DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 04/02/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 12-13, 18, 22 and 25-26 are amended, claims 23-24 are cancelled and claims 30-31 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 03/12/2026, with respect to the 112 rejections of claims 1, 11-17, 20-21 and 26-29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections of claims 1, 11-17, 20-21 and 26-29 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First Applicant argues on page 9 that Lee does not disclose the amended limitation of claim 1, “includes a first guide surface and a second guide surface in contact with the first guide member, and a connection surface connecting the first guide surface and the second guide surface, and wherein an inner angle between the connection surface and the first guide surface is different from an inner angle between the connection surface and the second guide surface”, because Lee discloses a guide groove with a symmetric v shaped configuration where the angles are identical instead of asymmetric.
Examiner disagrees and has cited Lee to disclose, “wherein the first guide groove (third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B fig. 19) includes a first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) and a second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19) in contact with (the contact surface 1461a and the fixed end 1481B are in contact with the rolling member 143 fig. 19) the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19), and a connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) connecting (the connection surface connects the as shown below in fig. 19) the first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19), and
wherein an inner angle (angle 1 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) is different from (angle 1 and angle 2 are different as shown below in fig. 19) an inner angle (angle 2 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19)”, where the third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B form an asymmetric guide groove for the rolling member 143 as shown below in fig. 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(l) as being anticipated by Lee (US
20130258506 A1) (third embodiment).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses in at least the third embodiment (figs. 14-19), a lens driving
device (electromagnetic driving device 1b fig. 14) comprising:
a bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 14) on which the lens (lens 132 fig. 14) is disposed (the lens 132
is disposed inside the lens carrier 131 to form lens module 13B fig. 14);
a first housing (casing 11 fig. 14) in which the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 14) is disposed (the
lens carrier 131b is disposed in the casing 11 fig. 19): and
a first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19) disposed between (the rolling member 143 is
disposed between the lens carrier 131b and the casing 11 fig. 19) the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 19)
and the first housing (casing 11 fig. 19),
wherein the first housing (casing 11 fig. 19) has a first guide groove third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B fig. 19) in which the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19) is disposed (rolling member 143 is disposed in the third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B fig. 19), and
wherein the first guide groove (third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B fig. 19) includes a first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) and a second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19) in contact with (the contact surface 1461a and the fixed end 1481B are in contact with the rolling member 143 fig. 19) the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19), and a connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) connecting (the connection surface connects the as shown below in fig. 19) the first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19), and
wherein an inner angle (angle 1 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) is different from (angle 1 and angle 2 are different as shown below in fig. 19) an inner angle (angle 2 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19).
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein when the first guide groove (third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B fig. 19) contacts (third guide groove 146 and fixed end 1481B contacts the rolling member 143 fig. 19) the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19), and
an angle (angle 3 as shown below in fig. 19) formed by two tangent lines contacting (lines 1 and 2 are tangent the guide member by contacting any surface of the circular cross section of the rolling
member 143 as shown below in fig. 19) the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19) is smaller
than 90° (angle 3 between lines 1 and 2 of a circular cross section of the rolling member 143 can connect to make an angle less than 90° as shown below in fig. 19).
Regarding claim 30, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein an inner angle (angle 1 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the first guide surface (contact surface 1461a fig. 19) is greater than (angle 1 is greater than angle 2 are different as shown below in fig. 19) inner angle (angle 2 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19), and
wherein the inner angle (angle 2 as shown below in fig. 19) between the connection surface (connection surface as shown below in fig. 19) and the second guide surface (fixed end 1481B fig. 19)is an acute angle (angle 2 is acute as shown below in fig. 19).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (third embodiment) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Lipson et al. (US 20130258166 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 14) includes a second guide groove (fourth guide groove 147a fig. 19) in which the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19) is disposed,
wherein the second guide groove (fourth guide groove 147a fig. 19) has a shape (U shape contact surface 1471a fig. 19) corresponding to an outer circumferential surface (the U shape contact surface 1471a allows the rolling members 143 to slide the lens module along the z axis paragraph [0051]) of the first guide member (rolling member 143 fig. 19).
Lee does not disclose, wherein an angle formed by the first guide surface and the second guide
surface is an acute angle.
