DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has elected Invention I (claims 10-21) for the further prosecution without travers; Claims 22-29 have been withdrawn as non-elected claims; Claims 10-21 remain for Examination, wherein claim 10 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case, 1) the instant claim 10 indicates: “a value obtained by dividing an average C content (by mass%) of retained austenite with an aspect ratio of 2.0 or more by an average C content (by mass%) of retained austenite with an aspect ratio of 3.0 or more”, however, there is no specific value has been included in the instant claim. Since there is no specific amount of retained austenite with an aspect ratio of 2.0 or more and retained austenite with an aspect ratio of 3.0 or more in the instant claims, this limitation need further clarification/amendment; 2) the term “C content of a T0 composition” in claim 10 is unclear which renders the claim indefinite. It is noted that par.[0087] of PG-Pub 2024/0167127 A1, corresponding to the instant specification indicates that: “The C content of the T0 composition can be calculated unambiguously from the composition of steel and its content using integrated thermodynamic calculation software Thermo-Calc and database TCFE7. The T0 composition for calculation is the composition calculated at the reheating temperature before immersion in a galvanizing bath.” This definition should be added to the instant claim. Since Claims 11-21 depend on claim 10, they are also rejected. Proper amendment is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki et al (US-PG-pub 2017/0218472 A1, thereafter PG’472).
Regarding claim 10, PG’472 teaches a high-strength steel sheet having a tensile strength (TS) of 780 MPa or more and excellent in ductility, fatigue properties, stretch flange-ability, surface characteristics, and sheet passage ability that can be obtained by providing a predetermined chemical composition and a steel microstructure (Abstract, Examples, and claims of PG’472). The comparison between the claimed alloy composition ranges, microstructures, and those disclosed by the working Example #N in tables of PG’472 has been listed in following table. All of the alloy composition ranges including Ratio of Mn in RA and Mn in sheet disclosed by the working Example #N in tables of PG’472 are within the claimed ranges. PG’472 provides microstructures for the Example #N in table 3 with Fresh M: 5.5; and RA: 20.2, which are within the claimed fresh M, and RA ranges. PG’472 specify adjusting ferrite in range: 20-50 are% and adjusting TM + B in range 10-40 are% (Abstract, claim 1, par.[0062]-[0070] of PG’472), which overlaps the claimed ferrite and B + TM ranges. Overlapping in microstructure ranges creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the microstructure including ferrite and TM + B as disclosed in PG’472 since PG’472 teaches the same high-strength steel sheet as claimed throughout whole disclosing range. The C content in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition (calculated) is recognized as a material feature fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. PG’472 teaches the same alloy composition with similar microstructures as discussed above, the claimed ratio of The C content in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of PG’472. MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II.
Element
From instant Claim 10 (mass %)
From #N in table 1 of PG’472 (mass %)
Overlapping range
(mass %)
C
0.03-0.25
0.204
0.204
Si
0.01-3
1.37
1.37
Mn
2.00-8.00
2.2
2.2
P
0.100 or less
0.019
0.019
S
0.0200 or less
0.0023
0.0023
N
0.0100 or less
0.0036
0.0036
Al
0.001-2.000
0.390
0.390
Fe
Balance +impurities
Balance +impurities
Balance +impurities
Microstructure
Area%
F: 1-40
Fresh M: 1-20
TB+TM: 35-90;
RA: 6 or more
F: 40.2
Adjusting: 20-50
Fresh M: 5.5
B+TM: 29.6
Adjusting: 10-40
RA: 20.2
F: close to 40
Overlapping: F:20-40
Fresh M: 5.5
Overlapping TB+TM:
35-40
RA: 20.2
Ratio of Mn in RA and Mn in sheet
1.1 or more
2.98/2.0=1.35
1.35
From Claim 11 (mass%)
At least one from group consisting of
Ti: 0.200 or less;
Nb: 1.000 or less;
V: 0.500 or less;
W: : 0.500 or less;
B: 0.0050 or less;
Ni: 1.000 or less;
Cr: 1.000 or less;
Mo: 1.000 or less;
Cu: 1.000 or less:
Sn: 0.200 or less;
Sb: 0.200 or less;
Ta: 0.100 or less;
Zr: 0.200 or less;
Ca: 0.0050 or less;
Mg: 0.0050 or less;
REM: 0.0050 or less
Optional elements including:
Ti, Nb, B, Cr, Cu, Sb, Sn, Ta, Ca, Mg, and REM (cl.1)
Optional elements including:
Ti, Nb, B, Cr, Cu, Sb, Sn, Ta, Ca, Mg, and REM
From claims 12-13
From PG’472
Overlapping range
Ratio of RA/(RA+F)
0.5 or less
About 0.42
About 0.42
From claims 14-17
From PG’472
Surface layer
Galvanized layer
Galvanized layer(par.0033] and cl.4)
Reads on
From Claims 18-21
From PG’472
Surface layer
Galvannealed layer
Galvannealed treatment (par.0033] and cl.4)
Reads on
