DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/19/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 2-18 has overcome the objection to claims 2-18 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 10/2/2025.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 17, 19, and 20 have overcome the 112(b) Rejections to claims 1-20 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 10/2/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 19, and 20 (pages 11-12) in a reply filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20:
Applicant contends, in page 11, that “However, in Iwamura, a marco-eNB configures a UE to send a wake-up signal (Iwamura, [0048]-[0051]). Therefore, the UE in Iwamura does not determine whether it can trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on a determination of a service requirement of the UE or a radio condition of the UE as defined in amended Claim 1. Rather, in Iwamura, the UE sends the wake-up signal when instructed to do so by the macro-eNB. Therefore, Iwamura does not disclose or suggest the amended features of Claim 1, …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant correctly states that a macro-eNB configures a UE to send a wake-up signal (see, Iwamura: para. [0048-0051]). The Applicant also states that the UE sends the wake-up signal when instructed to do to by the macro-eNB. However, Iwamura further teaches wherein the UE determines, based on a macro-assisted wake up (WU) signal configuration, when to trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on the UE meeting the wake up signal criteria configured by the macro-eNB including based on the location of the UE. (see, Iwamura: para. [0041] [0050] [0057]). Therefore, the disclosure of Iwamura reads on the limitations as previously claimed.
Further detailed discussion is provided below for the amended claim, wherein the disclosure of Iwamura in view of Ho reads on the limitations as claimed.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, it is suggested to amend to read as follows for clarity of the limitations:
17. (Currently Amended) The mobile telecommunication system of claim 16, wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit the reference signal at a higher power than a power otherwise used for other transmissions by the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment during in a time period following the detection of the wake-up signal and/or by directing its transmitter in a detected direction of the terminal based on the detection of the wake-up signal
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura et al. (EP 2941063 A1, hereinafter Iwamura) in view of Ho et al. (EP 2416608 A1, hereinafter Ho).
Regarding claim 1:
Iwamura teaches a mobile telecommunications system (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3) comprising first infrastructure equipment (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3, Small Cell(s) 104) and a terminal (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3, UE 112) wherein the terminal is configured to communicate with the first infrastructure equipment via an air interface provided by the first infrastructure equipment (see, Iwamura: Figs. 2-3 and para. [0049], “Fig. 3 illustrates a signaling flow for ... small cell discovery and resource activation procedure ... Fig. 3 shows the macro cell base station 100 as well as the user equipment 112 and a sleeping open access small cell, for example small cell 1041 as well as two sleeping CSG small cells, for example small cell 1042 ... "; para. [0050], “Fig. 3 describes ... for a small cell discovery and which resources to activate, e.g., how a user equipment discovers a suitable small cell in a timely and energy efficient manner if the small cell is in the sleep mode ...”; para. [0037], “In the sleep mode, some hardware components of the base station are switched off in order to save energy. This action may be autonomous or may be controlled by an external entity through one or more several triggers... Some or all UES support a communication with the small cell BSs.”),
wherein the terminal includes circuitry configured to:
determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search (see, Iwamura: para. [0014], “Yet another known approach is referred to as a location-based scheme which relies on previously stored information to estimate whether a UE is in the vicinity of a small cell. One approach relies on storing RF maps that correspond to various small cell locations and using measured or reported radio fingerprints from UEs to determine when the UE is in the vicinity of a small cell, as is for example described in prior art reference [3].”; para. [0041], “When compared to the location-based schemes mentioned above, in accordance with the inventive approach there is an advantage in that it is not necessary to have an external entity, for example the macro base station, to wake up sleeping small cells, rather the sleeping small cells are activated by those entities which actually make a connection to the small cell. No training phase for obtaining accurate reference data is required, and the inventive approach also takes into consideration the specifics and capabilities of the UE and the small cell. There is also no need to have a backhaul connection between the external entity and the small cells to perform the small cell wake up.”; para. [0057], “In other words, the wake up signal configuration received at the user equipment 112 causes the user equipment to generate a wake up signal 202 that will wake up multiple small cells in the vicinity of the UE meeting the wake up signal criteria.”, wherein the UE generates a wake up signal when the small cells in the vicinity of the UE meet the wake up signal criteria according to the wake up signal configuration received from the macro cell. Accordingly, the UE determines when to trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on the wake up signal criteria including based on the location of the UE.).
