Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/28/2026 has been entered.
The amendment filed of claims 1has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 , 10-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Rei et al. (Mona Al-Rei, "AUTOMATED 3D VISUALIZATION OF BRAIN CANCER"; MSc. Thesis; McMaster University - eHealth; June 1, 2017; XP055921553; pages i-xvii & 1-120, hereinafter “Al-Rei”) in view of Ngadi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0239953-A1, hereinafter “Ngadi”)
Regarding claim 1, Al-Rei teaches: An information processing system comprising a processor configured to function as a controller configured to execute each of following steps including: (4.1, "The computer script that was used to segment brain tumor form the MRI image and the reconstruction in 3D was written in Python Language because most image processing and manipulation techniques can be carried out effectively with Python and with the Skimage Library. Python is preferable more because of its speed in image processing. The Skimage provides a lot of functions that can help in brain tumor segmentation from the DICOM image also the skimage have a DICOM reader which will allow reading DICOM images which are later converted to numpy array.")
a reading step of reading a plurality of sequential sectional images of an object; (4.1, "The first step in this program is to read the image that tried to be segmented with python. Therefore, each slice of MR image is read to python then picks the required image to the segment after that covert the selected image to numpy array. After the image has been read successfully, the next step to do is to smooth/de-noise the image.")
a setting step of setting, based on a pixel value of a pixel in a predetermined area included in the plurality of sequential sectional images and preset reference information, (4.1.1., "The aim of this method is to extract the tumor and the surrounding edema from the rest of brain tissue by applying region growing algorithm in assistance of ConnectedThresholdImageFilter. This filter labels pixels that are connected to a seed and fall within a range of pixel values. This filter operates on the input image starting from a series of given ‗seed points.' After that, it starts ‗growing‘ a region around those points and keeps adding the neighbouring points of those which their values fall within given thresholds.")
material information representing material of the object for the predetermined area, the preset reference information being information where the pixel value and the material are associated with each other; (4.1.1., "The main criteria for seed point selection is based on determining a seed point that most of neighbouring pixels falls in the same value of this specific seed point, in turn it will get into the largest area of segmented tumor. In this condition, this seed point which involves the large number of pixels considered as the best seed point for segmentation."; Examiner’s Note – The material information representing material of the object is broad and maps to anything that gets information from a material in any area. In the prior art tumor.)
, the material being a parameter, indicating a physical property of the object, the material information being multidimensional information set from to the parameter (2.3.1.1, “The pixels of the same region are labelled by the same symbol while the pixels of other regions are labelled by another symbol [53]. Through this approach it examines the neighbouring pixels of initial ―seed points‖ and decided whether the pixel neighbours should be added to that region or not. These pixels are called allocated pixels which lead to its growth while the rest of pixels called unallocated pixels. The process is iterated several times, in the same manner as general data clustering algorithms [50],[53]. The selected criteria could be, for example, gray level texture, color, or pixel intensity. Regions that are disjoint must be assigned because a single seed point" cannot”; Examiner’s Note – the light and the pixel information indicates a physical property of the object, in the color and also the physical shape of the object. This also means that the material information is a form of multidimensional information as even in a 2d picture, the picture embodies 2 dimensions.)
and a reconstruction step of reconstructing the plurality of sequential sectional images including the predetermined area for which the material information is set and thereby generating three-dimensional data on the object. (4.2., "The marching cube algorithm has been applied to the segmented brain tumor. After the brain tumour has been detected and confirmed the extracted brain tumor will be passing to marching cube function as ―data‖ where the vertices and the faces will be generated to form the 3D. After the 3D has been formed it will be stored as a Stl (Stereo Lithography) file which contains the vertices and faces information.")
