DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments / amendments are persuasive for claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 16-17, and 20-21. The 102 / 103 rejections to these have been withdrawn. However, there are outstanding 112(b) issues related to claims 16 and 21. These claims and any dependents are currently objected.
Claim 10 and its dependents still stand rejected, since the amendment does not bring in the previously allowable subject matter, nor has an argument been made concerning the present amendments which are substantially similar to elements of the previously rejected claim 11.
The 112 (a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first locking element” in claims 2-3 and 16-17,
“second locking element” in claims 2-3 and 19-20, and
“retainer” in claims 1, 10, and 14-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a first retainer…that comprises removing a retainer…” This is indefinite since there is only one retainer.
Claim 21 has several issues. It is assumed these are because of the now amended claim 1. As such, claim 21 now recites:
“a second line divider set …. and operably coupled with the structural frame, the second line divider set comprising”
“a second pivoting frame”
“a second connection element operably coupled to the second pivoting frame and the structural frame”
Each of these elements appear now in independent claim 1 from which claim 21 now depends, this creates indefiniteness since it is unclear if a new second element of these is being introduced. As stated, it is assumed these are because of the now amended claim 1.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected for depending on a rejected indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 - 12, 15, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyronimus et al. (US 2013/0019581 A1), hereinafter Hyro in view of Bertino (US 20170280626 A1), hereinafter Bert.
Regarding claim 10, Hyro discloses a cutting and harvesting assembly of an agricultural machine (fig. 1, abstract), the cutting and harvesting assembly comprising:
a structural frame (1, fig. 1, par. 0043); and
a line divider set (4, fig. 1, 13, and 14, par. 0048 and 0057) operably coupled with the structural frame (fig. 1, 13, and 14, par. 0048 and 0057), the line divider set comprising:
a pivoting frame (47+48, fig. 14, par. 0058);
a connection element (41a, par. 0058) operably coupled to the pivoting frame and the structural frame (par. 0058), the connection element maintaining the pivoting frame in a first position and a second position (par. 0057-0058) wherein the connection element includes a support arm (43, fig. 13, par. 0058) defining a non-linear portion, and wherein the non-linear portion define a slots (slot that hinges 44 are placed in, par. 0058, fig. 13);
a first feed roller (49a on the left in fig. 14, fig. 1, and 14, par. 0058) operably coupled with the pivoting frame (par. 0048 and 0057-0058); and
a second feed roller (49a on the right in fig. 14, fig. 1, and 14, par. 0058) separated from the first pivoting frame (fig. 14) and operably coupled with the structural frame (par. 0048 and 0057-0058),
wherein the first feed roller is a first distance from the second roller when the pivoting frame is in the first position and the second feed roller is a second, smaller distance from the second roller when the pivoting frame is in the second position (see fig. 1, 2, and 14, wherein the position of 49a on the left in fig. 14 is in one position and 49a on the right in fig. 14 is in a different position and the distance is less when both are closer to 48 as shown by 49a on the right in fig. 14); and
a guide (44, par. 0058, fig. 13) positioned within the slot and operably coupled with the structural frame (par. 0058, fig. 13).
However, Hyro fails to explicitly disclose a first and second feed roller.
Bert teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein a first feed roller (49a on the left in fig. 14, fig. 1, and 14, par. 0058) operably coupled with the pivoting frame (par. 0048 and 0057-0058); and a second feed roller (49a on the right in fig. 14, fig. 1, and 14, par. 0058) separated from the first pivoting frame (fig. 14) and operably coupled with the structural frame (par. 0048 and 0057-0058), wherein the first feed roller is a first distance from the second roller when the pivoting frame is in the first position and the second feed roller is a second, smaller distance from the second roller when the pivoting frame is in the second position (see fig. 1, 2, and 14, wherein the position of 49a on the left in fig. 14 is in one position and 49a on the right in fig. 14 is in a different position and the distance is less when both are closer to 48 as shown by 49a on the right in fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the head 102 of Hyro with the feed rollers of Bert to yield the predictable result of harvesting the particular crop (par. 0002 of Hyro; par. 0051 of Bert).
Regarding claim 11, Hyro in view of Bert further teaches wherein the support arm (43, fig. 13, par. 0058) further defining one or more retaining openings (slot that hinges 44 are placed in, par. 0058, fig. 13).
Regarding claim 12, Hyro in view of Bert further teaches wherein a guide (44, par. 0058, fig. 13) is positioned within the one or more retaining openings and operably coupled with the structural frame (par. 0058, fig. 13).
Regarding claim 15, Hyro in view of Bert further teaches wherein the structural frame (242, fig. 2a-2d, par. 0022) defines a retainment opening (250 and 252), and wherein a segment of the retainer (270 and 272) is positioned within the retainment opening (fig. 2b-2d).
Regarding claim 22, Hyro in view of Bert further teaches a retainer (42a, fig. 13, par. 0057-0058) positioned within a retainer bracket (10, fig. 13, par. 0057-0058) and removably couplable with a connection element (41, fig. 13, par. 0057-0058) comprising the first connection element (41a, fig. 13, par. 0057-0058), wherein the retainer bracket (10, fig. 13, par. 0057-0058) is operably coupled with the structural frame (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 23, Hyro in view of Bert further teaches wherein the retainer (270 and 272 and 274, fig. 2a-2d, par. 0026-0027) is positioned through one or more retainer voids (248 and 250 and 252 and 254, fig. 2b and 2d, par. 0022 and 0026) defined by the retainer bracket (244+246, fig. 2a-2d, par. 0026), and wherein the retainer is configured to be selectively disposed within a retaining opening defined by the support arm (fig. 2b, 0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9 are allowed.
Claim 16, 17, and 20-21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for incorporating the previously indicated allowable subject matter into independent claim 1; claim 1’s dependents 3-6, 8-9 are likewise allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676