Iwamura does not explicitly teach wherein the terminal includes circuitry configured to: determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on a determination by the terminal of a service requirement of the terminal or a radio condition of the terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, Ho teaches wherein the terminal includes circuitry configured to: determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on a determination by the terminal of a service requirement of the terminal or a radio condition of the terminal (see, Ho: para. [0044], “the UEW broadcasts are instead sent only in selected circumstances. … when the user terminal is in a macrocell coverage hole, when a faster data rate is required, when triggered by the user terminal initiating setup of an active call, and when triggered by location information.”; para. [0049], “The user terminal is also configured to perform UEW broadcasts when the user terminal is experiencing unacceptable quality of service during an active mode connection, namely a voice or data call, and so requires additional resources.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Iwamura in combination of the teachings of Ho in order to provide the user terminal with coverage and higher quality services with a femto cell (i.e., small cell) when the coverage signal or quality of service provide by the microcell degrades (see, Ho: para. [0044-0049]).
Iwamura further teaches wherein the terminal includes circuitry configured to: transmit, based on determining that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search, a wake-up signal (see, Iwamura: Fig. 2 and para. [0050], “... and, as is shown at 202, sends out the wake up signal.”);
wherein the first infrastructure equipment includes circuitry configured to:
based on the wake-up signal from the terminal, transition to an active state where the first infrastructure equipment provides the air interface for the terminal to communicate with the first infrastructure equipment (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0054], “As is shown at block 204 in Fig. 3, once the targeted small cells 1042 and 1042' receive the wake up signal, the user equipment is detected by these small cells and a small cell activation process will be started so that the components of the respective small cells, ..., are transitioned from the inactive or low energy consumption state to an active which allows serving a user equipment for a data transmission in the network.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition to the active state from a dormant state, the dormant state being state in which the first infrastructure equipment does not provide the air interface and in which the first infrastructure equipment monitors uplink signals for wake-up signals (see, Iwamura: para. [0048], “In accordance with an embodiment, a small cell discovery approach is taught which addresses the problem of how a UE can discover a suitable small cell in a timely and energy efficient manner if the small cell is in the sleep mode. A small cell is put into the sleep mode when it is not used, for example when there is no user equipment to be served by the small cell. The sleep mode may be considered a stand-by mode in which the small cell will not send or receive any radio signals for a radio transmission and consumes a reduced amount of power. In the sleep mode some of the hardware components in the small cell base station are either completely switched off or operated in a low-power mode, wherein the exact components to be switched off are a function of the specific hardware architecture and the particular energy saving algorithm. In the sleep mode, in accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the small cell, however, retains the capability to receive a signal transmission from the UE indicating that the small cell should be activated so that in receipt of the this signal the small cell transitions to the active state. The signal sent out by the user equipment may be any kind of signal that can be received and processed by the sleeping small cell for starting the activation process in the small cell. Such a signal which causes a small cell base station to resume operation/leave the inactive or sleeping state may be referred to as "activation signal" or a "wake up signal". In the following, the signal shall be referred to as "wake up signal". The wake up signal may have various formats, for example, it may be a preamble (bit pattern) sequence in the physical layer (similar to RACH - random-access channel). In another embodiment, it may be the MAC (media access control) controlled PDU (protocol description unit). Alternatively, it may be an RRC (radio resource control) message that may include, for example, the user equipment identity and the like.