DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 10/30/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejection of claim 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment filed on 10/30/2025. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/30/2025 with respect to Sridharan reference have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Sridharan reference, the Applicant argued that “…Sridharan fails to teach, disclose, or suggest all the features recited in amended claim 4, including, at least, the above-recited features. For example, Sridharan does not disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "determine, for each transmission instance, a number G representing available bits for a transmission of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) in the PUSCH, and perform a circular buffer management per transmission instance based on the number G," as recited in amended claim 4.
As such, amended independent claim 4 is patentably novel and distinguishable over Sridharan for at least the same reasons as presented above.
In addition, independent claims 5 and 6 are amended to recite, at least, features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 4. Therefore, amended independent claims 5 and 6 are also patentably novel and distinguishable over Sridharan for at least the same reasons as presented above with regards to amended independent claim 4.
Withdrawal of the pending rejection is therefore respectfully requested” (emphasis added) (Remarks, pages 5-6).
In response to applicant’s argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Sridharan teaches on paragraphs [66, 81-83] as follows:
[0066] In some aspects, a repeated transmission (sometimes referred to as a retransmission) may include the exact same encoded bits (e.g., information bits and parity bits) as the initial transmission and/or as another repeated transmission (e.g., where a same redundancy version is used across repetitions). Alternatively, a repeated transmission may include different encoded bits (e.g., a different combination of information bits and/or parity bits) than the initial transmission and/or another repeated transmission (e.g., where different redundancy versions are used across repetitions).
[0081] “Redundancy version” (RV) of a PUSCH repetition refers to a set of encoded bits that are transmitted for that PUSCH repetition. Using RV cycling, the UE 120 transmits a different set of encoded bits in different PUSCH repetitions. For example, the UE 120 may store bits for an uplink transmission in a circular buffer 505 (e.g., stored in memory of the UE 120). The circular buffer 505 stores information bits 510 and parity bits 515 (sometimes called parity-check bits). The information bits 510 may include the data to be transmitted, and the parity bits 515 may include linear combinations of the data (e.g., of the information bits 510). The UE 120 may encode information bits 510, parity bits 515, or a combination of information bits 510 and parity bits 515 into a set of encoded bits, and may transmit the set of encoded bits. The particular bits that are selected to be included in the set of encoded bits for a PUSCH repetition depend on (or are defined by) the RV of that PUSCH repetition.
[0082] For example, for a PUSCH repetition having RV0, the UE 120 transmits a sequence of encoded bits (e.g., a particular number of encoded bits) starting at a first location 520 in the circular buffer 505 (e.g., bit 0, or a first information bit). Similarly, the UE 120 transmits a sequence of encoded bits starting at a second location 525 in the circular buffer 505 for a PUSCH repetition having RV1, the UE 120 transmits a sequence of encoded bits starting at a third location 530 in the circular buffer 505 for a PUSCH repetition having RV2, and the UE 120 transmits a sequence of encoded bits starting at a fourth location 535 in the circular buffer 505 for a PUSCH repetition having RV3.
[0083] As an example, the starting bit locations may be defined by a table 540, such as for NR hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) using low-density parity-check (LDPC) code. The table 540 defines starting bit locations in the circular buffer 505 for a first base graph (BG1) and a second base graph (BG2). A base graph is a parameter for determining parity bits 515 for a transmission based at least in part on a transport block (TB) size and a code rate (with BG1 being intended for TBs with a larger TB size, and BG2 being intended for TBs with a smaller TB size). Referring to the table, N.sub.cb represents the length of the circular buffer 505 (e.g., the number of bits included in the circular buffer 505), and Z.sub.c represents a lifting size, which is based at least in part on the number of information bits 510 and the number of BG columns corresponding to information bits 510.
Therefore, clearly Sridharan has taught determining, for each repetition, a number of bits available for transmission, such as based on number of bits in the initial transmission, based on RV of the PUSCH repetition and/or TB size and a code rate, and storing these bits, in a corresponding transmission occasion spot in the circular buffer for transmission.
