DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a response and amended claims 1-16 on 01/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are primarily drawn to the amended claims. The rejection below addresses the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “the two-way valve is a two-way ball valve”. It is unclear if said valve is in reference to one or both valves of the valve assemblies. For examination purposes, said limitation will be interpreted as --each of the first valve and second two-way valves are two-way ball valves--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsting (US 10,118,352) in view of Meijer (US 5,573,366), Nicholson (PG-PUB 2017/0191346), and Hudson (US 6,514,061).
Regarding claim 1, Borsting teaches a mold assembly for manufacturing a wind turbine blade shell part,
the mold assembly comprising a mold having a molding surface that defines the
outer shape of the wind turbine blade shell part (Figure 2), the mold having a longitudinal direction extending between a tip end and a root end of the mold (Figure 2),
wherein the mold assembly comprises a lowering device (Figures 17-19), which is adapted to carry and lower a root end insert onto the molding surface of the mold,
the lowering device being attached to the mold and comprising a frame for carrying the root end insert (Figure 17; Col 14, ln 36-42; Col 15, ln 31-47; Col 16, ln 2-8), wherein the lowering device further comprises driving means for lowering the frame together with the root end insert (Col 15, ln 31-47),
wherein the driving means is a telescope piston chamber, such as a hydraulic cylinder (Col 9, ln 3-12).
Borsting teaches the lowering mechanism may advantageously be attached to sides of the mold (Col 15, ln 31-36). Accordingly, Borsting teaches at least two lowering mechanism, one disposed on each side of the mold.
While Borsting teaches the lowering mechanism may advantageously be attached to sides of the mold, Borsting does not explicitly teach two synchronized hydraulic cylinders. Borsting teaches the motions of the piston cylinder (Col 15, Line 52-Col 16, ln 8). Borsting teaches the piston cylinder begins to retract, the frame will in a first motion be lowered towards the moulding surface of the mold while the frame and mounting plate are tilted so that the root end insert is angled. In a second motion step, the frame with mounting plate and root end insert are pivoted until the mounting plate is oriented arranged substantially vertically and the root end insert rets on the mold surface of the mold. Borsting teaches this motion ensures that the fiber material that has been arranged on the mold surface is not distorted or otherwise wrinkled (Col 16, ln 6-8).
As taught by Borsting, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized wind blades and their molds are large (Col 1, ln 61-62). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a significant amount of drive is needed to operate a lowering mechanism to move a large mount plate (Figure 12) such that the entire mount plate is properly moved (see Figure 17-19). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized in order to efficiently operate the lowering mechanism to move the mount plate with the root end insert according to a desired motion, as taught by Borsting, both hydraulic cylinders should be operating in a synchronized manner such that the movement of the plate relative to both sides are uniform. The mount plate and root end insert are a large assembly (Figure 12-13), and the desired motions of the mounting plate and root end insert of Borsting would appear to be inefficient and difficult if there is a time delay between operating one side after the other due to the extremely large and symmetrical nature of the mounting plate and article.
Furthermore, it appears that it would be desirable to have uniform motion relative to the mount plate and root end insert because asynchronized cylinders can introduce difference variable motions that may introduce wrinkle or distortion in the fiber material disposed on the mold surface, a concern discussed by Borsting (Col 16, ln 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure that both hydraulic cylinders are synchronized in order to provide precise movements.
Borsting does not explicitly teach:
(1) the rod chamber of the first hydraulic cylinder is connected to the hydraulic pump via a first fluid line, the piston chamber of the first hydraulic cylinder is connected to the rod chamber of the second hydraulic cylinder via a second fluid line, and the piston chamber of the second hydraulic cylinder is connected to the hydraulic pump via a third fluid line,
wherein the rod chamber of the first hydraulic cylinder is directly connected to the piston chamber of the first hydraulic cylinder via a first valve assembly, the first valve assembly comprising a fourth fluid line and a first valve;
(2) wherein the rod chamber of the second hydraulic cylinder is directly connected to the piston chamber of the second hydraulic cylinder via a second valve assembly, the second valve assembly comprising a fifth fluid line and a second valve, and
wherein at least one of the first and second valves is actuatable to reset a piston position of at least one of the first and second hydraulic cylinders; and
(3) the driving means comprising a hydraulic pump.