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition to the active state from a dormant state, the dormant state being state in which the transmitter of the first infrastructure equipment is inactive (see, Iwamura: para. [0048], “In accordance with an embodiment, a small cell discovery approach is taught which addresses the problem of how a UE can discover a suitable small cell in a timely and energy efficient manner if the small cell is in the sleep mode. A small cell is put into the sleep mode when it is not used, for example when there is no user equipment to be served by the small cell. The sleep mode may be considered a stand-by mode in which the small cell will not send or receive any radio signals for a radio transmission and consumes a reduced amount of power. In the sleep mode some of the hardware components in the small cell base station are either completely switched off or operated in a low-power mode, wherein the exact components to be switched off are a function of the specific hardware architecture and the particular energy saving algorithm. In the sleep mode, in accordance with embodiments of the present invention, the small cell, however, retains the capability to receive a signal transmission from the UE indicating that the small cell should be activated so that in receipt of the this signal the small cell transitions to the active state. The signal sent out by the user equipment may be any kind of signal that can be received and processed by the sleeping small cell for starting the activation process in the small cell. Such a signal which causes a small cell base station to resume operation/leave the inactive or sleeping state may be referred to as "activation signal" or a "wake up signal". In the following, the signal shall be referred to as "wake up signal". The wake up signal may have various formats, for example, it may be a preamble (bit pattern) sequence in the physical layer (similar to RACH - random-access channel). In another embodiment, it may be the MAC (media access control) controlled PDU (protocol description unit). Alternatively, it may be an RRC (radio resource control) message that may include, for example, the user equipment identity and the like.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Iwamura further teaches wherein, the circuitry of the terminal is configured to determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search while the terminal is connected to a second infrastructure equipment (e.g., a macro base station) (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0050], “Fig. 3 describes embodiments for a small cell discovery and which resources to activate, e.g., how a user equipment discovers a suitable small cell in a timely and energy efficient manner if the small cell is in the sleep mode and how the capability/attributes of the UE and the small cell are taken into account to activate the right small cell and resources. In accordance with embodiments, a macro-assisted wake up (WU) signal configuration is proposed in accordance with which the macro cell base station 100 indicates when a UE can transmit the WU signal. As is shown at 200, the macro base station 100 provides a configuration of the WU signal, for example it indicates which frequency resources to use, for example frequencies f1, f2, f3 or all frequencies. Also, it indicates, in accordance with embodiments, the nature of the signal, for example to wake up all small cells, to wake up only small cells with a bandwidth of x MHz, to wake up only CSG cells 1042 or the like. Also additional information may be contained, for example the sending duration of the wake up signal, the uplink resource allocation and the like. Once the user equipment 112 receives the wake up signal configuration it configures or generates the wake up signal to be transmitted on the basis of the received wake up signal configuration and, as is shown at 202, sends out the wake up signal.”, wherein the macro base station 100 is equivalent to the second infrastructure equipment of the instant application.).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Ho further teaches wherein the circuitry of the terminal is configured to determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on one or more of: the terminal determining that the second infrastructure equipment does not provide a service that the terminal is configured to use; the terminal determining that its coverage level is degrading; the terminal determining that its coverage level is degrading and that the terminal cannot identify a currently active infrastructure equipment with a suitable coverage level; the terminal determining that its coverage level is dropping under a predetermined threshold; the terminal determining that its coverage level is dropping under a predetermined threshold and that the terminal cannot identify a currently active infrastructure equipment with a suitable coverage level; the terminal determining that a moving status or trajectory for the terminal has changed; the terminal determining that a number of retransmissions is increasing; the terminal determining that a congestion level is above an acceptable congestion level; and the terminal determining that an interference level is above a suitable interference level (see, Ho: para. [0044-0049]).