DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 09/08/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1 and 8 been amended. Claims 19 and 20 are new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant argues that amendment of claim 1 to remove the language of “such as” overcomes the prior 112 rejection of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 9/8/2025, with respect to 112 rejection of claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 1-18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that prior art KRAPSHC fails to teach the anionic polymer is added before the GPAM strength agent.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. KRAPSCH teaches cationic glyoxylated polyacrylamide is used as a dry/wet strength additive [0263]. KRAPSCH also teaches anionic polymer in the form of polyacrylic acid is added to the papermaking furnish with dry/wet strength additive [0246]. KRAPSCH further teaches the anionic polymer can be added after the addition of GPAM in the thick stock [0303]. KRAPSCH also teaches the anionic polymer can be added before the GPAM without issue though less preferred [0303]. This teaches the limitation of the claim of “adding an anionic polymer to the pulp, and after the anionic polymer is added, adding cationic glyoxylated polyacrylamide (GPAM) to the pulp”. Though less preferred the addition of anionic polymer before the GPAM is still preferred. KRAPSCH further teaches the ratio of anionic and cationic polymer is more critical than the addition order [0303].
Applicant argues that prior art KRAPSCH fails to teach that the pH should be different when adding the two compounds, let alone that the addition should be made at the specific pH ranges.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., different pH at addition of anionic polymer and GPAM) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner notes the difference in pH between the addition points are not presented in comparative terms relative to one another. The pH are only claimed as individual ranges without reference or relation to other pH range. KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is before GPAM addition and when the anionic polymer is added. This range overlaps the instant claim range for claim 3 and is narrowly encompasses the range of claim 8.
Applicant argues that prior art, KRAPSCH, fails to teach the amended claims and all dependent claims thereon are allowable.
Examiner notes that KRAPSCH teaches the limitations of claim 1 as above. All claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "The method of claim 7" in the preamble. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner understands the limitation to recite “The method of claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1).
For claim 1, KRAPSCH teaches a method of increasing strength in paper [ABSTRACT]. KRAPSCH teaches the method starts with pulping an aqueous cellulose [0023]. This teaches the limitation of “A method of producing a paper on a paper machine, comprising the steps of: a) providing a pulp”. KRAPSCH also teaches anionic polymer in the form of polyacrylic acid is added to the papermaking furnish with dry/wet strength additive [0246]. KRAPSCH further teaches the anionic polymer can be added after the addition of GPAM in the thick stock [0303]. KRAPSCH also teaches the anionic polymer can be added before the GPAM without issue though less preferred [0303]. This teaches the limitation of the claim of “b) adding an anionic polymer to the pulp, and after the anionic polymer is added, adding cationic glyoxylated polyacrylamide (GPAM) to the pulp”. Though less preferred the addition of anionic polymer before the GPAM is still preferred. KRAPSCH further teaches the ratio of anionic and cationic polymer is more critical than the addition order [0303]. KRAPSCH also teaches the formation of web with the use of a flowbox [0196]. The examiner understands a flowbox to be a headbox. This teaches the limitation of “c) forming a web from the pulp in a forming section comprising a head box”. KRAPSCH teaches the web is then pressed in a press section [0196]. This teaches “d) pressing the web in a press section” of the instant claim. KRAPSCH teaches the drying of the web in a drying section [0197] and calendering in a calender [0197]. This teaches the limitations of “e) drying the web in a drying section; and f) optionally calendering the web in a calender”.
For claim 2, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulp is refined [0189]. This teaches the limitation “wherein the pulp is refined”.
For claim 6, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1 as above. KRAPSCH teaches the material is refined only before the strength additive [0189]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the pulp is not subjected to refining after the cationic G-PAM addition”.
For claim 9, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1 as above. KRAPSCH teaches adding rosin as a sizing agent to the pulp [0187]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising adding at least one hydrophobic size, such as rosin size and/or AKD, to the pulp”.
For claim 17, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the anionic polymer used is polyacrylamide [0246]. This teaches the instant claim limitation of “wherein the anionic polymer is polyacrylamide (A- PAM)”.
For claim 18 KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 9, as above. KRAPSCH teaches adding rosin as a sizing agent to the pulp [0187]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the at least one hydrophobic size is a rosin size and/or AKD”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1).
