DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim 8 and 19 are cancelled. Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 and 12-18, and 20-21 are pending and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/27/2026.
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-18 and 21 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to abstract, all the objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 7, 10 and 18, all the claim objections of claims 7, 10 and 18 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 2-7 and 13-18, all the 35 USC § 101 rejections of claims 2-7 and 13-18 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 2-7 and 13-18, all the 35 USC § 112 rejections as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Firstly, as the office action says Schuler fails to disclose "controlling a reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information", as recited in amended claim 1.
However, Schuler does not disclose the reshaping system, and controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece. Moreover, Schuler does not disclose that the reshaping system comprises a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly, and the reshaping assembly comprises drive members and transmission members, and each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members. Schuler also fails to disclose that "controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information", as recited in amended claim 1.
However, ZHOU is silent about structure of the numerical control system.
Obviously, ZHOU is silent about "the reshaping system comprises a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly comprising drive members and transmission members, each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members", as recited in amended claim 1.
Moreover, ZHOU is also silent about "controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information", as recited in amended claim 1.
Therefore, Schuler in view ZHOU dose not disclose the above highlighted features of amended claim 1.
However, Levesque, Li, Berglund and Chang are also silent about the above features of amended claim 1, therefore, amened claim 1 is patentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combination of Schuler in view of ZHOU, Levesque, Li, Berglund and Chang. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection and allowance of claim 1 are respectfully requested.
Amended claim 12 is allowable for at least the same reasons discussed above regarding currently amended claim 1.
(Pages: 14-16)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant’s amendments to the claims 1 and 12, a new grounds of rejections in view of DAI has been introduced as described in the current office action. Schuler and DAI disclose all the elements of claims 1 and 12 as described in the current office action.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, the arguments are moot; therefore, claims 1-7, 9-10 and 12-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9 12-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuler et al. (US20020033885A1) [hereinafter Schuler] and further in view of DAI et al. (US20140250964A1) [hereinafter DAI].
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
Schuler discloses, A reshaping method for metal product, comprising: [ ¶12: “The method according to the present invention allows the determination of the contour of substantially planar workpieces and comprises the following steps:”… ¶17: “For the preferred application of this method, in which the workpieces are metal blanks for cars,”… ¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”];
acquiring position data information of a workpiece, the position data information is obtained by a measurement system measuring the workpiece; [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
converting the position data information into coordinate information, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain a surface contour curve of the workpiece; [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21.” “In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶14: “b) taking at least two overlapping photographs of the prepared workpiece from various perspectives with a digital camera;”… ¶15: “c) photogrammetrical processing of the photographs with a data processing unit for producing a true-to-scale over-all image of the workpiece, and”… ¶16: “d) determining the contour of the workpiece from the true-to-scale overall image produced in step c).”];
comparing the surface contour curve with a standard contour curve to generate a comparison result; [¶29: “the contour of the test sheet is determined and compared to a reference contour,”];
obtaining reshaping information of…workpiece based on the comparison result; and [¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”
Examiner notes that Schuler only teaches obtaining a reshaping information to adjust a next workpiece, but doesn’t explicitly teach obtaining a reshaping information for the same workpiece];
controlling a reshaping system to reshape…workpiece according to the reshaping information. [¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”
Examiner notes that Schuler only teaches reshaping of a next workpiece, but doesn’t explicitly teach reshaping of the same workpiece ], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, obtaining reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result; and controlling a reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information, [¶15: The measuring unit 70 obtains the flatness of the workpiece and transfers a flatness value to the controller 80. The controller 80 compares the flatness value of the workpiece with a preset flatness value range to determine whether the workpiece passes the quality inspection). When the workpiece does not pass the flatness quality inspection, the controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30, and controls the reshaping assembly 50 to reshape the deformed portions of the workpiece.];
wherein the reshaping system comprises a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly [¶15: The reshaping device 100 includes a worktable 10, a positioning assembly 30,…a reshaping assembly 50];
comprising drive members and transmission members, each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members; [¶19: includes a first driving member 331, a first transmission member 332, a second transmission member 334, a second driving member 335, a third driving member 336, and a resisting member 337….The first transmission member 332 is assembled to the worktable 10 and connected to the first driving member 331….The second transmission member 334 is assembled to the first sliding block 3323 perpendicular to the first transmission member 332…The second transmission member 334 includes a second guiding rod 3341 and a second sliding block 3343… The second driving member 335 is assembled to an end of the second guiding rod 3341.];
controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information comprises: controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; [¶15: The positioning assembly 30 is assembled to the worktable 10 to support the workpiece. The holding assembly 40 is assembled to the worktable 10 adjacent to the positioning assembly 30, for holding the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 is movably assembled to the worktable 10 and located above the positioning assembly 30, for reshaping deformed portions of the workpiece…
¶26: the controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30, and controls the reshaping assembly 50 to reshape the deformed portions of the workpiece.