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the second infrastructure equipment is configured to notify the terminal of one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0050], “Fig. 3 describes embodiments for a small cell discovery and which resources to activate, e.g., how a user equipment discovers a suitable small cell in a timely and energy efficient manner if the small cell is in the sleep mode and how the capability/attributes of the UE and the small cell are taken into account to activate the right small cell and resources. In accordance with embodiments, a macro-assisted wake up (WU) signal configuration is proposed in accordance with which the macro cell base station 100 indicates when a UE can transmit the WU signal. As is shown at 200, the macro base station 100 provides a configuration of the WU signal, for example it indicates which frequency resources to use, for example frequencies f1, f2, f3 or all frequencies. Also, it indicates, in accordance with embodiments, the nature of the signal, for example to wake up all small cells, to wake up only small cells with a bandwidth of x MHz, to wake up only CSG cells 1042 or the like. Also additional information may be contained, for example the sending duration of the wake up signal, the uplink resource allocation and the like. Once the user equipment 112 receives the wake up signal configuration it configures or generates the wake up signal to be transmitted on the basis of the received wake up signal configuration and, as is shown at 202, sends out the wake up signal.”).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the second infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit wake-up signal configuration information to the terminal, the wake-up signal configuration information identifying one or more time and/or frequency resources for transmitting the wake-up signal (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0050], “As is shown at 200, the macro base station 100 provides a configuration of the WU signal, for example it indicates which frequency resources to use, for example frequencies f1, f2, f3 or all frequencies. Also, it indicates, in accordance with embodiments, the nature of the signal, for example to wake up all small cells, to wake up only small cells with a bandwidth of x MHz, to wake up only CSG cells 1042 or the like.”);
wherein the circuitry of the terminal is configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on the received wake-up signal configuration information (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0050], “Also, it indicates, in accordance with embodiments, the nature of the signal, for example to wake up all small cells, to wake up only small cells with a bandwidth of x MHz, to wake up only CSG cells 1042 or the like. Also additional information may be contained, for example the sending duration of the wake up signal, the uplink resource allocation and the like. Once the user equipment 112 receives the wake up signal configuration it configures or generates the wake up signal to be transmitted on the basis of the received wake up signal configuration and, as is shown at 202, sends out the wake up signal.”); and
wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to detect the wake-up signal from the terminal based on the wake-up signal configuration information (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0054], “As is shown at block 204 in Fig. 3, once the targeted small cells 1042 and 1042' receive the wake up signal, the user equipment is detected by these small cells and a small cell activation process will be started so that the components of the respective small cells, for example the hardware and software components, are transitioned from the inactive or low energy consumption state to an active which allows serving a user equipment for a data transmission in the network.”).
Regarding claim 11:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the second infrastructure equipment is configured to select the first infrastructure equipment from a plurality of infrastructure equipment having detected the wake-up signal, for transitioning the first infrastructure equipment to the active state (see, Iwamura: para. [0051], “In the embodiment of Fig. 3 it is assumed that the wake up signal configuration received from the macro base station indicated that only sleeping CSG small cells should be activated, so that, as can be seen from Fig. 3, the wake up signal, at 202, is only considered by the sleeping small cells 1042 and 1042'. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment described with regard to Fig. 3, a configurable wake up signal is sent from the macro cell 100 to the UE 112 to facilitate the activation of only specific types of small cells 1042, 1042'. This may for example be to only activate closed subscriber group small cells, as shown in Fig. 3, however, also other small cells may be activated, for example only those small cells that support particular advanced features or the like. The main role of the wake up signal configuration received at the user equipment 112, for example from the macro base station 100, is to configure the subsequent wake up signal which will be sent by the UE 112 so that certain small cells can be woken up.”).