For claim 3, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is before GPAM addition. This range overlaps the instant claim “wherein the pH of the pulp is in the range of 4.8-5.5 when the cationic G-PAM is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
For claim 4, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulp has a consistency of 3 to 6% [0161]. This overlaps the instant claim limitation range “wherein the consistency of the pulp is in the range of 1.5-3.0 % when the cationic G-PAM is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
For claim 5, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the GPAM is added at 0.5 to 2 kg per ton dry fiber [0221]. This overlaps the range of the instant claim limitation “wherein cationic G-PAM is added in a total amount of 1.5-3.0 kg/tonne dry fiber”. See 2144.05(I).
For claim 8 KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is when the anionic polymer is added. This range encompasses the instant claim “wherein the pH of the pulp is in the range of 6.5-8.0 when the anionic polymer is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
"[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention).
For claim 10, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 9, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is during pulping just before the sizing agent is added. KRAPSCH teaches that any point before step (i) has thick stock [0205]. This stock consistency is at least 2.5% [0205]. These ranges overlaps with the range of the instant claim “wherein the pH of the pulp is in the range of 4.8-5.5 and the consistency of the pulp is in the range of 1.5-3.0 % when the at least one hydrophobic size is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
For claim 12, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches that thick stock is diluted to thin stock after step (i) [0205]. This is just before web formation with the headbox [0206]. KRAPSCH also teaches the thin stock is has a consistency of less than 2.0% [0205]. This range encompasses the instant claim limitation “wherein consistency of the pulp in the head box is 0.20-0.60%”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
For claim 20, KRAPSCH teaches a method of increasing strength in paper [ABSTRACT]. KRAPSCH teaches the method starts with pulping an aqueous cellulose [0023]. This teaches the limitation of “A method of producing a paper on a paper machine, comprising the steps of: a) providing a pulp”. KRAPSCH also teaches anionic polymer in the form of polyacrylic acid is added to the papermaking furnish with dry/wet strength additive [0246]. KRAPSCH further teaches the anionic polymer can be added after the addition of GPAM in the thick stock [0303]. KRAPSCH also teaches the anionic polymer can be added before the GPAM without issue though less preferred [0303]. This teaches the limitation of the claim of “b) adding an anionic polymer to the pulp, and after the anionic polymer is added, adding cationic glyoxylated polyacrylamide (GPAM) to the pulp”. Though less preferred the addition of anionic polymer before the GPAM is still preferred. KRAPSCH further teaches the ratio of anionic and cationic polymer is more critical than the addition order [0303]. KRAPSCH also teaches the formation of web with the use of a flowbox [0196]. The examiner understands a flowbox to be a headbox. This teaches the limitation of “c) forming a web from the pulp in a forming section comprising a head box”. KRAPSCH teaches the web is then pressed in a press section [0196]. This teaches “d) pressing the web in a press section” of the instant claim. KRAPSCH teaches the drying of the web in a drying section [0197] and calendering in a calender [0197]. This teaches the limitations of “e) drying the web in a drying section; and f) optionally calendering the web in a calender”.
KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is when the anionic polymer is added. This range encompasses the instant claim “wherein the pH of the pulp is in the range of 6.5-8.0 when the anionic polymer is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
KRAPSCH teaches the pulping is done at a pH of 5-12 [0164]. This is before GPAM addition. This range overlaps the instant claim “wherein the pH of the pulp is in the range of 4.8-5.5 when the cationic G-PAM is added”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1) in view of VALKEALAAKSO (US 20200291581 A1).
For claim 11, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the addition of clay into solution [0187]. KRAPSH does not specify the amount of filler used. VALKEALAAKSO teaches a similar process to make paper with GPAM [0091] and clay [0075]. VALKEALAAKSO also teaches an ash content of at least 5% [0075]. This range overlaps the range of the instant claim limitation “further comprising adding clay to the pulp in such an amount that the ash content of the paper is in the range of 2.0-5.5 %, such as 3.0-5.0 %”. See MPEP 2144.05(I). It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the ash content of VALKEALAAKSO into the clay composition of KRAPSCH. One would be motivated based on the common strength additive use and clay use.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1) in view of SOYAMA (US 9889411 B2).