¶28: the workpiece is supported by and is partially received in the four positioning grooves 3150 of the positioning assembly 30];
controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information. [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the reshaping system comprising a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly comprising drive members and transmission members, each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members; and combined the capability of obtaining reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result; and controlling a reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information, and controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information comprises: controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information in order to avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece thereby reshaping the workpiece more accurately and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device taught by DAI with the method taught by Schuler as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece thereby reshaping the workpiece more accurately and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device [DAI: ¶29: The reshaping assembly 50 can reshape the workpiece more accurately….thereby avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device].
Regarding claim 2 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 1, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein converting the position data information into coordinate information, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain a surface contour curve of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a measurement coordinate system and binding the measurement coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
converting the position data information into coordinate information based on the binding between the measurement coordinate system and the position information of the workpiece, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain the surface contour curve of the workpiece [¶54: “The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “measures easily distinct features in each photograph, e.g. corner points, and these measurements are combined together to produce the three-dimensional coordinates of the points.”… ¶15: “c) photogrammetrical processing of the photographs with a data processing unit for producing a true-to-scale over-all image of the workpiece, and”… ¶16: “d) determining the contour of the workpiece from the true-to-scale overall image produced in step c).”];
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 3 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 2, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein fitting the coordinate information to obtain the surface contour curve of the workpiece further comprises: obtaining coordinate values (X, Y, Z) of each target position point on the workpiece based on a correspondence between the coordinate information and each position point, [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
calculating an ideal plane equation Z = AX + BY + C to obtain a planarity deviation value of each position point on the workpiece by a multi-point least squares method, and [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “Using three and more photographs allows to compute coordinates with a minimum square error adjustment and to estimate errors for each point, providing a quality indication of the process.”
Also see, fig. 2, plot, plane ideal plane equation Z = AX + BY + C in a 3D space];
fitting and obtaining the surface contour curve of the workpiece based on the obtained planarity deviation value of each position point on the workpiece. [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “Using three and more photographs allows to compute coordinates with a minimum square error adjustment and to estimate errors for each point, providing a quality indication of the process.”… ¶56: “FIG. 2.” “model connects the 3D world point (x,y,z) with the 2D image point (u,v) by a straight line,” “A perspective projection is the projection of a three- dimensional object 30 onto a two-dimensional surface 31 (consisting of pixels 33) by straight lines that pass through a single point, the center of projection 32. Geometric relations show that given the distance f of the image plane 31 to the center of projection 32, then the image coordinates (ui,yi) are related to the object coordinates (xo,yo,zo)”… ¶79: “FIG. 5 that the resulting maximum deviation between two contours is well below 5 mm and generally much less.”… ¶82: “Two independent photogrammetric measurements have been compared to the CMM reference measurement of a blank 80 (FIG. 7). The three contour lines have been mapped (rotated and translated) onto each other so that the resulting deviation appeared to be as small as possible.”];
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 6 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 1, and
Schuler discloses, as described in claim 1 above, wherein obtaining the reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result,
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], and
DAI further discloses, further comprises: obtaining the reshaping information by matching the comparison result with a predetermined reshaping information set. [¶28: compares the flatness value to the preset flatness value range to determine whether the workpiece pass the flatness quality inspection. When the workpiece is deemed to be not passing the flatness quality inspection, the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. ];
moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 9:
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 1, and
DAI further discloses, wherein controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information further comprises:
generating reshaping instructions based on the reshaping information and sending the reshaping instructions to the reshaping system, and
reshaping each position point of the workpiece by a reshaping assembly in the reshaping system according to the reshaping instructions. [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.].
