DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 6 and 7 are amended. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 2/18/2026 are overcome.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “the air inlet groove is configured to convey the air to the vaporization cavity through the air inlet,” which is considered to be a statement regarding the intended use of the claimed air inlet groove. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114. Therefore, for the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it required a groove through which air could flow in the claimed direction.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitation “wherein air can sequentially flow through the second accommodating space and the air inlet groove, and is then conveyed to the vaporization surface through the air inlet,” which is considered to be a statement regarding the intended use of the claimed air inlet groove. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114. Therefore, for the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it required a structure through which air could flow in the claimed direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 9,161,573) in view of Zhou (CN 211861815, machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electronic cigarette (abstract) having a liquid guiding member (figure 3, reference numeral 212) with an electric heater coil enwound on the surface of the liquid guiding member (column 5, lines 32-58, figure 3, reference numeral 211), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a heating element. The surface of the liquid guiding member enwound with the coil is considered to meet the claim limitation of a vaporization surface. The two ends of the liquid guiding member are pressed against a permeating component so that the liquid guiding member absorbs liquid (column 5, lines 32-58). The ends are therefore considered to meet the claim limitation of a liquid absorbing surface. The liquid guiding member is secured in an atomization base (column 4, lines 35-62, figure 3, reference numeral 24), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a first support. The atomization base has an internal casing (column 4, lines 35-62, figure 6, reference numeral 241), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a support side wall. However, Liu does not teach or suggest the side wall having a buffered liquid storage groove and an air inlet groove.
Zhou teaches an atomizer having a mounting base (figure 6, reference numeral 20) having a first pressure regulating channel arranged circuitously and arranged in two sections ([0058], figure 6, reference numeral 22). One groove is considered to meet the claim limitation of a buffered liquid storage groove, and the other section is considered to meet the claim limitation of an air inlet groove. The mounting base also has a second pressure regulating channel (figure 10, reference numeral 52) The remaining components are shown in the annotated version of figure 6 below:
The air inlet is considered to be located at the top of the air inlet groove. Zhou additionally teaches that this arrangement reduces the possibility that liquid leaks out of the atomizer [0062].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the channels, inlets, and ports of Zhou on the sides of the atomization base of Liu. One would have been motivated to do so since Zhou teaches a mounting base design that reduces the possibility that liquid leaks out of the atomizer.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that the atomization base has an internal casing (figure 6, reference numeral 241), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a support side wall, is provided with a first holding groove that forms two notches with open upper ends and closed lower ends (column 4, lines 35-62, figure 6, reference numeral 244), which are considered to define a first accommodating space. The liquid guiding member and heating coil are located within the two notches (column 4, lines 35-62, figure 3), indicating that the internal area of the internal casing defines a vaporization cavity.
Regarding claim 3, modified Liu teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. It is evident that air could flow the air inlet groove of modified Liu in the claimed direction since it is open. Modified Liu does not explicitly teach the air inlet being located at the closed end of the notch.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the air inlet at the bottom of the notch. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 4, modified Liu teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhou additionally teaches that the channels are arranged outside the base (figure 6). Modified Liu does not explicitly teach the length of the channels relative to the circumference of the base.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the channels be longer than the circumference of the base. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 5, modified Liu teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Liu does not explicitly teach the air inlet and overflow port being above the bottom of the notch.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the air inlet and the overflow port above the lower portion of the notch where the vaporization surface is. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Liu does not explicitly teach (a) two first liquid storage grooves having overflow ports and (b) two of the liquid storage grooves located on a single side of the base and surrounding the air inlet and air inlet groove.
Regarding (a), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the liquid storage groove and overflow port of modified Liu. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding (b), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the duplicated liquid storage grooves and overflow ports, and the air inlet groove on a side of the support. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Liu does not explicitly teach (a) two second liquid storage grooves having overflow ports and a second air inlet groove and air inlet and (b) the claimed grooves being located in the claimed locations.
Regarding (a), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the liquid storage groove, overflow port, air inlet groove, and air inlet of modified Liu. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding (b), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the duplicated liquid storage grooves and overflow ports, and the air inlet groove on a second side of the support. One would have been motivated to do so since Zhou teaches that the grooves extend all around the base (figure 6). Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches that each side of the base is provided with a first avoidance port ([0078], figure 9, reference numeral 252) that connects to the liquid storage cavity ([0057], figure 4, reference numeral 12), indicating that the first avoidance ports are communicated through the liquid storage cavity. The avoidance ports are connected to side wall sealing portions that connect to each of the pressure regulating channels ([0079], figure 9, reference numeral 251).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses that a main guiding tube extends above the base (figure 3, reference numeral 35), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second support, and defines the inside of a cotton permeating component (column 5, lines 32-58, figure 3, reference numeral 38), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a second accommodating space. It is evident that air could flow through the cotton and then into the air inlet of the combination as claimed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 9,161,573) in view of Zhou (CN 211861815, machine translation relied upon) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Metz (US 10,285,445).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Liu does not explicitly teach a liquid inlet channel.
Metz teaches a personal electronic delivery system (abstract) in which a buffer is provided surrounding a heater with openings that transfer fluid to the heater that are optionally provided in a groove (column 8, lines 64-67, column 9, lines 1-2).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the notches of modified Liu in the grooves of Metz. One would have been motivated to do so since Metz teaches that openings that transfer liquid can optionally be provided in grooves. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See MPEP § 2143, D.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (a) that the proposed combination would result in liquid being released directly into the atomization space and (b) that the dependent claims are allowable due to dependence on an allowable claim.
Regarding (a), Zhou teaches that the ends of the buffered liquid storage grooves are closed so that liquid does not enter impermissible areas, such as the smoke passage (figure 6, reference numeral 24). Thus the presence of buffered liquid storage grooves, even if located on the outside of the base above the heating coil, would not result in liquid flowing into the atomization chamber.
Regarding (b), all examined claims, including the examined independent claim, are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755