Regarding claim 12:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Ho further teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to communicate with one or more further infrastructure equipment, based on the one or more further infrastructure equipment receiving the wake-up signal from the terminal, to elect one of the first infrastructure equipment and the one or more further infrastructure equipment for transitioning to the active state (see, Ho: Amended Claim 4, “A method according to any preceding claim, in which the request is a power pulse in a given frequency band and all small cell base stations receiving the pulse switch to active mode.”); wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition to the active state when the elected infrastructure equipment is the first infrastructure equipment (see, Ho: Amended Claim 5, “A method according to any of claims 1 to 4, in which the request includes a user terminal identifier and only a small cell base station with which the user terminal is registered may switch to active mode in response.”).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura further teaches wherein upon receipt of the wake-up signal from the terminal, the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition to a broadcasting state wherein, in the broadcasting state, the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit a reference signal (e.g., pilot signals) (see, Iwamura: Fig. 3 and para. [0025], “In accordance with embodiments the method comprises transmitting pilot signals by the one or more activated small cell base stations.”; para. [0054], “As is shown at block 204 in Fig. 3, once the targeted small cells 1042 and 1042' receive the wake up signal, the user equipment is detected by these small cells and a small cell activation process will be started so that the components of the respective small cells, for example the hardware and software components, are transitioned from the inactive or low energy consumption state to an active which allows serving a user equipment for a data transmission in the network. As is shown at 206, the activated sleeping small cells start transmitting pilot signals which are received at the user equipment 112 which carries out small cell measurements, as is indicated at block 208. The measurement results are transmitted from the user equipment 112 to the macro base station 100, as is shown at 210 and the macro base station, at block 211, selects the small cell that serves the user equipment 112 best and returns to the user equipment 112 a small cell reconfiguration command, as is shown at 212.”, wherein the pilot signal is equivalent to the reference signal of the instant application.).
Regarding claim 14:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 13.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to determine that the first infrastructure equipment has been in the broadcasting state for at least a predetermined amount of time and that the terminal has not contacted the first infrastructure equipment (see, Iwamura: para. [0057], “In accordance with yet other embodiments, the problem of minimizing small cell energy consumption is addressed, namely how to ensure that only necessary small cells are activated and unneeded ones consume the minimum amount of energy. In accordance with embodiments, this is addressed by providing a timer at the small cell for an auto sleep mode after receipt of the wake up signal. As is shown at block 204 in Fig. 3, a "sleep timer" is provided at the respective small cells which is started when the wake up signal from the user equipment 112 has been received. The small cell will return to sleep after the sleep timer expired if no user equipment established a connection or if no additional wake up signal is received.”); and
wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition, based on the determination, from the broadcasting state to a dormant state, the dormant state being state in which the first infrastructure equipment does not provide the air interface and in which the first infrastructure equipment monitors uplink signals for wake-up signals (see, Iwamura: para. [0057], “The timer may be configured by a macro base station 100 or may be specified in the small cell. As is shown at block 216, since a connection is established between the user equipment 112 and the small cell 1042, the small cell remains on, e.g. by resetting the sleep timer. On the other hand, the small cell 1042', which has also been activated in response to the wake up signal 202, goes back to sleep after the sleep timer expired, as is shown at block 218, because no connection was established and/or no additional wake up signal was received at the small cell 1042'. In accordance with embodiments, using a timer at a small cell for automatic sleep mode is advantageous in situations where multiple small cells are present in the vicinity of the UE that meet the wake up signal criteria. In other words, the wake up signal configuration received at the user equipment 112 causes the user equipment 112 to generate a wake up signal 202 that will wake up multiple small cells in the vicinity of the UE meeting the wake up signal criteria. To ensure that unneeded small cells quickly go back to sleep to save energy, the above described small cell timer is used. This timer may be configurable or specified for different types of wake up signals. The small cells start the timer upon reception of the wake up signal, upon activation or upon a configurable time interval after reception of the wake up signal or after activation. In the absence of a UE connection upon time expiry, the small cell goes back to sleep.”).
Regarding claim 15:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Ho further teaches wherein when the terminal is in a non-connected state, the circuitry of the terminal is configured to determine that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search based on one or more of: the terminal determining that it will transition to a connected state; the terminal determining that it will perform a cell selection or re-selection procedure; and the terminal determining that a moving status or trajectory for the terminal has changed (see, Ho: para. [0052], “In another basically similar embodiment, when a user terminal that is camped on a macrocell base station enters a state so as to make or receive a call, the user terminal sends a UEW broadcast in order to wake up any femtos that are in range. The user terminal enters this state, for example when the user presses a keypad or the user terminal receives a paging message from the macrocell base station.”; para. [0055], “In some embodiments, a user terminal has location information available, and makes UEW broadcasts upon identifying the current location of the user terminal as being within a specified area.”; para. [0056], “For example a user terminal that is a registered user of several private access femtos stores the location of each of those femtos in its memory. Using location information, for example from Global Positioning System (GPS), the user terminal determines whether it is in the vicinity of any of the femtos that it is registered with. If yes, the user terminal makes UEW broadcasts until it ceases to be in the vicinity of any of those femtos.”).