Regarding claim 12 (amended):
Schuler discloses, An electronic device comprising: at least one processor; and a storage device coupled to the at least one processor and storing computer-readable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to implement a reshaping method of metal product, the method comprising: [¶12: “The method according to the present invention allows the determination of the contour of substantially planar workpieces and comprises the following steps:”… ¶17: “For the preferred application of this method, in which the workpieces are metal blanks for cars,”… ¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”];
acquiring position data information of a workpiece, the position data information is obtained by a measurement system measuring the workpiece; [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
converting the position data information into coordinate information, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain a surface contour curve of the workpiece; [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21.” “In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶14: “b) taking at least two overlapping photographs of the prepared workpiece from various perspectives with a digital camera;”… ¶15: “c) photogrammetrical processing of the photographs with a data processing unit for producing a true-to-scale over-all image of the workpiece, and”… ¶16: “d) determining the contour of the workpiece from the true-to-scale overall image produced in step c).”];
comparing the surface contour curve with a standard contour curve to generate a comparison result; [¶29: “the contour of the test sheet is determined and compared to a reference contour,”];
obtaining reshaping information of…workpiece based on the comparison result; and [¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”
Examiner notes that Schuler only teaches obtaining a reshaping information to adjust a next workpiece, but doesn’t explicitly teach obtaining a reshaping information for the same workpiece];
controlling a reshaping system to reshape…workpiece according to the reshaping information. [¶30: “the shape of the next prototype of the form die is adjusted on the basis of the comparison.”
Examiner notes that Schuler only teaches reshaping of a next workpiece, but doesn’t explicitly teach reshaping of the same workpiece ], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, obtaining reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result; and controlling a reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information. [¶15: The measuring unit 70 obtains the flatness of the workpiece and transfers a flatness value to the controller 80. The controller 80 compares the flatness value of the workpiece with a preset flatness value range to determine whether the workpiece passes the quality inspection). When the workpiece does not pass the flatness quality inspection, the controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30, and controls the reshaping assembly 50 to reshape the deformed portions of the workpiece.];
wherein the reshaping system comprises a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly [¶15: The reshaping device 100 includes a worktable 10, a positioning assembly 30,…a reshaping assembly 50];
comprising drive members and transmission members, each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members; [¶19: includes a first driving member 331, a first transmission member 332, a second transmission member 334, a second driving member 335, a third driving member 336, and a resisting member 337….The first transmission member 332 is assembled to the worktable 10 and connected to the first driving member 331….The second transmission member 334 is assembled to the first sliding block 3323 perpendicular to the first transmission member 332…The second transmission member 334 includes a second guiding rod 3341 and a second sliding block 3343… The second driving member 335 is assembled to an end of the second guiding rod 3341.];
controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information comprises: controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; [¶15: The positioning assembly 30 is assembled to the worktable 10 to support the workpiece. The holding assembly 40 is assembled to the worktable 10 adjacent to the positioning assembly 30, for holding the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 is movably assembled to the worktable 10 and located above the positioning assembly 30, for reshaping deformed portions of the workpiece…
¶26: the controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30, and controls the reshaping assembly 50 to reshape the deformed portions of the workpiece.
¶28: the workpiece is supported by and is partially received in the four positioning grooves 3150 of the positioning assembly 30];
controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information. [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the reshaping system comprising a worktable, a positioning assembly, and a reshaping assembly comprising drive members and transmission members, each of the transmission members is connected to one of the drive members; and combined the capability of obtaining reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result; and controlling a reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information, and controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information comprises: controlling the positioning assembly to position the workpiece on the worktable; controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to move towards or away from the workpiece; and controlling the drive members to drive the transmission members to reshape surface of the workpiece based on the received reshaping information in order to avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece thereby reshaping the workpiece more accurately and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device taught by DAI with the system taught by Schuler as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece thereby reshaping the workpiece more accurately and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device [DAI: ¶29: The reshaping assembly 50 can reshape the workpiece more accurately….thereby avoiding an excessive reshaping on the workpiece and enhancing a reshaping efficiency of the reshaping device].