However Lipson discloses in at least figure 6, wherein an angle (angle as shown below in fig. 4C)
formed by the first guide surface (first surface of guide sleeve 401 as shown below in fig. 4C) and the
second guide surface (second surface of guide sleeve 401 shown below in fig. 4C) is an acute angle (the
angle is acute as below shown in fig. 4C).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use an acute angle for the guide sleeve as taught by Lipson in the lens driving
device of Lee. The second carrier 30 is arranged at an acute angle and corresponds to the first carrier 20
to support the ball guide 40 and reduce the frictional force (paragraph [0075]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1)
(third embodiment) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Seol et al. (US 20180239161 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Lee dose not disclose, further comprising:
a second housing accommodating the first housing;
wherein the first housing includes a first outer surface facing the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a second inner surface facing the first housing,
wherein each of the first outer surface and the second inner surface includes an upper portion, a lower portion, and a central portion provided between the upper portion and the lower portion, and
wherein the first outer surface and the second inner surface include a curved surface in which the central portion is formed to be more convex outward than the upper and lower portions.
However Seol discloses in at least figure 7, further comprising:
a second housing (base frame 140 fig. 7) accommodating (the base frame 40 accommodates
middle frame 130 fig. 7) the first housing (middle frame 130 fig. 7);
wherein the first housing (middle frame 130 fig. 7) includes a first outer surface (outer surface as
shown below in fig. 7) facing (the outer surface of middle frame 130 faces the base frame 140 as shown
below in fig. 7) the second housing (base frame 140 fig. 7),
wherein the second housing (base frame 140 fig. 7) includes a second inner (inner surface as
shown below in fig. 7) surface facing (the inner surface of base frame 140 is facing the middle frame 130
as shown below in fig. 7) the first housing (middle frame 130 fig. 7), and
wherein each of the first outer surface (outer surface as shown below in fig. 7) and the second inner surface (inner surface as shown below in fig. 7) surface includes an upper portion (upper surface as shown below in fig. 7), a lower portion (lower surface as shown below in fig. 7), and a central portion (central portions as shown below in fig. 7) provided between the upper portion (upper surface as shown below in fig. 7) and the lower portion (lower surface as shown below in fig. 7), and
wherein the first outer surface (outer surface as shown below in fig. 7) and the second inner surface (inner surface as shown below in fig. 7) include a curved surface (curved surfaces as shown below in fig. 7) in which a central portion (central portions as shown below in fig. 7) is formed to be more convex outward (the curved surfaces are more convex outward in the central portions as shown below in fig. 7) than the upper (upper surface as shown below in fig. 7) and lower portions (lower surface as shown below in fig. 7).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to have a second housing as taught by Seol in the lens driving device of Lee. The
second balls 180-2 between the two frames allow for the middle frame 130 to move with move with
minimal friction at a suitable distance from the base frame 140 (paragraph [0084]).
Claims 14 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (third embodiment) and in view of Seol et al. (US 20180239161 A1) as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Oh et al. (US 20180284568 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Seol discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Lee does not disclose, further comprising:
a second guide member disposed between the first outer surface and the second inner surface.
However Oh further discloses, further comprising:
a second guide member (rolling members Bl fig. 2A) disposed between (the rolling members Bl
are between the first and second surfaces as shown below in fig. 2A) the first outer surface fist surface
as shown below in fig. 2A) and the second inner surface (second surface as shown below in fig. 2A).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to have a second housing as taught by Oh in the lens driving device of Lee. The
housing provides space for rolling members bl to be disposed between the housing and the carrier to
reduce friction while moving (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 25, The combination of Lee, Seol and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 14 and Lee further discloses, wherein the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 14) includes a bobbin frame (frame as shown below in fig. 19) in which the second guide groove (fourth guide groove 147a fig. 19) is formed (fourth guide groove 147a is formed in the frame as shown below in fig. 19) and a first recess (first recess as shown below in fig. 19) inward from (the first recess is formed inward from the outermost periphery as shown below in fig. 19) an outermost periphery (outermost periphery as shown below in fig. 19) of the bobbin frame (frame as shown below in fig. 19).
Regarding claim 26, The combination of Lee, Seol and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 25 and Lee further discloses, wherein the first housing (casing 11 fig. 19) includes a first housing frame (inner compartment 110 fig. 19) and a first guide protruding portion protruding from (the first protrusion protrudes from the casing 11 towards the lens carrier 131b as shown below in fig. 19) the first housing frame (casing 11 fig. 19) toward the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 19).
