DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments for clarification of the layers overcome the previously applied 112 rejections as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva, WO 2019/126848 (utilizing US Patent Publication 2020/0370243 as an English language equivalent as part of the same PCT file) in view of Heijnesson-Hulten et al, US Patent Publication 2011/0088860.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Da Silva teaches a Kraftliner type paper (see title) in 1-3 layers of construction (see abstract and claim 6) made up of 100% short eucalyptus chemical fibers (see abstract) with a starch additive of 0-30 Kg starch per ton of paper (see abstract) on one or both sides of the paper [0049].
Da Silva teaches everything except for the production of a White top Kraftliner were the outer layers is formed from a bleached short chemical fiber, instead leaving it as a unbleached to form a brown Kraftliner. There is no teaching away form bleached fibers, only a lack of a teaching of making a white Kraftliner.
In the same field of endeavor of making “cellulose products”, Heijnesson-Hulten teaches that a “cellulose product” can be a Kraftliner that is fully bleached, fully unbleached, or a White Top Liner made up of an unbleached back layer with a bleached chemical pulp [0009].
This is a clear teaching that Brown Kraftliners, White Top Kraftliners, and fully White Kraftliners are all functional equivalents in the eyes of the average artisan. They are obvious variants of each other and it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace a Brown Kraftliner with a White Top Kraftliner as a simply substitution of one functional equivalent for another.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Da Silva and Heijnesson-Hulten remains as applied above and Da Silva further teaches that the grammage is 100-300 g/m2 [0045].
Regarding claim 13, Da Silva and Heijnesson-Hulten remains as applied and Heijnesson-Hulten further teaches the use of micro fibrillated cellulose as the additive as another option to starch [0011-0015].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/929,338 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘338 application is a method for making a brown kraftliner, but follows all of the same physical requirements of the product claims of the instant application. The only difference is the difference between a brown kraftliner and a white top kraftliner, which as stated above would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art in view of the Heijnesson-Hulten reference.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748