Regarding claim 13 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 12, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein converting the position data information into coordinate information, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain a surface contour curve of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a measurement coordinate system and binding the measurement coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
converting the position data information into coordinate information based on the binding between the measurement coordinate system and the position information of the workpiece, and fitting the coordinate information to obtain the surface contour curve of the workpiece [¶54: “The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “measures easily distinct features in each photograph, e.g. corner points, and these measurements are combined together to produce the three-dimensional coordinates of the points.”… ¶15: “c) photogrammetrical processing of the photographs with a data processing unit for producing a true-to-scale over-all image of the workpiece, and”… ¶16: “d) determining the contour of the workpiece from the true-to-scale overall image produced in step c).”]; wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 14 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 13, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein fitting the coordinate information to obtain the surface contour curve of the workpiece further comprises: obtaining coordinate values (X, Y, Z) of each target position point on the workpiece based on a correspondence between the coordinate information and each position point, [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”];
calculating an ideal plane equation Z = AX + BY + C to obtain a planarity deviation value of each position point on the workpiece by a multi-point least squares method, and [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “Using three and more photographs allows to compute coordinates with a minimum square error adjustment and to estimate errors for each point, providing a quality indication of the process.”
Also see, fig. 2, plot, plane ideal plane equation Z = AX + BY + C in a 3D space];
fitting and obtaining the surface contour curve of the workpiece based on the obtained planarity deviation value of each position point on the workpiece. [¶54: “a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”… ¶55: “Using three and more photographs allows to compute coordinates with a minimum square error adjustment and to estimate errors for each point, providing a quality indication of the process.”… ¶56: “FIG. 2.” “model connects the 3D world point (x,y,z) with the 2D image point (u,v) by a straight line,” “A perspective projection is the projection of a three- dimensional object 30 onto a two-dimensional surface 31 (consisting of pixels 33) by straight lines that pass through a single point, the center of projection 32. Geometric relations show that given the distance f of the image plane 31 to the center of projection 32, then the image coordinates (ui,yi) are related to the object coordinates (xo,yo,zo)”… ¶79: “FIG. 5 that the resulting maximum deviation between two contours is well below 5 mm and generally much less.”… ¶82: “Two independent photogrammetric measurements have been compared to the CMM reference measurement of a blank 80 (FIG. 7). The three contour lines have been mapped (rotated and translated) onto each other so that the resulting deviation appeared to be as small as possible.”];
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 17 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 12, and
Schuler discloses, as described in claim 1 above, wherein obtaining the reshaping information of the workpiece based on the comparison result,
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], and
DAI further discloses, further comprises: obtaining the reshaping information by matching the comparison result with a predetermined reshaping information set. [¶28: compares the flatness value to the preset flatness value range to determine whether the workpiece pass the flatness quality inspection. When the workpiece is deemed to be not passing the flatness quality inspection, the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. ];
moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”].
Regarding claim 20 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 12, and
DAI further discloses, wherein controlling the reshaping system to reshape the workpiece according to the reshaping information further comprises:
generating reshaping instructions based on the reshaping information and sending the reshaping instructions to the reshaping system, and
reshaping each position point of the workpiece by a reshaping assembly in the reshaping system according to the reshaping instructions. [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.].
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuler and DAI and further in view of Levesque et al. (US20200184616A1) [hereinafter Levesque].
