DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 13, 15, 16, and 26 have been amended. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/30/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the second paragraph of the claim, examiner suggests "is provided with a rotation hole . Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered and are appreciated but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ide in view of Asakura does not disclose “the actuator is a piezoelectric ceramic, the piezoelectric ceramic being fastened to the base and being located on an outer side of the rotation ring, the piezoelectric ceramic being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation ring to rotate relative to the base, each blade configured to rotate relative to the rotation ring and slide relative to the first protrusion part, and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole.” Specifically, applicant argues that while Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic, Asakura does not teach “the piezoelectric ceramic being fastened to the base and being located on an outer side of the rotation ring, the piezoelectric ceramic and the rotation ring being on a same side of the body part of the base.” However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Upon further consideration, the examiner maps Asakura’s mounting plate 6 as the base and first arm 4 with second arm 5 as a rotation arm, equivalent to the rotation ring of the instant application. Although rotation arm 4/5 is not in the shape of a ring, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, rotation arm 4/5 performs the same function as the rotation ring, therefore it is reasonable to apply the configurations of the piezoelectric ceramic and the base with respect to the rotation arm of Asakura to the corresponding elements of Ide. Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) is fastened to the base (6) and is located on an outer side of the rotation arm (4/5), and the piezoelectric ceramic (12) and the rotation arm (4/5) are on the same side of the base (6) (Figs. 1-2).
Further, examiner notes that even without the remapping of the rotation ring and base in Asakura, the combination of Ide in view of Asakura leads to only two possibilities as to the configuration of the piezoelectric ceramic, the rotation ring, and the base – that the piezoelectric ceramic and the rotation ring are on the same side or the opposite side of the body part of the base. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Further, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would have been motivated to have the piezoelectric ceramic on the same side as the rotation ring relative to the base for the purpose of having the least complicated and most direct configuration to rotate the rotation ring based on the arrangement of the elements of Ide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura et al. (US 4862207 A), hereinafter Asakura.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ide discloses a driving apparatus, comprising:
a variable aperture (100; Fig. 1; ¶0037), the variable aperture (100) comprising a base (200; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a rotation ring (300; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a plurality of blades (400, 600; Fig. 1; ¶0038);
the base (200) comprising a body part (lower part of 200; Fig. 1; ¶0039) and a first protrusion part (202; Fig 1; ¶0039), a bottom of the first protrusion part (202) is fastened to the body part (Fig. 1), the base (200) is provided with a first via (210; Fig. 1; ¶0039), and the first via (210) penetrates the first protrusion part (202) and the body part (Fig. 1);
the rotation ring (300) being sleeved on an outer peripheral side of the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1), and being rotationally connected to at least one of the first protrusion part (202) or the body part (Fig. 1; ¶0041);
the plurality of blades (400, 600) being located on a side that is of the first protrusion part (202) and that is away from the body part (Fig. 1), the plurality of blades (400, 600) being distributed in an annular manner and enclose together to form an aperture hole (Fig. 1), the aperture hole is disposed opposite to the first via (210) (Fig. 1), and each blade (400, 600) is rotationally connected to the rotation ring (300) (Fig. 1; ¶0042) and is slidably connected to the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1; ¶0042); and
an actuator for driving the driving apparatus (¶0037).
Ide is silent on the actuator (¶0037 states “description of an actuator for driving a driving member, a connecting mechanism which connects the actuator and the driving member, and a fastener for preventing each of the components from being separated is omitted”). Particularly, Ide does not disclose the actuator is a piezoelectric ceramic, the piezoelectric ceramic being fastened to the base and being located on an outer side of the rotation ring, the piezoelectric ceramic being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation ring to rotate relative to the base, each blade configured to rotate relative to the rotation ring and slide relative to the first protrusion part, and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole.
