12.59DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on July 28, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the JPO have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the component (B2)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by changing the dependency of claim 3 to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bellin et al. (US Pub 2023/0212368). The effective filing date of Bellin et al. is June 10, 2020 which is prior to the effective filing date of the present application, i.e., February 04, 2021.
Bellin discloses a foamed film formed from a polystyrene resin composition comprising a flame retardant ([0076]-[0081]). Example 4 (Table 1) discloses a flame retardant that comprises 1.5 wt% of tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromo-2-methylpropyl ether), i.e., SR-130, 0.1 wt% of a fatty acid zinc, i.e., Zn-stearate, and 0.1 wt% of a fatty acid metal salt that is not a fatty acid zinc, i.e. Ca-stearate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellin et al. (US Pub 2023/0212368) in view of Nishiura (US Pub 2021/0009778).
Claims 2 and 4 are being interpreted as though component (B2) is a distinct compound from (B1). That is, claims 2 and 4 are being interpreted as though the flame retardant composition comprises tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromo-2-methylpropyl ether) (B1) and another bromine-containing flame retardant that is not tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromo-2-methylpropyl ether) (B2). If an embodiment where (B1) and (B2) can be the same compound in intended to read on claims 2 and 4, then these claims would be anticipated by Bellin for the reasons set forth above.
Bellin does not disclose using a blend of two bromine-containing compounds, but does disclose that any bromine containing compound with sufficient thermal stability and high bromine content may be used [0036]. Bellin specifically discloses the use of tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromo-2-methylpropyl ether) and tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromopropyl ether) [0036]. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960). Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). Also, case law holds that "it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose...[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06. Further, Nishiura discloses such a bromine-containing composition blend useful as a flame retardant for styrene-based foamed articles (Table I). In present case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepared the composition of Bellin wherein the flame retardant includes a combination of tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromo-2-methylpropyl ether) with one of the other disclosed bromine-containing flame retardant compounds, such as tetrabromobisphenol A-bis(2,3-dibromopropyl ether), as taught in Nishiura, to form a flame retardant composition with the expectation that the resulting composition would be useful the same purpose taught by Bellin.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiura (US Pub 2021/0009778) in view of JP2016-130280). An English language machine translation of JP ‘280 is attached to this Office Action.
Nishiura discloses foamed article formed from a flame-retardant expandable styrene-based resin composition. The flame retardant composition comprises the claimed components (B1), (B2), and (C) (claims 1, 4, and 8; Table 1) within the presently claimed ranges. Nishiura does not disclose including a fatty acid metal salt that is not a fatty acid zinc, i.e., component (D), but does disclose that other known additives may be included in the composition [0040]. JP ‘280 discloses that it is known in the art to provide a flame-retardant expandable styrene-based resin composition with a calcium stearate compound (line 526) within the presently claimed amount (lines 625-630). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the a flame-retardant expandable styrene-based resin composition of Nishiura wherein the composition further included a calcium stearate additive in an amount within the presently claimed range, motivated by the desire to incorporate a conventional known additive to the composition of Nishiura.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781