Regarding claim 4 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 1,
Schuler discloses, as described in claim 1 above, wherein comparing the surface contour curve with a standard contour curve to generate a comparison result further comprises,
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Levesque discloses, comparing the surface contour curve with the standard contour curve to obtain a deformation amount of each target position point on the workpiece, [¶7: “method comprises: acquiring 3D topographic data of at least one surface of the coin, the 3D topographic data comprising at least one region of interest; determining vector components of a normal vector for at least some points of the at least one region of interest; determining at least one feature characteristic based on the vector components of each normal vector; comparing the at least one feature characteristic against reference feature characteristics;”… ¶10: “determining vector components of a normal vector comprises determining x, y and z axis components of the normal vectors.”… ¶11: “determining at least one feature characteristic based on the vector components comprises at least one of a contour of a feature”…¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference and a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”];
generating a judgment result by determining whether the deformation amount of each target position point falls within a predetermined range, and generating the comparison result based on the judgment result. [¶7: “comparing the at least one feature characteristic against reference feature characteristics; and providing an irregularity indication when a difference between the at least one feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics is outside a predetermined tolerance.”… ¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics if the differences are outside a predetermined threshold, as per step 810 of the method 800. The irregularity indication may be in the form of a signal, a command, a flag, or any other suitable output provided by the coin irregularity detection system.”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference and a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of comparing the surface contour curve with the standard contour curve to obtain a deformation amount of each target position point on the workpiece, generating a judgment result by determining whether the deformation amount of each target position point falls within a predetermined range, and generating the comparison result based on the judgment result in order to identify deformity on desired regions of the surface of the workpiece by utilizing the point-by-point comparison of the contour to reference/desired contour to advantageously pinpoint the location of the deformity taught by Levesque with the method taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to identify deformity on desired regions of the surface of the workpiece by utilizing the point-by-point comparison of the contour to reference/desired contour to advantageously pinpoint the location of the deformity [Levesque: ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference and a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference, and optionally the magnitude of the difference”].
Regarding claim 5 (amended):
Schuler, DAI and Levesque disclose, The reshaping method of claim 4, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI further discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Levesque further discloses, wherein generating the judgment result by determining whether the deformation amount of each target position point falls within the predetermined range further comprising:
determining the workpiece to be qualified in response to the deformation amount of each target position point of the workpiece -been determined to fall within the predetermined range, and [¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference”… ¶73: “if the difference between the angle image and the reference angle image and the difference between the direction image and the reference direction image is within the predetermined tolerance, the comparison unit 730” “provides” “a conformity indication.” “produces an irregularity indication if the differences are within the predetermined tolerance. This irregularity indication” “further indicates that the differences fall within the predetermined tolerance.”];
determining the workpiece to be unqualified in response to the deformation amount of at least one target position point been determined outside the predetermined range. [¶7: “providing an irregularity indication when a difference between the at least one feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics is outside a predetermined tolerance.”… ¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics if the differences are outside a predetermined threshold,”… ¶57: “if the differences fall beyond a given threshold, it may be concluded that irregularities are present in the features of the coin”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where” “a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”].
Regarding claim 15 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 12,
Schuler discloses, as described in claim 1 above, wherein comparing the surface contour curve with a standard contour curve to generate a comparison result further comprises
wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Levesque discloses, comparing the surface contour curve with the standard contour curve to obtain a deformation amount of each target position point on the workpiece, [¶7: “method comprises: acquiring 3D topographic data of at least one surface of the coin, the 3D topographic data comprising at least one region of interest; determining vector components of a normal vector for at least some points of the at least one region of interest; determining at least one feature characteristic based on the vector components of each normal vector; comparing the at least one feature characteristic against reference feature characteristics;”… ¶10: “determining vector components of a normal vector comprises determining x, y and z axis components of the normal vectors.”… ¶11: “determining at least one feature characteristic based on the vector components comprises at least one of a contour of a feature”…¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference and a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”];
generating a judgment result by determining whether the deformation amount of each target position point falls within a predetermined range, and generating the comparison result based on the judgment result. [¶7: “comparing the at least one feature characteristic against reference feature characteristics; and providing an irregularity indication when a difference between the at least one feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics is outside a predetermined tolerance.”… ¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics if the differences are outside a predetermined threshold, as per step 810 of the method 800. The irregularity indication may be in the form of a signal, a command, a flag, or any other suitable output provided by the coin irregularity detection system.”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference and a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Levesque with the system taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 16 (amended):
Schuler, DAI and Levesque disclose, The electronic device of claim 15, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Levesque further discloses, wherein generating the judgment result by determining whether the deformation amount of each target position point falls within the predetermined range further comprising:
determining the workpiece to be qualified in response to the deformation amount of each target position point of the workpiece been determined to fall within the predetermined range, and [¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where 0 indicates no difference”… ¶73: “if the difference between the angle image and the reference angle image and the difference between the direction image and the reference direction image is within the predetermined tolerance, the comparison unit 730” “provides” “a conformity indication.” “produces an irregularity indication if the differences are within the predetermined tolerance. This irregularity indication” “further indicates that the differences fall within the predetermined tolerance.”];
determining the workpiece to be unqualified if the deformation amount in response to at least one target position point been determined outside the predetermined range. [¶7: “providing an irregularity indication when a difference between the at least one feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics is outside a predetermined tolerance.”… ¶71: “The comparison unit 730 is further configured for providing an irregularity indication based on the differences between the determined feature characteristic and the reference feature characteristics if the differences are outside a predetermined threshold,”… ¶57: “if the differences fall beyond a given threshold, it may be concluded that irregularities are present in the features of the coin”… ¶70: “the comparison unit 730 performs a point-by-point comparison and then generates an array of values, each corresponding to a given point, where” “a non-zero value indicates the existence of a difference,”].
