DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is unclear if the definition of C1 mandates that the diamine contain at least one sterically hindered secondary amine group; the current language could be reasonably interpreted to apply only to the amino alcohol or to both the amino alcohol and the diamine. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(Page 21, line 9) “each R2 is independently selected form monovalent, bulky, saturated or unsaturated, aliphatic or alicyclic radicals with 1 to 10 carbon atoms” contains a typographical error.
(Page 21, line 12) “R1 is selected form C1-C10-alkylene and C4-C10-cycloalkylene radicals” contains a typographical error.
(Page 21, line 13) “each R2 is independently selected form 1,1-dimethyl-substituted, saturated or unsaturated C1-C6-alkyl radicals and 1-methyl-substituted C3-C6-cycloalkyl radicals” contains a typographical error.
(Page 21, line 15) “and in particular form radicals of Formula (II)” contains a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “R1 is selected form bivalent” contains a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear if the definition of C1 mandates that the diamine contain at least one sterically hindered secondary amine group; the current language could be reasonably interpreted to apply only to the amino alcohol or to both the amino alcohol and the diamine. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted to apply to both the diamine and the amino alcohol. Dependent claims 17-30 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 16.
Additionally regarding claim 26, the definition of "each of the diamine" is also not clearly understood. Dependent claims 17-30 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, Formula (II) pertains to the diamine bonded through reaction with isocyanate groups. As such, it is not clear how the specific linkage could be a urethane group. Dependent claim 21 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 20.
Additionally regarding claim 20, with respect to the definition of R2 in claim 20, it is unclear what constitutes “bulky” in terms of structural requirement. Dependent claim 21 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 21 recites the broad recitation “C1-C10-alkylene”, and the claim also recites “C4-C10-cycloalkylene radicals”, “C2-C6-alkylene”, and “C5-C6-cycloalkylene radicals” which are narrower statements of the preceding ranges/limitations. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, these ranges have been interpreted as exemplary embodiments and therefore are not required.
Regarding claim 25, it is unclear if “a solution of the TPUU of Formula (I) in hexafluoroisopropanol” is the same solution as the solution recited in claim 24 or a new, secondary solution. For examination purposes, these have been interpreted to be the same solution.
Additionally, the method of claim 25 is indefinite as “using” does not constitute a definitive process step.
Regarding claim 26, it is unclear if “a solution of a mixture of the TPUU of Formula (I)” is the same solution as the solution recited in claim 24 or a new, secondary solution. For examination purposes, these have been interpreted to be the same solution. Dependent claims 27, 28, and 29 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 26.
Additionally, the method of claim 26 is indefinite as “using” does not constitute a definitive process step. Dependent claims 27, 28, and 29 are similarly rejected by their dependence on indefinite claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 27 recites the broad recitation “at least 10% by weight”, and the claim also recites “at least 30% by weight” and “at least 50% by weight” which are narrower statements of the preceding ranges/limitations. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, these ranges have been interpreted as exemplary embodiments and therefore are not required.
Additionally, the method of claim 27 is indefinite as “using” does not constitute a definitive process step.
Regarding claim 28, the method of claim 28 is indefinite as “using” does not constitute a definitive process step. Dependent claim 29 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, these have been interpreted as exemplary embodiments and therefore are not required.
Additionally, the method of claim 29 is indefinite as “using” does not constitute a definitive process step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-23 and 30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20200108550 A1) in view of Chun et al (US 20170340463 A1).
Regarding claims 16, 18-23, and 30, Chen discloses an additive manufacturing process useful in vascular surgery, including as stents, fibres, or catheters ([0002], [0010], [0302], [0368]). Chen discloses the use of 2-(tert-butylamino)ethyl methacrylate (TBAEMA) which contains a sterically hindered amino group [0255] as well as other diisocyanate derivatives such as toluene diisocyanate (TDI), methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI), hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI), isophorone diisocyanate (IPDI), hydrogenated MDI (HMDI), para-phenyl diisocyanate (PPDI) [0256], a photoinitiator such as phenylbis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphine oxide (PPO) [0253], polyols such as polyethers (particularly polytetrahydrofuran [0256]), polypropylene glycols, polyesters, and polycarbonates with a molecular weight of 500-6000 g/mol [0256], and chain extenders such as diols, diamines, triols, triamines, combinations thereof, and others [0255], corresponding to the repeat units I, M, and C2 of formula (I) with n>3 and a and c>1, to prepare thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) (TPUU) [0257].