Regarding claim 27 The combination of Lee, Seol and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 26 and Lee further discloses, and further discloses, wherein the first guide protruding portion (first protrusion as shown below in fig. 19) is disposed on (the first protrusion is disposed on the first recess as shown below in fig. 19) the first recess (first recess as shown below in fig. 19) of the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 19).
Regarding claim 28, The combination of Lee, Seol and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 26 and Lee further discloses, wherein the first guide protruding portion (first protrusion as shown below in fig. 19) is disposed lower than (the first protrusion extends lower than the outermost periphery as shown below in fig. 19) the outermost periphery (outermost periphery as shown below in fig. 19) of the bobbin frame (frame as shown below in fig. 19).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1)
(third embodiment) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Lim et al. (US 20200050084 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Lee does not disclose, further comprising:
a first magnet disposed in the first housing; and
wherein the first guide member is brought into close contact with the first guide groove by the
magnetic force of the first magnet.
However Lim discloses in at least figure 6, further comprising:
a first magnet (magnet 310 fig. 6) disposed in (magnet 310 is disposed in housing 400 fig. 6) the
first housing (housing 400 fig. 6); and
wherein the first guide member (ball member 600 fig. 6) is brought into close contact (the ball
member 600 is contacting first receiving groove 411 fig. 6) with the first guide groove (first receiving
groove 411 fig. 6) by the magnetic force (The first ball member 600 is pressed by an attractive force F
between the magnet 310 and the yoke 340 paragraph [0084]) of the first magnet (magnet 310 fig. 6).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to attract the guide member to the groove as taught by Lim in the lens driving device
of Lee. When the first ball member 600 is pressed by the attractive force F, a rotational force may be
applied to the lens module 200 about the first ball member 600 (paragraph [0084]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US
20130258506 A1) (third embodiment), Seol et al. (US 20180239161 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20180284568
A1) as applied to claim 14 above and in further view of Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (first embodiment).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee, Seal and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 14.
Lee embodiment 3 does not disclose, wherein the first guide member and the second guide
member have different shapes.
However Oh further discloses wherein second guide member has a shape (the rolling members
B1 are balls paragraph [0030]).
Additionally Lee embodiment 1 discloses in at least figure 2, the first guide member (guide
mechanism 17 fig. 2) has a shape (the guide mechanism 17 is a guide pin paragraph [0041]).
The combination of Oh and Lee embodiment 1 discloses, wherein the first guide member and
the second guide member have different shapes (the guide mechanism 17 is a guide pin paragraph
[0041] of Lee and the rolling members Bl are balls paragraph [0030] of Bang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
use a rod shape and a ball shape, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is
generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not
significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee, Seal and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Lee embodiment 3 does not disclose, wherein the first guide member has a cylindrical shape,
and the second guide member has a ball shape.
However Oh further discloses wherein second guide member has a ball shape (the rolling
members B1 are balls paragraph [0030]).
Additionally Lee embodiment 1 discloses in at least figure 2, the first guide member (guide
mechanism 17 fig. 2) has a cylindrical shape (the guide mechanism 17 is a guide pin paragraph [0041]
with cylindrical shape fig. 2).
The combination of Oh and Lee embodiment 1 discloses, wherein the first guide member has a
cylindrical shape (the guide mechanism 17 is a guide pin paragraph [0041] with cylindrical shape fig. 2 of
Lee), and the second guide member has a ball shape (the rolling members Bl are balls paragraph [0030]
of Bang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
use a rod shape and a ball shape, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is
generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not
significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US
20130258506 A1) (third embodiment) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Lee (US
20130258506 A1) (first embodiment) in view of Anhalt (US 20020149858 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lee (third embodiment) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein a plurality of first guide members (rolling members 143 fig. 19) is provided between (the rolling members 143 are between the casing 11 and the lens carrier 131b fig. 19) the first housing (casing 11 fig. 19) and the bobbin (lens carrier 131b fig. 19) and is spaced apart from each other (the rolling members 143 are spaced out from each other fig. 19).
Lee (third embodiment) does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of first guide members is a magnetic material and at least one other of the plurality of first guide members is a
material;
at least one other of the plurality of first guide members is a nonmagnetic material.
