DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
In Re claims 3 and 6, applicants argue that Yasukouchi fails to teach the claimed inclined parts. In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out that the radially inner ends of the protrusions (61c) and axially bottom ends of the protrusions (62, 63), all have inclined surfaces which face in the same direction with respect to the other inclined surfaces and are arranged circumferentially around the bumper cap, thus encompassing the limitations of the claims.
In Re claims 3 and 6, applicants argue that Suzuki et al. fail to teach the claimed inclined parts. In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out that the radially inner ends of the protrusions (5) and axially bottom ends of the protrusions (6), all have inclined surfaces which face in the same direction with respect to the other inclined surfaces and are arranged circumferentially around the bumper cap, thus encompassing the limitations of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the structure of the claim is laid out such that the claim elements are claimed as being features of the shock absorber as opposed to feature of the cover part. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasukouchi (US 2019/0293148).
In Re claim 3, Yasukouchi discloses a bumper cap (6), comprising: a cover part having an opening (bottom); a bottom part (61); and a through hole (61a); a plurality of protruding parts (61c) spaced along the bottom part; a gap (see concave portions 61d) formed between adjacent protruding parts; and inclined parts (see upper faces of convex portions 61c) inclined in a same direction toward an inner diameter of the bottom part provided on the plurality of protruding parts.
In Re claim 6, Yasukouchi discloses a shock absorber (fig. 1) including a cylinder (1) and rod (2), and further comprising: a cover part (bumper cap 6) having a through hole (61a); a plurality of protruding parts (61c, 62, 63) spaced along an inner surface; and fluid adjustment part, wherein the fluid adjustment part includes a plurality of inclined protruding parts inclined in a same direction toward an inner diameter of the cover part (see inclined convex portions 61c and inclined lower faces of 62a and 63a). The examiner notes that the fluid flow varies based on the circumferential location of the flow due to the concave portions (61d) vs the convex portions (61c) and protrusions (62, 63).
In Re claim 7, see dust boot (4) and dust boot receiver (64) in fig. 1.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (WO 2017/010254).
In Re claim 3, Suzuki et al. disclose a bumper cap (S), comprising: a cover part having an opening (bottom); a bottom part (3); and a through hole (3a); a plurality of protruding parts (5) spaced along the bottom part; a gap (see channels 1a, 3) formed between adjacent protruding parts; and inclined parts (see upper inner faces of the protruding parts 5) inclined in a same direction toward an inner diameter of the bottom part provided on the plurality of protruding parts.
In Re claim 6, Suzuki et al. disclose a shock absorber (fig. 1) including a cylinder (11) and rod (13), and further comprising: a cover part (bumper cap S) having a through hole (3a); a plurality of protruding parts (5, 6) spaced along an inner surface; and fluid adjustment part, wherein the fluid adjustment part includes a plurality of inclined protruding parts inclined in a same direction toward an inner diameter of the cover part (see upper inner faces of the protruding parts 5, and lower inclined faces of 6). The examiner notes that the fluid flow varies based on the circumferential location of the flow due to the channels (1a, 3) vs the inclined portions (5) and protrusions (5, 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are hereby allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The newly cited references are all related to shock absorber bumper caps.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616