DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto et al. (WO-2017002871-A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5
Miyamoto discloses a porous inorganic skeleton having a three-dimensional continuous network structure having a pore (i.e., mesopore) size of 2 to 20 nm and a through hole (i.e., macropore) size of 0.1 to 50 microns (claims).
As the size macropore size of the reference overlaps the claimed range the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Miyamoto discloses that a functional group is introduced to the surface of the skeleton, and that the functional group may be an amine such as aminopropyl (i.e., primary amine/ion-adsorbable functional group) (approx. para 0056).
Miyamoto discloses contacting the porous skeleton with a solution containing a metal ion (claims). Although Miyamoto does not disclose steps of contacting the adsorbent with an acid, recovering the metal and regenerating with a base, the instant specification discloses that such recovery methods are known (i.e., admitted prior art)(instant specification, para 0002). As such it would have been obvious to includes these steps in the method of Miyamoto.
Regarding claim 3
As the ratio of the size of macropores to the mesopores of the reference overlap the claimed the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 4
Miyamoto discloses that the inorganic skeleton is silica (claim 6).
Regarding claim 6
Miyamoto discloses that the functional group can be present at 0.8 mmol/g (approx.. para 0086).
Regarding claims 7-8
Miyamoto discloses that the metal may be a noble metal ion (i.e., transition metal ion) (approx. para 0054).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto et al. (WO-2017002871-A1), as applied to claims 1-8 above, in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2019/0008134, hereafter Miyamoto II).
Regarding claims 9-10
Although, Miyamoto does not disclose the shape of size of the porous inorganic skeleton, Miyamoto does teach or suggest the other limitatio0ns of the claim. However, Miyamoto II discloses similar porous inorganic skeletons and discloses that the skeleton can be in the shape of a flat cylinder having a diameter of 10 mm and a thickness of 5 mm (i.e., aspect ratio of 2) (para 0064). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Miyamoto by making the skeleton into the shape of a flat cylinder with a diameter of 10 mm and a thickness of 5 mm, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Miyamoto II.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734