Al-Rei does not teach: the parameter including at least one of albedo, a reflectance, and a roughness
However, Ngadi does teach: the parameter including at least one of albedo, a reflectance, and a roughness (Ngadi; [0034], “In an embodiment, imaging system 50 includes a line-scan spectrograph interconnected with an InGaAs camera configured to capture the spectral images.”; [0050], “As used herein, an image feature means a quantifiable property of the image which may be measured as characteristics of an imaged object (e.g., an egg). As used herein, an image texture feature is a feature that describes the smoothness, coarseness, and regularity of the image. An image texture feature may also include colour, intensity, homogeneity, hue, texture of yolk, and surface structure information of an image. So, an image texture feature may contain information about the spatial distribution of tonal variations within a wavelength band.”; Examiner’s Note – Spectrographs take data from different wave lengths and their intensity mapping to albedo, reflectance to hue and intensity, and roughness to coarseness and smoothness)
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify 3d medical image reconstruction (as taught by Al-Rei) to include a form of medical image parameter (as taught by Ngadi) because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results allowing for more surface structure information about the object. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in 3d medical image reconstruction the ability to do include multiple different sensors and sensor types since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein: an image of the plurality of sequential sectional images is a medical image, and the object is predetermined tissue or organ of a human body. (4.1.1., "The aim of this method is to extract the tumor and the surrounding edema from the rest of brain tissue by applying region growing algorithm in assistance of ConnectedThresholdImageFilter. This filter labels pixels that are connected to a seed and fall within a range of pixel values. This filter operates on the input image starting from a series of given ‗seed points.' After that, it starts ‗growing‘ a region around those points and keeps adding the neighbouring points of those which their values fall within given thresholds.")
Regarding claim 3, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein in the setting step, the material information is set based further on a type of the medical image, and the preset reference information is information where the type of the medical image, the pixel value, and the material are associated with each other. (4.1.1., "The aim of this method is to extract the tumor and the surrounding edema from the rest of brain tissue by applying region growing algorithm in assistance of ConnectedThresholdImageFilter. This filter labels pixels that are connected to a seed and fall within a range of pixel values. This filter operates on the input image starting from a series of given ‗seed points.' After that, it starts ‗growing‘ a region around those points and keeps adding the neighbouring points of those which their values fall within given thresholds."; Examiner's Note - The type of medical image in the prior art are brain scans and their filters and material information derived are based on that type of medical image.)
Regarding claim 10, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein in the setting step, based on the pixel value of the pixel in a contour portion of the predetermined area and the preset reference information, the material information is set for the contour portion. (4.1.1., "The aim of this method is to extract the tumor and the surrounding edema from the rest of brain tissue by applying region growing algorithm in assistance of ConnectedThresholdImageFilter. This filter labels pixels that are connected to a seed and fall within a range of pixel values. This filter operates on the input image starting from a series of given ‗seed points.' After that, it starts ‗growing‘ a region around those points and keeps adding the neighbouring points of those which their values fall within given thresholds.")
Regarding claim 11, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein in the setting step, the preset reference information is selected from two or more pieces of the preset reference information depending on the predetermined area, and the material information is set based on the preset reference information. (4.1.1., "The aim of this method is to extract the tumor and the surrounding edema from the rest of brain tissue by applying region growing algorithm in assistance of ConnectedThresholdImageFilter. This filter labels pixels that are connected to a seed and fall within a range of pixel values. This filter operates on the input image starting from a series of given ‗seed points.' After that, it starts ‗growing‘ a region around those points and keeps adding the neighbouring points of those which their values fall within given thresholds.")
Regarding claim 16, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi teaches: An information processing method comprising each step of the information processing system according to claim 1. (4.1, "The computer script that was used to segment brain tumor form the MRI image and the reconstruction in 3D was written in Python Language because most image processing and manipulation techniques can be carried out effectively with Python and with the Skimage Library. Python is preferable more because of its speed in image processing. The Skimage provides a lot of functions that can help in brain tumor segmentation from the DICOM image also the skimage have a DICOM reader which will allow reading DICOM images which are later converted to numpy array.")
Claim(s) 4-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Rei et al. (Mona Al-Rei, "AUTOMATED 3D VISUALIZATION OF BRAIN CANCER"; MSc. Thesis; McMaster University - eHealth; June 1, 2017; XP055921553; pages i-xvii & 1-120, hereinafter “Al-Rei”) in view of Ngadi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0239953-A1, hereinafter “Ngadi”) and Takanami et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0150312 -A1, hereinafter “Takanami”).