Regarding claim 12, PG’472 indicates further including Ti: 0.005% or more and 0.100% or less, Nb: 0.005% or more and 0.100% or less, B: 0.0001% or more and 0.0050% or less, Cr: 0.05% or more and 1.00% or less, Cu: 0.05% or more and 1.00% or less, Sb: 0.0020% or more and 0.2000% or less, Sn: 0.0020% or more and 0.2000% or less, Ta: 0.0010% or more and 0.1000% or less, Ca: 0.0003% or more and 0.0050% or less, Mg: 0.0003% or more and 0.0050% or less, and REM: 0.0003% or more and 0.0050% or less, which reads on the claimed optional elements as claimed in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 12-13, the ratio of RA/(RA+F) from the Example #N in table 3 of PG’472 is about 0.42, which reads on the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 14-21, PG’472 specify forming a galvanized layer (par.0033] and cl.4) and perform galvannealed treatment (par.0033] and cl.4), which reads on the claimed limitation in the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 10-21, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1) teaches the same steel sheet. All of the essential alloy composition ranges and microstructure phases disclosed by Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1) overlaps the claimed ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPERP 2144 05 I. Since the Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite are recognized as a material features fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1) teaches the similar alloy composition with similar microstructures as claimed in the instant claims, the claimed ratios related to the Mn and C contents in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1). MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 13-32 of co-pending application No. 18/863164 (US-PG-pub 2025/0290185 A1).
This is a provisional ODP rejection since the conflict claims in the co-pending application has not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 10-21, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1) teaches the same steel sheet. All of the essential alloy composition ranges and microstructure phases disclosed by Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1) overlaps the claimed ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPERP 2144 05 I. Since the Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite are recognized as a material features fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1) teaches the similar alloy composition with similar microstructures as claimed in the instant claims, the claimed ratios related to the Mn and C contents in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1). MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 1-18 of co-pending application No. 18/727246 (US-PG-pub 2025/0084515 A1).
This is a provisional ODP rejection since the conflict claims in the co-pending application has not in fact been patented
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 10-21, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1) teaches the same steel sheet. All of the essential alloy composition ranges and microstructure phases disclosed by Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1) overlaps the claimed ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPERP 2144 05 I. Since the Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite are recognized as a material features fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1) teaches the similar alloy composition with similar microstructures as claimed in the instant claims, the claimed ratios related to the Mn and C contents in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1). MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 16-35 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US-PG-pub 2025/0271243 A1).
This is a provisional ODP rejection since the conflict claims in the co-pending application has not in fact been patented
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2).
Regarding instant Claims 10-21, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2) teaches the same steel sheet. All of the essential alloy composition ranges and microstructure phases disclosed by Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2) overlaps the claimed ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPERP 2144 05 I. Since the Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite are recognized as a material features fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2) teaches the similar alloy composition with similar microstructures as claimed in the instant claims, the claimed ratios related to the Mn and C contents in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2). MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II.
Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/568407 (US 12442056 B2).
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1).
Regarding instant Claims 10-21, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1) teaches the same steel sheet. All of the essential alloy composition ranges and microstructure phases disclosed by Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1) overlaps the claimed ranges, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPERP 2144 05 I. Since the Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite are recognized as a material features fully depended on the alloy composition and alloy microstructures. Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1) teaches the similar alloy composition with similar microstructures as claimed in the instant claims, the claimed ratios related to the Mn and C contents in retained austenite over C amount in T0 composition would be highly expected in the alloy of Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1). MPEP 2112 01 and 2145 II. Thus, no patentable distinction was found in the instant claims compared with Claims 1-22 of co-pending application No. 18/546428 (US-PG-pub 2024/0124964 A1).
This is a provisional ODP rejection since the conflict claims in the co-pending application has not in fact been patented
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734