For claim 13, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the use of calender but not the conditions of the calender [0197]. SOYAMA teaches a similar process of using cellulose [column 7 line 37] to form a calendered sheet [column 8 line 47]. SOYAMA teaches the paper is calendered in a soft-nip calender [column 8 line 49] at a temperature of 160°C [column 8 line 47]. This temperature value is within range of the instant claim “wherein the calender is a soft nip calender operated at a line load of 60-170 kN/m, and/or a temperature of 100-200 °C”. SOYAMA teaches the paper made in the process has improved strength due to thermal welding for the hot pressing [column 8 line 38]. The examiner understands the line load of the instant claim is an optional limitation and the claim limitations are satisfied if any one of the options are met. This temperature meets the limitations required of the instant claim. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the calender load and temperature of SOYAMA into the calender process of KRAPSCH. One would be motivated based on the common calender use and the advantage of improved strength properties as taught by SOYAMA.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1) in view of VIRTANEN (US 20200080264 A1).
For claim 14, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH teaches the basis weight (grammage) of the resulting paper is 185.8 g/m2 [Table 7]. KRAPSCH does not specify the test method used to measure this value. VIRTANEN teaches the use of a polyacrylamide [0045] in cellulose [0014] to produce a sheet. VIRTANEN also teaches the basis weight is between 70 and 350 g/m2 [0049] according to ISO 536 [TABLE 1]. The examiner understands the 2019 designation shows the year of revision which does not change the methodology. This value overlaps the range of the instant claim “wherein the grammage measured according to ISO 536:2019 of the paper is at least 100 g/m2 and/or the density measured according to ISO 534:2011 of the paper is at least 600 kg/m3”. See 2144.05(I). VIRTANEN teaches the additives helped to improve the strength while maintaining recyclability [0055]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the grammage and test method of VIRTANEN into the process of KRAPSCH. One would be motivated based on the common strength additive use and the advantage of improved mechanical properties as taught by VIRTANEN.
For claim 16, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 2, as above. KRAPSCH does not teach the refinement quality. VIRTANEN teaches the use of a polyacrylamide [0045] in cellulose [0014] to produce a sheet. VIRTANEN teaches the paper can also be low refined with a Schopper-Riegler freeness according to ISO 5267-1:1999 of at least 30° SR [0014]. This value abuts the range of the instant claim “wherein the pulp is refined such that the Schopper-Riegler number measured according to ISO 5267-1:1999 of the pulp in the head box is 20-30”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
VIRTANEN teaches the additives helped to improve the strength while maintaining recyclability [0055]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the grammage and test method of VIRTANEN into the process of KRAPSCH. One would be motivated based on the common strength additive use and the advantage of improved mechanical properties as taught by VIRTANEN.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAPSCH (US 20140284011 A1) in view of SAUKKONEN (US 20200173109 A1).
For claim 15 KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH does not teach the formation quality. SAUKKONEN teaches the use of wet strength agents [0020] and calendering [abstract] to produce a paper web similar to KRAPSCH. SAUKKONEN also teaches the formation quality of the paper is measured using SCAN-P 92:09 at below 0.60 g/m [0028]. This value is within range of the instant claim “wherein the specific formation number measured according to SCAN-P 92:09 of the paper is below 1.00 g/m”. SAUKKONEN teaches the formation provides densification and evenly distribution [0076]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the method of KRAPSCH according to the formation method of SAUKKONEN. One would be motivated based on the advantage of improved density and even web distribution as taught by SAUKKONEN.
For claim 19, KRAPSCH teaches the method of claim 1, as above. KRAPSCH also teaches the use of cellulosic material from virgin fiber to make pulp [0055]. KRAPSCH is silent to the use of hardwood and softwood as virgin fiber sources. SAUKKONEN teaches the use of wet strength agents [0020] and calendering [abstract] to produce a paper web from pulp similar to KRAPSCH. SAUKKONEN also teaches the use of refined pulp made from virgin fiber like KRAPSCH [0045]. SAUKKONEN also teaches that the virgin pulp contains fibers from hardwood and softwood [0045]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the pulp is a mixture of hardwood pulp and softwood pulp”. SAUKKONEN teaches the formation of the invention provides densification and evenly distribution [0076]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the method of KRAPSCH according to the formation method of SAUKKONEN. One would be motivated based on the advantage of improved density and even web distribution as taught by SAUKKONEN.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748