However, Asakura teaches a similar driving apparatus comprising a variable aperture (Fig. 1), which comprises a base (6; Fig. 1; col. 5 lines 7-29), a rotation arm (4, 5; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 11-24), a plurality of blades (8; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 25-31), and a piezoelectric ceramic (12; Fig. 3; col. 5 lines 30-57), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being fastened to the base (6) (Figs. 1-2) and being located on an outer side of the rotation arm (4, 5) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) and the rotation arm (4, 5) being on a same side of the body part of the base (6) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation arm (4, 5) to rotate (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6), each blade (8) configured to rotate relative to the rotation arm (4, 5) and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic fastened to the base and located on an outer side of the rotation ring and have the piezoelectric ceramic and the rotation ring be on the same side of the body part of the base as taught by the piezoelectric ceramic and rotation arm of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura).
Regarding claim 2, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ide does not disclose the piezoelectric ceramic is in a strip shape.
However, Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) is in a strip shape (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura).
Regarding claim 3, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, including the piezoelectric ceramic, as set forth above. Ide further discloses the rotation ring (300) comprises an outer ring surface (Fig. 1), the outer ring surface is a surface that is of the rotation ring (300) and that is away from the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1). Ide does not disclose the piezoelectric ceramic contacts the outer ring surface of the rotation ring.
However, Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) contacts the outer part of the rotation arm (4, 5) (Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura).
Regarding claim 14, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ide further discloses each of the blades (400, 600) comprises a first part (403; Figs. 1-2; ¶0044), a second part (402; Figs. 1-2; ¶0044), and a third part (401; Figs. 1-2; ¶0044) that are connected in sequence (Figs. 1-2), wherein the first part (403) is rotationally connected to the rotation ring (300) (Fig. 1), the second part (402) is slidably connected to the first protrusion part (202), and third parts (401) of the plurality of blades (400, 600) together form the aperture hole by enclosing (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 14, as set forth above. Ide further discloses the first protrusion part (202) is provided with a plurality of first fastening posts (201; Fig. 1; ¶0038) disposed at an interval (Fig. 1), and the rotation ring (300) is further provided with a plurality of second fastening posts (301; Fig. 1; ¶0038) disposed at an interval (Fig. 1); wherein the first part (403) of each blade (400, 600) is provided with a rotation hole (403; Figs. 1-2), the plurality of second fastening posts (301) are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence with rotation holes (403) of the plurality of blades (400, 600) (Fig. 6), and the first fastening post (201) is rotationally connected to a hole wall of the rotation hole (403) (Figs. 1-2); and wherein the second part (402) of each blade (400, 600) is provided with a guide hole (402) (Figs. 1-2), the plurality of first fastening posts (201) are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence with guide holes (402) of the plurality of blades (400, 600) (Fig. 6), and the first fastening post (201) is slidably connected to a hole wall of the guide hole (402) (Figs. 1-2, 6-7).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A) and further in view of Xu et al. (CN 109889711 A), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 4, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, including the piezoelectric ceramic, as set forth above. Ide does not disclose the body part is provided with a first internal pin end and a first external pin end that are disposed at an interval, the first external pin end is electrically connected to the first internal pin end, and the first external pin end is configured to electrically connect to an external device of the variable aperture; the variable aperture further comprises a first circuit board, wherein the first circuit board is fastened to the body part, and the first circuit board is electrically connected to the first internal pin end; and the piezoelectric ceramic is fastened to the first circuit board, and is electrically connected to the first circuit board.
Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) is electrically connected to circuitry (Figs. 2-3).