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuler and DAI and further in view of Berglund et al. (US20170001244A1) [hereinafter Amino].
Regarding claim 7 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 6, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, wherein the reshaping information is provided with the reshaping method, reshaping amount, [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.];
moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Berglund discloses, wherein the reshaping information is provided with a…pressure holding time. [¶45: “the capsule is subjected to Hot Isostatic Pressing (HIP). The capsule with the core and the cladding material is thereby placed in a HIP furnace and subjected to a predetermined temperature and a predetermined pressure for a predetermined period of time so that the metallic cladding material and the core bond to each other into a dense and solid body”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the reshaping information that is provided with a pressure holding time in order to efficiently perform the reshaping taught by Berglund with the method taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to efficiently perform the reshaping [Berglund: ¶7: “performed in short time and with little effort.”].
Regarding claim 18 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 17, and
Schuler further discloses, wherein acquiring the position data information of the workpiece further comprises: establishing a coordinate system of the measurement system and binding the coordinate system with the position information of the workpiece, [¶54: “FIG. 1 shows the taking of photographs of a metal blank 20 with a digital camera 21. By taking pictures from at least two different locations and measuring the points of interest (image points 22) in each photograph, one can develop lines of sight 23 from each camera location to the points of interest 24 on the object. The intersection of these pairs of lines of sight can then be triangulated to produce the three-dimensional coordinate of the point 24 on the object. In this way, a pair of two-dimensional measurements of the u, v positions of the point in each photograph is used to produce the single x, y, z coordinate measurement of the point on the object.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
DAI discloses, wherein the reshaping information is provided with the reshaping method, reshaping amount, [¶28: the controller 80 obtains the position values of the deformed portions of the workpiece, the positioning subassemblies 31 of the positioning assembly 30 is controlled by the controller 80 to support the deformed portions of the workpiece, according to the obtained position values. If the deformed portions are located on the central region of the workpiece, the movable supporting subassembly 33 drives the resisting member 337 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the width region of the workpiece, the first supporting members 353 are driven by the pair of first supporting subassemblies 35 to support the deformed portions. If the deformed portions are located on the length region of the workpiece, the second supporting members 377, 387 are driven by the second supporting subassembly 37 and the third supporting subassembly 38 to support the deformed portions. The controller 80 controls the holding assembly 40 to hold the workpiece on the positioning assembly 30. The reshaping assembly 50 reshapes the deformed portions of the workpiece.];
moving the measurement system to sequentially measure position data information of the multiple target position points on the workpiece surface. [¶25: “The measuring unit 70 is moved along the X, Y, and Z-axis directions along with the reshaping assembly 50, to measure the flatness value of the workpiece. The measuring unit 70 transfers the flatness value to the controller 80. In the embodiment, the measuring unit 70 employs a laser to obtain the flatness value of the workpiece.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Berglund discloses, wherein the reshaping information is provided with a…pressure holding time. [¶45: “the capsule is subjected to Hot Isostatic Pressing (HIP). The capsule with the core and the cladding material is thereby placed in a HIP furnace and subjected to a predetermined temperature and a predetermined pressure for a predetermined period of time so that the metallic cladding material and the core bond to each other into a dense and solid body”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Berglund with the system taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above for same reasons as described above in claim 7.
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuler and DAI and further in view of Chang et al. (US20160059371A1) [hereinafter Chang].
