priority connection devices in ¶0103-¶0116),
disconnects a communication path with relatively low priority from among the plurality of communication paths included in the meshed network (¶0102; the control unit 140 can disconnect a predetermined number of devices among the devices connected to the information processing apparatus 100, in a case where the request for connection to join the network is received so that the upper limit number of devices are connected to the wireless communication unit 120).
such that the number of established connections does not exceed a value obtained by subtracting 1 from the maximum number of connections that are permitted to be established (¶0072-¶0085, discloses leaving room for connection, where the room for connection, or M can be 1. Therefore, connecting max number of devices with room for connection of 1, max-1 to allow connection, after which, no devices are connected, or unusable state).
See above reasons for combining the art.
Regarding Claim 4, Choi teaches the communication system according to claim 1, wherein in the management process,
Choi does not expressly teach, the at least one second processor gives an instruction to add an additional communication apparatus to the meshed network (¶0102; the control unit 140 can disconnect a predetermined number of devices among the devices connected to the information processing apparatus 100, in a case where the request for connection to join the network is received so that the upper limit number of devices are connected to the wireless communication unit 120. See examples of setting priority connection devices in ¶0103-¶0116),
such that the number of established connections does not exceed a value obtained by subtracting 1 from the maximum number of connections that are permitted to be established (¶0072-¶0085, discloses leaving room for connection, where the room for connection, or M can be 1. Therefore, connecting max number of devices with room for connection of 1, max-1 to allow connection, after which, no devices are connected, or unusable state).
See above reasons for combining the art.
Claims 5-6 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455