As to (1), Meijer teaches hydraulic devices comprising at least two cylinder assemblies arranged in series in order for synchronized load lifting (Figure 2 and 5). Meijer teaches using the hydraulic cylinders for picking up or placing load using a fork carrier with two prongs (Figure 1 and 2 and Col 2, ln 39-60). Meijer teaches ensuring the cylinders are synchronously controlled (Col 2, ln 4-14 and Col 6, ln 1-15). In Figure 2, Meijer teaches two hydraulic cylinders connected in series, wherein a rod chamber of a first hydraulic cylinder is connected to a feed and drain conduit; the piston chamber of the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the rod chamber of the second hydraulic cylinder; and the piston chamber of the second hydraulic chamber is connected to a feed and drain conduit (Col 3, ln 1- 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Borsting comprising hydraulic cylinders with the synchronized hydraulic cylinder assembly of Meijer comprising a first and second hydraulic cylinder arranged in series, fluid lines, and valves, a known assembly for lifting large masses as taught by Meijer, to yield the predictable result of synchronizing movement of the large blade for proper lifting and load distribution.
Assuming arguendo, Borsting does not teach two hydraulic cylinders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the mold assembly of Borsting comprising a single cylinder with the hydraulic cylinder assembly Meijer comprising a first and second hydraulic cylinder arranged in series, fluid lines, and valves, in order to move massive loads, as desired by Borsting.
As to (2), Nicholson teaches a hydraulic actuator with a manual override system (Figure 2 and 4 and [0031]-[0033]). Nicholson teaches the manual override system 418 may be connected to a first line 414 and a second line 416 of a hydraulic motor or cylinder, thereby connecting a rod chamber and piston chamber, and may include an auxiliary line 420, two-way valves 422, and a reservoir 432, wherein the two-way valve may be a ball valve [0033]. Nicholson teaches during automatic operation, the two-way valves 422 may remain in a closed position such that the reservoir 432 is not in fluid communication with the first line 414 and the second line 416, during manual mode operation, the two-way valves 422 may be moved to an open position to allow fluid to be directed to the reservoir 432 [0033]. Nicholson teaches in situations where automated control of the hydraulic actuator encounters a problem, it may be useful to have a hydraulic actuator that includes a manual override feature that disables the automatic control and allows for manual control of the actuator [0021]. Nicholson teaches the presence of the fluid in the hydraulic lines of the hydraulic actuator and the difficulty of removing the fluid may present an obstacle to an operator responding to an emergency condition through manual override [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the assembly of Borsting in view of Meijer with the manual override assembly comprising a two-way valve of Nicholson for each of the hydraulic cylinders, for the benefit of disabling automatic control and allowing manual control during necessary emergencies, repairs, etc..
Borsting in view of Meijer and Nicholson does not teach if an incorrect cylinder position or a lack of synchronization of at least one of the first and second hydraulic cylinders is observed, at least one of the valves of the respective valve assemblies is opened and then subsequently closed to reset a piston position of at least one of the first and second hydraulic cylinders.
However, a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Given that Borsting in view of Meijer and Nicholson teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Borsting in view of Meijer and Nicholson would be capable of performing the same function of opening one of the valves and subsequently closing the valve to reset a piston position of at least one of the first and second hydraulic cylinders.
As to (3), Hudson teaches a positioning fixture for a rotary mold that provides both rotation and lifting for a mold installed therein (Figure 1-4 and Abstract). Hudson teaches the rotating motor and lift strut are preferably hydraulic units, which may receive hydraulic pressure and flow from a pump which is in turn powered by a conventional shop air supply (Abstract; Col 4, ln 11-25; and Col 6, ln 6-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Borsting in view of Meijer with a hydraulic pump as taught by Hudson, a known suitable source for moving hydraulic cylinders, to yield the predictable result of actuating the cylinders.