Additionally, Xu teaches a driving apparatus comprising a first internal pin end (353 connected to 356; Fig. 4a; ¶0048) and a first external pin end (375; Fig. 2; ¶0048) that are disposed at an interval, the first external pin end (375) is electrically connected to the first internal pin end (353 connected to 356) (¶0048), and the first external pin end (375) is configured to connect to an external device (Fig. 2); and further comprising a first circuit board (15; Fig. 2; ¶0048), wherein the first circuit board (15) is electrically connected to the first internal pin end (353 connected to 356) (¶0048), and the driving mechanism is fastened to the circuit board (15) (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura), and to modify Ide and Asakura to incorporate the circuit board of Xu for the purpose of having a closed system and for ease of assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Xu discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 4, including the piezoelectric ceramic, the circuit board, the first internal pin ends, and the first external pin ends, as set forth above. Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose a quantity of first internal pin ends and a quantity of first external pin ends are both two, the first internal pin ends and the first external pin ends are electronically connected in a one-to-one correspondence, and the first internal pin ends are both located on a surface that is of the body part and that is away from the first protrusion part; wherein the body part is further provided with a first side hole and a second side hole that are disposed at an interval, wherein one of the first internal pin ends is located on a periphery of the first side hole, and the other first internal pin end is located on a periphery of the second side hole; and wherein the first circuit board comprises a main part and a first extension part and a second extension part that are disposed opposite to each other, the main part is connected between the first extension part and the second extension part, the piezoelectric ceramic is fastened to the main part and is electrically connected to the main part, the first extension part passes through the first side hole and is electrically connected to one of the first internal pin ends, and the second extension part passes through the second side hole and is electrically connected to the other first internal pin end.
Xu teaches a quantity of the first internal pin ends (353 connected to 356) and a quantity of the first external pin ends (375) are both two (any two of each as seen in Figs. 2 and 4).
Xu does not explicitly state the two first internal pin ends (353 connected to 356) and the two first external pin ends (375) are electronically connected in a one-to-one correspondence, however this is just an engineering choice that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of ease of manufacturing.
Neither Ide, Asakura, nor Xu disclose the two first internal pin ends are both located on a surface that is of the body part and that is away from the first protrusion part; wherein the body part is further provided with a first side hole and a second side hole that are disposed at an interval, wherein one of the first internal pin ends is located on a periphery of the first side hole, and the other first internal pin end is located on a periphery of the second side hole; and wherein the first circuit board comprises a main part and a first extension part and a second extension part that are disposed opposite to each other, the main part is connected between the first extension part and the second extension part, the piezoelectric ceramic is fastened to the main part and is electrically connected to the main part, the first extension part passes through the first side hole and is electrically connected to one of the first internal pin ends, and the second extension part passes through the second side hole and is electrically connected to the other first internal pin end.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and it has further been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would be motivated to change the shape of the body part to include a first and second side hole, to change the shape of the circuit board to include a main part and a first and second extension part, and rearrange each part for the purpose of efficiently fitting the circuit board and the base together mechanically and electrically in a compact manner to fit it into a camera module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Xu to change the shape and rearrange the parts since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art and that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art, for the purpose of efficiently fitting the circuit board and the base together mechanically and electrically in a compact manner to fit it into a camera module.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A) and further in view of Song (US 20220357635 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose the variable aperture further comprises a magnet and a position sensor, wherein the magnet is fastened to the rotation ring, the position sensor is fastened to the body part, and the position sensor is configured to detect magnetic field strength obtained when the magnet is at different positions.
However, Song teaches a driving apparatus comprising a magnet (600; Fig. 2; ¶0115) and a position sensor (450; Fig. 28; ¶0115-¶0116), wherein the position sensor (450) is configured to detect magnetic field strength obtained when the magnet (600) is at different positions (¶0115-¶0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide and Asakura to incorporate the magnet and position sensor of Song for the purpose of providing feedback control and detecting movement (¶0115-¶0116 of Song).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A), further in view of Song (US 20220357635 A1), and further in view of Xu (CN 109889711 A).
Regarding claim 9, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Song discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 8, including the position sensor, as set forth above. Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose the body part is provided with a second internal pin end and a second external pin end that are disposed at an interval, the second internal pin end is electrically connected to the second external pin end, and the second external pin end is configured to electrically connect to an external device of the variable aperture; wherein the variable aperture further comprises a second circuit board, wherein the second circuit board is fastened to the body part, and the second circuit board is electrically connected to the second internal pin end; and wherein the position sensor is fastened to the second circuit board and is electrically connected to the second circuit board.
