DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments received 06/17/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 3 and 6-10 remain withdrawn. Any objection or rejection previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 03/17/2026 not maintained herein has been overcome and is withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are set forth herein as necessitated by amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has amended the scope of the claims to exclude compound 1-12. MPEP 803.02(III)(A) states as follows.
“Should applicant, in response to a rejection of a Markush claim, overcome the rejection by amending the Markush claim to exclude the species anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art, the amended Markush claim will be examined again. The examination will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush claim.”
Examiner has extended the scope of examination to encompass compounds of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl, as well as to compounds 1-4 and 1-5 as in claim 4, and found art. Claim 3 remains withdrawn as the scope of examination does not encompass the benzothiazole core of Formula 4.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 06/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "thes group" should read "the group". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4-5 recite “a… derivative… thereof”. The term “derivative” is indefinite as a derivative does not have a defined structure known in the art. For example, one could not ascertain to what degree a “derivative” may differ from the parent structure, resulting in millions of possibilities. One could not possibly envisage all the possibilities of a derivative of any compound of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for stereoisomers, tautomers, hydrates, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts, does not reasonably provide enablement for solvates. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims are drawn to solvates of Formula 1. However, the numerous examples presented all failed to produce a solvate. These cannot be simply willed into existence and are not considered predictable in the art. As was stated in Morton International Inc. v. Cardinal Chemical Co., 28 USPQ2d 1190 “The specification purports to teach, with over fifty examples, the preparation of the claimed compounds with the required connectivity.” Hence, applicants must show that solvates can be made, or limit the claims accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 has been amended to remove “derivative”. Claims 2 and 4-5, which depend on claim 1, recite “The compound of claim 1, a… derivative… thereof”. Claims 2 and 4-5 therefore fail to include all the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 1377920-51-8 (2012).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 1377920-51-8 as below.
The compound is identical to compound 1-4 in claim 4.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 1251685-73-0 (2010).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 1251685-73-0 as below.
The compound is identical to compound 1-5 in claim 4.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 1180261-18-0 (2009).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 1180261-18-0 as below.
The compound is within the scope of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl. Examiner notes that the aryl of Formula 2-1 is interpreted to be within the scope of “wherein, each of… the aryl group” which can be substituted by methoxy.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 1095406-62-4 (2009).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 1095406-62-4 as below.
The compound is within the scope of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 1061486-84-7 (2008).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 1061486-84-7 as below.
The compound is within the scope of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl substituted by halogen.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 791080-76-7 (2004).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 791080-76-7 as below.
The compound is within the scope of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number 791078-94-9 (2004).
CAS discloses the following compound RN 791078-94-9 as below.
The compound is within the scope of Formula 1 wherein X is NH, Y is CH, L is Formula 2-1 and Ar is phenyl substituted by halogen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Applicant states that “appropriate corrections have been made”. However, the amendments do not fully resolve the rejections as only claim 1 has been amended to remove the term “derivative”, while claims 2 and 4-5 have not been amended to remove the term “derivative”. Applicant has additionally set forth no arguments against the rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained for claims 2 and 4-5 over the limitation “derivative”.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), Applicant states that “appropriate corrections have been made”. However, the amendments do not fully resolve the rejections as only claim 5 has been amended to remove the term “solvates”, while claims 1-2 and 4 have not. Applicant has additionally set forth no arguments against the rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained for claims 1-2 and 4 over lack of enablement for “solvates” of the claimed compounds.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 06/26/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624