However Lee (first embodiment) discloses in at least figure 2, wherein at least one of the plurality of first guide members (rolling members 143 and guide pin 17 fig. 2) is a magnetic material (the guide pin 17 can be a magnetic pin paragraph [0042]) and at least one other of the plurality of first guide members (rolling members 143 and guide pin 17 fig. 2) is a material (rolling members 143 serves a frictional rolling purpose to compensate possible tilt of the lens module 13 generated from the Z-axial movement of the lens paragraph [0045] and the guide pin 17 can be a magnetic pin or a non-magnetic pin paragraph [0042]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a magnetic material for the guides as taught by lee (first embodiment) in the
electromagnetic driving device of Lee (third embodiment). While the guide pin 17 is magnetic, the guide pin 17 can serve both the aforesaid guiding purpose and another magnetic anti-tilt function (paragraph [0042]).
Additionally Anhalt discloses in at least figure 2, one other of the plurality of first guide members (guides 34 and 35 fig. 2) is a non-magnetic material (guides 34 and 35 are nonmagnetic balls paragraph [0036]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a nonmagnetic material for the guides as taught by Anhalt in the
electromagnetic driving device of Lee (third embodiment). The nonmagnetic guides can be made of any nonmagnetic material such as plastic or ceramic (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Lee (third embodiment), Lee (first embodiment) and Anhalt discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Lee (third embodiment) does not disclose, wherein a first guide member disposed at one side of the bobbin among the plurality of first guide members is a magnetic material, and a first guide member disposed at the other side of the bobbin among the plurality of first guide members is made of non-magnetic material.
However Lee (first embodiment) further discloses, wherein a first guide member (guide pin 17 fig. 7) disposed at one side (bottom left corner of lens carrier 131 fig. 7) of the bobbin (lens carrier 131 fig. 7) among the plurality of first guide members (rolling members 143 and guide pin 17 fig. 7) is a magnetic material (the guide pin 17 can be a magnetic pin paragraph [0042]), and a first guide member (rolling members 143 fig. 7) disposed at the other side (top right corner of lens carrier 131 fig. 7) of the bobbin (lens carrier 131 fig. 2) among the plurality of first guide members (rolling members 143 and guide pin 17 fig. 7) is made of non-magnetic material (rolling members 143 serves a frictional rolling purpose to compensate possible tilt of the lens module 13 generated from the Z-axial movement of the lens paragraph [0045] and the guide pin 17 can be a magnetic pin or a non-magnetic pin paragraph [0042]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a magnetic material for the guides as taught by lee (first embodiment) in the
electromagnetic driving device of Lee (third embodiment). While the guide pin 17 is magnetic, the guide pin 17 can serve both the aforesaid guiding purpose and another magnetic anti-tilt function (paragraph [0042]).
Additionally Anhalt further discloses, one other of the plurality of first guide members (guides 34 and 35 fig. 2) is a non-magnetic material (guides 34 and 35 are nonmagnetic balls paragraph [0036]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a nonmagnetic material for the guides as taught by Anhalt in the
electromagnetic driving device of Lee. The nonmagnetic guides can be made of any nonmagnetic
material such as plastic or ceramic (paragraph [0036]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (third embodiment) and in view of Seol et al. (US 20180239161 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20180284568 A1) as applied to claim 26 above and in further view of Seo (KR 20150104703).
The combination of Lee, Seol and Oh discloses all the limitations of claim 26.
Lee does not disclose, wherein the first guide protruding portion of the first housing overlaps the bobbin in a circumferential direction.
However Seo discloses in at least figure 6, wherein the first guide protruding portion (first protrusion as shown below in fig. 6) of the first housing (second carrier 30 fig. 6) overlaps the bobbin (first carrier 20 fig. 6) in a circumferential direction (the circumferential overlap occurs where the first protrusion and the first carrier 20 make contact as shown below in fig. 6).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to a guide groove that overlaps the bobbin as taught by Seo in the lens driving device
of Lee. The first protrusion of the second carrier is used with a protrusion from the first carrier to
support the guide member in the guide groove.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (third embodiment) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Lee (US 20130258506 A1) (first embodiment)
Lee (third embodiment) discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Lee (third embodiment) does not disclose, wherein the first guide member has a cylindrical shape.
However Lee (first embodiment) discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the first guide member (guide pin 17 fig. 2) has a cylindrical shape (guide pin 17 has a cylindrical shape fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a guide pin as taught by lee (first embodiment) in the electromagnetic driving device of Lee (third embodiment). Preferably, in the first embodiment, the guide mechanism 17 is a guide pin plugged in a predetermined guide slot 1312 of the lens carrier 131 (paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 20190294027 A1) discloses a camera module with guide grooves of different angles.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872