Regarding claim 16:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Iwamura further teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit, once transitioned to the active state, one or more of: a reference signal (e.g., pilot signals), system information and synchronisation information (see, Iwamura: para. [0054], “As is shown at block 204 in Fig. 3, once the targeted small cells 1042 and 1042' receive the wake up signal, the user equipment is detected by these small cells and a small cell activation process will be started so that the components of the respective small cells, for example the hardware and software components, are transitioned from the inactive or low energy consumption state to an active which allows serving a user equipment for a data transmission in the network. As is shown at 206, the activated sleeping small cells start transmitting pilot signals which are received at the user equipment 112 which carries out small cell measurements, as is indicated at block 208.”, wherein the pilot signals is equivalent to the reference signal of the instant application.).
Regarding claim 18:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Ho further teaches wherein the circuitry of the terminal is configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on a first transmission configuration when the determination that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search is based on a first criterion (e.g., when in active mode) (see, Ho: para. [0043], “a user terminal also transmits fixed periodic UEW broadcasts when in active mode.”) and wherein the terminal is configured to transmit the wake-up signal based on a second transmission configuration when the determination that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search is based on a second criterion (e.g., when detecting increase in received energy) (see, Ho: para. [0057], “The wake-up, in other words the transit to active mode, of the femto is triggered by detecting this increase in received energy in that channel.”); and the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transition to the active state based on whether the transmission configuration used for transmitting the wake-up signal is associated with a criterion matching the first infrastructure equipment (e.g., matching UE ID) (see, Ho: para. [0058], “the UEW broadcast has a more complex form consisting of a data packet that contains extra information such as the identifier of the user terminal, and the user terminal's service requirements. Femtos that receive these broadcasts decode the packet and make a decision whether or not to transit to active mode dependent upon this extra information”).
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 recites the features performed by an infrastructure equipment in the mobile telecommunication system of claim 1, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 recites the features performed by a terminal in the mobile telecommunication system of claim 1, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura in view of Ho further in view of Agyapong et al. (US 2016/0345224 A1, hereinafter Agyapong).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 6.
Iwamura in view of Ho does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to notify the second infrastructure equipment of the one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal prior to the notification to the terminal of the one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Agyapong teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to notify the second infrastructure equipment of the one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal (see, Agyapong: Fig. 3, steps 402, 404, and 406; para. [0107], “At step 402 the macro base station 100 sends a request for a beacon transmission on a candidate resource to the candidate small cell base station 104.sub.1, and at step 404 a request for a channel quality measurement on the candidate resource is sent from the macro base station to the potential interfering small cell base station 104.sub.2 which carries out the measurement and returns the requested information in a report at step 406.”; Also, see para. [0108-0104]) prior to the notification to the terminal of the one or more resources for the terminal to transmit a wake-up signal (see, Agyapong: Fig. 3, step 502; para. [0115], “at step 502 the configuration for the small cell to which the user equipment 112 desires to make a connection is sent from the macro base station 100 to the user equipment 112”; Also, see para. [0116-0119]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Iwamura in view of Ho in combination of the teachings of Agyapong in order to determine candidate resources to be used in a communication between a user equipment and a small cell base station in an efficient, reliable and fast way, and to configure optimum resources considering UE and Small Cell capabilities (see, Agyapong: Fig. 3; para. [0096] [0106] [0115] ).