Chen does not particularly disclose preparation of said TPUU with an electrospinning process.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun (US 20170340463 A1) discloses bioabsorbable and biodegradable polymers (Abstract), including stents and catheters [0038], including PUU produced by an electrospinning process [0068]. Chun further discloses that electrospinning is a well-established method for producing polymeric micro- and nano-fibers [0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the preparation method of Chen with electrospinning as disclosed by Chun with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chen and Chun discloses all limitations of claim 16. Chen further discloses ester moieties which are thermally cleavable [0225] but does not particularly disclose their cleavage under physiological conditions. However, Chun states that certain poly(urethane urea)s are biocompatible with non-toxic degradation byproducts [0066], which necessitates their cleavage under physiological conditions.
Claims 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20200108550 A1) and Chun (US 20170340463 A1). as applied to claims 16-23 and 30 above, and further in view of Du (WO 2011109712 A2). The discussion with respect to Chen and Chun set forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 24, Chun discloses an electrospinning process as set forth above but does not particularly disclose the methodology. In the same field of endeavor, Du (WO 2011109712 A2) discloses an electrospinning process for generating a biodegradable scaffold for in vivo use. Particularly, Du discloses electrospinning a polymer-containing solution (such as a poly(ether urethane urea), page 13, lines 12-15) in a reservoir such a needle or pipette tip (syringe) with a metering pump (syringe pump) and a high voltage source, with one electrode placed in electrical contact with the polymer-containing fluid and the other placed in electrical contact with a target, such as rotating mandrel. Following charging and forced ejection, polymer fibers are deposited on the target (page 17, line 26 to page 18, line 18). Du further discloses that electrospinning allows for optimization of the polymer structure for specific applications (page 12, lines 26-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the thermoplastic poly(urethane urea) polyadduct disclosed by the combination of Chen and Chun with the electrospinning process disclosed by Du with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby arriving at applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claim 25, Du particularly discloses use of hexafluoroisopropanol as solvent and further stated that use of this solvent provided fibers with the best appearance (page 19, lines 15-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the thermoplastic poly(urethane urea) polyadduct disclosed by the combination of Chen and Chun with the preferred solvent disclosed by Du with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 26, Chen further discloses that the mixture may comprise combinations of a linear thermoplastic polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof and a cross-linked thermoset polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof [0257].
Regarding claim 27, Chen does not expressly disclose the claimed weight percentages nor a ratio between the polymers. Nevertheless, the obviousness analysis may “take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). For example, the analysis may “include recourse to logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill that do not necessarily require explication in any reference or expert opinion.” Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Patent Trial and Appeal Board has held that mixing equivalent components in a 1:1 ratio represented no more than application of the “logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill” in the art. Ex parte Swanzy, Appeal 2017-004875 at 8-9. In this case, Chen discloses “a linear thermoplastic polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof” and “a cross-linked thermoset polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof” as equally suitable alternatives to one another and therefore recognizes the equivalence of the two. It would have would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, logic, judgment, and common sense, to combine these polymers in equal amounts (i.e. in a 1:1 ratio by weight) based on the fact that both are disclosed in parallel as being equally suitable for use in this capacity. This 1:1 ratio falls within the claimed ratio (1:1 by weight).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Chen and Chun discloses all claim limitations of claim 26 as set forth above. Chun further discloses polyurethane ureas as biodegradable polymers suitable for stents and catheters [0065] and that certain polyurethane ureas possess good biocompatibility with non-toxic degradation products [0066]. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 29, Chen particularly discloses polyether urethanes, and particularly those made of polyethers such as polytetrahydrofuran [0256] and diisocyanates such as hexamethylene diisocyanate [0256] in combination with dicarboxylic acid chain extenders [0242].
Double Patenting
Claims 16-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/014,081 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim set, drawn to a method of using the thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) polyadduct would have been obvious in view of the copending claim set drawn to a method of preparing the equivalent (same) thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) polyadduct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hassel (CA 2040910 A1) discloses a thermoplastic poly(urethane-urea) (TPUU) comprising the reaction product of diisocyanatodicyclohexylmethane (I radical), a macrodiol having a molecular weight greater than 400 (M radical), a low molecular weight diol (C2 radical), and a cyclic secondary diamine (C1 radical).
Adhikari (WO 2005089778 A1) discloses a biodegradable TPU/TPUU for use in stents and stent grafts for treatment of coronary heart diseases based on polycaprolactone and HDI as well as a diol-based chain extenders, but not on a component which leads to a sterically hindered urea group.
Tanzi (US 5955560 A) discloses elastomeric, biocompatible materials for use in vascular prostheses as well as the production of PU for use in the stated vascular prostheses, containing a piperazine-based component which does not result in any sterically hindered urea group in a TPUU.
/SAVANNAH G. PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763