DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 12 March 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2003/0151173).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Wang et al. discloses a sol producing apparatus that produces a sol for use in production of a silica porous body having macropores (see paras. [0011]; [0073]-[0078]; Fig. 8), the sol producing apparatus comprising:
a mixing section (330), suitable for preparing a mixed liquid comprising a silica precursor, a catalyst and a macropore forming agent (see paras. [0074]; [0075]; Fig. 8);
a first feeding section (331), suitable for feeding silica precursor to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a second feeding section (334), suitable for feeding the catalyst and the macropore forming agent in admixture with or separately from each other to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a discharging pipe (340), suitable for discharging the mixed liquid from the mixing section (see para. [0076]; Fig. 8); and
a cooling section (344), suitable for cooling the mixed liquid flowing through the discharging pipe (340) to 35oC or less (see para. [0081]; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, as no structural distinction is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus of Wang et al., the apparatus of Wang et al. is considered capable of performing the functions recited in claim 2 (see paras. [0053]; [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, as no structural distinction is seen between the instantly claimed apparatus and that of the apparatus of Wang et al., the apparatus of Wang et al. is considered capable of performing the function recited in claim 4 (see para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Wang et al. discloses a gel producing apparatus that produces a gel for use in production of a silica porous body having macropores (see paras. [0011]; [0073]-[0078]; Fig. 8), the gel producing apparatus comprising a sol producing section (see paras. [0073]-[0078]; Fig. 8) and a gel producing section ([0070]; [0078]; [0092]; [0122]), wherein:
the sol producing section comprises:
a mixing section (330), suitable for preparing a mixed liquid comprising a silica precursor, a catalyst and a macropore forming agent (see paras. [0074]; [0075]; Fig. 8);
a first feeding section (331), suitable for feeding silica precursor to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a second feeding section (334), suitable for feeding the catalyst and the macropore forming agent in admixture with or separately from each other to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a discharging pipe (340), suitable for discharging the mixed liquid from the mixing section (see para. [0076]; Fig. 8); and
a cooling section (344), suitable for cooling the mixed liquid flowing through the discharging pipe (340) to 35oC or less (see para. [0081]; Fig. 8); and
the gel producing section comprises a heating section, suitable for heating a sol produced in the sol producing section to a gelation temperature (see paras. [0085]; [0173]).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Wang et al. discloses a silica porous body producing apparatus that produces a silica porous body having macropores, the silica porous body producing apparatus comprising a sol producing section (see paras. [0011]; Fig. 8), a gel producing section (see paras. [0070]; [0078]; [0092]; [0122]), a silica porous body producing section (see paras. [0230]-[0238]), wherein:
the sol producing section comprises:
a mixing section (330), suitable for preparing a mixed liquid comprising a silica precursor, a catalyst and a macropore forming agent (see paras. [0074]; [0075]; Fig. 8);
a first feeding section (331), suitable for feeding silica precursor to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a second feeding section (334), suitable for feeding the catalyst and the macropore forming agent in admixture with or separately from each other to the mixing section (see para. [0074]; Fig. 8);
a discharging pipe (340), suitable for discharging the mixed liquid from the mixing section (see para. [0076]; Fig. 8); and
a cooling section (344), suitable for cooling the mixed liquid flowing through the discharging pipe (340) to 35oC or less (see para. [0081]; Fig. 8);
the gel producing section comprises a heating section, suitable for heating a sol produced in the sol producing section to a gelation temperature (see paras. [0085]; [0173]); and
the silica porous body producing section comprises a firing section (i.e., a furnace), suitable for firing a gel produced in the gel producing section (see paras. [0230]-[0238]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2003/0151173).
Regarding claim 3, the claim depends from claim 1 such that the reasoning applied to claim 1 above is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Wang et al. discloses the sol producing apparatus, wherein: the cooling section comprises a cooling medium (344); and a portion of the discharging pipe (340), the portion being in contact with the cooling medium (see para. [0076]; Fig. 8). The reference Wang et al. is, however, silent with respect to the specific dimensions of the discharging pipe. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the length of the discharging pipe in contact with the cooling medium and the inner diameter of the discharging pipe are parameters which are subject to optimization to provide a sufficient surface area to permit heat exchange between the mixed liquid flowing through the discharging pipe and the cooling medium surrounding the discharging pipe. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the discharging pipe in dimensions within the ranges as claimed by applicant through a mere routine experimentation and optimization to attain an optimal surface area to sufficiently cool the mixed liquid flowing through the discharging pipe to a desired temperature, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 5, the claim depends from claim 1 such that the reasoning applied to claim 1 above is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Wang et al. is silent with respect to the apparatus further including a recovering container that recovers the mixed liquid discharged through the discharging pipe; and a stirring section for stirring the mixed liquid recovered in the recovering container. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang et al. to include a container (55) equipped with a stirring means such as that illustrated in Fig. 7 of Wang et al. downstream of the discharging pipe, since the reference Wang et al. teaches that the mixed liquid may suitably be subjected to additional cooling procedures to reduce the temperature of the mixture (see paras. [0076]). Furthermore, the reference Wang et al. teaches that the mixed liquid may suitably be stirred prior to pouring the mixed liquid into a mold (see paras. [0085]; [0164]).
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774