Regarding claim 2, Borsting in view of Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second valve is a two-way valve (Nicholson, Figure 4 and [0028], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Borsting in view of Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson teaches the assembly as applied to claim 2, wherein the valves are two-way ball valves (Nicholson, [0033]).
Claim 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsting (US 10,118,352) in view of Meijer (US 5,573,366), Nicholson (PG-PUB 2017/0191346), and Hudson (US 6,514,061), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Weber (PG-PUB 2008/0179943).
Regarding claim 3, Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein each of the piston chamber and rod chamber have a respective fluid port (Meijer, Figures 2 and 5).
Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson does not teach each of the first and second valve assemblies further comprises a first fitting at the first end of the fluid line and a second fitting at the second end of the fluid line, and the first and second fittings being connected to the respective fluid ports of the hydraulic cylinder.
Weber teaches a system comprising a master cylinder and a brake line including a housing having an internal bore, an inlet port, a passage, and an outlet port (Figure 1 and [0040]-[0043]). Weber teaches the housing (10) is secured to the master cylinder (100) with a fastener (50), the fastener includes an internal fluid passage 51 for providing fluid communication between passage (16) and an output port of the master cylinder (Figure 3 and [0047], [0058]). Weber teaches the fastener may be a banjo bolt which is similar to the fastener used to secure a brake line to a master cylinder (Figure 3 and [0047], [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson with fittings as taught by Weber, a known suitable fastener for fluidly connecting a fluid line and housing, to yield the predictable result of securely connecting a fluid line to a cylinder to allow for controlled fluid flow.
Regarding claim 4, Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, Hudson, and Weber teaches the assembly as applied to claim 3, wherein the first and second fitting are banjo fittings (Weber, Figure 3 and [0047], [0058]).
Claim 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borsting (US 10,118,352) in view of Meijer (US 5,573,366), Nicholson (PG-PUB 2017/0191346), Hudson (US 6,514,061), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Pick (PG-PUB 2008/0060900).
Regarding claim 3-5, Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein each of the piston chamber and rod chamber have a respective fluid port (Meijer, Figure 2 and 5).
Borsting in view Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson does not teach:
(1) a first fitting at the first end of the fluid line and a second fitting at the second of the fluid line, and the first and second fittings being connected to the respective ports;
(2) the first fitting and the second fitting are banjo fittings; and
(3) each of the first fittings further comprises a hydraulic pressure test point coupling for bleeding air from at least one of the first and second hydraulic cylinder.
Pick teaches a hydraulic control system for a vehicle clutch comprising hydraulic cylinders (101, 115) connected to other components of the system via a fluid line (112, 109) and banjo fitting (106, 118) (Figure 1 and [0045]). Pick teaches the banjo fitting is a suitable fastener for securing a fluid line of a hydraulic cylinder. Pick teaches for one of the two cylinders, a chamber comprises a port sealed with a fitting assembly including a banjo fitting (216) and a bleed screw (214) disposed within the fitting for the benefit of allowing the system to easily bleed trapped air bubbles during maintenance and repair (Figure 1 and 2, [0045] and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Borsting, in particularly the interface of the plurality of ports and fluid line, with a fitting assembly comprising a banjo assembly, a known suitable fastener assembly for securing a fluid line to a hydraulic cylinder and allowing fluid transport from the hydraulic cylinder as taught by Pick, to yield the predictable result of safely coupling a fluid line to a hydraulic cylinder. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the assembly of Borsting in view of Meijer, Nicholson, and Hudson to incorporate the bleed screw of Pick in one of the two fittings for each valve for the benefit of bleeding trapped air during maintenance and repair of the hydraulic system, as taught by Pick.
Regarding claim 6, Borsting in view of Meijer, Nicholson, Hudson, and Pick teaches the assembly as applied to claim 5, wherein bleed screw is disposed inside of the banjo fitting (Pick, Figure 1 and 2, [0057]). While not explicitly disclosed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the banjo bolt and bleed screw are fastened together via an internal thread of the banjo fitting because bleed screws conventionally have threads and in order to secure the threads of the bleed screw to the banjo fitting, the banjo fitting would of Pick would have internal threads.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA C PAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745