Regarding claim 4, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi does not teach:
However, Takanami does teach: The information processing system according to claim 2,wherein: the plurality of sequential sectional images include a first medical image captured by a first medical image diagnosis apparatus and a second medical image captured by a second medical image diagnosis apparatus; (Takanami, Fig. 2)
In the setting step, the material information is set based on the first medical image; in the reconstruction step, the first medical image is reconstructed and first data including the material information on the object is generated; (Takanami, [0048], "The CT, MRI, and PET respectively form image sensors. These images give sensor images. The sensor images have sensor values called CT values, MRI values, or PET values. The intrinsic values for the material characteristics of the tissues are displayed as densities of color.")
In the reconstruction step, the second medical image is reconstructed and second data including a shape of the object is generated; (Takanami, [0050], "To make use of the respective advantages, the tissue images obtained by an MRI image are rearranged on the shapes of contours etc. of a CT image. Note that, PET is one type of computed tomography and is used for cancer diagnosis etc. It becomes possible to generate a model of a cancerous organ using both an CT image and an MRI image.")
and in the reconstruction step, the three-dimensional data is generated based on the first data and the second data. (Takanami, [0073], "The 3D data output unit 703 selects a plurality of images of extracted parts, which the image correction unit 702 prepared, in accordance with the nature of the surgery targeted by the simulation, combines them for each cross-sectional image of the live body, and stacks the obtained combined images for output (FIG. 8, process P804, FIG. 10). By combining and stacking only the organs required for simulation, 3D data of the model to be constructed is obtained (see FIG. 10).")
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify 3d medical image reconstruction (as taught by Al-Rei in view of Ngadi) to include multiple forms of sensors and sensor types in its data collection (as taught by Takanami) because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, 3d medical image reconstruction as modified by multiple forms of sensors and sensor types in its data collection can yield a predictable result of taking advantage of different sensor’s types respective advantages allowing for greater feature details. (Takanami, [0050], “An MRI image has a higher resolution of soft tissue, so has a greater amount of information than a CT image. Therefore, it enables a greater amount of physical values of tissue to be obtained compared with a CT image, but depending on the imaging device, distortion is sometimes caused at the time of capture. The shape is sometimes not accurately reflected. Each image differs in features. To make use of the respective advantages, the tissue images obtained by an MRI image are rearranged on the shapes of contours etc. of a CT image.”) Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in 3d medical image reconstruction the ability to do include multiple different sensors and sensor types since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Al-Rei in view Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 4, wherein:the controller is configured to further execute a correction step of executing a correction process on at least one of the first data and the second data, (Takanami, [0071], "The image correction unit 702 designates an added part by for example red or a deleted part by for example green by a mouse based on the original image for an image which is combined by the image combining unit 701 and which is displayed on the first image display device 201 and outputs a corrected image reflecting the added and deleted information in the extracted image (FIG. 8, process P802). ")
and in the reconstruction step, the three-dimensional data is generated based on the first data and the second data after the correction process. (Takanami, [0073], "The 3D data output unit 703 selects a plurality of images of extracted parts, which the image correction unit 702 prepared,")
Regarding claim 6, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according claim 4,wherein:the controller is configured to further execute an estimation step of estimating, based on the material information, shape information on a detailed shape of the object, and in the reconstruction step, the three-dimensional data is generated based on the shape information. (Takanami, [0073], "The 3D data output unit 703 selects a plurality of images of extracted parts, which the image correction unit 702 prepared, in accordance with the nature of the surgery targeted by the simulation, combines them for each cross-sectional image of the live body, and stacks the obtained combined images for output (FIG. 8, process P804, FIG. 10). By combining and stacking only the organs required for simulation, 3D data of the model to be constructed is obtained (see FIG. 10)."; Examiner's Note - Shape and contour are forms of material information.)
