DETAILED ACTION
Claims 23-27 are withdrawn. Claims 23-32 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §120, §121, or §365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/003385, filed on 01/28/2022.
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 (a)-(d). The certified copies of JP2021-012817, 01/29/2021, and JP2021-126318, 07/30/2021 were submitted on 27 July 2023.
Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. §120 or §365(c).
Claims 28-32 have the effective filing date of 30 July 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 27 July 2023 and 21 January 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (Claims 28-32), in the reply filed on 17 November 2025, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that even if the prior art describes the relationship between Allobaculum's occupancy rate and obesity, this is a separate matter from the number of bacterial species belonging to the Erysipelotrichaceae family and the prior art does not destroy novelty regarding the "number of bacterial species." However, the claimed subject matter does not describe any specific number of bacterial species with regard to the functions of the various system 'means' as instantly-claimed (e.g., reception means for receiving data). In addition, in order to determine that Allobaculum is (or is not) associated with obesity, the prior art reference does show specific numbers (i.e., numerical values) of Allobaculum bacteria. Therefore, this argument is not found to be persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 23-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement mailed on 15 September 2025 in the reply filed on 17 November 2025.
Claims 28-32 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 23-27 show incorrect status identifiers. Applicant is reminded that claims 23-27 should be labeled: “(Withdrawn)”; remaining claims should be identified appropriately (MPEP 714 (II)(C)(A)) (See 37 CFR 1.121 (c)). Applicant is required to provide a new claim set showing correct status identifiers in the response to this Office Action.
Claim 28 recites: "A system for predicting obesity in an animal, comprising: reception means for receiving data on the number of bacterial species...belonging to a predetermined bacterial family regarding bacteria present in the body of an animal or in a sample isolated from the animal; and determination means for predicting whether or not the animal will become obese from data on the number of bacterial species...belonging to a predetermined bacterial family regarding bacteria present in the body of an animal or in a sample isolated from the animal", which should read, for the purpose of clear antecedent basis: "A system for predicting obesity in an animal, comprising: reception means for receiving data on the number of bacterial species or occupancy rate of bacteria belonging to a predetermined bacterial family regarding bacteria present in the body of an animal or in a sample isolated from the animal; and determination means for predicting whether or not the animal will become obese from the data on the number of bacterial species...belonging to the predetermined bacterial family regarding bacteria present in the body of the animal or in the sample isolated from the animal."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
Claims 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, and the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The instant claims were analyzed for eligibility pursuant to the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance as presented in MPEP 2106. The instant claims are drawn to a system for predicting obesity.
As such, the instant claims are drawn to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention. (STEP 1: YES).
The claimed system for predicting obesity comprises: 1) a reception means for receiving data on the number of bacterial species or occupancy rate of bacteria belonging to a predetermined bacterial family; and 2) a determination means for predicting whether or not the animal will become obese from data on the number of bacterial species or occupancy rate of bacteria belonging to a predetermined bacterial family.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the function of the reception means is that it receives or gathers data. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the determination means is that it falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas, because it covers concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04 (a)(2)(III).
As such, claim 28 recites a judicial exception (abstract ideas) in the form of a system for predicting obesity comprising a reception means and a determination means (STEP 2A, PRONG ONE: YES).
The instant claims are drawn to a system for predicting obesity which is a judicial exception (i.e., abstract ideas). The claims do not improve the functioning of a computer or other technology.
Claims 29 and 30 cite specific bacterial families considered to be the predetermined bacterial families. Claims 31 and 32 describe a proposal means for recommending food according to a prediction result.
These claims also recite aspects of the data gathering or mental process functions of the system. That is, there are no additional elements recited in the claimed subject matter beyond the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04 (d).
As such, the instant claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception(s) (STEP 2A, PRONG TWO: NO).
The claims as a whole does not describe significantly more than the recited judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea). The function of the reception means to receive data is considered to be an extra-solution activity performed to gather data, and is considered to be well-understood, routine and conventional. The function of the determination means for predicting whether or not the animal will become obese is considered to be a mental process See MPEP 2106.05 (d)(II).
As noted above, claims 29 and 30 cite specific bacterial families considered to be the predetermined bacterial families. Claims 31 and 32 describe a proposal means for recommending food.
As such, the instant claims as a whole do not describe significantly more than the recited judicial exception (Step 2B: NO).
In summary, the claimed subject matter describes a judicial exception which is not integrated into a practical application, and, as individual elements and as a combination of elements, does not recite ‘significantly more’ than the judicial exception. See Example 6: <http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/abstract_idea _ examples.pdf>.
Accordingly, the instant claims do not constitute patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 31 and 32 recite the limitation "the prediction result" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
35 U.S.C. §112(f)
Claim 28 recites: "A system for predicting obesity in an animal, comprising: reception means for receiving data...; and determination means for predicting whether or not the animal will become obese..."
Claims 31 and 32 recite: "..., further comprising proposal means for recommending food..."