Song teaches a second circuit board (4, 5, 6; ¶0118-¶0120), wherein the position sensor (450) is electrically connected to the second circuit board (4, 5, 6) (implicit that the position sensor would be electrically connected to the circuit board to receive power).
Song does not teach the body part is provided with a second internal pin end and a second external pin end that are disposed at an interval, the second internal pin end is electrically connected to the second external pin end, and the second external pin end is configured to electrically connect to an external device of the variable aperture; wherein the second circuit board is fastened to the body part, and the second circuit board is electrically connected to the second internal pin end; and wherein the position sensor is fastened to the second circuit board.
However, there are a limited number of ways of where to fasten the position sensor in the device. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within their technical grasp. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). One would be motivated to fasten the position sensor to the second circuit board for the purpose of compactness and ease of assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide and Asakura to incorporate the magnet and position sensor of Song for the purpose of providing feedback control and detecting movement (¶0115-¶0116 of Song) and to fasten the position sensor to the second circuit board since it has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, for the purpose of compactness and ease of assembly.
However, Xu teaches a driving apparatus comprising a second internal pin end (353 connected to 356; Fig. 4a; ¶0048) and a second external pin end (375; Fig. 2; ¶0048) that are disposed at an interval (Figs. 2, 4), the second internal pin end (353 connected to 356) is electrically connected to the second external pin end (375), and the second external pin end (375) is configured to electrically connect to an external device (Fig. 2). It is noted that there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for how to electrically connect the second circuit board to the position sensor. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide, Asakura, and Song to incorporate the second internal and external pin ends since it has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within their technical grasp for the purpose of providing power to the position sensor.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A), further in view of Song (US 20220357635 A1), and further in view of Jing (US 20220247298 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Song discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 8, including the magnet, as set forth above. Neither Ide, Asakura, nor Song disclose the variable aperture further comprises a magnetic conductive sheet, the magnetic conductive sheet is fastened to the body part, and the magnetic conductive sheet is disposed opposite to the magnet.
However, Jing teaches a driving apparatus comprising a base with a body part (8; Fig. 2; ¶0034), a magnet (4; Fig. 2; ¶0034), and a magnetic conductive sheet (9; Fig. 2; ¶0034), wherein the magnetic conductive sheet (9) is fastened to the body part (8) (Fig. 2; ¶0034), and the magnetic conductive sheet (9) is disposed opposite to the magnet (4) (Fig. 2; ¶0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide, Asakura, and Song to incorporate the magnetic conductive sheet of Jing of the purpose of generating a magnetic force.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A) and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 4349265 A), hereinafter Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 13, Ide in view of Asakura discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose the first protrusion part is further provided with a plurality of grooves disposed at an interval, and an opening of a groove is located on a peripheral side surface of the first protrusion part; wherein the rotation ring is further provided with an annular groove and an annular frame, and the annular groove is formed by inwardly curving an inner ring surface of the annular frame towards an outer ring surface of the annular frame; and wherein the variable aperture further comprises a plurality of roll balls, the plurality of roll balls and the plurality of grooves are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence, a part of each roll ball is disposed in the groove, and the other part of each roll ball is disposed in the annular groove, each roll ball rotates relative to a groove wall of the groove, and each roll ball further rolls relative to a groove wall of the annular groove.