Accordingly, Sridharan has taught each and every limitation of amended claims 4-6.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception circuitry” and “transmision circuitry” in claims 4 and 5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0256531 A1 to Sridharan et al. (hereafter refers as Sridharan).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Sridharan teaches a terminal device and a method performed by a terminal device (a UE configured to perform a method of transmitting PUSCH, paragraphs [76-78, 80-82] and Fig. 2-6, 10, provisional 63/146,304, Fig. 2-6, and paragraphs [67-69, 72-76]), comprising:
reception circuitry (reception circuitry, paragraphs [16, 48, 51, 267], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [9, 10, 40, 43, 146] ) configured to receive a configuration for determining a plurality of slots for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (to receive configuration/indication specifying a number of repetitions, a number of slots and/or type of slots configuration, for PUSCH, paragraphs [76-78, 136, 137], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [68, 111, 143, 189]), and
transmission circuitry (transmission circuitry including a processor, paragraphs [51, 267], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [43, 146]) configured to:
generate one or more groups of slots from the plurality of slots (to generate at least one group of slots from the plurality of slots for transmissions, based on the indication via the configuration/DCI, paragraphs [67, 74-77, 90-93, 136, 137], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [46, 59-61, 80-82], and appendix, pages 2-3),
generate a transmission instance for each group of slots (generating a transmission occasion for each group of slots, which including at least one repetition of an initial transmission, paragraph [67], provisional 63/146,304, paragraph [59]), and
determine, for each transmission instance, a number G representing available bits for a transmission of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) in the PUSCH (determines, for each transmission occasion of a repetition, a number of bits available for a transmission of PUSCH, such as based on a RV of that PUSCH repetition and/or based on TB seize and code rate, paragraphs [81-83], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [73-75]),
perform a circular buffer management per transmission instance based on the number G (stores the number of bits per transmission occasion of repetition in a circular buffer, Fig. 5 and provisional 63/146,304, Fig. 5, and performs transmission(s) per each transmission occasion, by extracting a number of bits corresponded to the transmission occasion in the circular buffer, paragraphs [80-85], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [73-76], appendix, pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Sridharan teaches a base station device (a base station configured to perform a method of PUSCH, paragraphs [76-78, 80-82] and Fig. 2-6, 10, provisional 63/146,304, Fig. 2-6, and paragraphs [67-69, 72-76]) comprising:
transmission circuitry (the base station includes a transmission circuitry, paragraphs [9, 11, 47, 52, 267], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [8, 10, 44, 45, 146]) configured to transmit a configuration for determining a plurality of slots for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (to transmit configuration/indication specifying a number of repetitions, a number of slots and/or type of slots configuration, for PUSCH, paragraphs [76-78, 136, 137], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [68, 111, 143, 189]); and
reception circuitry (the base station includes a reception circuitry including a processor, paragraphs [52, 267], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [44, 146]) configured to:
generate one or more groups of slots from the plurality of slots (to generate at least one group of slots from the plurality of slots for transmissions, based on the indication via the configuration/DCI, paragraphs [67, 74-77, 90-93, 136, 137], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [46, 59-61, 80-82], and appendix, pages 2-3),
generate a transmission instance for each group of slots (wherein each group including at least one repetition of an initial transmission is identified as a transmission instance/occasion, paragraph [67], provisional 63/146,304, paragraph [59]),
determine, for each transmission instance, a number G representing available bits for a transmission of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) in the PUSCH (determines, for each transmission occasion of a repetition, a number of bits available for a transmission of PUSCH, such as based on a RV of that PUSCH repetition and/or based on TB seize and code rate, paragraphs [81-83], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [73-75]), and
perform a circular buffer management per transmission instance based on the number G (for each transmission occasion, performing receiving of number of bits corresponded to each transmission occasion, extracted from a circular buffer, paragraphs [80-85], provisional 63/146,304, paragraphs [73-76], appendix, pages 2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0123865 A1 discloses an occasion includes a plurality of slots for transmission of PUSCH (Fig. 4) and performing circular buffer management for each occasion (paragraphs [300, 301]).
US 2021/0006315 A1 discloses an N repetition transmission of the CSI report and performs circular buffer managing of the repetition (paragraph [47]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 January 27, 2026