ACTIVE MATERIAL PARTICLE, ELECTROCHEMICAL ELEMENT, AND ELECTROCHEMICAL DEVICE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/274,575 Art Unit: 1727 February 12, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 27, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sha et al. (US 2021/0288316 A1; as found in IDS dated 04/02/2025).
As to Claims 1-2 and 8-11, Sha discloses a battery, comprising: a first electrode; a second electrode; and an electrolyte, wherein one of the electrodes comprises: a current collector and an active material layer composed of active material particles provided thereon (paragraphs [0070-0071]). Said active material particles comprise: composite particles each containing a lithium silicate phase and a silicon phase dispersed therein; a first coating (intermediate layer) covering at least a part of the surfaces of the composite particles, wherein the first coating comprises MxSiyOz; wherein M is one or more of Al, Ca, Mg, Be, Sr, Ba, Ti and Zr and a nonmetallic doping element such as carbon; and a second coating comprising a carbon material provided on the first coating (Abstract, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0011,0015-0016, 0036, 0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha et al. (US 2021/0288316 A1; as found in IDS dated 04/02/2025).
As to Claims 3 and 5, Sha teaches wherein the intermediate layer (first coating) comprises MxSiyOz; wherein M is one or more of Al, Ca, Mg, Be, Sr, Ba, Ti and Zr and the molar ratio of M+Si is 0.01 to 0.3 (paragraph [0039 and 0053]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the first coating of Sha to read on the claims because Sha teaches that stability of the active material particle can be ensured (paragraph [0015]).
As to Claim 7, Sha teaches wherein the depth of the pores of the intermediate layer (reads on particle radius) is 10-500 nm (claim 8). This range overlaps with the claimed range. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the first coating of Sha to have the claimed thickness because Sha teaches that stability of the active material particle can be ensured (paragraph [0015]). In addition, the courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha et al. (US 2021/0288316 A1; as found in IDS dated 04/02/2025) as applied to claims 1-3, 5 and 7-11 above and in further view of Jiang et al. (US 2022/0052327 A1; as found in IDS dated 04/02/2025).
As to Claims 4 and 6, Sha does not specifically disclose the claimed materials for the first coating layer.
However, Jiang teaches of anode active material particles, comprising a silicon oxide phase core and a first coating layer comprising an oxide MeOy layer, wherein Me can be Al, Cr, Si and/or Mn and y is 0.5-3 (Abstract). At the time of the invention, it would have bee obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the intermediate layer (first coating layer) of Sha to comprise the claimed oxides because Jiang teaches that the cycle performance of the battery can be improved and the impedance of the battery can be significantly reduced (Abstract).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727