Regarding claim 10 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The reshaping method of claim 1, and
Chang discloses, determining reshaping effect of the workpiece, [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”].
outputting a first signal in response to the reshaping been qualified, and…
sending a first command signal based on the first signal, causing the reshaping system to return to its initial position; [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”… ¶27: “The continuous machining path can start at the start point of the first rectangular section, and end at the end point of the last rectangular section.”
Examiner notes that Chang teaches, fig. 5, step 407, yes; if reshaping is qualified, sends a signal to end machining, such that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that it initializes the system to return to start point].
outputting a second signal in response to the reshaping been unqualified;….
sending a second command signal based on the second signal, causing the reshaping system to perform another reshaping process on the workpiece. [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”… ¶35: “At block 407, the reference plane can be recalculated after all of the rectangular sections have been machined. Whether a flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified can be determined. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is not qualified, block 403 can be implemented.”… ¶34: “At block 406, a machining tool can be controlled to machine the surface of the workpiece along the continuous machining path”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of determining reshaping effect of the workpiece, outputting a first signal if the reshaping is qualified, and outputting a second signal if the reshaping is unqualified; sending a first command signal based on the first signal, causing the reshaping system to return to its initial position; and sending a second command signal based on the second signal, causing the reshaping system to perform another reshaping process on the workpiece in order to obtain precisely shaped end product from the workpiece by performing the re-machining/shaping of workpieces that do not meet expectation taught by Chang with the method taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to obtain precisely shaped end product from the workpiece by performing the re-machining/shaping of workpieces that do not meet expectation [Chang: ¶26: “If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again as described above.”].
Regarding claim 21 (amended):
Schuler and DAI disclose, The electronic device of claim 12, and
Chang discloses, determining reshaping effect of the workpiece, [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”].
outputting a first signal in response to the reshaping been qualified, and…
sending a first command signal based on the first signal, causing the reshaping system to return to its initial position; [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”… ¶27: “The continuous machining path can start at the start point of the first rectangular section, and end at the end point of the last rectangular section.”
Examiner notes that Chang teaches, fig. 5, step 407, yes; if reshaping is qualified, sends a signal to end machining, such that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that it initializes the system to return to start point].
outputting a second signal in response to the reshaping been unqualified;….
sending a second command signal based on the second signal, causing the reshaping system to perform another reshaping process on the workpiece. [¶26: “When the machining tool reaches the end point of the last rectangular section, the processing module 124 can recalculate the reference plane of the surface of the workpiece. The determining module 127 can determine whether the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is unqualified, the surface of the workpiece can be machined again”… ¶35: “At block 407, the reference plane can be recalculated after all of the rectangular sections have been machined. Whether a flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is qualified can be determined. If the flatness precision of the recalculated reference plane is not qualified, block 403 can be implemented.”… ¶34: “At block 406, a machining tool can be controlled to machine the surface of the workpiece along the continuous machining path”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Chang with the system taught by Schuler and DAI as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Chang’32 et al. (US equivalent US20150120032A1 of CN104570935A cited in the IDS) - Product processing verification system and method:
¶29: The second determination module 109 can determine whether the product is accurate by determining whether each of the second distances is within a second predetermined tolerance. In one embodiment, the product is determined to be accurate when each of the second distances is within the second predetermined tolerance, and the product is determined to be inaccurate when any second distance is beyond the second predetermined tolerance. A determination result can be output to the electronic device.
Glasser (US20090132080A1) - Method and device for compensating for positional and shape deviations:
¶9-¶14: a) chucking of a new workpiece b) processing the workpiece using the nominal data of the NC program; c) acquisition of the set deviation; d) optimization of the NC program using the acquired data from c); e) repetition of iterative steps a) to d) until the required positional and/or shape tolerances are achieved.
Kawakami et al. (US20220390222A1) - Surface inspection device, shape correction device, surface inspection method, and shape correction method:
¶13: a point measurement unit that measures each of positions of predetermined points set on a surface of an inspection target; a surface measurement unit that measures a shape of a predetermined surface including the plurality of predetermined points by simultaneously measuring positions of a plurality of points of the inspection target; and a computation unit that obtains an amount of deformation of the inspection target from a reference shape based on the positions of the predetermined points measured by the point measurement unit and a normal direction of the predetermined surface measured by the surface measurement unit.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116