However, Kobayashi teaches a similar driving apparatus, comprising a first protrusion part (19; Figs. 6, 3, 4b) and a rotation ring (21; Figs. 6, 3, 4b), wherein the first protrusion part (19) is further provided with a plurality of grooves (Figs. 6, 3, 4b) disposed at an interval (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), and an opening of the groove is located on a peripheral side surface of the first protrusion part (19) (Figs. 6, 3, 4b); wherein the rotation ring (21) is further provided with an annular groove (21c; Figs. 6, 3, 4b) and an annular frame (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), and the annular groove (21c) is formed by inwardly curving an inner ring surface of the annular frame towards an outer ring surface of the annular frame (Figs. 6, 3, 4b); and wherein the variable aperture further comprises a plurality of roll balls (2; Figs. 6, 3, 4b), the plurality of roll balls (2) and the plurality of grooves are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), a part of each roll ball (2) is disposed in the groove (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), and the other part of the roll ball (2) is disposed in the annular groove (21c) (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), the roll ball (2) rotates relative to a groove wall of the groove (Figs. 6, 3, 4b), and the roll ball (2) further rolls relative to a groove wall of the annular groove (21c) (Figs. 6, 3, 4b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide and Asakura to incorporate the ball bearings of Kobayashi for the purpose of enabling the rotational movement of the device (col. 1 lines 15-21 of Kobayashi).
Claim(s) 16-18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A) and further in view of Shabtay et al. (US 20120294597 A1), hereinafter Shabtay.
Regarding independent claim 16, Ide discloses
a driving apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the driving apparatus (Fig. 1) comprises a variable aperture (100; Fig. 1; ¶0037),
wherein the variable aperture (100) comprises a base (200; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a rotation ring (300; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a plurality of blades (400, 600; Fig. 1; ¶0038), and a piezoelectric ceramic;
wherein the base (200) comprises a body part (lower part of 200; Fig. 1; ¶0039) and a first protrusion part (202; Fig 1; ¶0039), a bottom of the first protrusion part (202) is fastened to the body part (Fig. 1), the base (200) is provided with a first via (210; Fig. 1; ¶0039), and the first via (210) penetrates the first protrusion part (202) and the body part (Fig. 1);
wherein the rotation ring (300) is sleeved on an outer peripheral side of the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1), and is rotationally connected to at least one of the first protrusion part (202) or the body part (Fig. 1; ¶0041);
wherein the plurality of blades (400, 600) are located on a side that is of the first protrusion part (202) and that is away from the body part (Fig. 1), the plurality of blades (400, 600) are distributed in an annular manner and together form an aperture hole by enclosing (Fig. 1), the aperture hole is disposed opposite to the first via (210) (Fig. 1), and each blade (400, 600) is rotationally connected to the rotation ring (300) (Fig. 1; ¶0042) and is slidably connected to the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1; ¶0042); and
an actuator for driving the driving apparatus (¶0037).
Ide is silent on the actuator (¶0037 states “description of an actuator for driving a driving member, a connecting mechanism which connects the actuator and the driving member, and a fastener for preventing each of the components from being separated is omitted”). Particularly, Ide does not disclose the actuator is a piezoelectric ceramic, wherein the piezoelectric ceramic is fastened to the base and is located on an outer side of the rotation ring, the piezoelectric ceramic is configured to deform under signal control, to drive the rotation ring to rotate relative to the base, each blade is configured to rotate relative to the rotation ring and slide relative to the first protrusion part, and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole.
However, Asakura teaches a similar driving apparatus comprising a variable aperture (Fig. 1), which comprises a base (6; Fig. 1; col. 5 lines 7-29), a rotation arm (4, 5; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 11-24), a plurality of blades (8; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 25-31), and a piezoelectric ceramic (12; Fig. 3; col. 5 lines 30-57), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being fastened to the base (6) (Figs. 1-2) and being located on an outer side of the rotation arm (4, 5) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) and the rotation arm (4, 5) being on a same side of the body part of the base (6) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation arm (4, 5) to rotate (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6), each blade (8) configured to rotate relative to the rotation arm (4, 5) and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6).
Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose the driving apparatus being part of an electronic device, which further comprises a lens assembly, wherein the variable aperture is fastened to the lens assembly and is located on a light inlet side of the lens assembly.