Regarding claim 7, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 4,wherein:the first medical image diagnosis apparatus is a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus, and the second medical image diagnosis apparatus is an X-ray computed tomography apparatus. (Takanami, [0050], "To make use of the respective advantages, the tissue images obtained by an MRI image are rearranged on the shapes of contours etc. of a CT image. Note that, PET is one type of computed tomography and is used for cancer diagnosis etc. It becomes possible to generate a model of a cancerous organ using both an CT image and an MRI image.")
Regarding claim 8, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein in the reconstruction step, color viewed when the three- dimensional data is displayed is determined based on the material information, and the three-dimensional data is generated. (Takanami, [0048], "The CT, MRI, and PET respectively form image sensors. These images give sensor images. The sensor images have sensor values called CT values, MRI values, or PET values. The intrinsic values for the material characteristics of the tissues are displayed as densities of color."; [0050], "To make use of the respective advantages, the tissue images obtained by an MRI image are rearranged on the shapes of contours etc. of a CT image. Note that, PET is one type of computed tomography and is used for cancer diagnosis etc. It becomes possible to generate a model of a cancerous organ using both an CT image and an MRI image.")
Regarding claim 9, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein in the preset reference information, one material is associated with one pixel value. (Takanami, [0048], "The CT, MRI, and PET respectively form image sensors. These images give sensor images. The sensor images have sensor values called CT values, MRI values, or PET values. The intrinsic values for the material characteristics of the tissues are displayed as densities of color.")
Regarding claim 12, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein:the controller is configured to further execute a first receiving a step of receiving first operation input made by a user with respect to the plurality of sequential sectional images, the first operation input including information selecting one from two or more pieces of the preset reference information, and in the setting step, the material information is set based on the first operation input. (Takanami, Fig. 9; [0070], "The operator designates a predetermined range of slice images, uses the image combining unit 701 to combine slice images of the same positions in the height direction of the backbone of the body, that is, slice images obtained by the extracted image data which was output from the target point updating unit 505, and pre-extraction images before extraction obtained from the distortion-corrected image storage unit 206, that is, the contour-corrected slice images, by separate colors so as to enable the two to be visually differentiated (FIG. 8, process P801).")
Regarding claim 13, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein the controller is configured to further execute a second receiving step of receiving second operation input made by a user with respect to the plurality of sequential sectional images, the second operation input including information specifying the predetermined area. (Takanami, Fig. 9; [0070], "The operator designates a predetermined range of slice images, uses the image combining unit 701 to combine slice images of the same positions in the height direction of the backbone of the body, that is, slice images obtained by the extracted image data which was output from the target point updating unit 505, and pre-extraction images before extraction obtained from the distortion-corrected image storage unit 206, that is, the contour-corrected slice images, by separate colors so as to enable the two to be visually differentiated (FIG. 8, process P801).")
Regarding claim 14, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1,wherein:the controller is configured to further execute a third receiving step of receiving third operation input made by a user with respect to the plurality of sequential sectional images, the third operation input including information specifying color corresponding to the material information, and in the reconstruction step, the three-dimensional data is generated based on the material information and the third operation input. (Takanami, Fig. 9; [0070], "The operator designates a predetermined range of slice images, uses the image combining unit 701 to combine slice images of the same positions in the height direction of the backbone of the body, that is, slice images obtained by the extracted image data which was output from the target point updating unit 505, and pre-extraction images before extraction obtained from the distortion-corrected image storage unit 206, that is, the contour-corrected slice images, by separate colors so as to enable the two to be visually differentiated (FIG. 8, process P801).")
Regarding claim 15, Al-Rei in view of Ngadi and Takanami teaches: A computer-readable non-transitory memory medium storing a program allowing a computer to execute each step of the information processing system according to claim 1. (Takanami,[0011], "The data storage device of a biodata model in the present invention is a device which stores data of a biodata model which uses medical image data to construct a 3D data model, which device stores data in a manner providing organs as parts forming a predetermined range of the body and simple geometric shapes surrounding the organs and using nodes defining positional relationships of the organs to construct a tree shape.")
Conclusion
/JINSU HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667