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §112, sixth paragraph:
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Turnbaugh et al. (Pub. No. WO 2008/076696 A2 in IDS 21 January 2025).
Prior art which shows a computer or computer-related apparatus which performs the functions of the reception means and/or the determination means as described in claim 28 and/or which performs the function of the proposal means as described in claims 31 and 32 will be considered to inherently show a reception means, a determination means, and/or a proposal means.
Regarding claim 28, Turnbaugh et al. teaches a method of predicting risk for obesity or an obesity-related disorder in a host (pg. 14, para. [0034]). Turnbaugh et al. further teaches that an obese subject typically has fewer Bacteroidetes and more Firmicutes compared to a lean subject (pg. 15, para. [0039]). The described invention provides tools utilizing the gut microbiome as a diagnostic or prognostic biomarker for obesity risk (pg. 16, cont. para. [0039]). The method comprises, in part, providing a microbiome profile from a host, and providing a plurality of reference microbiome profiles, then selecting the reference profile most similar to the host microbiome profile, such that if the host's microbiome is most similar to a reference obese microbiome, the host is at risk for obesity or an obesity-related disorder. The reference profiles may be stored on a computer-readable medium such that software known in the art and detailed in the examples may be used to compare the microbiome profile and the reference profiles (pg. 54, para. [0097]). A profile may be digitally-encoded on a computer-readable medium. The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any medium that participates in providing instructions to a processor for execution" (pg. 52, para. [0094]). A particular profile may be coupled with additional data about that profile on a computer readable medium (pg. 53, para. [0095]).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, pertaining to Ruminococcaceae, Turnbaugh et al. teaches that an obese subject typically has fewer Bacteroidetes and more Firmicutes compared to a lean subject (pg. 15, para. [0039]). Generally speaking, to promote weight loss, the relative abundance of bacteria within the Bacteroidetes division is increased and optionally, the relative abundance of bacteria within the Firmicutes division is decreased (pg. 16, para. [0040]). The relative abundance of Bacteroidetes may be altered by increasing or decreasing the presence of one or more Bacteroidetes species that reside in the gut. Non-limiting examples of Bacteroidetes and Firmicutes species are listed in Table A (pg. 16, para. [0041]; and pg. 17, Table A). Table A lists several Ruminococcus species (pg. 17, Table A, #8, #11, #12 and #30).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Turnbaugh et al. (Pub. No. WO 2008/076696 A2) in view of Ueda et al. (Pub. No. JP 2006048177 A; see NPL as English machine translation (EngMT) for page/para. numbers).
Turnbaugh et al. does not specifically teach a proposal means for recommending food according to the prediction result by the determination means, as part of the system [Claims 31 and 32].
Ueda et al. teaches a dietary management system that proposes a specific meal menu for improving a meal content when a comprehensive evaluation is performed and the overall evaluation is low (pg. 2, para. [0001]). One aspect of the described invention is an obesity level evaluation means for processing the personal information by the comprehensive evaluation scoring means, and a meal information evaluation means for processing the meal information (pg. 4, para. [0007]). The obesity level evaluation means extracts the height, weight, and body fat percentage stored in the dietary management database, calculates the obesity level from the height and weight, and acquires numerical values (pg. 4, para. [0009] [nexus to Turnbaugh et al.- predicting obesity in an animal]). As a result of comprehensive evaluation, a specific meal menu is proposed (pg. 8, para. [0016]). The meal menu proposing means of the dietary management system (1) has a total evaluation score of 56, and the obesity level, the nutrient satisfaction level, and the food group are among the evaluated items. In order to improve the ratio of the animal food and the vegetable food, the meal menu related to the ratio is searched and extracted from the meal menu for three days to determine the degree of nutrient satisfaction. The meal menu that, in part, uses less oil and fat is selected (pg. 22, para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system for predicting obesity comprising a reception means and a determination means, as taught by Turnbaugh et al., to add a proposal means for recommending food, as taught by Ueda et al., because Ueda et al. shows a system which evaluates or predicts whether or not the subject is obese, which is the system shown by Turnbaugh et al. (MPEP 2143 (I)(G)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have made that modification, because Ueda et al. shows that the eating habit management system can be individualized according to the information provided by the specific subject. Ueda et al. shows an application of the system to the specific customer Koichi Mikami (pg. 21, para. [0046]). An individualized outcome would be considered to provide the optimal therapeutic approach to reducing the obesity in the specific subject. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Turnbaugh et al. shows that in addition to administration of a composition of the described invention for weight loss, a subject may also be placed on a restricted calorie diet. Restricted calorie diets are helpful for increasing the relative abundance of Bacteroidetes and decreasing the relative abundance of Firmicutes. Representative diets include a reduced fat diet, reduced protein, or a reduced carbohydrate diet (pg. 26, para. [0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of devising a system for predicting obesity to also include in the system a proposal means which would recommend foods according to the obesity level of the animal, because both Turnbaugh et al. and Ueda et al. teach this proposal (MPEP 2143 (I)(G)).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
This Office action is a Non-Final action. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action.
/SMP/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657