However, Shabtay discloses a similar driving apparatus that is part of an electronic device (Figs. 8-9) comprising a variable aperture (Figs. 1A, 1B) and a lens assembly (102; Fig. 1; ¶0050), wherein the variable aperture is fastened to the lens assembly (102) and is located on a light inlet side of the lens assembly (102) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic fastened to the base and located on an outer side of the rotation ring and have the piezoelectric ceramic and the rotation ring be on the same side of the body part of the base as taught by the piezoelectric ceramic and rotation arm of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura), and to incorporate the lens assembly of Shabtay for the purpose of focusing the light.
Regarding claim 17, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Shabtay discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, as set forth above. Ide does not disclose the piezoelectric ceramic is in a strip shape.
However, Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) is in a strip shape (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura).
Regarding claim 18, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Shabtay discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, including the piezoelectric ceramic, as set forth above. Ide further discloses the rotation ring (300) comprises an outer ring surface (Fig. 1), the outer ring surface is a surface that is of the rotation ring (300) and that is away from the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1). Ide does not disclose the piezoelectric ceramic contacts the outer ring surface of the rotation ring.
However, Asakura teaches the piezoelectric ceramic (12) contacts the outer part of the rotation arm (4, 5) (Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura).
Regarding independent claim 26, Ide discloses
a driving apparatus (Fig. 1), the driving apparatus comprising
a variable aperture (100; Fig. 1; ¶0037), the variable aperture (100) comprising a base (200; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a rotation ring (300; Fig. 1; ¶0038), a plurality of blades (400, 600; Fig. 1; ¶0038),
wherein the base (200) comprises a body part (lower part of 200; Fig. 1; ¶0039) and a first protrusion part (202; Fig 1; ¶0039), a bottom of the first protrusion part (202) is fastened to the body part (Fig. 1), the base (200) is provided with a first via (210; Fig. 1; ¶0039), and the first via (210) penetrates the first protrusion part (202) and the body part (Fig. 1),
wherein the rotation ring (300) is sleeved on an outer peripheral side of the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1), and is rotationally connected to at least one of the first protrusion part (202) or the body part (Fig. 1; ¶0041),
wherein the plurality of blades (400, 600) is located on a side that is of the first protrusion part (202) and that is away from the body part (Fig. 1), the plurality of blades (400, 600) being distributed in an annular manner and enclose together to form an aperture hole (Fig. 1), the aperture hole is disposed opposite to the first via (210) (Fig. 1), and each blade (400, 600) is rotationally connected to the rotation ring (300) (Fig. 1; ¶0042) and is slidably connected to the first protrusion part (202) (Fig. 1; ¶0042), and
an actuator for driving the driving apparatus (¶0037).
Ide is silent on the actuator (¶0037 states “description of an actuator for driving a driving member, a connecting mechanism which connects the actuator and the driving member, and a fastener for preventing each of the components from being separated is omitted”). Particularly, Ide does not disclose the actuator is a piezoelectric ceramic, wherein the piezoelectric ceramic is fastened to the base and is located on an outer side of the rotation ring, the piezoelectric ceramic being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation ring to rotate relative to the base, each blade configured to rotate relative to the rotation ring and slide relative to the first protrusion part, and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole.
However, Asakura teaches a similar driving apparatus comprising a variable aperture (Fig. 1), which comprises a base (6; Fig. 1; col. 5 lines 7-29), a rotation arm (4, 5; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 11-24), a plurality of blades (8; Fig. 1; col. 6 lines 25-31), and a piezoelectric ceramic (12; Fig. 3; col. 5 lines 30-57), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being fastened to the base (6) (Figs. 1-2) and being located on an outer side of the rotation arm (4, 5) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) and the rotation arm (4, 5) being on a same side of the body part of the base (6) (Figs. 1-2), the piezoelectric ceramic (12) being configured to deform under signal control to drive the rotation arm (4, 5) to rotate (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6), each blade (8) configured to rotate relative to the rotation arm (4, 5) and change a hole diameter of the aperture hole (Figs. 2-3; cols. 5-6).
Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose the driving apparatus being part of an electronic device, which further comprises a lens assembly, wherein the variable aperture of the driving apparatus is fastened to the lens assembly and is located on a light inlet side of the lens assembly.
However, Shabtay discloses a similar driving apparatus that is part of an electronic device (Figs. 8-9) comprising a variable aperture (Figs. 1A, 1B) and a lens assembly (102; Fig. 1; ¶0050), wherein the variable aperture is fastened to the lens assembly (102) and is located on a light inlet side of the lens assembly (102) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the piezoelectric ceramic fastened to the base and located on an outer side of the rotation ring and have the piezoelectric ceramic and the rotation ring be on the same side of the body part of the base as taught by the piezoelectric ceramic and rotation arm of Asakura for the purpose of controlling the operation of the blades to a high accuracy level in a compact manner (col. 2 lines 5-11 of Asakura), and to incorporate the lens assembly of Shabtay for the purpose of focusing the light.
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (US 20080199177 A1) in view of Asakura (US 4862207 A), further in view of Shabtay (US 20120294597 A1), and further in view of Hsiao et al. (US 20080118239 A1), hereinafter Hsiao.
Regarding claim 27, Ide in view of Asakura and further in view of Shabtay discloses the electronic device according to claim 26, including the lens assembly, as set forth above. Neither Ide nor Asakura disclose wherein the lens assembly comprises a motor and a camera lens, the camera lens is disposed on the motor, and the motor is configured to drive the camera lens to move in an optical axis direction of the lens assembly; and wherein the variable aperture is fastened to the camera lens and is located on a light inlet side of the camera lens.
Shabtay teaches the lens assembly (102) comprises a camera lens (Fig. 1; ¶0004, ¶0007), wherein the variable aperture is fastened to the camera lens and is located on a light inlet side of the camera lens (Fig. 1).
Shabtay does not teach the lens assembly comprises a motor, the camera lens is disposed on the motor, and the motor is configured to drive the camera lens to move in an optical axis direction of the lens assembly.
However, Hsiao teaches a similar electronic device comprising a lens assembly (2; ¶0015) comprising a motor (¶0015) and a camera lens (2; ¶0015), the camera lens is disposed on the motor (Fig. 1; ¶0016), and the motor is configured to drive the camera lens to move in an optical axis direction of the lens assembly (¶0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide to incorporate the lens assembly of Shabtay for the purpose of focusing the light and incorporate the motor of Hsiao for the purpose of providing an autofocusing function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior art fails to disclose, either singly or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 6, including the limitation “the variable aperture further comprises an elastic component, the elastic component is fastened to the body part, the first circuit board is fastened to the elastic component, and the elastic component is configured to squeeze the first circuit board, so that the piezoelectric ceramic exerts an action force on the rotation ring.” Claim 7 is dependent on claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art fails to disclose, either singly or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 10, including the limitation “the body part is provided with a second protrusion part, the second protrusion part is disposed at an interval with the first protrusion part, the second protrusion part is located on the side that is of the rotation ring and that is away from the first protrusion part, and the magnet is disposed opposite to the second protrusion part; and wherein the second circuit board is fastened to a surface that is of the second protrusion part and that faces the magnet.”
Regarding claim 11, the closest prior art fails to disclose, either singly or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 11, including the limitation “the rotation ring comprises an annular frame and a first bump, the first bump is convexly disposed on an outer ring surface of the annular frame, and the first bump and the annular frame enclose to form an accommodating space; and wherein the magnet is disposed in an accommodating space, one side of the magnet is fastened to the annular frame, and the other side of the magnet is fastened to the first bump.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Buzerak et al. (US 20140061467 A1) discloses a similar variable aperture comprising a piezoelectric motor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 March 5th, 2026
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872