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura in view of Ho further in view of Nam et al. (US 2021/0045056 A1, hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura in view of Ho does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry of the second infrastructure equipment is configured to, upon receipt of the wake-up signal by the second infrastructure equipment, to transmit a further wake-up signal, the further wake-up signal being associated with an identifier for the terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, Nam teaches wherein the circuitry of the second infrastructure equipment is configured to, upon receipt of the wake-up signal by the second infrastructure equipment, to transmit a further wake-up signal (i.e., reconfiguring wake-up signals (e.g., wake-up DCIs)), the further wake-up signal being associated with an identifier for the terminal (see, Nam: Fig. 9; para. [0083], “When UE3 moves from the geographical location 606 associated with WU-group 1 to the geographical location 608 associated with WU-group 2, UE3 transmits a signal to the base station 102 requesting a new grouping configuration. In response to receiving the signal, the base station 102 generates new wake-up DCIs. …. During this process, UE3 is signaled with a new PS-RNTI (i.e., the PS-RNTI of WU-group 2) and UE3 is signaled with the position of WU-information field in Group 2's wake-up DCI (see the second wake-up DCI 714 in WU-group 2).”, wherein the WU-information field in Group 2’s wake-up DCI is associated with the UE3, which is an identifier of one of the UEs among UE1, UE2, UE3, UE4, and UE5 in Fig. 6; para. [0107], “the base station 102 may … receive a wake-up configuration update triggering message.”; para. [0108], “the base station 102 may … determine at least one new wake-up parameter in response to the wake-up configuration update triggering message.”; para. [0109], “the base station 102 may … transmit a group wake-up signal configuration update message including at least one new wake-up parameter.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Iwamura in view of Ho in combination of the teachings of Nam in order to dynamically reconfigure wake-up signals based on UE changing wake-up group (see, Nam: Abstract and para. [0083]).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Iwamura in view of Ho does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry of the terminal is configured to, upon determining that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search, transmit a configuration information request to the second infrastructure equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Nam teaches wherein the circuitry of the terminal is configured to, upon determining that the terminal can trigger an infrastructure equipment search, transmit a configuration information request to the second infrastructure equipment (see, Nam: para. [0083], “When UE3 moves from the geographical location 606 associated with WU-group 1 to the geographical location 608 associated with WU-group 2, UE3 transmits a signal to the base station 102 requesting a new grouping configuration. In response to receiving the signal, the base station 102 generates new wake-up DCIs.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Iwamura in view of Ho in combination of the teachings of Nam in order to dynamically reconfigure wake-up signals based on UE changing wake-up group (see, Nam: Abstract and para. [0083]).
Iwamura further teaches wherein the terminal is configured to, upon receipt of a configuration request response, transmit the wake-up signal based on the configuration request response (see, Iwamura: para. [0050], “Once the user equipment 112 receives the wake up signal configuration it configures or generates the wake up signal to be transmitted on the basis of the received wake up signal configuration and, as is shown at 202, sends out the wake up signal.”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura in view of Ho further in view of Liao et al. (WO 2010/078844 A1, hereinafter Liao).
Regarding claim 17:
As discussed above, Iwamura in view of Ho teaches all limitations in claim 16.
Iwamura in view of Ho does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit the reference signal at a higher power during in a time period following the detection of the wake-up signal and/or by directing its transmitter in a detected direction of the terminal based on the detection of the wake-up signal than a power otherwise used for transmission by the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Liao teaches wherein the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment is configured to transmit the reference signal by directing its transmitter in a detected direction of the terminal based on the detection of the wake-up signal than a power otherwise used for transmission by the circuitry of the first infrastructure equipment (see, Liao: Claim 8 and Page 23 of the English Translation, “The directional antenna is configured to search for a direction from which the ranging signal is obtained by rotation, and determine a direction of the active electronic tag or other ranging signal transmitting unit according to a direction indicated when the ranging signal is received.”, wherein the ranging signal is equivalent to the wake-up signal of the instant application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Iwamura in view of Ho in combination of the teachings of Liao in order to search and determine the direction where the ranging signal (e.g., wake-up signal) is received and use the same direction for transmission (see, Liao: Claim 8.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471